4.5 star rating: Recommended 1601 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1601 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. It covered all the main areas but more importantly the tour guide was excellent and made the walks enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An outstanding tour led by Marghera. She was very courteous and understanding with buckets of accurate knowledge.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great guide through the ancient ruins. Perfect amount of time spent on this walking tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Hi,

My wife and I were on our honeymoon trip and to visit some of the key sites in Rome is a must-do item in our list. The meet-up point was easy to locate. Tour set off timely. Our tour guide: Francesca (if i remember her name correctly) is a very professional, knowledgeable and friendly lady. Through the tour, we gained lots of information and facts about ancient Rome. Colosseum is really awesome and we took numerous nice photos at this site. Francesca done a great job by giving clear and descriptive explanation on the Roman forum too which allowed us to visualize how things were like in the past. Though the sun was strong during the walk, the tour was high spirited and i bet each of us in the group enjoyed it.

As the Trevi Fountain is under heavy restoration, the guide offered us an alternative and she brought us to the famous Pantheon. During our walk, she gave us small information on which are the nice restaurants to visit and which to give a miss etc.

A highly recommended tour to all.

Cheers
WH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, our guide (Franchesca) was fabulous and very knowledgeable, friendly and clear loved her job. Sights we seen were perfect and would highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was excellent and the tour guide was very informative and very considerate of everyone's needs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. The guide was freindly and very knowledgable. We went to all the really historical places and learned a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour will not disappoint! The enthusiasm and passion with which Patricia conducted our tour was infectious! That along with her 'magic book' made the ancient ruins and astounding history jump to life. I never could have appreciated and assimilated so much on my own without this tour. Do not hesitate for one moment!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour Guide Sarah was awesome. She was ver knowledgable with a great smile. We got stuck in a severe thunder storm in the middle of the Forum and she just kept going! The weather was bad but she still made it enjoyable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The ruins nearly speak for themselves, standing out from the bustling city, or so we thought. Our energetic, friendly, and EXTREMELY knowledgeable guide, Sara, introduced us to the when, where, why, and how of all of the old stories of Rome we encountered on our walk. Our time amongst the ruins was notably longer and more meaningful under Sara's guidance. And more to her credit, her spunk and humor allowed us to learn and enjoy ourselves despite it pouring down rain while we were amongst the Forum ruins. My wife and I were amazed the rest of the afternoon at her ability to pull us through the rain with a smile.

One thing to note, that was a bit odd for all the tours we took in Europe, was that you are required to pay cash on site for the entrance to the museums, ON TOP OF the fee for the touring service. I would have preferred to just have paid that ahead of time as part of my fee. Luckily we had the requisite cash on hand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nothing but the best ! The only way to go. The guide was amazing!Would't do it any other way !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved it! Great guide who was very knowledgable and easy to talk to. He was kind and took his time to show us all the cool spots! His English was great as well - highly recommended !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you are going to do this tour, wear good walking shoes and you will need a large bottle of water and be relatively fit. We did this during the heart of summer and it was HOT... Learnt a lot in the tour, our guide was very knowledgable and my friend and I were very impressed. Learnt a lot about ancient rome and saw many monuments. Tour guide even took pictures when we wanted, and gave directions on how to get back to our hotel at the end of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

So worth the money! Tour guide was awesome and funny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour!! The guide (forgot his name - Sorry) was knowledgeable and professional. He had great visuals to help explain what we were going to see. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an excellent tour and beautiful day! Our tour guide was an archaeologist and was so knowledgeable and passionate about ancient Rome. Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Simply perfect! Dario our guide was an art history graduate and had spent 8 years as a custodian guard in Rome museums, so his knowledge was excellent. He was an extremely personable young man. He accommodated the walking pace of all of the group and took his time. 1 of the best tours I've ever done

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was a good one. One has to be a gladiator to manage a tour in the midst of huge crowds of people gawking as we were at this amazing place. The guide was pleasant and very knowledgable. It was hard to catch everything she said through the headsets as it seems a male voice transmits better. But she was patient and repeated one-on-one as needed. The trek though Rome is a long one that ended after the Pantheon, so it should be done only if you are really fit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great rout! Wear good shoes and bring water. Great way to see main sights in a short period of time. Enough time given at colloseum. Priscilla our guide was very informative and I learned a lot about the history. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We went with our tour guide , Marketa. She was very informative as she had a deep knowledge of all the places we visited. My advice is to bring water and wear walking shoes. There is a lot of hard walking. In addition, the tour guide charged us sn additional 15 euros each without an explanation why.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide tour was absolutly great. She knows everything! :) I will repite of course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative. Well organized. Guide was considerate and patient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful tour, experienced guide, a must do in Rome. Very tiring , lots of walking , take lots of water, but you will see and hear the history of all the great Rome monuments.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great overview of Ancient Rome. Our guide was well-informed and efficient (actually teaches archaeology). One must be able to walk a long way, but it is certainly worth the effort.

Special Offer
$39.01 Save $3.90

From USD $ 35.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058ANCIENT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message