5 star rating: Highly Recommended 157 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 157 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Unbelievable! So nice to see the aquaducts, and have some exercise. Our guide Matteo was wonderful and we really enjoyed the parks, the scenery and the cheese farm. The atacombs area must. ! Highly recommended - even in the rain !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was the highlight of highlights on a wonderful week in Rome. The night before there was the mother of all thunderstorms over the city. The result was that when we Brits checked in at Top Bikes Rome we found that everyone else had cried off. We had our guide Riccardo to ourselves. The ride through the city was much easier than we anticipated as Riccardo made good use of crossings, lanes, the odd cycle way and parks. The Appian Way was great - with sites of ancient aristocratic estates with, in the case of Maxentius, a private version of the 'Circus Maximus'. What really took my breath away was cycling under a bridge to see the ruins of an amazing aqueduct which took water into the ancient city from distant hills. The riding is leisurely, only 20 miles in 6 hours. There are stops for visits to Catacombs and to enjoy wine and cheese at a C15 farm. The bikes were very good - of a higher standard than our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We did the 6hr tour and it was the best part of our Rome trip by far. My only regret is that we didn't do the other two available bike tours as well. If I had it to do all over again I would start with the Rome City Bike Tour, then do the Panoramic Bike Tour, and then the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Tour...maybe twice! It was that good, and so worth the money. The quality of the bikes provided was outstanding which made the ride very smooth, but for the cobblestones! We lucked out on a day with perfect weather. The views at Aquaduct Park are phenomenal, it was just gorgeous. I would probably not bring smaller children along or adults not in decent shape since it is 30km, but it really was broken up nicely by the guided stops, so don't let the length keep you from this experience. My son's and I met such nice people on our tour, and our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable and easy to understand. While waiting for our tour to begin we spoke to other guides returning from tours and they all seem really great. I think you cannot go wrong with this group. I highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Weather was glorious. Route was varied and as far as possible kept on quiet roads / tracks. Richard our guide was very informative. Bikes were carbon fibre mountain bikes and were in good condition. Scenery was nice, helped by the sunshine and the wild flowers. Relaxing stop for wine and cheese on a sheep farm. Lovely break from the sightseeing in the city centre.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an amazing experience - 6 hours of the appian way, catacombs, and the aqueducts. The parks surrounding Rome and beautiful and gave us a prespective we otherwise wouldnot have had. The stop for pecorino cheese and wine at the sheep farm was over the top. A wonderful tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic. Knowledgable and very safety minded, communicated well with our group about route, points of interest and practical info. Highly enjoyed it and felt it was a very unique and memorable way to see historic and verdant aspects of Roma. Such a great antidote to the highly crowded other sites in the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous tour! Bruno was the best! He told the most interesting and informational stories. Biking along the ancient Appian Way was an amazing experience and the aqueduct park blew us away. We would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We've been to Rome many times but this is the best tour we've ever taken. The pace was perfect and we saw things we never would have seen on our own walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The best experience ever. Top notch equipment. Fabulous guide. Couldn't have been better

Hans W
Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip with Simone as our guide was definitely one of the highlights of the 1 week long trip. We have been to Rome many times, but have never done a bike trip in Rome and Simone managed to make the trip very fun and interesting. He is knowledgeable and at the same time has a great sense of humor and succeeded in making everyone feel comfortable even though it was slowed down with having our two children and my parents of 75 and 78 on the trip and it was raining part of the day. SUPER!!! This is a MUST-DO kind of thing. The only thing we may suggest is that Viator should probably make it clear that this is a very streneous trip and should not be advised for children below 12 and elderly folks who are not in good shape and used to biking. before getting to Via Appia and biking home you do get into some pretty heavy traffic areas and this is too dangerous for younger children and the length of the trip is long (we were on the 6 hour one, which due to weather ended up being 7½ hours). Simone, however, was fabulous!! Hans W, Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The best tour by far that we took in rome!! It was raining on tour day and yet we did the entire 6 hour tour and had a blast!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Simone was a wonderful guide! Our tour of the Appian way was incredible, and our whole family of six enjoyed it very much. We would definitely recommend this tour for anyone who loves the outdoors, and a wonderful view of the outskirts of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Can't recommend this tour highly enough. Family of four we did the 30km Appian Way ride with Bruno. He was fun and informative and very safety conscious so even though part of the ride was among the traffic in central Rome we felt confident with our early teens children. Route very interesting. Booked through Viator who messed up over what was included but Topbike honoured what was printed on our voucher. Best day of our week in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wow! This tour was awesome. We learned so much from our great tour guide Bruno. He went above and beyond to take care of us on our bikes and off. I would highly recomend seeing rome this way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my visit to Italy. Having not been on a bike in close to 40 years, I was concerned that the bike tour might be better suited for someone in better physical condition. While quite challenging in some places (i.e., steep hills), I believe this was an excellent way to see areas of Rome only accessible by bike. Our guide, Federico was absolutely fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the various sites we visited, and spoke perfect English. The group's ride on Easter Sunday was met with perfect weather in Rome. We spent close to six hours riding the Appian Way out into the Roman countryside, stopping at various points of interest along the way, including lunch at Casale della Vaccareccia. The memory of this bike tour will last a lifetime! And, thanks to Federico of Top Bike Tours, my interest in cycling has been rekindled. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride! Do not be put off by the distance traveled on the tour; there are plenty of opportunities to make rest stops and take in the wonderful scenery!

From USD $ 107.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message