Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 139 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 139 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The guide for this tour was great. Very knowledgable and good fun. The trip is worth doing. It would have Ben made better by getting a bit further off the main roads.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Our tour guide spoke English only moderately so we may have missed out on some information. Overall, great views and stunning scenery!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour gide was great 5-stars for him and also for the company.
The trip itself, wasn't too exciting. 90% of the trip you will sit in an open Jeep driving on a road, climibing the hill on narrow curves. Only interesting part was the overlook over Rio from the Vista Chinesa view point.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour itself is very nice. The positives: the guide - very nice, everything was well organized, the Botanical gardens - the highlight of the tour.
The negative - it was not what i expected, it is a tour in a jeep, but on road, does not have the feeling of jeep ride in a forest, nothing wildlife.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

A decent tour into the Tijuca forest but we thought there would be more hiking than there was. The Jeep doesn't stray far from the path. But, great for people who want to visit the Tijuca but might be concerned that doing so would be too physical.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

didnt see any animals but was a fun ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour was good, but it is quite misleading as it was made to seem as though we will spend hours in the rainforest, not at a local botanical gardens. I have one of those where I live.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Good

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Very nice guide. We learned a lot about Brazilian nature, but it was not enough jungle and we didn't see too many living animals.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This your was not great. It wasn't what viator advertised. The tour was only about 2 hours instead of 4, we drove to Tijuca, quickly saw a waterfall, went on a 10 minute hike, well really a walk, and quickly stopped by the Chinese view before heading back to the hotel. I was really disappointed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip is boring. The tour guide is VERY NICE and PASSIONATE, spending lots of time introducing Rio city. However, The Tijuca first trip is boring and no excitement. The exact time in the forest is very little, only the Chinese lookout is worthy, other parts are soso, should take us to see more inside the forest.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I didn't really enjoy this tour. The guide did not do a great job of engaging the crowd and making this interesting. The tour did not have a lot of structure to it. We got off a few times took pictures and hopped back in the jeep. I expected to see more things and spend more time in nature.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Was basically a ride in a jeep around some hotels collecting people , then a view of the city and a rather broken museum in the forest . So my advice is tO take the local bus cost 5 usd.

Up side the staff are super friendly so no fault of theirs .

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The actual tour lasted about 2 1/2 hours. Advertised as a four hour half day tour, we spent 1 1/2 hours picking up clients from other hotels. There was a huge confusion - the wrong couple was picked up so we had to take them back and exchange to another couple. The guide was extremely talented; an experienced guide. I'd rate the tour 2 out of 5 stars due to poor scheduling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unfortunately not what I was expecting. I thought we'd get you see some wild life, we didn't even get to see a single butterfly. We did enjoy riding in the open air jeep and our two guides were great. Tour didn't last 4 hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour guide very nice and explained many things. Not as adventurous as I'd personally like - but if you'd like a chilled ride then you will like.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Our tour guide Adoni was great and made the tour worthwhile! I enjoyed the tour, however I was under the impression we would spend more time in the rainforest doing the "eco-trek" which was just a short nature walk approximately 10-15 minutes. If you're looking for a quick way to experience Tijuca then this if for you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The nature is beautiful but not very different from what is seen when going to Corcovado.
We had chosen this tour because there was one hour walk. But the walk was very short.
We have not seen all that was in the tour description though the tour has ended one hour before schedule! In a sense it was allright because we had too much of being in a jeep. That was not our goal. Of course at that speed, we saw no animals...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

Tour was meant to be 5 hrs - was 2.5 hrs - tour guides knowledge was limited - walk was 10 minutes.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

The sites were beautiful, the tour guide was less than perfect. Our group was made up of Americans, Austrians, and Italians. The tour was suppose to be in English, but instead the guide spent the entire time talking Portuguese to the Italians. Go for the view, don't expect much info to be provided.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

We thought it was an off Road

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Make sure that you confirm pick up time at least 2X with the local company. We had problems with pick up twice, once when they missed us completely and then on the 2nd go, they came 1/2 later than confirmed. Don't expect a hike of any kind. We did not walk for more than 10 minutes strolling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Our guide was plesant and entertaining. I was expecting to see exotic birds and some animal life, none seen.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

The trip sounded great according to the other ratings but turned out to be a little disappointing. The rainforest was beautiful as was the waterfall. However, our tour guide did not speak english very well and didn't really know anything about the rainforest. He made guesses at what each kind of tree was, took us to the rain forest, and took us back. There wasn't much else to it. Not worth the money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

I wasn't impressed with this tour even though our guide was very good. I saw similar things on other tours and really could have skipped this one. The way it is presented in the letterature/advertisement, we were expecting a jeep tour "off the paved raods' throught he rain forest, so for us it was a dissappointment.

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message