4.5 star rating: Recommended 186 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:5 days / 4 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best 5-Day Best of Italy Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 186 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Rebecca P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This tour is a perfect for those who don't have a lot of time in Italy, and it has good value for money. All the organisation is done for you. The only thing is I would have prefered a little more time in each of the places visited, but others didn't so everyone is different. The tour guide and bus driver were excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We had a wonderful coach driver and a very experienced translator/tour guide, who guided and organized 65 travellers during the 5 days. If you are looking for a good but fast paced introduction to some of the most interesting and famous cities in Italy, I recommmend this tour.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

As a single traveler, this was a easy way to see the northern parts of Italy without the hassle of arranging transport or having to study your guide book for information regarding what you where seeing. Our guide was brilliant and extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend that you book the hotel on the island of Venice and spend a night walking around after most of the other tourist have gone for the day. Venice at night is GREAT! The tour was great, and ours was a brilliant tour guide, fun and friendly with great knowledge of all the places we visited. The hotels I stayed in were of a really good standard (even if some customers on the tour always complained about the air-con), and I had no complaints about them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Everything was perfect: the tour guide, the bus driver, the cities and places visited, the hotels we stayed at, and especially the people we met on the tour! It was absolutely incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

The tour was a great value. It was better than expected. We saw lots of fabulous places in a short time. The bus was very comfortable, and the four star hotels were very nice. The tour guide was excellent. He spoke good English and was very organized, informative, and concerned for all guests on the tour. It was a great experience that we will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This was a beautiful trip. We knew several cities Assisi, Siena, Florence, Pisa, Padua, Venice and Montepulciano. The person in charge of the tour made an amazing work. It was a perfect combination of beautiful cities and outstanding service. We truly recommend this trip.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Very good value tour. We covered a lot of sites across Italy, and we especially enjoyed Siena. All the staff were very helpful, and we were looked after. We would do this again and are happy to recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This trip was amazing! Carla was a fantastic guide who went out of her way to make sure we had info about where we were going and what to see. The hotels were fine, and I loved staying on the canal in Venice though I felt bad for those staying in the 3 star hotel bc they said it wasn't very nice at all. In the 4 star hotel, we got to take a water taxi to the front of the hotel which felt very Jame Bond. The people on the tour were all lovely and while I know that's largely luck of the draw, it felt good to be so lucky!

My only complaint: The food should have been a lot better. I know it's not a foodie tour, but it's ITALY and I expected more. I would sugget that they either add options for different meal levels, take out the dinners completely except maybe once, or something similar. The food was the only dark cloud on an otherwise sensational trip.

Tips Bring about 150E extra for optional excursions. They will be discussed when you get on board. Also, pack comfortable shoes. There is a lot of free time so you might want a guidebook so you know where you are, etc.

But I can't thank Carla enough. She was phenomenal and really set a positive tone. She was never not smiling! My view from my little tiny twin bed room in Venice was gloriously of the canal and I just sat on the floor of my tiny terrace and soaked it in. If the food were better, I would totally have given it 5 stars!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I would give it 5 stars if it was better arranged. take a look at my comment sheet I handed in to Nicole the Tour Guide.

If you want call and talk to me, I would be open to doing so. 650-924-0190

Richard

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Carla was very sweet as our main guide. We had a great time and loved all the free time in the cities. My kids did well too! Ages 5, 7, and 8. The only bad thing be prepared to pay extra for optional tours in cash. extra tours are as follows: Museum with David, Pisa, Venice Night Tour, and Gondola.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Guide and driver fantastic. Florence Hotel awful - not 4 star. Room small - could not relax and enjoy the room at all. Dinner was buffet - awful food, awful staff. Breakfast was marginally better. The local restaurant we went for lunch was excellent. Venice room bigger. Marginally better. Local restaurant for both dinner's was awful - busy, understaffed, food average. Overall the tour and guides were excellent but the accommodation and some of the 4 meals provided were not satisfactory. Diner food at service centres also below average.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a great way to see many towns in Italy without renting a car or worrying about transportation! Our guide Mirjam was wonderful, really went out of her way to make sure guests were happy. She was very knowledgeable about all the sights, and the history.Luigi the driver was great, very safe. Would have given it a 5 star if it didn't have "add on" activities for an additional price, would have been nice to have everything included. VERY glad we upgraded in Venice, well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

For th most part we enjoyed this tour. The only drawback was there was a great deal of walking. I have taken several European tour and this is the first one the bus couldn't drop you off at the church or whatever you were going to tour. They had to park in the bus area and most of the time it caused us to walk sometimes several blocks. So be prepare for this. Our tour guild was very accommodating . The hotels were class 4. We also really enjoyed Venice.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was a good introduction to Italy though wish we have more time to explore some areas.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Most enjoyable 5 days, Clara and Luigi were very good, with Clara speaking 4 Languages so that we all knew what was happening.All cities visited were beautiful even though we had quite a bit of rain and our Venice by night and Gondola ride tour had to be cancelled. The tour to Maruno Glass was lovely with the oportunity to purchase products, Vivienne (Australia)

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This trip was great fun! Our guide was knowledgable and arranged special side tours which added to the experience. Lots of walking!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see parts of Italy that we would not have seen if we were to travel by ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Well organized, food, accommodation and guide were excellent, only downside was the large size of the tour group. It felt rushed and chaotic at times, the tour company ran English and Spanish tours at the same time with almost identical schedules, there were times that the groups/buses overlapped and we all ended up in the same place at the same time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was exactly as it's described. You get to see a lot of Italy and you have a good amount of free time. The guide is great and gives you all the information you need. Great way to spend your time in Italy.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Lucy the guide was awesome, bellissima! Very accomodating, humorous, and great communication skills. The towns visited were great for an Italian first timer, although I would have liked more time (at least a day each) in Venice and Florence - so much to see! Although selecting the standard option, I fortunately ended up staying in the superior accomodation - although this was the main let down (and my 4-star rating). I am more accustomed to better 4-star accomodation standards and the food that was provided was average to say the least. The best culinary finds were from places that weren't planned for, and the optional lunch at Montepulciano was delicious. Optional tours were not included in the itinerary - going to the Accademia to see the David, and Pisa as a result was also a highlight. A great introduction to the beautiful north - will definitiely be making my way back to Italy soon.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing, the tour leader was great and friendly!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The overall trip was very nice. Our guide was good too. Saw many places in short time especially Tuscany vineyards. But on a conscious side read all the t and c thoroughly coz they have lot of hidden tours which they charge separate. Do lil research and do it on ur own, it will be lot cheaper.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The venue is quite good with excellent stops at all the right places with spectacular views and vistas. The times are very tight and even tighter if you sign up for all the optional tours. Mario was our guide and was excellent with his knowledge and his humor to keep the tight schedule moving. We got the upgraded hotels and wouldn't want to see the standard hotels. They were clean and adequate but if you haven't been in Europe, you would be very disappointed. The Grand Mediterranean Hotel in Florence had terrible beds and rooms were very old but adequate. The Carlton Hotel in Venice was in a good location but we had a view of an AC unit in a closed space between 2 wings. Food in both hotels were quite average. The restaurant where we had dinner in Venice was very average and on one night, the service was extremely poor. Overall, it was an excellent tour with great value.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a really enjoyable tour and the tour leader Lucy was just fabulous and made the trip very entertaining. Hotel accommodation in the 4* Venice hotel on the grand Canal was just great. We had a triple room and it was quite large. The 4* room in Florence was disappointing as it was extremely small. I would recommend that the trip delete the stop at Padua as it was just to go to the church and not much else and this time could have been allocated to Florence. Most of the tour group wanted more free time in Florence. We did the Pisa afternoon tour and so had no free time at all in Florence. I would recommend that the coach drive up to the Piazza Michelangelo that is the park that overlooks the city centre. This plaza offers superb views across the city and the Duomo but we didn't get to see it. The Uffizi and Florence city tour was a bit rushed. You need to remind women travellers that they must cover their shoulders and knees if they want to get access into the Cathedrals.

From USD $ 588.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034FANTASTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message