5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1082 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1082 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an outstanding tour taking you to places you would not ordinarily get the opportunity to see. Our guide was knowledgeable and humorous and had a real passion for Ancient Rome! It was also great value for money as the tour took 4.5hrs. We would highly recommend this tour!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

We were really looking forward to this tour, especially when it was at 8.30 in the morning and we thought that we would see the Colosseum before the crowds arrived. Well we started the tour in the Forum and the guide spoke for at least half an hour at the first two stops. You could see that everyone was becoming very bored. By the time we got back to the Colosseum the crowds were so packed, it was a matter of all the group having to push through the crowds and it was quite frightening. Also we were then also late meeting up with the guide inside, the other people who were joining our group were not impressed that they had to wait and it also meant that we didn't get to spend as much time underneath.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was so informative, wow what an experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Perfect! Have been to the Colosseum several times on our own. Now having our own guide, our family of 8 learned so much more about religion, politics and history. Bravo!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best tour I have ever been on. It was amazing and our tour guide Sev, was fantastic. You could see that he loved to teach and answered all our questions with patience and humour. He made the history of the Colloseum come alive for us, and we will always be grateful that we had him as our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour which packs a lot in over a 3.5 hour period, hosted by the wonderful Eliza whose passion and knowledge for her subject were immense. Highly, highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour- exactly as advertised. This is the kind of stuff we went to Rome to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Would highly recommend this tour, this company and our guide "Gi Gi". He was extremely passionate about his work and helped us learn so much more with his knowledge of the Colosseum. Our pass got us to skip the line which was very helpful especially with the line standing in the hot August sun! Dont do it alone-go with the tour!!

-Maria-NewYork/Calabria!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were in Rome August 2014. The line ups to almost all of the major sites were unfathomably long. As with all of the Viator tours, one of the benefits is you skip the huge line ups. Well worth the extra money if your time is limited. The tour started with a tour of the Forum and Palantine which are the ancient Roman ruins just on the other side of the Colosseum. Our guide was very informative and really gave us some great insight into the history. This tour however also gives you additional perspectives of the Flavian Amphitheater (aka Colosseum) as you are taken to the upper and lower levels which are not open to the rest of the public. It helped to make sense of the incredible work involved to put on "a show" during Roman times. Part of the lower chambers has been re - built so you can get a sense of how the various animals/gladiators etc were presented to the crowds. The tour was well organized, informative and well worth the money. I think we would have missed so much of the details and education had we just toured this on our own. As a note, our guide told us the movie Gladiator was as a story historically inaccurate however the set up of the underground Colosseum he felt was very accurate. Just keep that in mind if you want to watch the movie again to get a sense of the space. Highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a MUST DO tour for anyone visiting Rome...3 1/2 hours long and a lot of walking covering Palentine Hill, Roman Forum and of course the Colosseum. Our guide, Francesca was superb, she spoke excellent english and had great knowledge....she is a history teacher by profession! We were in a group of around 20 people, so not to large and everyone thoroughly enjoyed. The restricted access to areas of the Colosseum only open to guided tours is well worth the money in its self... especially up to the upper tier where the views are amazing. You must do this tour if you are planning to visit the Colosseum...just ask all the people who tried to follow us up to the upper tier and were denied access!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Underground Chambers didn't allow you to see much more than a standard ticket - not worth the extra cost. Knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very detailed tour and would recommend this to and anyone I knew that was heading to Rome. It does go for quite some time so be prepared to walk for a bit but if you really want to learn about Ancient Rome this tour is a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very detailed tour and would recommend this to and anyone I knew that was heading to Rome. It does go for quite some time so be prepared to walk for a bit but if you really want to learn about Ancient Rome this tour is a must.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very knowledgeable guide made for a terrific tour, even though the heat of the day was hard to escape. So much information to take in over a short time - we'll need to study the books some more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

From USD $ 131.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message