5 star rating: Highly Recommended 167 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 167 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The riding was easy with plenty of stops. Water was provided and could be replenished throughout. Our guide was personable, warm and friendly with a great depth of knowledge on Ancient Rome. The bikes and equipment were in excellent condition. The trip covers Ancient Aquaducts, The Catacombs and the site of the Ancient Baths. We also had time for Cheese and Wine. Great value. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great ride, good guide and fun people ! Recommened to anyone who really knows how to ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The Appian Way bike tour was absolutely fantastic. The best experience of our whole trip. Emmanuel, our guide, was knowledgeable and enthusiatic. It was wonderful to experience the 'open air museum' as Emmanuel descibed it. Thanks again, Darren and Sian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tourguide Ricardo gave us a glimpse of Rome from ancient to modern times. The cycle itself was most enjoyable, especially when we had left the city behind us. The stop at the sheep farm was a great break, and it was great to speak to the other members of the tour. But I can't stress highly enough how much our tourguide Ricardo added to the day...the stories he told, and his knowledge of the place and events that happened had us spellbound. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Bruno was a patient and knowledgable guide who took us to some wonderful places. This is a great way to see some of the Roman countryside!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was wonderful! The bike office is conveniently located, the bikes in great shape, the helmets clean, and check-in was trouble-free. We were quickly on our way. Our guide, Emanuelle, took great care of us. He got us through the short stretch of crazy Roman streets safely. Once out to the park area, we stopped often as he explained points of interest and we took tons of pictures. He was an absolute delight. And it is beautiful out there. The wine and cheese stop at a working farm was even more delicious than anticipated. Really enjoyed all of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day out with Bruno; our guide. If you only have time for one ride in Rome, this is it. Good bikes to boot!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome! Our guide, Emmanuel, was very knowledgeable and passionate. The experience was a nice complement to the history and tours of the city center.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Since returning from Rome, I've been describing my bike tour of the Appian Way and recommending Topbike Rental and Tours to everyone. Frederico is a fantastic, knowledgeable, and personable guide who made the ride a great, memorable, and WAY cool experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Highlight of our 2 weeks in Italy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An unforgettable way to see the city. The guide was excellent and so were my fellow travelers. 100% worth it. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

World class tour! Our guide Lorenzo was super, had a great knowledge of Roman history and a lot of insider tipps!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wow! One of the best tours of the trip! Mateo (Matt) did a great job guiding us around on this very beautiful and educational tour. From a few highlights of Rome - we were quickly out of the "city" and into what felt like open countryside. Matt was great with everything from safety tips to area orientation and information. We did a side tour of St. Sebastion's catacombs and it was great as well. The highlight of the tour is stopping at a local farm and sampling the local cheese made of sheep milk - fantastic! This was just the break from the crowds you need if you are there seeing Rome's busy highlights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

One of the best tours we have ever had. Well organised and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both our main cycle guide and the guide for the tour of the Catacombs, were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, making this an excellent way of seeing parts of the Roman countryside you would never see. Including an insight into the ancient monuments and architectural featured along the way. Not forgetting the excellent cheese and wine, resulting in a somewhat wobbly ride home. Would highly recommend it.

From USD $ 101.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message