• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1043 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1043 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour - worth skipping the long lines!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Francesca, was our tour guide an she was awesome, totally made the tour worthwhile. Being able to go to the underground chambers an upper tier was a great hands on experience. Highly recommend this tour you won't be disappointed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Amelia tried very hard.
went through 2 audio units and still couldn't get them to work. Had interesting stories to tell but it was difficult in the group for everyone to hear.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Serafina did a wonderful job on a hot day keeping a very diverse group on track....loved the Colosseum and being able to go down below and up,above!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide, I believe her name was Serafina, did a wonderful job explaining things and the guide for the underground chambers was great too. It was unbelievable to see the workings of the Colosseum and hear how it was for the gladiators. We were extra lucky as the day of our tour was a Saints day and an orchestra and an opera singer serenaded us a we looked over the Colosseum. Felt very majestic!. Only disappointment was this tour was suppose to be a small group and a month before the tour found out they were combining two groups. We were given the option for a refund which I am glad we didn't cancel. Guide did a great job just would have been easier with a small group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ancient Rome part of the tour was good. Would recommend to go early morning as the sun was very harsh. Tour guide had a few English translation difficulties so at times a little hard to understand her. Overall informative and we'll worth while as the tour guide could show us pictures of what used to be there which I don't think we would have fully understood without her.
Colosseum, underground and upper, fabulous. A different guide to the Roman ruins. Tried her best with English. Really informative and task orientated. Seeing the Colosseum from way up high and below ground a must.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was a little confusing finding the Viator guides at the Metro station, and once we found our guide had to squeeze through congested Metro station again to cross street to Colosseum. The entrance into the Colosseum was much easier when you are with a group. Due to heavy rain we were not allowed to access the underground but our guide managed to describe the underground rooms in enough detail that we were not too disappointed. To make up for not seeing the underground, the tour was modified to include a tour of the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. I was glad our guide gave so much information. Would recommend a smaller size group tour for this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant tour. Our guide Mauritzio was really knowledgeable and brought the Roman Forum and the Colosseum to life. The underground chambers and the upper tier vists were well worth the extra cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional! So passionate about sharing his knowledge with us. Enjoyed so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was worth every cent. Yes, I can buy my tickets early and skip part of the line yet this is still even quicker. Our guide was very knowledgeable and he specialize in studying Roman history. We love being able to go through both the upper and lower levels and learn the most important aspects the sites. My only criticism was that the time changed from 8:30 to 9:30am without an email. We were glad that a representative was there to let us know.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing. Our Guide, Sev, was informative, witty, and really made the entire experience something we will never forget.
I recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to get the "behind the scenes" feel of the Colosseum, you won't regret a minute of it! You will enjoy every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

While we were not able to go onto the colosseum floor, our guide took us to places others were not allowed and gave us a excellent education of the history and special insights. This is a tour well worth the price.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour itself was great.but viator advertisement of small group tuor is not accurate.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My family (6 adults) took this tour and really enjoyed it. Our two guides were Fabulous, well informed, and friendly, and very enthusiastic about their subjects, which was contagious. The incredible history and engineering associated with this site is not to be missed. We all highly recommend it!

From USD $ 131.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message