4.5 star rating: Recommended 203 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 203 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Pompei was spectacular (guide Ornella was terrific) , absolutely loved the hotel in Sorrento (one of the high points of a 2 week trip), Capri was pretty but we couldn't do the Blue Grotto due to the weather. It was actually a beautiful day but the sea has to be dead calm to enter the grotto. Only negative was the guide who took us from Rome to Naples - Juan Carlos - who I found snarky, sarcastic, and borderline rude when responding to questions from some of the passengers. I'd do this again, but stay two nights in Sorrento.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour for this experience was led by Carrani Tours and they did an excellent job! We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a fantastic time. Transport was punctual and comfortable. All the tour guides at all destinations were very friendly and helpful. The hotel in Sorrento was fabulous. We didn't expect such a nice hotel. All the tours to Pmpeii and Capri were well organised and we felt we saw the best of all destinations. We would definitely book through Viator again. Thank you

Bob
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour greatly exceeded our expectations. The tour of Pompeii was very thorough and enjoyable. The tour guide very knowledgeable. Sorrento was wonderful and the hotel absolutely beautiful with top level customer service. Our only regret here was not enough time to explore more, but, as with any tour, there will always be places we wish we had more time. The tour out to Capri was nice. A very beautiful island but has become a bit touristy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I love it! Carrani is one of the oldest travel company in Rome and it showed on the way they organized the tour. The tour leaders are very efficient. The tour guides are knowledgeable and they have a good way of communication with guests. I was "assigned" a room with superb view in Sorrento. And the dinner in the hotel's restaurant was so good. Heard from guests staying in other hotels that their restaurants were perfect, too. And the weather was good the day I was in Capri so we were able to visit Blue Grotto. OMG! My tips: If you have time, take the 3 days tour. You will have 1 more night in Sorrento to explore the small city and enjoy your hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was AMAZING! It was so well organized and incredibly well run. The hotel is Sorrento was beautiful, the tour guides were really helpful and informative, the included meals were delicious. I cannot explain how much I loved every second of this tour. Capri is the most spectacular town, and this tour is a great way to see it! Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really enjoyed this tour. The guides were helpful and knowledgeable, the food at the restaurants was excellent, the transport was very comfortable. The 4 star hotel included in the tour was fabulous. I would not recommend this tour to someone with restricted mobility (not able to walk far), as to get the most out of this tour, walking is essential. Would definitely recommend as a quick way to get a taste of these locations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an extremenly pleasant experience! Local guides were interesting, the hotel was gorgeous and the activities breath-taking! Got back to Rome a bit late (22h00) on day-two, but it was not an issue for me as I was travelling alone. I would recommand that trip any time! Thumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was very nice! Viator answered all my questions, mostly about hotels and pickup and dropoff. At the Rome level the tour was run by Carrani, which did a very nice job. All the guides spoke English and were easy to understand. The meals were pretty good, especially dinner at the hotel in Sorrento. Our hotel was a mystery until we got there (apparently Carrani splits the tour across several 4-star hotels in Sorrento based upon availability). But the hotel we had was very nice. We got to see Pompeii, do a brief walking tour in Naples, exploring in Capri and we even got to see the Blue Grotto! That requires very calm seas as you need to sit VERY low in the rowboat. We were coming off one tour and then planning on spending an extra day in Rome afterwards and I was a bit nervous about hotel pickup and dropoff. It all went very well. I would gladly and quickly do another tour with Viator (and Carrani in Rome). I highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

More than I expected! Although I wasn't all that impressed with the first stop in Naples, the Pompeii tour was eye opening, as that civilization had just about everything except electricity when it was snuffed out 2000 years ago. The overnight stay in Sorrento's Hotel Ambassadori was top notch and high class. Capri, Blue Grotto and Anacapri are all great eye candy. The various tour guides definitely know their stuff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent trip. Great tourist guides and excellent hotel

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Overall it was a fantastic experience. The Hotel in Sorrento was outstanding, I was really impressed. Dinner was included as well, and it was a really tasty 3-course dinner. I wish I would have gone on the 3-day tour instead of the 2-day tour though, as I would have loved to have more time in Sorrento, as it´s really beautiful. The guide for Capri was great, really engaging and friendly, and although we had to wait a bit to get in the Blue Grotto, he kept us informed and entertained. Great value, definitely recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Highly recommend this tour! Hotel, food, tour guider, time arranges, all are very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great value! Accomodations and meals were wonderful. We didn't do too much in Naples and I wish we had gotten to Sorrento a little earlier so we had more time to explore. Exploration of Sorrento is on your own. The guides at Pompeii and Capri were great- knowledgeable and very friendly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an amazing whirlwind trip with so much packed in the 2 days.
All the tour guides were well informed and the restaurants and hotel that we stayed in Sorrento was beautiful!

From USD $ 398.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 9+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034ROM16

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message