• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

My wife and really enjoyed our time on the Appian Way bike tour . Our guide, Manuel, was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I had so many questions and comments, but he was able to thoroughly answer everything! It was one of our favorite tours in Italy! Well worth the effort!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

What a great way to see the outskirts of Rome and experience rural life. The bike ride was well mapped out to accommodate the busy streets of Rome. The stop at the farm was a real treat - excellent host, wine and delicious cheese. Matt was the best guide we could have had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fabulous tour! Really enjoyed it although I was a bit nervous at first about riding on the bike and dirt tracks. Really had a great time and our guide was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This tour was so fun! The group was small so we were all able to hear the guide, who was very knowledgeable, when he spoke. The wine and cheese stop was delicious, I just didn't want to get back on my back afterwards. You get to see so much that you wouldn't see just visiting Rome that I highly recommend doing this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I was looking for something to do that did not involve hordes of tourists, getting out of the city and incorporating my love of cycling. This tour filled all requirements to the five star level. The guide, Simone Tacchi, was enthusiastic, knowledgable and an excellent host.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic. I would have liked a map/picture guide showing the route/pictures/explanations of what we saw along the route prior to or after the ride as a rememberance of our guide's tremendous job. We had a great Father/Daughter, Uncle/Niece bicycle ride and we would recommend this tour to all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome day! We did the Thursday tour. Traffic was OK and the guide took care to make sure we stayed safe. Highly recommended and easy ride, only one real hill all day and that was easy. Good bikes and the guide really gave us a great look around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Bruno was awesome! I will definitely recommend him and the company to all my friends!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A must! Looking through my pictures now, I cannot believe all the biking we did and what we saw. In the middle of the afternoon we rode into a farm in the countryside for a stop of fresh cheese, bread and wine...an awesome way to see Rome! Our tour guide was just excellent...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I had a fantastic time on the tour and have recommended it to others. It was a really good way to see the Appian Way and the cheese and wine were amazing. Thank you so much for a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The best tour we did in 5 weeks of touring Italy ... hands down! The guide, the bikes the locations were brilliant. An enjoyable ride, perfectly paced by our guide made the 6 hours pass in what seemed like a blink. Suggest if you are in Rome and reasonably fit ... DO IT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Loved it...was fantastic!

Cheryl M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome ride and unbelievable scenery! Shocking that it is all within Rome. Our guide Simon was excellent and very informative. Definitely agree that if your not used to riding a bike this will be challenging for you due to some of the terrain. We don't work out regularly so as far as fitness level I don't think it's a strenuous ride as the gears are excellent but the large cobblestones on Appian Way make it challlenging. Don't be intimidated by the distance as there are many stops along the way so we were never winded. An awesome way to see the sights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was no easy ride in the park. The tour was cobbly, hilly and the dirt path was pretty crazy in places. I had to get off and walk on some of the hills and was riding on fumes towards the end, but this was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Our guide, Frederico, was the nicest, funniest Italian we met the entire trip. The path he helped set up is amazing. We came upon a golf course under the aqueduct,had lunch of just cured cheeses, wine and breads at a working ancient farm house, took a tour of the catacombs underground, saw parks and places only Italians seem to know about. My only suggestion would be to hand out a map of our actual trip at the end so we can have proof of where we went when we brag (hehe) to friends and family later.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had an amazing time doing this tour our guide was very friendly and knowlegeable would recommend it to friends but you need some fitness.

From USD $ 110.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message