5 star rating: Highly Recommended 186 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 186 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

An excellent tour of the parklands on the outskirts of Rome. Our guide Marco was most informative and caring, being sure to take care of the varying cycling abilities in our group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Outstanding. Intelligent, knowledgeable and kind guides. Great bikes and amazing trip, loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The people at the bike shop were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our guide, Daniele, was excellent. He took seriously his responsibility to highlight the history and information along the way while conscientiously taking every measure to ensure safety and enjoyment of all the riders. We would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour covers so much more than we ever expected. The aqueducts are beyond amazing. The engineering is mind-boggling. We covered so much territory outside Rome and were really able to enjoy the countryside. The farm is lovely and a nice respite. I would say you would need to be fair shape to keep up, as there are a few hills, but the guide stops often to narrate long the way. Highly, highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I am SO glad that my friend and I did this bike tour! It was the most incredible experience! The staff was very helpful, and Andrea our tour guide was fabulous! I was worried that it would be too strenuous, but we stopped a lot for breaks, water, and to see sites. Definitely 120% worth it! This is a MUST for a visit to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The riding was easy with plenty of stops. Water was provided and could be replenished throughout. Our guide was personable, warm and friendly with a great depth of knowledge on Ancient Rome. The bikes and equipment were in excellent condition. The trip covers Ancient Aquaducts, The Catacombs and the site of the Ancient Baths. We also had time for Cheese and Wine. Great value. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great ride, good guide and fun people ! Recommened to anyone who really knows how to ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Appian Way bike tour was absolutely fantastic. The best experience of our whole trip. Emmanuel, our guide, was knowledgeable and enthusiatic. It was wonderful to experience the 'open air museum' as Emmanuel descibed it. Thanks again, Darren and Sian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tourguide Ricardo gave us a glimpse of Rome from ancient to modern times. The cycle itself was most enjoyable, especially when we had left the city behind us. The stop at the sheep farm was a great break, and it was great to speak to the other members of the tour. But I can't stress highly enough how much our tourguide Ricardo added to the day...the stories he told, and his knowledge of the place and events that happened had us spellbound. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Bruno was a patient and knowledgable guide who took us to some wonderful places. This is a great way to see some of the Roman countryside!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was wonderful! The bike office is conveniently located, the bikes in great shape, the helmets clean, and check-in was trouble-free. We were quickly on our way. Our guide, Emanuelle, took great care of us. He got us through the short stretch of crazy Roman streets safely. Once out to the park area, we stopped often as he explained points of interest and we took tons of pictures. He was an absolute delight. And it is beautiful out there. The wine and cheese stop at a working farm was even more delicious than anticipated. Really enjoyed all of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day out with Bruno; our guide. If you only have time for one ride in Rome, this is it. Good bikes to boot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome! Our guide, Emmanuel, was very knowledgeable and passionate. The experience was a nice complement to the history and tours of the city center.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Since returning from Rome, I've been describing my bike tour of the Appian Way and recommending Topbike Rental and Tours to everyone. Frederico is a fantastic, knowledgeable, and personable guide who made the ride a great, memorable, and WAY cool experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highlight of our 2 weeks in Italy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An unforgettable way to see the city. The guide was excellent and so were my fellow travelers. 100% worth it. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

World class tour! Our guide Lorenzo was super, had a great knowledge of Roman history and a lot of insider tipps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow! One of the best tours of the trip! Mateo (Matt) did a great job guiding us around on this very beautiful and educational tour. From a few highlights of Rome - we were quickly out of the "city" and into what felt like open countryside. Matt was great with everything from safety tips to area orientation and information. We did a side tour of St. Sebastion's catacombs and it was great as well. The highlight of the tour is stopping at a local farm and sampling the local cheese made of sheep milk - fantastic! This was just the break from the crowds you need if you are there seeing Rome's busy highlights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

One of the best tours we have ever had. Well organised and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both our main cycle guide and the guide for the tour of the Catacombs, were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, making this an excellent way of seeing parts of the Roman countryside you would never see. Including an insight into the ancient monuments and architectural featured along the way. Not forgetting the excellent cheese and wine, resulting in a somewhat wobbly ride home. Would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Nice ride, not too strenuous so don't put off. The aquaducts were impressive. Simone the guide was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome! Our guides were very knowledgable and the small group allowed us to stop and see lots of things along the way that would have been missed if we had rented bikes on our own. We never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed our ride. Being outside of the busy city gave us a whole new perspective and this is a trip we will never forget.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a fantastic trip. I was initially worried that the intense heat would make 6 hours of cycling hard work, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were split into two groups (two families of four in ours) and our guide supplied us with bottled water and helmets. After an introduction to our bikes and safety issues we were off. We head out of the city (passing the Coliseum) heading for the Appian Way. Our guide stopped traffic for us and also stopped regularly to allow us to refill our water bottles and tell us about the area. Catacombs were amazing and a great place to chill (literally) as the temperature is so much cooler underground, then we were off down the Appian Way heading for the Roman Viaduct - spectacular. Our final stopping point was a delightful farm in the countryside (yes it does exist) on the outskirts of Rome, where we enjoyed farm made cheese, bread and wine. This was a fantastic opportunity to have a good chat with the rest of our group. I would certainly recommend this trip and would look at doing one of their other trips when I'm in Rome again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

From USD $ 88.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message