5 star rating: Highly Recommended 184 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 184 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Bruno was awesome! I will definitely recommend him and the company to all my friends!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A must! Looking through my pictures now, I cannot believe all the biking we did and what we saw. In the middle of the afternoon we rode into a farm in the countryside for a stop of fresh cheese, bread and wine...an awesome way to see Rome! Our tour guide was just excellent...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I had a fantastic time on the tour and have recommended it to others. It was a really good way to see the Appian Way and the cheese and wine were amazing. Thank you so much for a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The best tour we did in 5 weeks of touring Italy ... hands down! The guide, the bikes the locations were brilliant. An enjoyable ride, perfectly paced by our guide made the 6 hours pass in what seemed like a blink. Suggest if you are in Rome and reasonably fit ... DO IT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Loved it...was fantastic!

Cheryl M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome ride and unbelievable scenery! Shocking that it is all within Rome. Our guide Simon was excellent and very informative. Definitely agree that if your not used to riding a bike this will be challenging for you due to some of the terrain. We don't work out regularly so as far as fitness level I don't think it's a strenuous ride as the gears are excellent but the large cobblestones on Appian Way make it challlenging. Don't be intimidated by the distance as there are many stops along the way so we were never winded. An awesome way to see the sights!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was no easy ride in the park. The tour was cobbly, hilly and the dirt path was pretty crazy in places. I had to get off and walk on some of the hills and was riding on fumes towards the end, but this was the highlight of our trip to Italy. Our guide, Frederico, was the nicest, funniest Italian we met the entire trip. The path he helped set up is amazing. We came upon a golf course under the aqueduct,had lunch of just cured cheeses, wine and breads at a working ancient farm house, took a tour of the catacombs underground, saw parks and places only Italians seem to know about. My only suggestion would be to hand out a map of our actual trip at the end so we can have proof of where we went when we brag (hehe) to friends and family later.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had an amazing time doing this tour our guide was very friendly and knowlegeable would recommend it to friends but you need some fitness.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This is a must when visiting Rome. You wil never get the view of the aqueducts as you get on this trip. The bikes were perfect. The ride extremely comfortable. Georgia (Georgia n my mind) was terrific. Her friend Anna at the sheep farm gave you plenty of cheese, pizza, bread, and wine. This was the highlight of our trip. If you go, ask for Georgia.

Steve,Cathy,Ken, Cindy from BuffaloNY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A great way to see parts of Rome that you don't typically get to see. Our guide Manuel was wonderful -- very knowledgeable and friendly and patient. I enjoyed every bit of it -- riding on the Appian Way, through the Roman countryside, and stopping for wine and cheese at a working sheep farm. I highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Fantastic! This tour was one of the highlights of our holiday! Would recommend it to anyone! a brilliant guide and a lovely route!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This tour was really the highlight of my visit to Rome. I was a little nervous about a bike tour because I hadn't ridden a bike in 30 years, but the guide helped familiarize me with the bike, rode at a reasonable pace, and stopped often enough that the entire group could rest when necessary. I enjoyed seeing the countryside and the catacombs, and I very much enjoyed the company of the guide and everone else on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I've been to Rome many times and this allowed me to see Rome from a different perspective. I loved this tour very much. Federico, our guide, was very enthusiastic and allowed us to stop for photos along the way. He even climbed a few fig trees in search of some ripe figs for us to try since they were in season. The lunch stop was a nice surprise (farmhouse located within a park only 3 miles from the city center) with all food made from the farm products. Delicious. We rode 32 km in 6 hours and the temperature was perfect in September. My only complaint was that I did not want the tour to end. Bravo Federico!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. excellant guide. getting to see non touristic areas. Brilliant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Really interesting bike ride and Georgia was an excellent tour leader informing us of the history making it a very worthwhile day out in the hot sun. Fortunately there were plenty of water stops and we stopped in the shade to look and listen. The catacombs were worthwhile to go down into not only for the cooler temperature but to learn how they buried people in those earlier times. The wine and cheese stop enabled us to get to know the other people on the ride and enjoy some local cheese with bread and wine. Biking over ancient cobblestones is amazing then to come back and ride around the Colosseum on the way home was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip while in Rome. We like to do things off the beaten path and this was certainly off the path. Our guide, Georgia, was fabulous as was the wine and cheese stop in the park. I would not recommend this for children less than teenage due to the bike handling skill required. If you want to see another face of Rome away from the crowds (after you have seen the usual sights) you must take this tour.

Jeff
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a fantastic tour and the six hours flew by. It was incredible to see the catacombs and the aquaducts. Having fresh cheese and wine and the 16th century farm was a pleasurable and unforgettable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

An awesome time! We took our kids (20 and 16) and all four of us loved the tour! It was definitely the highlight of our trip! Emanuel was an awesome tour guide! Highly recommend this bike tour!

Aida1323
Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent! SO MUCH FUN!!!! Our guide Franceso was brilliant! The Appian way lined with cypresses was beautiful. Our lunch of wine and cheese delicious. Loved it! Watchout if you are a biking newbie. The Appian way is rocky and very tough to ride through if you don't dominte biking! Expect to fall!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent in every single aspect,,,,!

Our Guide Georgia, is a beatifull person you should meet while in Rome!

Very interesting, friendly and professional in all ways..

The Tour is very well organized, the farm excellent.

Very recommendable,

Agustin Arriaga Diez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was one of the best experiences I've ever had! You'll see parts of Rome and the countryside that you'd never be able to see on foot or by bus/car/train. Our guide was fantastic and so energetic! We learned a lot about the places we visited and your tour of the catacombs is a highlight. Our stop for the picnic lunch bread, cheese, wine - by the local farm, was absolutely wonderful. It's a bit of a challenge for those who haven't ridden a bicycle for a while, but these bikes are supreme top-class. You'll enjoy every minute. Just remember to bring appropriate clothes for biking (it can get hot) and you'll enjoy it all the better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was an awesome tour! Our guide was an excellent guide and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see great parts of Rome that you probably wouldn't discover on your own. The biking can be difficult at time, so I would only recommend this if you work out somewhat regularly. I was sore the next day, but it gave me the freedom to eat as much pasta as I wanted! All of the staff is very friendly and helpful, can't say enough great things about this option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely wonderful! We saw things that we would never have seen had we not stepped outside the general touristy area. A big thank you to our guide, who was so helpful and informative.It was a very hot day..and we did not care as our guide made the tour so much fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This tour was one of the highlights of our visit to Rome. The bikes were great, the sights were beautiful, the wine and cheese at the farm was a delight and our guide even picked some fresh figs from a tree for us to sample.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Wonderful trip! Great people! Thank you for an incrediable experience!

From USD $ 89.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5284APPIAN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message