Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 157 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best Sugar Loaf Mountain Half-Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 157 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

Our guide was so good that we asked for him for our tour the next day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

Everything was perfect, the tour was magnificent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Another excellent experience for us in Brazil with Viator. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We found this tour very good except it took too long to pick everyone up from all the different hotels I would book a smaller tour next time Guide was excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic tour guide- very knowledgeable and helpful, surprise stop at the Cathedral on the way. The top of the mountain was much more commercialised than expected, which was the only disappointment.

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

You must do this...

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Enjoyed the tour of the downtown area prior to trip to Sugar Loaf. Informative guide and great bus. Couldn't have asked for more. Views of Rio were incredible and the cable car ride was less scary than we thought.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Well organized and the guide was very enjoyable. Offered to take pictures at interesting sites which was a plus.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great morning outstanding views even got to see the monkeys.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good Tour, worth seeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Tour was nice. Unfortunately weather was not but that wasn't gray lines fault!

Yap KK
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Transport came 30min late and the tour group is too big for my liking (30-40 people) . Sight was beautiful and tour guide was quite professional

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Tour with Luis. He was great and the views were amazing. One piece advice is to sit backward going up so you can get some great pictures when the forest has a clearing!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We went in late June and we lucked out with a beautifully clear day. The views were amazing, cable cars were fun and everything went smoothly with our tour guide who was very knowledgeable. It was a great tour. I would recommend this tour if you have extra time in Rio but I would not recommend it over Corcovado Mountain and Christ Redeemer tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a pretty day we had for our tour of Rio and Sugar Loaf. The bus picked us up at 8:20am and dropped us off at 2pm. Traffic was lighter then usual so we made it to the tram in good time. We were thankful we signed up for a morning tour as the lines were very LONG when we finished up. Our guide was okay--not as informative as the one we had the prior day for the Christ the Statute tour. We felt we did not need quite as much time on the top of Sugar Loaf as was allotted but it was fine. The views of the city and coast were wonderful to see as you were climbing up in the tram car. Afterwards, we enjoyed going to the Carnival site and seeing some of the costumes worn in the Parade but the stop at the modern Cathedral was special. As soon as our tour was done, we had to head to the airport so it was a perfect ending to our World Cup stay in Rio!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The bus was right on time and we avoided all the crowds. It was a terrific tour and we enjoyed our guide, Yeda.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This guide was really an odd ball but in the end everyone loved him. Initially made some people quite angry when their names were not on the list due to some miscommunication. Took a while to sort out and that was the only snag. Once the guide warmed up, he was on full flow and really was humorous. Spoke good English and instructions were clear. The trip to the church could have been a bit longer and maybe some brochures in English would have been good. Once on the mountains, it was simply breath taking. Took a good shot of England's training ground for the WC (the would get knocked out in the evening when Costa Rica won). Some time to buy souvenirs would have been good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good trip. Additional city tour was a bonus. Guide was very good. Pickup was punctual and driver did his best in traffic jams of Rio during World Cup.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really nice tour. Totally worth it; The view from the top is really amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Knowledgeable tour guide. Late pickup though. Otherwise highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The bus, which was clean and comfortable, arrived at our hotel on time and the tour guide was friendly, professional and informative. Being collected and dropped back at the hotel took away all our worries about how we would find our way and we felt perfectly safe on this trip. We really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to anyone who is a visitor to Rio.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We were scheduled to get picked up by the tour bus at 0730 but it did not happen till past 10:00am.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was too bad that it was cloudy outstanding well organized tour excellent

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Good tour and well organised. Guide frequently ignored the Brazilians amongst us my not explaining in Portuguese. I talked to one who was not happy. All in all good value

From USD $ 79.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_18

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message