4.5 star rating: Recommended 1590 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1590 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was terrific

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome tour guide and a great fast moving experience not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing! The Roman Forum was so interesting. Francesca did an amazing job with our small group! 5 stars!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was brilliant and was easy to find, not like skip the line at Vatican were unable to find tour due to poor direction and missed the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A guia foi muito atenciosa e nos indicou tudo o que havia e mais interessante no passeio, recomendo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour and guide was brilliant. It was incredible seeing the coliseum and walking through the ancient ruins. Stunning architecture. You could really get a feeling of what went on there in the past and really appreciate it's history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour although there is a lot of walking. Probably best not to do in very hot weather.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Elisabetta was an amazing tour guide and we learned a ton on this experience. Just fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely wonderful - cannot recommend this tour enough.
Our guide spoke brilliant English, and was exceptionally knowledgable and passionate about the history of all the places that we saw. I got a lot more out of the day than idle had just been walking around on our own.
My mother was walking with the aid of a stick following an accident, but was able to keep up well, and there are plenty of stops along the tour.
The use of the radios and ear pieces meant that I didn't miss a word of what was said, even when we a little behind.
The meeting place for the tour wasn't very well communicated in the emails that I received - but a quick call on the day to the local operator quickly pointed me in the right direction.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We learned so much more from our guide than we could have imagined. So much better than a dry guide book! He pointed out features that we would never have noticed or understood on our own. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding tour and a knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond to make sure we saw and experienced the best of Roman history during throughout.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide on this tour was the absolute best ever. She was very knowledgeable and it was awesome all the way around. Would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We loved Priscilla (sp?)! She was very interesting and helpful. Just the right amount of time and information. Only 4 people on our tour so it was a personal tour. I highly recommend this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic tour guide Dario from the tour company. He was knowledgeable and shares Italian culture with his participants. He was also very willing to answer when asked questions about Italian culture in general.

I'll recommend this value for money tour to anyone going to rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent !!! Worth every penny !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely Fantastic!!! The guide was great and she really added to the atmoshere

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent walking tour with an outstanding guide (Dario). Could possibly have been the most informative walking tour I've ever been on.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, the guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Completely worth the money and made our short time in Rome even better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Since we visited Rome in early November, our group was small and it was great. Coloseum was great, no lines to get in, the forum was better than expected, pantheon was cool. Trevi fountain was under repair, so we didn't stay for long. Not a bad walk, pretty relaxing and a good pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Despite a member of our party getting lost (long story), our family had a wonderful time on the tour. It was fun and informative. Great guide. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The best way to experience the center of Rome! I went on this tour as part of a 4 day trip to Rome (it was my first time in the city) and this tour, together with the visit to the Vatican which I also booked with Viator, where the highlights of my trip.

Our guide was a 35 year-old charismatic Roman who spoke fluent English. Our group consisted of about 30 people and each of us had an audio unit with a headphone which transmitted the guide's voice perfectly, which meant each of us heard the guide perfectly in spite of the crowds in places like the Colosseum.

Our guide was thoughtful, attentive and very knowledgeable! During the 4 hour tour he gave us an endless amount of interesting information about the sights we passed which only a local would know (such as pointing out that certain apartment buildings are entirely occupied by the same family).

This tour was a fantastic way to skip the lines at the Colosseum + visit the main sights in the center of Rome, all with a fantastic guide. If time is of the essence for you, this is the best way to see the center of Rome. I suggest you do this tour on your first day so you have time to go back to the sights you have time to return to some of the sights you walk past on this tour if you so choose. I would definitely choose this tour over the hop-on hop-off bus.

Special Offer
$39.33 Save $3.93

From USD $ 35.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058ANCIENT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message