Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 171 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ursula H United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Most enjoyable trip - guide very knowledgeable. Would have liked to see more animals, birds, etc., but overall well worth it.

Kent S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Pretty good trip

Lionel H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Guide was outstanding.

Mariusz K United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

There is a nice view of the city from the forest.

Shavon S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

We got to see monkeys up close and personal!!!

Jeremy W

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The tour guide was very nice and enthusiastic.

Neil P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

A good way to see some of the Tijuca forest. There were 6 of us in the jeep - the guide was friendly, informative and spoke good English.

Hazel D United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Great tour into the rainforest away from all the other tourists.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

An excellent trip. My only critical feedback is that it would have been nice to spend a little more time on foot having the flora explained.

Trudy USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

If you enjoy hiking and nature this is the tour to take. We did not see any wild animala because it was to hot and they don't come out when it's hot. The water falls are amazing and our tour guide Milena was funny, knowledgeable and spoke several languages

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A very pleasant trip out of Rio ,excellent guide and good company, the short walk in the forest most enjoyable

Lennard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Die Tour war ok. Der Reiseleiter war wirklich sehr bemüht und organisiert. Allerdings haben wir die Tour mit einer deutschen Reiseleitung gebucht, der Guide konnte jedoch nur Englisch. Es war für uns kein Problem, trotzdem haben wir genau genommen für eine Tour mit deutscher Reiseleitung gezahlt, einen Service, den wir nicht erhalten haben.
Generell sind alle Touren, die man hier buchen kann, vor Ort viel günstiger zu buchen.

Trina S United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Lovely experience, although we weren't able to receive the full impact of the vantage points due to misty weather.

Laura H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a great experience! I would have never known to venture out to this without taking the tour.

Rodrigo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Just good. Extremely fast and the guides where in hurry!!!

NJ G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was ok. Our guide was not terribly talkative and we spent most of the time in the jeep.

Rhiannon S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Amazing scenery and views.
Nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

helen.markham

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the jeep ride was very good with great views of Rio. The gentle trek was just that, gentle. Only thing that let this tour down was the tour guide who fell asleep during the tour and didn't really give you any information regarding the rain forest.

Sameer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The operator wouldn't answer phone calls and refused to pick us up from the hotel. Once on the jeep though, the tour guide was great; we also got an impromptu tour of some amazing beaches on the way back. If you can, go hiking in Tijuca instead, but this was still a lot of fun

Amy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide was very friendly, pleasant and enthusiastic, however, he was at times a little difficult to understand, and sometimes went off-topic. I would have liked to hear more local stories and history as we went along, not so much about other places in the world. There was a little chapel I wish we had stopped at, but the driver went right by. Also, the drive home went by all the beautiful beaches, and I didn't understand why we hadn't taken that route both ways. We were disappointed not to see any animals whatsoever, which probably was due to the weather being slightly cool. All together it was a pleasant outing, but not as exciting as I'd hoped for.

DevMou

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

One time visit but the lady guide Anna was very good. She had a good knowledge and was very passionate about her job.

Taryn B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I was hoping to see SOME sort of wildlife. No luck. That's the way it works sometimes when you're dealing with wild animals! :) The hike was nice and easy... the museum inside Tijuca was small, but informative about how settlers found and survived in the area before modern day.The best thing was the waterfall. GORGEOUS. The drive back to the hotels was nice because it takes you around to a side of Rio you probably would never see (unless you're driving a car). It was refreshing to see kids at school and people making their way home from work (more locals and less tourists). Could have lived if we didn't make it to this rain forest.

Assunta W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good. I was expecting (hoping) that there would be more interactive. The tour guide, a 21 year old female (I don't remember her name) was very knowledgeable about the Tijuca Forest and spoke English fairly well.

Martin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

A good way to spend a morning seeing a different aspect to Rio.

Suesser

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Weather was great and the tour guide was very helpful and funny ,thanks

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

Special Offer
$67.99 Save $6.80

From USD $ 61.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message