• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 155 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 155 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

World class tour! Our guide Lorenzo was super, had a great knowledge of Roman history and a lot of insider tipps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow! One of the best tours of the trip! Mateo (Matt) did a great job guiding us around on this very beautiful and educational tour. From a few highlights of Rome - we were quickly out of the "city" and into what felt like open countryside. Matt was great with everything from safety tips to area orientation and information. We did a side tour of St. Sebastion's catacombs and it was great as well. The highlight of the tour is stopping at a local farm and sampling the local cheese made of sheep milk - fantastic! This was just the break from the crowds you need if you are there seeing Rome's busy highlights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

One of the best tours we have ever had. Well organised and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both our main cycle guide and the guide for the tour of the Catacombs, were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, making this an excellent way of seeing parts of the Roman countryside you would never see. Including an insight into the ancient monuments and architectural featured along the way. Not forgetting the excellent cheese and wine, resulting in a somewhat wobbly ride home. Would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Nice ride, not too strenuous so don't put off. The aquaducts were impressive. Simone the guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome! Our guides were very knowledgable and the small group allowed us to stop and see lots of things along the way that would have been missed if we had rented bikes on our own. We never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed our ride. Being outside of the busy city gave us a whole new perspective and this is a trip we will never forget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a fantastic trip. I was initially worried that the intense heat would make 6 hours of cycling hard work, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were split into two groups (two families of four in ours) and our guide supplied us with bottled water and helmets. After an introduction to our bikes and safety issues we were off. We head out of the city (passing the Coliseum) heading for the Appian Way. Our guide stopped traffic for us and also stopped regularly to allow us to refill our water bottles and tell us about the area. Catacombs were amazing and a great place to chill (literally) as the temperature is so much cooler underground, then we were off down the Appian Way heading for the Roman Viaduct - spectacular. Our final stopping point was a delightful farm in the countryside (yes it does exist) on the outskirts of Rome, where we enjoyed farm made cheese, bread and wine. This was a fantastic opportunity to have a good chat with the rest of our group. I would certainly recommend this trip and would look at doing one of their other trips when I'm in Rome again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This trip was a 10!!!! Mateo was a fabulous guide. The travels through the countryside right in and outside the heart of Rome are such a treat! Coming upon a field of goats with their bells around their neck creating a magical symphony was one of life's highlights! The catacombs was a bit crowded with tourists, but still an eerie and worthwhile piece of history to experience. The break of cheese and wine at a local farm was a good respite before continuing the last leg of biking. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We took 7 tours with Viator, all were very good but this was most excellent. The guide Simone made the trip exceptional because of his knowledge and passion for Rome, past and present. Saw magnificent ancient Roman sites, learned a lot of interesting history and had a great time.At the end Simone took us to this very cool deli where we had the best sandwich while in Rome, met the owners and soak up the fine culture of Rome. Highly recommend this one.

Judith
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Had a great day. Battled the heat but made it. Thanks Frederico for an enjoyable day. Enjoyed being out of the main tourist area and seeing the surrounding countryside. A great end to our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great!! Frederico was absolutely amazing and made this trip a highlight of our family vacation. Just with the catacombs tour guide waited for the groups and took more time. That depends on getting a good tour guide though by chance. We felt very rushed and missed some info. Bike Tour guides were great though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This bike tour was one of our favorite activities during our trip to Italy. The guides do a wonderful job informing us about some of the sites of ancient Rome and keeping a nice relaxed pace. We loved our visit to the catacombs, the view of the ancient aqueducts, and the countryside tour. Getting outside the city walls of Rome was a fun and refreshing change. The wine and cheese stop was superb!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour! A great way to explore the outskirts of the city. Our guide was awesome!

From USD $ 108.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message