• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 to 4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this tour. Our guide was passionate about the site, engaging and informative. The radio/headphones worked well and allowed one to stop and take photos without missing out on any information. Loved this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide (Geo?) spoke very passionately about Ancient Ostia and made the visit very informative and interesting. Well worth a visit!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour guide (Rebecca) was fantastic, enthusiastic about the history and very informative, which really made this place come alive for us, thank you so much!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved the tour of Ostia. Our guide Gio was terrific

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a great tour outside of Rome! The train ride is maybe only 25 minutes. Ostia is very small and quiet. Our guide Massimo was really knowledgeable and engaging as all of the Dark Rome guides appear to be. He was able to bring this important former port city to life. The tour does involve a lot of walking, but the guides knowledge and enthusiasm made it worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip to Ostia Antica was definitely worth going on. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of interesting history about Ostia. There is so much to see at the old Roman port that you really need a good tour guide to explain the buildings, the layout of the town and the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful excuse to leave the hustle and bustle of the City for a day trip. The tour was very organized, the group was pretty small (12 people), and the guide was excellent. The ruins are amazing, and Tiffany's knowledge of the area really brought the experience home. She was a wonderful guide and host. Following the tour, my wife and I spent the afternoon and evening in Ostia, returning to the City the next morning. I would highly suggest this tour to anyone, as it was a nice break...with fantastic ruins...and a great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an excellent tour. Our tour guide, Rebecca, was exceptional. She was very passionate and extremely knowledgeable about the history of Ostia. She made the history very interesting and was able to capture the group's attention throughout the entirety of the tour. I came away with a good understanding of the ancient port city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! Gia was wonderful and Ostia is amazing. Tip: if you plan to take a Vatican tour, take this tour first as there is a reference or two to Ostia at the Vatican and it was great that we had visited Ostia the day prior.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Guide very enthusiastic and knowledgeable (Rebecca). Fantastic site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a most excellent tour of Ostia - our guide Rebecca (I believe) was extremely knowledgeable and spoke very well - she remembered everyones name and made our experience great!! Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brilliant tour with non stop information. Ostia was quiet and easy to look around despite numerous school parties . Our guide made it entertaining and informative from the moment we started. Great day, thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Rebecca our tour guide was excellent; she is passionate about antiquity and most engaging. Her recommendation for a good meal in Rome was super as well!
Ostia is a wonderful, underutilized historic site that is so close to Rome. A must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was fabulous! Gio was friendly from start to finish and very informative. Ostia is a great place to visit and I would recommend it to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Definitely worth a visit! The tour was very detailed and well organised from start to finish. Ostia is a beautiful place with lots of ancient architecture and amazing scenery. After you have been on the tour you get the option to either go back on the train or go to the coast on the train which is only 15 mins away, I opted for the beach!

From USD $ 63.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731OSTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message