Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 142 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 142 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

An easy half day tour first to a botanical garden then the forest. Great views of Rio seen on this tour. The forest at one time was a French coffee plantation, it took the Brazilian government 15 years to replant with natural vegetation.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Great to get away from the crowds into a nice peaceful setting - guide was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Very good trip. The jeep seated 10. The tour guide was knowledgeable. The walk is about 50 minutes and across flat ground. Would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011


Small communication problem.Tour was good and intresting

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

This tour was fun. The guide spoke English very well, was very informative, and pretty funny. Our "eco walk" was less than an hour, but I suspect it was because some people on the tour thought it would be best to walk through a wet forest in flip flops. Our guide seemed very aware of the ages and abilities of the group and chose a very easy, clear trail to walk along. Still, he pointed out all sorts of interesting things along the way. Overall, I'd totally take this tour again. Tijuca is beautiful and really worth seeing, but because it is so big, I couldn't imagine trying to navigate through it without a guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Was ill from food eaten the night before and missed the trip which was to be my highlight. Is there ANYWAY you can credit back my account even a partial amount? My friend went and loved it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Good trip. The first jeep that we rode in conked out on us, but the replacement jeep was there in no time (less than 10 minutes)

Ursula H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Most enjoyable trip - guide very knowledgeable. Would have liked to see more animals, birds, etc., but overall well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Pretty good trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Guide was outstanding.

Mariusz K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

There is a nice view of the city from the forest.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

We got to see monkeys up close and personal!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The tour guide was very nice and enthusiastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

A good way to see some of the Tijuca forest. There were 6 of us in the jeep - the guide was friendly, informative and spoke good English.

Hazel D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Great tour into the rainforest away from all the other tourists.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

An excellent trip. My only critical feedback is that it would have been nice to spend a little more time on foot having the flora explained.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Just good. Extremely fast and the guides where in hurry!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was ok. Our guide was not terribly talkative and we spent most of the time in the jeep.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Amazing scenery and views.
Nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the jeep ride was very good with great views of Rio. The gentle trek was just that, gentle. Only thing that let this tour down was the tour guide who fell asleep during the tour and didn't really give you any information regarding the rain forest.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The operator wouldn't answer phone calls and refused to pick us up from the hotel. Once on the jeep though, the tour guide was great; we also got an impromptu tour of some amazing beaches on the way back. If you can, go hiking in Tijuca instead, but this was still a lot of fun

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide was very friendly, pleasant and enthusiastic, however, he was at times a little difficult to understand, and sometimes went off-topic. I would have liked to hear more local stories and history as we went along, not so much about other places in the world. There was a little chapel I wish we had stopped at, but the driver went right by. Also, the drive home went by all the beautiful beaches, and I didn't understand why we hadn't taken that route both ways. We were disappointed not to see any animals whatsoever, which probably was due to the weather being slightly cool. All together it was a pleasant outing, but not as exciting as I'd hoped for.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

One time visit but the lady guide Anna was very good. She had a good knowledge and was very passionate about her job.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I was hoping to see SOME sort of wildlife. No luck. That's the way it works sometimes when you're dealing with wild animals! :) The hike was nice and easy... the museum inside Tijuca was small, but informative about how settlers found and survived in the area before modern day.The best thing was the waterfall. GORGEOUS. The drive back to the hotels was nice because it takes you around to a side of Rio you probably would never see (unless you're driving a car). It was refreshing to see kids at school and people making their way home from work (more locals and less tourists). Could have lived if we didn't make it to this rain forest.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good. I was expecting (hoping) that there would be more interactive. The tour guide, a 21 year old female (I don't remember her name) was very knowledgeable about the Tijuca Forest and spoke English fairly well.

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message