4.5 star rating: Recommended 30 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Cancun, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 30 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

The ruins were great. I recommend renting bikes (only $3). When I did the tour, our guide took first to the cenote and then to the ruins. The ruins should be done first. After the work out at the ruins, the cenote would be a great relaxation.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour itself is awesome. For some reason, the tour has two group of travelers; one with zip line adventures, the other went to visit maya village. Lunch is so so.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Full day that was very enjoyable and information. The pick up from the hotel was good, but the transfer to the tour van was a little hectic and confusing. The guide was very good and obviously wanted the group to have a good time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This trip was nice. Every view was the same meaning, full of trees. Went up to the top the temple and still saw trees.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

The trip didn't start off well, as the tour guide failed to collect us from our hotel, and we had to walk to a meeting point, despite a hotel collection being arranged. Once we were on our way the trip was amazing, stunning views, coba is amazing!! Then off to a cenote for a dip to cool down, once again the scenery was breathtaking. Definitely recommend this trip to anyone who appreciates history and stunning views

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This was a nice itinerary and our guide, Stefanos, was very good. Coba is still a site being discovered so it's not as developed as Chichen Itza - think of it as still being in the early days for that site. Bonus as you are still permitted to climb the pyramid here at Coba. The visit to a local Mayan village was very educational and gave better insight as to how they live. The day closed out with a dip at a cenote - very refreshing.

Berney
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We enjoyed this tour. On our tour, we visited the shaman and cenote first, followed by a visit to a Mayan village and family. It was nice seeing and learning about Mayan customs, etc. The family was very nice. After this, we had a nice lunch with hot food. Then we drove to Coba. Coba is huge. You will not have enough time to see of it unless you buy a guide book and rent a bicycle there. Our guide was only able to give a small start to the visit because she had to give the talk in English and French. So, we rented bikes and bought a guide book. Then we were able to see all of the site before our van left. BTW, the climb up the ruins is easy compared with coming down. Wonderful view at the top.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Disappointing after visiting Chichen Itza. I expected our guided tour to show us more than a few places, but most of the stuff we were left to do ourselves. We did hire a ride to take us to the pyramid and that was well worth it, especially since it was raining pretty hard. We went because you are able to climb the pyramid, but I felt the rain made it too dangerous. The rain kept us from being able to take photos, as well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

- Had to take a bus to a meeting place in a mall, get off, wait for 45 minutes, then get on a different bus and go to the site.
- Tour was in both English and Spanish.
- Guide was decent but nothing special.
- Lunch was not very good.
- There was no zipline on our tour, just the cenotes.

All in all an ok experience. We typically have better luck with Viator's tours. I recommend going to Coba but maybe not on this itinerary through Viator.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Would have been better if not combined with the group on the adventure tour as more time was needed at the riuns.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The ruins were awsome. Pick up was great. But our guide looked depressed. He could barely talk or walk. Another guide would have been better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

You get more tour for your money than I was expecting. In the morning we took zip cable rides over a cenote, then canoed out to an underground cenote that people could swim in. The only disappointment was that the canoeing wasn't mentioned before the tour started so none of us had water tight bags to keep our cameras in. The organisers do take photos of you during this stage of the tour, but it costs $40 plus to purchase them. The meal was reasonable and there's no charge for drinks, but the open air setting of the cooking and eating does lead to a concern about the safety of the food. Once at the pyramid site there's a half hour tour of the some small pyramids / sports areas at the entrance, followed by the option of a mile’s walk, bike ride or peddle taxi ride to the main pyramid. The pyramid is impressive and easy to climb for any moderately fit person, but there's nothing to see other than this single pyramid and the surrounding forest. There are a number of small constructions lining the mile's path from the entrance, but it's unlikely you'll have any time to spend at these unless you limit your time at the main pyramid to 5 minutes. We had a fairly entertaining driver all the way, but there were times when we just left belongings in a bus parked in the middle of nowhere (which felt unsafe) and on the way back to the hotels in the evening we ran down some domestic dogs. The driver radioed it in to his controller, but he didn't stop. All the same I recommend this tour, and if you take a water tight bag you’ll be able to take photos of the underground cenote, the lake and the other scenery in that area.

Lydia S
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Chose to visit Coba as it is much closer to the Riviera Maya than Chichen Itza and were pleased we did. A very impressive sight and really loved being able to climb the pyramid. The tour company was great, even calling our hotel the day before to re-confirm pickup time. The tour guide was fun and informative. Was a bit apprehensive about visiting the Mayan family as it seemed a little intrusive going into their house but it wasn't as bad as I thought. The lunch was really good and the driver was very generous with the cold drinks all day. The cenote was a disappointment as it wasn't underground, it was really just a small lake and we were made to wear ill-fitting life jackets which made it impossible to swim. Still, it's ideal if you don't like the enclosed spaces and bats in the proper cenotes, and great for cooling off at the end of the day. Overall it was an enjoyable trip and I'd recommend it for a good value day out.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The tour guide looked like she was not interested in her job. She was adamant to take rickshaw when majority of the group wanted to walk and she actually left the majority of the group on their own :)) Other than that this place is just an extension of places like Tulum and Chichen Itza but has one pyramid which tourists are allowed to climb. Despite that fact, i would not recommend this tour to anyone unless you are interested in history and want to explore everything in Cancun.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Went to see a Mayan family with a guide tour name Roberto. He was very helpfull and we enjoyed our trip. My wife left something we had bought from the Mayan fammily in the Van that took us and it disappreared. Will not travel with the Shady people again. This was not Roberto's fault since he took us in antoher Van.

From USD $ 128.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3206COBA

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message