4.5 star rating: Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  5 days / 4 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 5-Day Best of Italy Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a wonderful trip! I would definitely recommend it for people who want to see a lot in just 5 days. Our tour guide Alessandro was very gracious to all of us; he made sure that everyone was well taken care of and that we had enough breaks, and he didn't walk too fast for us. The historical information was very interesting, also. I felt very safe with the group, which was important for me as a woman travelling alone in a foreign country. And I got a room right on the Grand Canal in Venice, which was wonderful (though not everyone got this, it's just that the hotel had a little room for one person that they could put me in).
I think this trip is a good overview of a number of cities and towns, and by having someone else do all of the coordinating for you it saves a lot of time (it would have taken me all day to figure out how to get to Murano in Venice by myself).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

We loved this trip and had a wonderful time!We were the only Americans but in spite of the language differences we enjoyed every moment thanks in part to Susanna.Everthing was well organized and timed and you even provided excellent weather along with visits to very interesting and beautiful cities. The extra offerings were great too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

What a great way to maximise a short stay in Italy. Clara the tour director was very helpful and well ahead of the game, A must do if you have a short amount of time and want a good snap shot of various regions and locations.

The bus driver was always at the pick up oints on time and was a very safe driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excelente, el viaje como estaba planeado, los hoteles muy buuenos, el guia manejo el tour muy profesionalmente. Mi recomendacion es que aceptan hacer este tour con mucha gente, en este habian 52 personas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

My wife and I booked the Standard tour (hotel in Mestre instead of Venice) and it was well worth every penny we paid for. Mario, our tour guide, was corny at times (JK!) but overall very knowledgeable and fun, while Sabatino, our driver, was very good also. The Standard (cheaper) deal put us at a Hotel in Mestre so we had to commute to Venice on our own for the evening we were there. But it wasn't a problem at all because the bus stop to go to Venice is right in front of the hotel (Hotel Delfino). It only cost under 2 euros for the ride and took less than 10 minutes to get to Venice. It's worth not paying the extra $300 to get the hotel in Venice.

Don't be concerned that this trip does not include Pisa. I was bummed at first that it wasn't included but it turned out that it is an optional tour that they offer for 40 euros per person. Even at that price, it is still worth paying for. My only complaint was that during the trip to Pisa, much of the time was spent with the Pisa tour guide of the Baptistry and the Cathedral and we were only given about 30-40 mins free time to roam on our own and take pictures. That seems a lot of time but trust me, it isn't.

Anyway, if you're going on a trip to Italy for the first time, I highly recommend this tour. Not only do you get to see a lot of Italy, but it also takes away much of the planning headache in that you don't have to worry about booking hotels and worrying about transportation for a full five days!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent! Well organized, good meal and wonderful time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

One of the best trips to Europe I have taken. The hotels at the 4 star rate were quite comfy and with a nice sense of luxury. Their location within Italy, specially in Venice were prime sites. The bus was a bit crowded and camped as usual, but it does not deter you from enjoying the views and the site seeing schedule. The food was great. Our tour guide Carlos was excellent.
I had a great time with the tour guests and the extras offered by the program were worth the price, specially the gondola ride across the river. It was worth every penny. I would recommend this package to anyone who is heading for the first time to Italy. I've come to trust the company and I look forward to my next trip.

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip was well worth every penny. It was well organised and our tour guide was fantastic, providing so much information in two languages. Everything worked smoothly and we felt comfortable and that there was personal attention to all despite the size of the group. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in seeing more than just Rome on their visit to Italy. Thanks for a wonderful week.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a wonderful 5 days. Our guide was organized and caring. He went the extra mile for the seniors on our tour. They were given options and safe places to wait for the more active travelers. We never felt controlled but our guide was never far away. We wanted to venture out on our own for an afternoon and our guide gave us perfect train times and fees. Being in Italy for the first time, it was nice to have friendly guides to introduce you to what's there. No one wants to spend so much time on a bus, but watching those drivers maneuver the streets and getting from place to place in comfort was worth the time spent in route. Thanks Viator.

Elizabeth T E
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Fantastic tour......

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

very nice trip, whole family enjoyed a lot. thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

this tour is great, just a bit too expensive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I highly recommend everyone to go on this 5-Day best of Italy trip, especially if your tour is with Stephano. We enjoyed the beautiful scenary, aswel as stephano's knowledge of the history, and everything else. Before stopping in a village, Stephano would tell us history and helpful tips and recommendations on where we should go. The local guides were very interesting, we loved Recardo, the local guide for Piza. we made new friends, and had a great time exploring Italy. Thank you Stephano for making this trip awesome! your the best

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

They chose really special places for this tour. I also recommend to take all the extra trips, specially Pisa and Venice by night. In the end, instead of going back to Rome by bus, which takes the whole day, I recommend taking a night train from Venice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a great trip but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that can't do a lot of walking, because there is a lot of walking BUT every step was worth seeing all the wonderful sights that we saw. Our Tour guide Suzette was very nice and knowledgable. My favorite was Venice and Rome. Thank you for the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Words cannot fully describe this unbelievable tour. Unquestionably worth every cent we paid. Our guide, Stefano was very organized, kind, knowledgeable, patient, understanding, calm and funny! He was able to speak 3 languages fluently on our trip. He worked tirelessly every day explaining all there was to know about so many subjects in Italy and all our stops. The people, the history. This was "soup to nuts" as we say in America. We always felt we were in good hands. We were in Europe for 14 days. This was by far the best tour to do. The hotels included were meticulous, the food was more than ample and fresh. Hoorah for Viator 5-Day Best of Italy Trip. Unbeatable. Take your camera and keep shooting, this tour emcompasses much more than you could imagine. We can't wait to go again with our friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The service was great and tourist guide was awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The trip was great. For a single person traveling it was a wonderful way to see the different places and feel quite comfortable. Our guide was wonderful. I am now looking to book a tour next month for Spain with Viator.

Rebecca P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This tour is a perfect for those who don't have a lot of time in Italy, and it has good value for money. All the organisation is done for you. The only thing is I would have prefered a little more time in each of the places visited, but others didn't so everyone is different. The tour guide and bus driver were excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We had a wonderful coach driver and a very experienced translator/tour guide, who guided and organized 65 travellers during the 5 days. If you are looking for a good but fast paced introduction to some of the most interesting and famous cities in Italy, I recommmend this tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

As a single traveler, this was a easy way to see the northern parts of Italy without the hassle of arranging transport or having to study your guide book for information regarding what you where seeing. Our guide was brilliant and extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend that you book the hotel on the island of Venice and spend a night walking around after most of the other tourist have gone for the day. Venice at night is GREAT! The tour was great, and ours was a brilliant tour guide, fun and friendly with great knowledge of all the places we visited. The hotels I stayed in were of a really good standard (even if some customers on the tour always complained about the air-con), and I had no complaints about them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Everything was perfect: the tour guide, the bus driver, the cities and places visited, the hotels we stayed at, and especially the people we met on the tour! It was absolutely incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

The tour was a great value. It was better than expected. We saw lots of fabulous places in a short time. The bus was very comfortable, and the four star hotels were very nice. The tour guide was excellent. He spoke good English and was very organized, informative, and concerned for all guests on the tour. It was a great experience that we will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This was a beautiful trip. We knew several cities Assisi, Siena, Florence, Pisa, Padua, Venice and Montepulciano. The person in charge of the tour made an amazing work. It was a perfect combination of beautiful cities and outstanding service. We truly recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Very good value tour. We covered a lot of sites across Italy, and we especially enjoyed Siena. All the staff were very helpful, and we were looked after. We would do this again and are happy to recommend it.

From USD $ 624.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034FANTASTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message