• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The tour guide was helpful and seemed to have a good grasp of English. However, the accent was sometimes difficult to understand. Eventually I zoned out. Easier than struggling to understand a guide while I'm on vacation.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was great!!! I enjoyed the tour and recommend it as a MUST DO! Although our bus driver was late in picking us up because he was "stuck in traffic." I think he was sleeping!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Well organized and views are spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had a fantastic time. The tour guide was great and spoke 4 languages. Would recommend to others.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Superb! The tour guide we had spoke with real warmth, about the places we drove past as well as the actual history of Sugar Loaf. He communicated in both English, Portuguese and Spanish and from the amount of laughs and questions from others members on the excursion, he really made the afternoon an enlightening experience. The actual cable car itself was just breathtaking. We even managed to by-pass the extremely long queue at the entrance which helped tremendously. We made our descent at about 530pm, just in time to see the sunset over the city.
One further comment, I was met at my local hotel by a very friendly representative from the tour company who happily chatted to me about Rio and the great things to see and do, prior to the coach arriving. The enthusiastic manner in which he spoke of his city, further made the excursion a worth while (and memorable) experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very thorough tour and magnificent views of Rio. Tour guide spoke to international group in 5 different languages!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

Our guide was so good that we asked for him for our tour the next day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

Everything was perfect, the tour was magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Another excellent experience for us in Brazil with Viator. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We went in late June and we lucked out with a beautifully clear day. The views were amazing, cable cars were fun and everything went smoothly with our tour guide who was very knowledgeable. It was a great tour. I would recommend this tour if you have extra time in Rio but I would not recommend it over Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The bus was right on time and we avoided all the crowds. It was a terrific tour and we enjoyed our guide, Yeda.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This guide was really an odd ball but in the end everyone loved him. Initially made some people quite angry when their names were not on the list due to some miscommunication. Took a while to sort out and that was the only snag. Once the guide warmed up, he was on full flow and really was humorous. Spoke good English and instructions were clear. The trip to the church could have been a bit longer and maybe some brochures in English would have been good. Once on the mountains, it was simply breath taking. Took a good shot of England's training ground for the WC (the would get knocked out in the evening when Costa Rica won). Some time to buy souvenirs would have been good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good trip. Additional city tour was a bonus. Guide was very good. Pickup was punctual and driver did his best in traffic jams of Rio during World Cup.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really nice tour. Totally worth it; The view from the top is really amazing.

From USD $ 76.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message