4.5 star rating: Recommended 1602 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1602 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. I arrived late due to traffic and luckily the group was still there and the tour guide had an extra ear set. He said, don't worry about it, we'll deal when we reconvene with the coordinator. He didn't know whether or not I was apart of his group or not. He didn't have to do that. When we met up with the coordinator, everything was straightened out and I was good to go. During the tour he was very detailed in his overview of the monuments. It was very hot and he answered questions, provide opportunities for us to rest, had pictures to illustrate what the areas looked like back then compared to what they look like now. It is a lot of walking, so make sure you have the right shoes on and bring your own water bottle. Walking through Rome and all its history is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were in Italy this past February for our honeymoon. It was great that we went during the off season, because Rome still had a lot of tourists during this time. We spent 2 days in every city we visited, and we made sure to get a walking tour on our first days. This half-day walking tour of Ancient Rome was a great! We covered a lot of ground, and got to see the main attractions in Ancient Rome. This was also great because we got to skip the long line at the Colosseum - and you will want to skip that line...especially if you plan on going during the peak seasons. Also, our tour guide Nicola was very friendly and informative! Definitely recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Inger did a great job giving an overview and answering questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was perfect, and our guide was firnedly and full of answers to all my litle questions! I'd recommend this tour to anyone and everyone!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I think the tour was outstanding. We were fortunate that our guide was an archeologist by profession who was so well informed. She was a pleasure to have as a guide also. I highly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The most Amazing Tour ever!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide was outstanding. Very knowledgeable and engaging. Well worth the time and money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great tour! I would highly recommend taking this tour, it helps to skip the line and without a tour guide it can look like a park. So much history here!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was terrific

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome tour guide and a great fast moving experience not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing! The Roman Forum was so interesting. Francesca did an amazing job with our small group! 5 stars!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was brilliant and was easy to find, not like skip the line at Vatican were unable to find tour due to poor direction and missed the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A guia foi muito atenciosa e nos indicou tudo o que havia e mais interessante no passeio, recomendo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour and guide was brilliant. It was incredible seeing the coliseum and walking through the ancient ruins. Stunning architecture. You could really get a feeling of what went on there in the past and really appreciate it's history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this tour although there is a lot of walking. Probably best not to do in very hot weather.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Elisabetta was an amazing tour guide and we learned a ton on this experience. Just fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely wonderful - cannot recommend this tour enough.
Our guide spoke brilliant English, and was exceptionally knowledgable and passionate about the history of all the places that we saw. I got a lot more out of the day than idle had just been walking around on our own.
My mother was walking with the aid of a stick following an accident, but was able to keep up well, and there are plenty of stops along the tour.
The use of the radios and ear pieces meant that I didn't miss a word of what was said, even when we a little behind.
The meeting place for the tour wasn't very well communicated in the emails that I received - but a quick call on the day to the local operator quickly pointed me in the right direction.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour. Very informative. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We learned so much more from our guide than we could have imagined. So much better than a dry guide book! He pointed out features that we would never have noticed or understood on our own. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding tour and a knowledgeable guide who went above and beyond to make sure we saw and experienced the best of Roman history during throughout.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide on this tour was the absolute best ever. She was very knowledgeable and it was awesome all the way around. Would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We loved Priscilla (sp?)! She was very interesting and helpful. Just the right amount of time and information. Only 4 people on our tour so it was a personal tour. I highly recommend this one.

Special Offer
$39.07 Save $3.91

From USD $ 35.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058ANCIENT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message