4.5 star rating: Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  5 days / 4 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 5-Day Best of Italy Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very good stops along the way and well organized by the tour director. The only downside was there was only one other English speaking person on the tour, so the guide had to translate all instructions into Portuguese, Spanish, English and Italian every time. Got to be a bit mind-numbing. Would have been nice if the tour had been divided by language.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed this trip. The guide, Alexandra, was very knowledgeable, patient and had a very good sense of humour! We were able to experience many parts of Italy, and the trip exceeded our expectations. The bus was very comfortable and clean, and Frank was an excellent driver. This trip was very good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I joined this tour after spending a couple of days independently in Rome. From the start our tour manager began giving helpful and informative information. The group of 29 I was a part of came from all over the world and added an additional dimension to the tour. We spent time learning about Italy and the places we visited (Assissi and Sienna for example) and also time leaning about other cultures through time spent with each other. It was most enjoyable. I do recommend taking part in the extra tours as they fill out the experience of where you are. The last day could have been perfunctory as it was simply the return from Venice to Rome but instead we stopped at a lovely village on top of volcanic hills at Montepulciano where I had (another splendid meal) and sampled the local wine which was exceptionally good. Overall I had a great time and certainly intend to return. I would happily recommend joining a tour with this company.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Overall I enjoyed the tour. Our guide (Stefano) was awesome. Having things sorted in advance was very helpful. Food at the hotels was not great but the rooms were very good. I wish information on the optional tours was provided in advance and in more detail (I did not expect the evening trip in Venice to just drop me off in square).

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

My friend and I went to Rome in August this year and decided book a tour to some other parts of Italy. The tour was really informative and we saw a very different side of Italy from what we had seen in Rome. I really do recommend this tour for people who are going to Italy and want to see as much of the beautiful country in as little time as possible. The only thing I can complain about on this tour was that we spent very little time in Venice, and for those of us who bought the standard tour, as opposed to the more expensive version of the tour, it was a disappointment to find out that our hotel was not on the island of Venice, but the description of the tour when we booked it said we'd be staying in a 3 or 4 star hotel IN Venice. But otherwise it was really fun and I definitely do not regret going on the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Stayed at stops for a little too long...

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I thought the trip was wonderful. I saw some beautiful countryside. Saw some interesting history of Rome. The only problem I had with the trip was every town we went to we saw churches. I realize Rome was built around religion, but one church was like the other one. My suggestion on the trip would be more culture and less churches. The tour guide we had (Lucy) was wonderful. She was excellent about keepig up with her group and making sure we were all right. The one hotel we stayed at the Hotel Delfino was the worst hotel I would not recommend anyone on staying there. The Hotel Selena and Hotel Ariston were wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

the tour is well organized.
places covered was great!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had an excellent experience as visited many beautiful places. All the cities/towns on this tour are worth visiting. They had some optional tours which I would highly recommend (so set aside some cash for these as well). Our tour guide Carlos was excellent and helpful throughout this tour. Even the other tour guides on those optional tours were good. I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I really enjoyed this tour. The guide (Mariam) was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would book a trip similar to this again but for longer, at least 2 weeks to really get saturated in the Italy culture.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Guides wonderful - Steffano and Miriam - tour was great - accommodations ok but some issues with meals and elevators....

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

great tour. only suggestion would be to have headsets for guide and custoemrs in each city, a little more detail when you first get into the city, then separate for free time

INDIE PHET
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The bus trip is rather long and tiring with very quality time spent in Florence and Venice
We have lost time stopping over many othere places
I am inpressed with quality of hotel for standard stay. Most breakfasts are well within budget although it would be nice to havr some fruits and vegetable to help with digestion and bowel movement in some hotel such as hotel Delfino
I have met many wonderful people in this trip so overal , I am much appreciated to help open my eyes and mind. I sugeest to have some activites added such hteol with pool or stop over to have some swimming to chilled out in hot days and to relax our body and mind
.Bus driver is so so so good
Much appreciated xxxxPhet

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip is good, tour guider is very professional, time arrange is good, but the food is not good. Overall, it worth to take part this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

An excellent tour with a great guide Stefano and driver Sabatino.Only a short trip but with a lot packed into it.Optional tour to Pisa was worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This is amazing value and very well designed. Alessandro was an excellent guide, helped group mix and mingle/have fun. Dinners mainly pasta, did get old. Do homework about things to see/do in Bologna/Venice/Florence for the on-your-own time. Only two fleece the tourist store stops, amazing otherwise!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The trip was great. As a single person travelling I find it wonderful way to see the different places around Italy. You don’t feel alone because soon you start making friends. Our tour director Miriam was a caring person; she took control of everything, taking the worry of planning and organising everything for the group. I felt very feel safe and secure, especially me being on my own. Sabotino was a very skilled driver and very gracious to us all, helping us out off the bus and taking control of our luggage. There were some add-ons if you chose to go on them, which of course I did. I loved the gondola ride. I was lucky to have in my gondola 2 Spanish gals who sung for us.

There was a lot to pack into 5 days but it was well worth it because it gave you a birds-eye view of the places which was good as the places I loved I would return back to again and stay longer.

Our tour guide for Florence, Giovanni, was my favourite tour guide. I think all us gals really liked him, he was such a honey.

The only thing I didn’t like much was the multilingual aspect but after a time you kinda of got used to it.

I would recommend Viator as a good service provider in bus tours. I intend to use them again when I return to Europe and when I head over to the US.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We had a great time. Did not like the dinners. cheap and inexpensive. We wanted Italian food....so we went out on our own. We like Mario alot. Thanks!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Set hotel meals only basic,improvement recommended,recommend option to purchase what one wants,naturally pay for,deduct average meals from cost,offer option,a holiday means good food and wine.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

It was fantastic and it was great to see 8 towns in 5 days , also Clara our guide was excellent .
my comment was the dinner in venice is low standard and the hotel in Florence was poor.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We LOVED this trip! Our tour guide, Clara S, was excellent. She made everyone comfortable and we had a great time getting to know travelers from all parts of the world. She shared lots of information, was very organized, and we always knew what to expect. The local guides in Florence and Venice basically just gave orientations, but there was plenty of free time in each place to explore on your own. Clara gave suggestions on what to do, and answered all our questions. We highly recommend the optional tour to PISA - our local guide (Ricardo) was superb! The hotels were both good quality and service. All the included meals on the tour were fabulous, but expect to pay for all your drinks (even water). We felt we got a great bargain for this trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

A good overall tour of major highlights of Assisi, Florence(2nights), Padova, Venice (2nights) and Tuscany. Visit to Pisa, Florence Museum (which has David's statue), Gondola ride, Venice by night were optional tours that you need to pay for in addition. Weather (bright and sunny) was on our side! Only gripe was the tour operator asked us to pay city/hotel tax (about Euro $3-4/night/person) for the hotel rooms. This should have been clearly indicated when we had booked the tour in the first place!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Our tour guide Clara was so personable and helpful. She had to work so very hard speaking in 3 languages to our busload of 52 persons. The disadvantage about this tour company is that having to speak in 3 languages we were not given as much information as say a guide who only had to speak in English. Also, this tour company booked the busload at 2 different hotels in Rome and Venice and this required more time in pickups, dropoffs and especially in explaining what each group was supposed to do. The tour company should have separate tours for those staying at 3 star vs. 4 star hotels and should limit the languages to 2 , at most. However, our tour guide Clara was so good that she made the tour a wonderful one. For the money we visited lots of small towns as well as getting to see Florence and Venice. Thanks Clara.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the 5 day Best of Italy bus trip, met some great people from around the globe and were hoted extremely professionally and efficiently by our guide Carlos and bus driver Sabotino throughout.

The bus was very comfortable and we found it worthwhile to have the odd evening meal away from the designated hotel we were staying in, as the food selection was designed for the mass tourism market and not a diverse menu. You pay for this but it is nice to experience authentic food when in a regional area like Florence or Venice.

We had a mix of people speaking English and Spanish, so there was some times when the guide had to ask that people respect each others 'listening time'by keeping quiet.

Overall a well hosted trip and worthwhile as an Italian experience all wrapped into 5 days.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Fantastic trip that really shows you the best of Italy. Only issue I have is the all the add-ons which should be included upfront in the price

From USD $ 621.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5034FANTASTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message