Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 146 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tijuca Rain Forest Jeep Tour from Rio de Janeiro. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 146 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

One time visit but the lady guide Anna was very good. She had a good knowledge and was very passionate about her job.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I was hoping to see SOME sort of wildlife. No luck. That's the way it works sometimes when you're dealing with wild animals! :) The hike was nice and easy... the museum inside Tijuca was small, but informative about how settlers found and survived in the area before modern day.The best thing was the waterfall. GORGEOUS. The drive back to the hotels was nice because it takes you around to a side of Rio you probably would never see (unless you're driving a car). It was refreshing to see kids at school and people making their way home from work (more locals and less tourists). Could have lived if we didn't make it to this rain forest.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good. I was expecting (hoping) that there would be more interactive. The tour guide, a 21 year old female (I don't remember her name) was very knowledgeable about the Tijuca Forest and spoke English fairly well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

A good way to spend a morning seeing a different aspect to Rio.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Weather was great and the tour guide was very helpful and funny ,thanks

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Half of this tour is the getting there and coming back as the jeep ascends through the mountains passing several viewing points of the city and descends back via the main beaches. Once in the rainforest national park the activities are sightseeing at a small waterfall and doing a 15 minute level walk. There's no need for a jeep though as the tour doesn't leave the roads at any time, but you do get a different perspective on the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The guide for this tour was great. Very knowledgable and good fun. The trip is worth doing. It would have Ben made better by getting a bit further off the main roads.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Our tour guide spoke English only moderately so we may have missed out on some information. Overall, great views and stunning scenery!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour gide was great 5-stars for him and also for the company.
The trip itself, wasn't too exciting. 90% of the trip you will sit in an open Jeep driving on a road, climibing the hill on narrow curves. Only interesting part was the overlook over Rio from the Vista Chinesa view point.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour itself is very nice. The positives: the guide - very nice, everything was well organized, the Botanical gardens - the highlight of the tour.
The negative - it was not what i expected, it is a tour in a jeep, but on road, does not have the feeling of jeep ride in a forest, nothing wildlife.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

A decent tour into the Tijuca forest but we thought there would be more hiking than there was. The Jeep doesn't stray far from the path. But, great for people who want to visit the Tijuca but might be concerned that doing so would be too physical.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

didnt see any animals but was a fun ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour was good, but it is quite misleading as it was made to seem as though we will spend hours in the rainforest, not at a local botanical gardens. I have one of those where I live.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Good

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Very nice guide. We learned a lot about Brazilian nature, but it was not enough jungle and we didn't see too many living animals.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Open top jeep, seeing a monkey and the view of Vista Chinesa for the stars! Other than that our total trip was only 3 hours - guide was subpar, did not go to Cachoeira dos Macacos Waterfall of the Monkeys and eco-trek/hike was more like 5 minutes. The highlights of this tour are very misleading and the folks on the tour with us felt the same way.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

This your was not great. It wasn't what viator advertised. The tour was only about 2 hours instead of 4, we drove to Tijuca, quickly saw a waterfall, went on a 10 minute hike, well really a walk, and quickly stopped by the Chinese view before heading back to the hotel. I was really disappointed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip is boring. The tour guide is VERY NICE and PASSIONATE, spending lots of time introducing Rio city. However, The Tijuca first trip is boring and no excitement. The exact time in the forest is very little, only the Chinese lookout is worthy, other parts are soso, should take us to see more inside the forest.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I didn't really enjoy this tour. The guide did not do a great job of engaging the crowd and making this interesting. The tour did not have a lot of structure to it. We got off a few times took pictures and hopped back in the jeep. I expected to see more things and spend more time in nature.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Was basically a ride in a jeep around some hotels collecting people , then a view of the city and a rather broken museum in the forest . So my advice is tO take the local bus cost 5 usd.

Up side the staff are super friendly so no fault of theirs .

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The actual tour lasted about 2 1/2 hours. Advertised as a four hour half day tour, we spent 1 1/2 hours picking up clients from other hotels. There was a huge confusion - the wrong couple was picked up so we had to take them back and exchange to another couple. The guide was extremely talented; an experienced guide. I'd rate the tour 2 out of 5 stars due to poor scheduling.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Unfortunately not what I was expecting. I thought we'd get you see some wild life, we didn't even get to see a single butterfly. We did enjoy riding in the open air jeep and our two guides were great. Tour didn't last 4 hours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Tour guide very nice and explained many things. Not as adventurous as I'd personally like - but if you'd like a chilled ride then you will like.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Our tour guide Adoni was great and made the tour worthwhile! I enjoyed the tour, however I was under the impression we would spend more time in the rainforest doing the "eco-trek" which was just a short nature walk approximately 10-15 minutes. If you're looking for a quick way to experience Tijuca then this if for you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The nature is beautiful but not very different from what is seen when going to Corcovado.
We had chosen this tour because there was one hour walk. But the walk was very short.
We have not seen all that was in the tour description though the tour has ended one hour before schedule! In a sense it was allright because we had too much of being in a jeep. That was not our goal. Of course at that speed, we saw no animals...

From USD $ 74.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message