Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 141 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 141 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great half day tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip; wonderful scenery aided by a clear day. A must do experience on any trip to Rio with the added bonus of a visit to the modern City Cathedral with the sun reflecting through its impressive stained glass windows. Only downside was my husband inadvertently dropping his ticket on the tour bus and being unable to take the trip with the tour group. He found it as soon as we were able to access the bus on its return journey and as it was valid for use returned in the afternoon and described it as being the best mistake in his life as he was up Sugar Loaf when the sunset - an awesome sight!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We got picked up on Copacabana at 8-30am. " J.B " our guide came bouncing off the bus to greet us,he is an awesome guide,such a character!! We went on a tour of downtown and the cathedral first,which was very interesting.When we got to sugarloaf it started to rain,"J B" got off the bus and sorted the tickets for us all,when we got up to the top the rain had stopped and what a view we got..amazing.A great trip,thanks J B.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Despite the rain the tour was great. We had the extra mile in it since we had the downtowns and Cathedral tour before taking us to the mounting. I do not know if we were lucky and just waiting for the skies to clear or if this is how our guide likes to start the mounting tour. Beautiful views. One of the four things you have to see while in Rio.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing and the extra bus ride to the cathedral and carnival area was brilliant! V good tour guide! She knows her stuff!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip and great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good tour but bus company came 30mins late

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Maria the tour guide was great. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide Jean Baptiste aka JB is awesome. Well ran and very informative throughout. We got great views of Sugarloaf, the history of the city/mountain plus JB's witty banter in between. Great, I would recommend,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

If you are in Rio, you must do this!! This is the best thing we did here, the views are absolutely stunning. Our guide was terrific and she got us up and down with no waiting. The City tour is exactly what you would expect. For fun I recommend watching the James Bond movie Moonraker when you get back home, you will get why, when you see it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English. Organisation was good and pick up was from Hotel so very easy.

Sharne A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We went on both the morning tour to Sugar Loaf and the afternoon tour to Corcovado Mountain and the Statue of Christ the two tours worked well together. This tour met the description and we were happy with it

Great if you only have one day to see it all

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My 5 friends and I signed up for the Sugar Loaf Mountain Tour when we were in Rio for New Years. We had a very positive experience with the tour and our tour guide. If it had not been for the tour, we would have had to wait over 2 hours in line to just get to the first mountain before we took the second cable car ride to sugar loaf. If you are planning on going to Rio during a peak time, I would 100% recommend booking this tour. Our tour guide was very informative. All in all it was a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a great tour. The vegetation on Sugar Loaf was beautiful and the views were spectacular. The rapid transport of tourists was done very efficiently.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fabulous tour.Views wonderful all round. Guide was multilingual, very experienced and knowledgeable.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_18

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message