Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 143 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 143 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

Loved the hike, even saw some animals in the forest.

Kathleen P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was an excellent trip by Jeep in the Tijuco National Park. Our guide was excellent and gave us choices of how much walking we wanted to do. We saw monkeys and raccoons and learned a lot about the history of the area and the plant life.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

A lot of driving and not enough of exploring the forest on our own foot. However an organized tour is the only way to explore Tijuca so we took the chance and it was nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! We had someone named Paolo Zani (sp?)! He was very knowledgeable, spoke great English and had a sense of humor. The tour was very informative and insightful, great sights to see in the Forest and the rest of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Nice trip, we have only expected more wild life at sight.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I would definitely say go on a jeep tour, but don't do it through Viator. They organise it through Grayline. We found out we had to 'reconfirm' when we got to Rio, but it was in the fine print and we didn't see it until the night before. We managed to get it sorted out and we were told we would be picked up at 9.15, despite the original start time being 8am. The tour guide turned up at 8.40 and it was quite clear he wanted to drive off without us despite the fact we were eating breakfast. When we got downstairs to join the tour, it turned out they were waiting for another couple who also had been told 9.15 but at 9 o'clock the tour guide wanted to leave without them and mark them as no shows. We persuaded him to wait and they did eventually get down, but the tour guide was so grumpy, and basically rude. When we had picked everyone up, the jeep was full so the tour guide sat in the front seat. This meant he didn't tell us anything until the jeep stopped at the first sight. He said it was because he couldn't turn round, and if there had been room in the back he would have told us lots about the city - fat lot of use that is! Luckily one of the girls got int he front of seat after that, and he did tell us a few bits and pieces, but he certainly was not full of information. Unless Viator are going to change their partnership, go with a different company. But definitely do go on a jeep tour because it is definitely worth dong!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice way to experience the rain forest, especially on hot days!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was AMAZING!!! I was picked up early which I wasn't prepared for, so that caused me a bit of stress as I was in the restaurant having breakfast when they came looking for me. I felt the ride through the city up to the Rain Forest was a tour itself as my guide pointed out certain landmarks. Once we entered the Rain Forest, our guide took pictures of us and was very informative. I felt we had enough time to enjoy the scenery. I highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good tour, guide was very knowledgable, spoke English well, very pleasant. Was able to see incredible views, waterfall and a few monkeys. We enjoyed the ride.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We went around in the rainforest. Our guide and driver was very friendly and we were talking about so much interesting stories about Rio and Brazil. In the chinese tower we got picturesque panorama, the bigger waterfalls was also nice and we went for walking as well. Only I miss the animals...

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice, guide was also very good!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice half day trip... Fabio was knowledgable and entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

it would be great if it was longer a bit than 4 hours only and include animal viewing

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Nice Trip, and a very kind Guide.
Not as much rainforest ( jungle ) as I expected.
But over all a very nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

It was a nice tour despite of the weather and the guide was really cool!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great views from the chinese pavilion down to the bay. Jeep comfortable. This is for lazy people though, since the mini-trek isn't one really. Overall a good half day if you are pressed by time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Had a good time. It was rainy so it was a bit wet and muddy. But still a good hike. No wildlife, there were all staying dry.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

AN OK TRIP IF YOU HAVE NOTHING ELSE TO DO. THE VIEWS ARE AMAZING, BUT OUR GUIDE WAS A BIT COCKY.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

We were instructed to be ready at our pick-up location by 8:50, which we were. Jeep didn't arrive until 9:50 forcing us to call them twice (international rates) to find out what was going on.
Beyond that, the tour was great. Guide was knowlegable and pleasant. A great way to experience to forest.

Donna
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good tour. Friendly, knowledgeable guide. Easy walk through the forest.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We had a wonderful time on the tour. The guide was informative and we were allowed ample time to take pictures. I was expecting more forestry but enjoyed every minute of my tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was good, guide Fabio was very passionate about the forest. Really enjoyed the hour walk we had too. It was only us three on the tour, which made it very personal (not sure if this is normal)

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

I thought this was a great tour. The guide was fantastic. Rio is absolutely beatiful. The only reason this tour gets 4 stars is that the 30 min hike is actually a five to ten minute stroll. No hiking gear required.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This tour was pretty good. I didn't get to see any really cool wild animals, but I did get a chance to go hang gliding near the end of the tour.

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message