5 star rating: Highly Recommended 167 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 167 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day biking through history with good people!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Max, our tour guide, was very friendly and informed. Our safety was a top priority for him and he made the trip fun, interesting, and educational. I would highly recommend this trip to see and do something different in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Loved this tour! Bruno, our guide has a great love for history and had so much insightful information to share with us about all the places we saw. The day was fun and enjoyable and I would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the most favored things we did in Italy. We are not cyclist and I worried about the reviews stating this was strenuous...not! There were 2 or 3 steep hills but in one case, he asked us all to get off the bike and walk. He was super courteous and the sights were incredible and completely off the beaten path. I had hoped to see an aqueduct. I did...we biked between two of them till they converged for about 1/2 mile. The biggest and most welcome surprise was the tour guides knowledge of Rome and Roman history. He was an expert and so that came as a bonus. Very, very fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The bike tour was a nice way to see things we wouldn't normally have thought to see in Rome. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It was also nice that the group was small.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was perhaps the highlight of my trip to Italy. I have been to Rome 5 times and this is the first time I have done a bike tour or have seen the Appian Way. It was not only an amazing tour due to the archaeological wonders, but was one of the most beautiful areas of Rome I have ever seen. A must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an incredible experience for sure! I have no previous biking experience, but I was still able to really enjoy the beautiful 6 hour tour of the Appia and the Catacombs. The sights were beautiful and our guide, Emanuele, was very fun and knowledgeable. I really liked the aperitive towards the end that allowed us to converse and really get to know each other. I definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great tour, beautiful countryside, good guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Had a great time! Ricardo was an excellent guide. He was extremely knowledgeable on Rome's ancient history and made the trip interesting and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Unbelievable! So nice to see the aquaducts, and have some exercise. Our guide Matteo was wonderful and we really enjoyed the parks, the scenery and the cheese farm. The atacombs area must. ! Highly recommended - even in the rain !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was the highlight of highlights on a wonderful week in Rome. The night before there was the mother of all thunderstorms over the city. The result was that when we Brits checked in at Top Bikes Rome we found that everyone else had cried off. We had our guide Riccardo to ourselves. The ride through the city was much easier than we anticipated as Riccardo made good use of crossings, lanes, the odd cycle way and parks. The Appian Way was great - with sites of ancient aristocratic estates with, in the case of Maxentius, a private version of the 'Circus Maximus'. What really took my breath away was cycling under a bridge to see the ruins of an amazing aqueduct which took water into the ancient city from distant hills. The riding is leisurely, only 20 miles in 6 hours. There are stops for visits to Catacombs and to enjoy wine and cheese at a C15 farm. The bikes were very good - of a higher standard than our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We did the 6hr tour and it was the best part of our Rome trip by far. My only regret is that we didn't do the other two available bike tours as well. If I had it to do all over again I would start with the Rome City Bike Tour, then do the Panoramic Bike Tour, and then the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Tour...maybe twice! It was that good, and so worth the money. The quality of the bikes provided was outstanding which made the ride very smooth, but for the cobblestones! We lucked out on a day with perfect weather. The views at Aquaduct Park are phenomenal, it was just gorgeous. I would probably not bring smaller children along or adults not in decent shape since it is 30km, but it really was broken up nicely by the guided stops, so don't let the length keep you from this experience. My son's and I met such nice people on our tour, and our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and easy to understand. While waiting for our tour to begin we spoke to other guides returning from tours and they all seem really great. I think you cannot go wrong with this group. I highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Weather was glorious. Route was varied and as far as possible kept on quiet roads / tracks. Richard our guide was very informative. Bikes were carbon fibre mountain bikes and were in good condition. Scenery was nice, helped by the sunshine and the wild flowers. Relaxing stop for wine and cheese on a sheep farm. Lovely break from the sightseeing in the city centre.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an amazing experience - 6 hours of the appian way, catacombs, and the aqueducts. The parks surrounding Rome and beautiful and gave us a prespective we otherwise wouldnot have had. The stop for pecorino cheese and wine at the sheep farm was over the top. A wonderful tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic. Knowledgable and very safety minded, communicated well with our group about route, points of interest and practical info. Highly enjoyed it and felt it was a very unique and memorable way to see historic and verdant aspects of Roma. Such a great antidote to the highly crowded other sites in the city.

From USD $ 101.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message