Insider's Guide to Rio de Janeiro

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 161 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hazel D United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

Great tour into the rainforest away from all the other tourists.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

An excellent trip. My only critical feedback is that it would have been nice to spend a little more time on foot having the flora explained.

bobphillips65 Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

A very pleasant trip out of Rio ,excellent guide and good company, the short walk in the forest most enjoyable

Lennard B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Die Tour war ok. Der Reiseleiter war wirklich sehr bemüht und organisiert. Allerdings haben wir die Tour mit einer deutschen Reiseleitung gebucht, der Guide konnte jedoch nur Englisch. Es war für uns kein Problem, trotzdem haben wir genau genommen für eine Tour mit deutscher Reiseleitung gezahlt, einen Service, den wir nicht erhalten haben.
Generell sind alle Touren, die man hier buchen kann, vor Ort viel günstiger zu buchen.

Trina S United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Lovely experience, although we weren't able to receive the full impact of the vantage points due to misty weather.

Laura H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a great experience! I would have never known to venture out to this without taking the tour.

Rodrigo M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Just good. Extremely fast and the guides where in hurry!!!

NJ G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was ok. Our guide was not terribly talkative and we spent most of the time in the jeep.

Rhiannon S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Amazing scenery and views.
Nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

helen.markham

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The hotel pick up was on time and the jeep ride was very good with great views of Rio. The gentle trek was just that, gentle. Only thing that let this tour down was the tour guide who fell asleep during the tour and didn't really give you any information regarding the rain forest.

Sameer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The operator wouldn't answer phone calls and refused to pick us up from the hotel. Once on the jeep though, the tour guide was great; we also got an impromptu tour of some amazing beaches on the way back. If you can, go hiking in Tijuca instead, but this was still a lot of fun

Amy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Our guide was very friendly, pleasant and enthusiastic, however, he was at times a little difficult to understand, and sometimes went off-topic. I would have liked to hear more local stories and history as we went along, not so much about other places in the world. There was a little chapel I wish we had stopped at, but the driver went right by. Also, the drive home went by all the beautiful beaches, and I didn't understand why we hadn't taken that route both ways. We were disappointed not to see any animals whatsoever, which probably was due to the weather being slightly cool. All together it was a pleasant outing, but not as exciting as I'd hoped for.

DevMou

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

One time visit but the lady guide Anna was very good. She had a good knowledge and was very passionate about her job.

Taryn B USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I was hoping to see SOME sort of wildlife. No luck. That's the way it works sometimes when you're dealing with wild animals! :) The hike was nice and easy... the museum inside Tijuca was small, but informative about how settlers found and survived in the area before modern day.The best thing was the waterfall. GORGEOUS. The drive back to the hotels was nice because it takes you around to a side of Rio you probably would never see (unless you're driving a car). It was refreshing to see kids at school and people making their way home from work (more locals and less tourists). Could have lived if we didn't make it to this rain forest.

Assunta W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Good. I was expecting (hoping) that there would be more interactive. The tour guide, a 21 year old female (I don't remember her name) was very knowledgeable about the Tijuca Forest and spoke English fairly well.

Martin B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

A good way to spend a morning seeing a different aspect to Rio.

Suesser

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Weather was great and the tour guide was very helpful and funny ,thanks

Joseph M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Half of this tour is the getting there and coming back as the jeep ascends through the mountains passing several viewing points of the city and descends back via the main beaches. Once in the rainforest national park the activities are sightseeing at a small waterfall and doing a 15 minute level walk. There's no need for a jeep though as the tour doesn't leave the roads at any time, but you do get a different perspective on the city.

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The guide for this tour was great. Very knowledgable and good fun. The trip is worth doing. It would have Ben made better by getting a bit further off the main roads.

elle

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Our tour guide spoke English only moderately so we may have missed out on some information. Overall, great views and stunning scenery!

Peter P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The tour gide was great 5-stars for him and also for the company.
The trip itself, wasn't too exciting. 90% of the trip you will sit in an open Jeep driving on a road, climibing the hill on narrow curves. Only interesting part was the overlook over Rio from the Vista Chinesa view point.

Gergana P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The tour itself is very nice. The positives: the guide - very nice, everything was well organized, the Botanical gardens - the highlight of the tour.
The negative - it was not what i expected, it is a tour in a jeep, but on road, does not have the feeling of jeep ride in a forest, nothing wildlife.

David N USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

A decent tour into the Tijuca forest but we thought there would be more hiking than there was. The Jeep doesn't stray far from the path. But, great for people who want to visit the Tijuca but might be concerned that doing so would be too physical.

Kraig K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

didnt see any animals but was a fun ride

SIMONE W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour was good, but it is quite misleading as it was made to seem as though we will spend hours in the rainforest, not at a local botanical gardens. I have one of those where I live.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 67.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2484_08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message