5 star rating: Highly Recommended 185 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 to 4.5 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Ostia Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 185 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour. Our guide, who's name I forget, was exceptional and very knowledgeable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A very interesting tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour of this ancient city. The tour guide was outstanding and had a great deal of knowledge of Ostia and those times. One can see how advanced that civilization was 2000 years ago. After the tour, we took a short bus ride to the Mediterranean and had lunch on the Sea. A very enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a well organized tour with an expert English-speaking guide. There were 26 people which was too large for a so-called SMALL GROUP tour! However it all worked well enough in the end and we saw a large part of the old city in the 3 hours or so spent on the site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This visit to Ostia Antica was everything I hoped it would be! Although there is an early start, it was worth it, I suspect in the summer early morning is even more advisable. The size of the group was perfect only 12 including 2 very engaged and engaging children. Rebecca was a superb guide, very knowledgeable and clearly loved Ostia. She knew all our names very quickly and included everyone in her narrative.
The earphones were a very good idea, it meant we could wander away a little to take photos etc. but also because of the aircraft landing and taking off at nearby fiumicino airport. It was also useful on the train journey there, as Rebecca gave us a good idea of other places to go at various stops on the route.
The site itself was fantastic, so much to see, we could have stayed after the tour had ended to continue looking around............ I think next time I visit Rome I shall return to Ostia Antica.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having previously visited both Pompeii and Herculaneum I was a little apprehensive as to how Ostia would compare however I had no reason to be worried. Our guide, Gio (?), brought the whole place to life explaining exactly how the people of the day would have lived in the extremely well preserved ruins and she was obviously excited about some discoveries which had been uncovered in the few weeks since she had last supervised a tour there. The timings on the trip were excellent and we were able to explore the ruins at a leisurely pace, never at any time feeling rushed by our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this tour. Our guide was passionate about the site, engaging and informative. The radio/headphones worked well and allowed one to stop and take photos without missing out on any information. Loved this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide (Geo?) spoke very passionately about Ancient Ostia and made the visit very informative and interesting. Well worth a visit!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The tour guide (Rebecca) was fantastic, enthusiastic about the history and very informative, which really made this place come alive for us, thank you so much!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved the tour of Ostia. Our guide Gio was terrific

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a great tour outside of Rome! The train ride is maybe only 25 minutes. Ostia is very small and quiet. Our guide Massimo was really knowledgeable and engaging as all of the Dark Rome guides appear to be. He was able to bring this important former port city to life. The tour does involve a lot of walking, but the guides knowledge and enthusiasm made it worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip to Ostia Antica was definitely worth going on. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided a lot of interesting history about Ostia. There is so much to see at the old Roman port that you really need a good tour guide to explain the buildings, the layout of the town and the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a wonderful excuse to leave the hustle and bustle of the City for a day trip. The tour was very organized, the group was pretty small (12 people), and the guide was excellent. The ruins are amazing, and Tiffany's knowledge of the area really brought the experience home. She was a wonderful guide and host. Following the tour, my wife and I spent the afternoon and evening in Ostia, returning to the City the next morning. I would highly suggest this tour to anyone, as it was a nice break...with fantastic ruins...and a great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an excellent tour. Our tour guide, Rebecca, was exceptional. She was very passionate and extremely knowledgeable about the history of Ostia. She made the history very interesting and was able to capture the group's attention throughout the entirety of the tour. I came away with a good understanding of the ancient port city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour! Gia was wonderful and Ostia is amazing. Tip: if you plan to take a Vatican tour, take this tour first as there is a reference or two to Ostia at the Vatican and it was great that we had visited Ostia the day prior.

From USD $ 61.27

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731OSTIA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message