Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 204 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Elizabeth T E Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Fantastic tour......

Artur E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

very nice trip, whole family enjoyed a lot. thanks

Xin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

this tour is great, just a bit too expensive

Haider A Qatar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I highly recommend everyone to go on this 5-Day best of Italy trip, especially if your tour is with Stephano. We enjoyed the beautiful scenary, aswel as stephano's knowledge of the history, and everything else. Before stopping in a village, Stephano would tell us history and helpful tips and recommendations on where we should go. The local guides were very interesting, we loved Recardo, the local guide for Piza. we made new friends, and had a great time exploring Italy. Thank you Stephano for making this trip awesome! your the best

Rodrigo M Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

They chose really special places for this tour. I also recommend to take all the extra trips, specially Pisa and Venice by night. In the end, instead of going back to Rome by bus, which takes the whole day, I recommend taking a night train from Venice.

Deborah R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

This was a great trip but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that can't do a lot of walking, because there is a lot of walking BUT every step was worth seeing all the wonderful sights that we saw. Our Tour guide Suzette was very nice and knowledgable. My favorite was Venice and Rome. Thank you for the experience.

Victor R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Words cannot fully describe this unbelievable tour. Unquestionably worth every cent we paid. Our guide, Stefano was very organized, kind, knowledgeable, patient, understanding, calm and funny! He was able to speak 3 languages fluently on our trip. He worked tirelessly every day explaining all there was to know about so many subjects in Italy and all our stops. The people, the history. This was "soup to nuts" as we say in America. We always felt we were in good hands. We were in Europe for 14 days. This was by far the best tour to do. The hotels included were meticulous, the food was more than ample and fresh. Hoorah for Viator 5-Day Best of Italy Trip. Unbeatable. Take your camera and keep shooting, this tour emcompasses much more than you could imagine. We can't wait to go again with our friends and family.

SHRI N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The service was great and tourist guide was awesome.

Shelly F Bermuda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The trip was great. For a single person traveling it was a wonderful way to see the different places and feel quite comfortable. Our guide was wonderful. I am now looking to book a tour next month for Spain with Viator.

Rebecca P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This tour is a perfect for those who don't have a lot of time in Italy, and it has good value for money. All the organisation is done for you. The only thing is I would have prefered a little more time in each of the places visited, but others didn't so everyone is different. The tour guide and bus driver were excellent.

Phyllis C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

We had a wonderful coach driver and a very experienced translator/tour guide, who guided and organized 65 travellers during the 5 days. If you are looking for a good but fast paced introduction to some of the most interesting and famous cities in Italy, I recommmend this tour.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

As a single traveler, this was a easy way to see the northern parts of Italy without the hassle of arranging transport or having to study your guide book for information regarding what you where seeing. Our guide was brilliant and extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend that you book the hotel on the island of Venice and spend a night walking around after most of the other tourist have gone for the day. Venice at night is GREAT! The tour was great, and ours was a brilliant tour guide, fun and friendly with great knowledge of all the places we visited. The hotels I stayed in were of a really good standard (even if some customers on the tour always complained about the air-con), and I had no complaints about them.

Natasha Shammul K Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Everything was perfect: the tour guide, the bus driver, the cities and places visited, the hotels we stayed at, and especially the people we met on the tour! It was absolutely incredible!

Catherine P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

The tour was a great value. It was better than expected. We saw lots of fabulous places in a short time. The bus was very comfortable, and the four star hotels were very nice. The tour guide was excellent. He spoke good English and was very organized, informative, and concerned for all guests on the tour. It was a great experience that we will never forget!

Oscar Eduardo L Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

This was a beautiful trip. We knew several cities Assisi, Siena, Florence, Pisa, Padua, Venice and Montepulciano. The person in charge of the tour made an amazing work. It was a perfect combination of beautiful cities and outstanding service. We truly recommend this trip.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Very good value tour. We covered a lot of sites across Italy, and we especially enjoyed Siena. All the staff were very helpful, and we were looked after. We would do this again and are happy to recommend it.

Mark R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide Stefano was always there to answer questions and make sure we had no problems. All the stops were entertaining and informative. We had plenty of time on our own if we wished but the places we visited were always well worth each stop.

anilla

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was really a taste of Italy. If you are a first time visitor to Italy or traveling alone this is the way to do it. It does a lot in a very short time thus allowing you to return and do it all over again at your leisure

Kristy Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We spent 5 Days with Mirjam and the local guides to taste test the best of Italia! Mirjam worked diligently to keep our group on task and her knowledge was appreciated. The local guides were all excellent! The stops in Assisi, Sienna, Montepulciano and a couple of auto-stops ensure you have a chance to see what the different Italian towns have to offer and never have to wait too long for a toilet or snack/meal break! Our driver Sabatino did a great job of dealing with the Italian roads and drivers. Note that when you are selecting your hotel accommodations it affects whether you stay on the mainland in Venice or on the Island. We didn't know this and stayed on the mainland which was a major inconvenience. The English group and Latini group each had mainland and Island accommodations and there was a lot of time spent splitting the groups and putting them back together for hotels and the city tour and optional night tour which was a big pain. This also meant an early check out for the Islanders on the last morning to make their way to us on the mainland... In Florence we were in the same hotel with different category rooms which was ideal. The included meals were pretty good with lunch in Florence arguably being the best though I heard the islanders had a great meal in Venice night one and ours was OK... Don't be afraid to skip the meals and check out the local cuisine instead! The optional tours were all very good so bring some extra Euros as it is cash only though you can access an ATM... If you want a gondola tour for 2 in Venice I recommend doing that on your own for 80 Euro and skipping the optional tour. There was NO TOILET on our bus which was also an inconvenience as you could spend up to 15 min waiting to toilet of your 30 min break... All in all I would highly recommend this trip though as it is the best way to see the sights!

Thomas R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We loved the tour and we loved making friends with the other people on the bus. Sabrina was an excellent leader. However, she walked too fast. My wife and I are in our 70's and had trouble keeping up. Sabrina suggested we us taxis, but that got expensive. The write ups were misleading in that they did not make mention of the great deal of walking.
The activities in Florence, Pisa and Venice as well as the cities were we stopped gave us a real good feel for Italy, its culture, its history and its beauty. The bus tour was well conceived and accomplished. Alfonzo was a great driver and a very pleasant person. Sabrina was well organized and pleasant.

Zong-Pei H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Too many church visits otherwise it's good.

Nemesia F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Tour was fun. Local guides were good. Giovanni, Lucia and Roberto did well. Tour director, Stefano was also good. Food in Hotel Delfino was bad.

Jennifer N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This trip was amazing! Carla was a fantastic guide who went out of her way to make sure we had info about where we were going and what to see. The hotels were fine, and I loved staying on the canal in Venice though I felt bad for those staying in the 3 star hotel bc they said it wasn't very nice at all. In the 4 star hotel, we got to take a water taxi to the front of the hotel which felt very Jame Bond. The people on the tour were all lovely and while I know that's largely luck of the draw, it felt good to be so lucky!

My only complaint: The food should have been a lot better. I know it's not a foodie tour, but it's ITALY and I expected more. I would sugget that they either add options for different meal levels, take out the dinners completely except maybe once, or something similar. The food was the only dark cloud on an otherwise sensational trip.

Tips Bring about 150E extra for optional excursions. They will be discussed when you get on board. Also, pack comfortable shoes. There is a lot of free time so you might want a guidebook so you know where you are, etc.

But I can't thank Carla enough. She was phenomenal and really set a positive tone. She was never not smiling! My view from my little tiny twin bed room in Venice was gloriously of the canal and I just sat on the floor of my tiny terrace and soaked it in. If the food were better, I would totally have given it 5 stars!

Richard

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I would give it 5 stars if it was better arranged. take a look at my comment sheet I handed in to Nicole the Tour Guide.

If you want call and talk to me, I would be open to doing so. 650-924-0190

Richard

Charli H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Carla was very sweet as our main guide. We had a great time and loved all the free time in the cities. My kids did well too! Ages 5, 7, and 8. The only bad thing be prepared to pay extra for optional tours in cash. extra tours are as follows: Museum with David, Pisa, Venice Night Tour, and Gondola.

Viewing 4 of 9

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 663.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034FANTASTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message