5 star rating: Highly Recommended 169 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 169 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was an amazing experience - 6 hours of the appian way, catacombs, and the aqueducts. The parks surrounding Rome and beautiful and gave us a prespective we otherwise wouldnot have had. The stop for pecorino cheese and wine at the sheep farm was over the top. A wonderful tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic. Knowledgable and very safety minded, communicated well with our group about route, points of interest and practical info. Highly enjoyed it and felt it was a very unique and memorable way to see historic and verdant aspects of Roma. Such a great antidote to the highly crowded other sites in the city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous tour! Bruno was the best! He told the most interesting and informational stories. Biking along the ancient Appian Way was an amazing experience and the aqueduct park blew us away. We would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We've been to Rome many times but this is the best tour we've ever taken. The pace was perfect and we saw things we never would have seen on our own walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The best experience ever. Top notch equipment. Fabulous guide. Couldn't have been better

Hans W
Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip with Simone as our guide was definitely one of the highlights of the 1 week long trip. We have been to Rome many times, but have never done a bike trip in Rome and Simone managed to make the trip very fun and interesting. He is knowledgeable and at the same time has a great sense of humor and succeeded in making everyone feel comfortable even though it was slowed down with having our two children and my parents of 75 and 78 on the trip and it was raining part of the day. SUPER!!! This is a MUST-DO kind of thing. The only thing we may suggest is that Viator should probably make it clear that this is a very streneous trip and should not be advised for children below 12 and elderly folks who are not in good shape and used to biking. before getting to Via Appia and biking home you do get into some pretty heavy traffic areas and this is too dangerous for younger children and the length of the trip is long (we were on the 6 hour one, which due to weather ended up being 7½ hours). Simone, however, was fabulous!! Hans W, Denmark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The best tour by far that we took in rome!! It was raining on tour day and yet we did the entire 6 hour tour and had a blast!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Simone was a wonderful guide! Our tour of the Appian way was incredible, and our whole family of six enjoyed it very much. We would definitely recommend this tour for anyone who loves the outdoors, and a wonderful view of the outskirts of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Can't recommend this tour highly enough. Family of four we did the 30km Appian Way ride with Bruno. He was fun and informative and very safety conscious so even though part of the ride was among the traffic in central Rome we felt confident with our early teens children. Route very interesting. Booked through Viator who messed up over what was included but Topbike honoured what was printed on our voucher. Best day of our week in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wow! This tour was awesome. We learned so much from our great tour guide Bruno. He went above and beyond to take care of us on our bikes and off. I would highly recomend seeing rome this way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my visit to Italy. Having not been on a bike in close to 40 years, I was concerned that the bike tour might be better suited for someone in better physical condition. While quite challenging in some places (i.e., steep hills), I believe this was an excellent way to see areas of Rome only accessible by bike. Our guide, Federico was absolutely fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the various sites we visited, and spoke perfect English. The group's ride on Easter Sunday was met with perfect weather in Rome. We spent close to six hours riding the Appian Way out into the Roman countryside, stopping at various points of interest along the way, including lunch at Casale della Vaccareccia. The memory of this bike tour will last a lifetime! And, thanks to Federico of Top Bike Tours, my interest in cycling has been rekindled. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride! Do not be put off by the distance traveled on the tour; there are plenty of opportunities to make rest stops and take in the wonderful scenery!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip was great. Highly recommended. Our guide Bruno, was excellent, well-informed about roman history and very pleasant. Our group consisted of four grown ups and four children (age 11 - 13), and he guided us safely all the way, through traffic and out in the countryside. The catacombs and the aquaduct were impressive, the ancient appian way was peacefull and very beautifull, and the top was the visit at the farm for cheese and wine. Incredible that you can go by bike out of Rome, and in just a short while you are really out on the countryside. This trip was really much more than we expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a marvellous day and were very well looked after by Bruno.
Although a little apprehensive at the start we soon got the hang of the bikes,which were excellent and went at a steady pace, no one was left behind!
We saw so much more than on a normal sightseeing trip. I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour, Bruno our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor making our day very memorable. Highly, recommend, do not miss this part of Rome, a tour you must experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Manuel was a terrific guide! finding this office is a bit difficult so don't leave it to the last miute. Manuel is very timely. the tour goes along city streets and some narrow spaces, so not good for people who are not deft maneuverers with a bicycle. We used Ghost bicycles which ahd terrific suspension and the office uses a special coating inside of the tire so if a flat occurs, it will seal the hole on its own without the tour guide having to take time to fix it. the actual tour was fantastic...learned lots even though i've been reading many guide books. it rained and hailed and lightning stormed on us, yet would definitely still recommend. if going in rainy weather, just wear your boots to keep your feet dry. They have rain ponchos, but perhaps bring a belt as they are quite long.

From USD $ 99.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message