Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 171 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Shailesh S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

They came to our hotel on time and dropped us back. The tour, the tour guide and the driver were great. We had a great time.

Ross D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A very interesting, informative and casual tour. Walked in the Tajuca Forest. The open topped jeep was very good. Guide - excellent.

Amy T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our guide was great!

Rebekah S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our guide was extremely knowlegable about the forest and he made our tour very interesting. The area is very lush and beautiful, well worth going.

Lilianne S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our guide was awesome and we had the best time on the tour. There were only a couple of us, but it was very informative and fun. Definetely worth the money and I would do it again!

Jeff J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our guide was delightful and so knowledgeable. She made the tour fun, even though we lost most of the light and had rain. What a magnificent park. We felt that it was something we needed to see and were not disappointed. There were only 4 of us, so the trip was very personal.

Marcus H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Very cool! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and fluent in many languages. Beautiful weather. We got to see a sloth in slow motion, which was excellent. A monkey foraging for food on a limb. And a family of coatis. Enjoyed it very much.

Gregory S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

The guide and the driver were extremely competent and knowledgeable. Before they arrived, I was a little nervous about how the tour would be. However, they relieved my doubt, and my friend and I had a great experience in such a beautiful place.

Patrick H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was really great. The guide and driver were both extremely nice and prompt. Our experience exceeded our initial expectations. We would recommend the tour.

Sandy A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This is a definite tour I would not want to miss. Our tour guide was excellent. While we saw other tour companies race on by our tour guide stopped to allow us to really experience the forest. The forest was incredibly beautiful. It really gave you a sense of what natural beauty Brazil has.

Bernardo A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

Loved the hike, even saw some animals in the forest.

Kathleen P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was an excellent trip by Jeep in the Tijuco National Park. Our guide was excellent and gave us choices of how much walking we wanted to do. We saw monkeys and raccoons and learned a lot about the history of the area and the plant life.

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Everything was good on the tour...
They pick up us 20 minutes late from the hotel... We did not have any information... So i had to call a Brazilian number... So my mobile phone bill was incredible hight

rebecca g

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Amazing views. Helpful guide. Really enjoyable day overall.

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Aside from the pick up being an hour late, the tour was very good. There was a nice mix of guided exploration and independent exploration. Tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. He made an effort to engage with all members of the tour group.

Jenny B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Jeep ride was really nice to do in the Rio de Janeiro heat, also the scenes we visited were nice. The Eco hike was only a stroll through the forest though which took us about 10 minutes, that's it. Would have loved to see a little more of the jungle all in all and maybe some more animals we saw monkeys but the guide didn't point out or talk about any other animals, but it was ok and our guide was very nice, funny and spoke good English. Can recommend it.

Nicole A

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was very interesting, we learned a lot from our guide. However, it was very hot and the jeep is not air conditioned. The sites were beautiful. I did feel bored at times though. I needed something a little more stimulating. There was a lot of driving and it made me tired in between sites.

Barry M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a very enjoyable tour of the Tijuca forest...just a short drive out of Rio de Janeiro. Our guide, Carlos was warm and friendly and gave interesting commentary on the local flora and fauna. Unfortunately, we had rain and fog which interfered with seeing some of the overlooks, but that isn't a bad reflection on the tour. One can't control the weather.

Lena R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide, I think his name was Ian, was very good. He gave us good information about the rain forest. On our way back to Rio he took us to a spot where they served superior Acai gelato. Which we really enjoyed. The open jeep ride was fun, but it would not hurt if the jeep was more modern with seat belts that were functioning properly.

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good trip, however it does take a long time to get to the forest due to the traffic congestion.

Barbara P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

A lot of driving and not enough of exploring the forest on our own foot. However an organized tour is the only way to explore Tijuca so we took the chance and it was nice tour.

psalm.de.leon

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! We had someone named Paolo Zani (sp?)! He was very knowledgeable, spoke great English and had a sense of humor. The tour was very informative and insightful, great sights to see in the Forest and the rest of the tour.

Marius S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice trip, we have only expected more wild life at sight.

Peter W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely say go on a jeep tour, but don't do it through Viator. They organise it through Grayline. We found out we had to 'reconfirm' when we got to Rio, but it was in the fine print and we didn't see it until the night before. We managed to get it sorted out and we were told we would be picked up at 9.15, despite the original start time being 8am. The tour guide turned up at 8.40 and it was quite clear he wanted to drive off without us despite the fact we were eating breakfast. When we got downstairs to join the tour, it turned out they were waiting for another couple who also had been told 9.15 but at 9 o'clock the tour guide wanted to leave without them and mark them as no shows. We persuaded him to wait and they did eventually get down, but the tour guide was so grumpy, and basically rude. When we had picked everyone up, the jeep was full so the tour guide sat in the front seat. This meant he didn't tell us anything until the jeep stopped at the first sight. He said it was because he couldn't turn round, and if there had been room in the back he would have told us lots about the city - fat lot of use that is! Luckily one of the girls got int he front of seat after that, and he did tell us a few bits and pieces, but he certainly was not full of information. Unless Viator are going to change their partnership, go with a different company. But definitely do go on a jeep tour because it is definitely worth dong!!!

Felica E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice way to experience the rain forest, especially on hot days!

Viewing 3 of 7

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

Special Offer
$67.99 Save $6.80

From USD $ 61.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message