• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a fantastic experience where you will travel along ancient roads and paths that would be too difficult to find on your own. Our tour guide was wonderful, full of information about the region, both currently and historically. It was all so interesting. The wine and cheese were appreciated towards the end. On Sundays, the Appian Way is closed to traffic, so a pleasant and safe 6 hour bike ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fantastico! Simone was an outstanding guide with a wealth of historic knowledge! The trip was an easy 6 hours with just a few climbs, but with the quality of mountain bike provided, not all that difficult. The catacombs, Appian Way, aquaducts, and sheep farm were definitely a day my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We wish there was a longer day trip to go even farther down Via Appia Antica! Everywhere we went and viewed was a picture postcard! Grazie mille Simone!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This trip was a 10!!!! Mateo was a fabulous guide. The travels through the countryside right in and outside the heart of Rome are such a treat! Coming upon a field of goats with their bells around their neck creating a magical symphony was one of life's highlights! The catacombs was a bit crowded with tourists, but still an eerie and worthwhile piece of history to experience. The break of cheese and wine at a local farm was a good respite before continuing the last leg of biking. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We took 7 tours with Viator, all were very good but this was most excellent. The guide Simone made the trip exceptional because of his knowledge and passion for Rome, past and present. Saw magnificent ancient Roman sites, learned a lot of interesting history and had a great time.At the end Simone took us to this very cool deli where we had the best sandwich while in Rome, met the owners and soak up the fine culture of Rome. Highly recommend this one.

Judith
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Had a great day. Battled the heat but made it. Thanks Frederico for an enjoyable day. Enjoyed being out of the main tourist area and seeing the surrounding countryside. A great end to our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great!! Frederico was absolutely amazing and made this trip a highlight of our family vacation. Just with the catacombs tour guide waited for the groups and took more time. That depends on getting a good tour guide though by chance. We felt very rushed and missed some info. Bike Tour guides were great though!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This bike tour was one of our favorite activities during our trip to Italy. The guides do a wonderful job informing us about some of the sites of ancient Rome and keeping a nice relaxed pace. We loved our visit to the catacombs, the view of the ancient aqueducts, and the countryside tour. Getting outside the city walls of Rome was a fun and refreshing change. The wine and cheese stop was superb!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour! A great way to explore the outskirts of the city. Our guide was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. It is an excellent tour that takes you along the Appian Way, Catacombs, and Roman countryside/ruins. This tour lets you see much more of the Appian Way than you would see walking on your own or on a bus tour. You ride out of lively Rome and into the outskirts of the city. The tour takes you along a route that allows you to see and learn about the history of ancient Rome. When you reach the Appian Way and ride through Rome's parks to see the ruins and aqueducts, it feels like you are in the Roman countryside, but in reality you are only miles from the Colosseum and Forum, (which you will pass by on the way back to the bike store). There is plenty of time for photo breaks and to drink water from Rome's multiple fountains along the route. There is also a nice pit stop for wine and cheese. I highly recommend the 6 hour tour that goes to the catacombs. It is well worth it. If you are looking for a great experience and do not mind the excercise (it is not that strenuous), and are also seeking a tour that goes beyond the lifeless bus tours, this is for you.

Barbie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We did this ride on our first morning in Rome. It was just amazing to see the country side that is so close to Rome city. It was absolutely worth doing this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the best times in ROme! To see more of Rome outside of the city I recommend this bike tour. To see the origional aquaduct and the origional Roman streets is really a diffrent experience from Rome. Including a visit on the Catacombs was also a chilling experience. 2 tumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was fabulous. My friend and I had just finished a 6 day bike tour in Tuscany and wanted another day! The bikes were great, we had a very diverse terrain from the streets of Rome to gravel roads to dirt paths. Emanuel was a terrific, informative and funny guide. The Catacombs were a highlight, but also the stop at the sheep farm to eat cheese a bread! I would recommend this tour highly. (Probably not best for young children or elderly.)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day biking through history with good people!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Max, our tour guide, was very friendly and informed. Our safety was a top priority for him and he made the trip fun, interesting, and educational. I would highly recommend this trip to see and do something different in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved this tour! Bruno, our guide has a great love for history and had so much insightful information to share with us about all the places we saw. The day was fun and enjoyable and I would highly recommend this tour!

From USD $ 110.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message