Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bruno C Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We booked this tour to learn about the history and the past of this vibrant city. We enjoyed visiting historical places and appreciated the information that we were told by our dynamic guide. Also during the tour, we had the chance to make a little stop at the beautiful Confeitaria Colombo. For the price of the excursion, I was expecting more from this tour. The places we visited didn't have entrance fees and we visited mostly monasteries, churches and cathedrals. Overall, it was a good walking tour and excursion.

Barbara M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Excellent tour guide who was very knowledgeable! Definitely worth doing because there are some wonderful sites that you are not likely to find or see otherwise.

Kathryn B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

This was well done, with just the right amount of breaks.

Robert G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was very informative and protective. I think we had an advantage by having our tour on a Saturday instead of a weekday. It was not too crowded.

Kathleen P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

A really good tour with an excellent guide. We began by coach and then were guided on foot through downtown Rio, ending up at Cafe Colombo. We really enjoyed the trip and learned a lot.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

We loved the Historic Tour of Rio. Just make sure to call ahead and confirm the departure time.

Nicola G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This was a really good way to spend a few hours. Gave a good overview of old Rio and some sites you may not visit on your own.

NeilC Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Tour should be called the Walking tour of CHURCHES. All we seemed to do was entering free churches and miss out on the cities more historical buildings like the newly renovated Opera House, National Theatre, Library and other significant buildings in the city.

In the Centro Cultural Centre, the tour guide had to find out what certain statues were. She should have known already. Imperial Palace visit was far too brief, less than 5 minutes were allowed, Cafateria Colombo was very very crowded and made the visit less than interesting.
Tour guide spoke English, however was hard to understand on occasions.

This tour could be enhanced with more varied buildings and not just all the churches in the area.

Kiran Kumar V India

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Our guide JB started off well, later the walking tour went through unnecessary stops, of little significance. Recommended as it passes through hidden places of historic rio...

Deborah

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Just OK at best. Joe the guide was on was so far ahead of us we could have veered off the path and he would never have noticed. Plus he provided little info and never encouraged questions. Should be called a church tour.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 56.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message