• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hans W
Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip with Simone as our guide was definitely one of the highlights of the 1 week long trip. We have been to Rome many times, but have never done a bike trip in Rome and Simone managed to make the trip very fun and interesting. He is knowledgeable and at the same time has a great sense of humor and succeeded in making everyone feel comfortable even though it was slowed down with having our two children and my parents of 75 and 78 on the trip and it was raining part of the day. SUPER!!! This is a MUST-DO kind of thing. The only thing we may suggest is that Viator should probably make it clear that this is a very streneous trip and should not be advised for children below 12 and elderly folks who are not in good shape and used to biking. before getting to Via Appia and biking home you do get into some pretty heavy traffic areas and this is too dangerous for younger children and the length of the trip is long (we were on the 6 hour one, which due to weather ended up being 7½ hours). Simone, however, was fabulous!! Hans W, Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The best tour by far that we took in rome!! It was raining on tour day and yet we did the entire 6 hour tour and had a blast!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Simone was a wonderful guide! Our tour of the Appian way was incredible, and our whole family of six enjoyed it very much. We would definitely recommend this tour for anyone who loves the outdoors, and a wonderful view of the outskirts of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Can't recommend this tour highly enough. Family of four we did the 30km Appian Way ride with Bruno. He was fun and informative and very safety conscious so even though part of the ride was among the traffic in central Rome we felt confident with our early teens children. Route very interesting. Booked through Viator who messed up over what was included but Topbike honoured what was printed on our voucher. Best day of our week in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wow! This tour was awesome. We learned so much from our great tour guide Bruno. He went above and beyond to take care of us on our bikes and off. I would highly recomend seeing rome this way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my visit to Italy. Having not been on a bike in close to 40 years, I was concerned that the bike tour might be better suited for someone in better physical condition. While quite challenging in some places (i.e., steep hills), I believe this was an excellent way to see areas of Rome only accessible by bike. Our guide, Federico was absolutely fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the various sites we visited, and spoke perfect English. The group's ride on Easter Sunday was met with perfect weather in Rome. We spent close to six hours riding the Appian Way out into the Roman countryside, stopping at various points of interest along the way, including lunch at Casale della Vaccareccia. The memory of this bike tour will last a lifetime! And, thanks to Federico of Top Bike Tours, my interest in cycling has been rekindled. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride! Do not be put off by the distance traveled on the tour; there are plenty of opportunities to make rest stops and take in the wonderful scenery!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip was great. Highly recommended. Our guide Bruno, was excellent, well-informed about roman history and very pleasant. Our group consisted of four grown ups and four children (age 11 - 13), and he guided us safely all the way, through traffic and out in the countryside. The catacombs and the aquaduct were impressive, the ancient appian way was peacefull and very beautifull, and the top was the visit at the farm for cheese and wine. Incredible that you can go by bike out of Rome, and in just a short while you are really out on the countryside. This trip was really much more than we expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a marvellous day and were very well looked after by Bruno.
Although a little apprehensive at the start we soon got the hang of the bikes,which were excellent and went at a steady pace, no one was left behind!
We saw so much more than on a normal sightseeing trip. I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour, Bruno our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor making our day very memorable. Highly, recommend, do not miss this part of Rome, a tour you must experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Manuel was a terrific guide! finding this office is a bit difficult so don't leave it to the last miute. Manuel is very timely. the tour goes along city streets and some narrow spaces, so not good for people who are not deft maneuverers with a bicycle. We used Ghost bicycles which ahd terrific suspension and the office uses a special coating inside of the tire so if a flat occurs, it will seal the hole on its own without the tour guide having to take time to fix it. the actual tour was fantastic...learned lots even though i've been reading many guide books. it rained and hailed and lightning stormed on us, yet would definitely still recommend. if going in rainy weather, just wear your boots to keep your feet dry. They have rain ponchos, but perhaps bring a belt as they are quite long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had the perfect day....the bike tour was amazing and Bruno was a wonderful guide. Even our kids did great on this 30 km trek all over Rome!. We saw sites we never knew were there...only a couple sketchy parts of biking on the streets of Rome,,but Bruno made sure we were all safe. Worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We have visited Rome a number of times and been on most of the tourist tours; however we were apprehensive before we started this tour as neither my wife nor I regularly cycle, we need not have been concerned. Bruno was a fantastic guide his enthusiasm for the subject and his local knowledge made the tour come alive and he set the pace which was suitable for all members of the group. Riding along the 2500 year old road on the original cobblestones (for those in the group who chose not to ride along the edge) was amazing, the scenery along the route is fantastic and the buildings and architecture are not those you would have normally have seen when visiting Rome. The farm stop was great; having fresh cheese bread and wine in the open air in a traditional setting was lovely.
The Appian Way gives a truly fascinating glimpse into the history of Rome; this is one of the best and most memorable tours you can do in Rome, a “Not to be missed experience”

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was one of the best tours I have taken. Simone the guide was very knowledgeable and an effective communicator. The Appian Way is fascinating which I have been trying to experience for over 40 years. This is a must for the historian and Simone makes Rome come alive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This trip is a delight for everyone who wants to escape from the crowd to explore more in and around rome with a fantastic guide. It is like a trip back in time and very personal due to the small groups they do. Absolutely recommendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour was a lot of fun. The guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Lunch was great.

From USD $ 110.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message