5 star rating: Highly Recommended 159 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 159 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was one of the highlights of my visit to Italy. Having not been on a bike in close to 40 years, I was concerned that the bike tour might be better suited for someone in better physical condition. While quite challenging in some places (i.e., steep hills), I believe this was an excellent way to see areas of Rome only accessible by bike. Our guide, Federico was absolutely fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the various sites we visited, and spoke perfect English. The group's ride on Easter Sunday was met with perfect weather in Rome. We spent close to six hours riding the Appian Way out into the Roman countryside, stopping at various points of interest along the way, including lunch at Casale della Vaccareccia. The memory of this bike tour will last a lifetime! And, thanks to Federico of Top Bike Tours, my interest in cycling has been rekindled. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride! Do not be put off by the distance traveled on the tour; there are plenty of opportunities to make rest stops and take in the wonderful scenery!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This trip was great. Highly recommended. Our guide Bruno, was excellent, well-informed about roman history and very pleasant. Our group consisted of four grown ups and four children (age 11 - 13), and he guided us safely all the way, through traffic and out in the countryside. The catacombs and the aquaduct were impressive, the ancient appian way was peacefull and very beautifull, and the top was the visit at the farm for cheese and wine. Incredible that you can go by bike out of Rome, and in just a short while you are really out on the countryside. This trip was really much more than we expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a marvellous day and were very well looked after by Bruno.
Although a little apprehensive at the start we soon got the hang of the bikes,which were excellent and went at a steady pace, no one was left behind!
We saw so much more than on a normal sightseeing trip. I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent tour, Bruno our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor making our day very memorable. Highly, recommend, do not miss this part of Rome, a tour you must experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Manuel was a terrific guide! finding this office is a bit difficult so don't leave it to the last miute. Manuel is very timely. the tour goes along city streets and some narrow spaces, so not good for people who are not deft maneuverers with a bicycle. We used Ghost bicycles which ahd terrific suspension and the office uses a special coating inside of the tire so if a flat occurs, it will seal the hole on its own without the tour guide having to take time to fix it. the actual tour was fantastic...learned lots even though i've been reading many guide books. it rained and hailed and lightning stormed on us, yet would definitely still recommend. if going in rainy weather, just wear your boots to keep your feet dry. They have rain ponchos, but perhaps bring a belt as they are quite long.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had the perfect day....the bike tour was amazing and Bruno was a wonderful guide. Even our kids did great on this 30 km trek all over Rome!. We saw sites we never knew were there...only a couple sketchy parts of biking on the streets of Rome,,but Bruno made sure we were all safe. Worth doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We have visited Rome a number of times and been on most of the tourist tours; however we were apprehensive before we started this tour as neither my wife nor I regularly cycle, we need not have been concerned. Bruno was a fantastic guide his enthusiasm for the subject and his local knowledge made the tour come alive and he set the pace which was suitable for all members of the group. Riding along the 2500 year old road on the original cobblestones (for those in the group who chose not to ride along the edge) was amazing, the scenery along the route is fantastic and the buildings and architecture are not those you would have normally have seen when visiting Rome. The farm stop was great; having fresh cheese bread and wine in the open air in a traditional setting was lovely.
The Appian Way gives a truly fascinating glimpse into the history of Rome; this is one of the best and most memorable tours you can do in Rome, a “Not to be missed experience”

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This was one of the best tours I have taken. Simone the guide was very knowledgeable and an effective communicator. The Appian Way is fascinating which I have been trying to experience for over 40 years. This is a must for the historian and Simone makes Rome come alive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This trip is a delight for everyone who wants to escape from the crowd to explore more in and around rome with a fantastic guide. It is like a trip back in time and very personal due to the small groups they do. Absolutely recommendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour was a lot of fun. The guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable. Lunch was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

My wife and really enjoyed our time on the Appian Way bike tour . Our guide, Manuel, was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I had so many questions and comments, but he was able to thoroughly answer everything! It was one of our favorite tours in Italy! Well worth the effort!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

What a great way to see the outskirts of Rome and experience rural life. The bike ride was well mapped out to accommodate the busy streets of Rome. The stop at the farm was a real treat - excellent host, wine and delicious cheese. Matt was the best guide we could have had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fabulous tour! Really enjoyed it although I was a bit nervous at first about riding on the bike and dirt tracks. Really had a great time and our guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour was so fun! The group was small so we were all able to hear the guide, who was very knowledgeable, when he spoke. The wine and cheese stop was delicious, I just didn't want to get back on my back afterwards. You get to see so much that you wouldn't see just visiting Rome that I highly recommend doing this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I was looking for something to do that did not involve hordes of tourists, getting out of the city and incorporating my love of cycling. This tour filled all requirements to the five star level. The guide, Simone Tacchi, was enthusiastic, knowledgable and an excellent host.

From USD $ 107.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message