• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 156 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 156 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour! A great way to explore the outskirts of the city. Our guide was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a great tour. It is an excellent tour that takes you along the Appian Way, Catacombs, and Roman countryside/ruins. This tour lets you see much more of the Appian Way than you would see walking on your own or on a bus tour. You ride out of lively Rome and into the outskirts of the city. The tour takes you along a route that allows you to see and learn about the history of ancient Rome. When you reach the Appian Way and ride through Rome's parks to see the ruins and aqueducts, it feels like you are in the Roman countryside, but in reality you are only miles from the Colosseum and Forum, (which you will pass by on the way back to the bike store). There is plenty of time for photo breaks and to drink water from Rome's multiple fountains along the route. There is also a nice pit stop for wine and cheese. I highly recommend the 6 hour tour that goes to the catacombs. It is well worth it. If you are looking for a great experience and do not mind the excercise (it is not that strenuous), and are also seeking a tour that goes beyond the lifeless bus tours, this is for you.

Barbie
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We did this ride on our first morning in Rome. It was just amazing to see the country side that is so close to Rome city. It was absolutely worth doing this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the best times in ROme! To see more of Rome outside of the city I recommend this bike tour. To see the origional aquaduct and the origional Roman streets is really a diffrent experience from Rome. Including a visit on the Catacombs was also a chilling experience. 2 tumbs up!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was fabulous. My friend and I had just finished a 6 day bike tour in Tuscany and wanted another day! The bikes were great, we had a very diverse terrain from the streets of Rome to gravel roads to dirt paths. Emanuel was a terrific, informative and funny guide. The Catacombs were a highlight, but also the stop at the sheep farm to eat cheese a bread! I would recommend this tour highly. (Probably not best for young children or elderly.)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day biking through history with good people!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Max, our tour guide, was very friendly and informed. Our safety was a top priority for him and he made the trip fun, interesting, and educational. I would highly recommend this trip to see and do something different in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved this tour! Bruno, our guide has a great love for history and had so much insightful information to share with us about all the places we saw. The day was fun and enjoyable and I would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the most favored things we did in Italy. We are not cyclist and I worried about the reviews stating this was strenuous...not! There were 2 or 3 steep hills but in one case, he asked us all to get off the bike and walk. He was super courteous and the sights were incredible and completely off the beaten path. I had hoped to see an aqueduct. I did...we biked between two of them till they converged for about 1/2 mile. The biggest and most welcome surprise was the tour guides knowledge of Rome and Roman history. He was an expert and so that came as a bonus. Very, very fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The bike tour was a nice way to see things we wouldn't normally have thought to see in Rome. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It was also nice that the group was small.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was perhaps the highlight of my trip to Italy. I have been to Rome 5 times and this is the first time I have done a bike tour or have seen the Appian Way. It was not only an amazing tour due to the archaeological wonders, but was one of the most beautiful areas of Rome I have ever seen. A must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an incredible experience for sure! I have no previous biking experience, but I was still able to really enjoy the beautiful 6 hour tour of the Appia and the Catacombs. The sights were beautiful and our guide, Emanuele, was very fun and knowledgeable. I really liked the aperitive towards the end that allowed us to converse and really get to know each other. I definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great tour, beautiful countryside, good guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time! Ricardo was an excellent guide. He was extremely knowledgeable on Rome's ancient history and made the trip interesting and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Unbelievable! So nice to see the aquaducts, and have some exercise. Our guide Matteo was wonderful and we really enjoyed the parks, the scenery and the cheese farm. The atacombs area must. ! Highly recommended - even in the rain !!

From USD $ 107.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message