5 star rating: Highly Recommended 200 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 to 4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 200 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an excellent day trip to Ostia Antica. Our guide, Gio, was very knowledgeable, pleasant and professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Gio the tour guide was brilliant. Highly recommend your tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

very good guide relaxed pace loads to see

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This trip was amazing reminded me of pompeii and our tour guide gio knew everything Thankyou, would really recommend this trip, took the metro from Rome so closer than pompeii

Vanja Radisic
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Massimo was fantastic, knowledgable and entertaining, he made this a walk through history in 3D. Highly recommend you do this tour with him, couldn't imagine a better guide for the job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

First of all the is amazing and there is plenty to see. A really nice contrast to those that have been to Pompeii. The best thing about this trip was the tour guide, Rebecca E, who was extremely enthusiastic and entertaining. She was extremely knowledgable and passionate about the area and the site. Furthermore she showed the group places that she had discovered herself on the site which many others don't know about. A further positive was that she got all of us to introduce ourselves to each other, which made the tour feel more personal and felt like you could actually have a chat with others on the tour. The last thing to mention is the fact that Rebecca didn't just disappear after the tour, she travelled back to the station with some of us and also took the time to speak to everyone individually at the end to answer any further questions or to give guidance on it itineries or directions to other sites. It was a great site to have a tour on and an awesome guide. It has been my second tour with the tour company and both times it has been a great experience. Really made my holiday special :)

Alan L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Took this tour, including a short,easy train journey to Ostia expecting to see a small but important site. How wrong, this site was once inhabited by 60000 people, mainly working class and soldiers. Rachel our guide, was very sociable, informative and brought the town to life for us with her vivid explanations of the working city. Just imagine running water in the higher status buildings 1500 years ago!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour -- very educational and fun too. It was a perfect day out of Rome. In many ways, Ostia really is the "better Pompeii." We can't say enough good things about our guide, Rebecca, who was everything we look for in a guide: knowledgeable, personable, organized, and fun. Rebecca did a remarkable job of keeping the group on track while also addressing individual needs. We especially appreciated being taken to her favorite spots in Ostia which made the tour feel very personal and special. We have taken many tours all around the world, and Rebecca is one of the best guides we have ever had!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had such an amazing day in Ostia! Our tour guide Rebecca was fabulous! She truly brought the ancient city alive during the tour with her knowledge and experience and made the day a lot of fun. I highly recommend this day trip for anyone who has the opportunity to go! I absolutely loved it! Thank you Rebecca!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide, Rebecca, was absolutely fantastic! Her knowledge combined with her enthusiasm made Ostia Antica come alive. She's the best tour guide we've ever had with Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We met our guide at the Piramide metro stop to board the train to Ostia. The ride took about 20 minutes, and along the way, our guide spoke a little about what we were going to see. When we arrived at Ostia, we walked to Ostia Antica, about a ten minute walk from the station. We entered the excavation area, and stepped back in time. Ostia was the seaport for Ancient Rome, and was a lively city. We saw remains of bath houses, temples, residential buildings including multi-story apartments, and a necropolis. Our guide was so enthusiastic about what she was showing us, that it was very infectious. We also spent time in the theatre and the surrounding area where business was conducted by various companies, which can be identified by the floor mosaics in the shops. The whole place was brought alive by our guide. Ostia is in very good condition for an ancient ruin, and its layout is largely intact unlike other places, so you can get a real feel for the way people lived in the 1st century. At the end of the tour, we were free to return to Rome with our guide, or stay in Ostia and return later. It was a very worthwhile tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Guide was full of details about the area. She was excellent. Her enthusiasm was catching.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic tour, think our guide was called Rebecca? Lovely lady from the USA, you can tell it its more of a passion to her than a job. She was informative and interesting from start to finish, if only all guide were as great as her!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour. Our guide, who's name I forget, was exceptional and very knowledgeable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A very interesting tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

From USD $ 58.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731OSTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message