• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1019 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1019 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was a little confusing finding the Viator guides at the Metro station, and once we found our guide had to squeeze through congested Metro station again to cross street to Colosseum. The entrance into the Colosseum was much easier when you are with a group. Due to heavy rain we were not allowed to access the underground but our guide managed to describe the underground rooms in enough detail that we were not too disappointed. To make up for not seeing the underground, the tour was modified to include a tour of the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. I was glad our guide gave so much information. Would recommend a smaller size group tour for this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Brilliant tour. Our guide Mauritzio was really knowledgeable and brought the Roman Forum and the Colosseum to life. The underground chambers and the upper tier vists were well worth the extra cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional! So passionate about sharing his knowledge with us. Enjoyed so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was worth every cent. Yes, I can buy my tickets early and skip part of the line yet this is still even quicker. Our guide was very knowledgeable and he specialize in studying Roman history. We love being able to go through both the upper and lower levels and learn the most important aspects the sites. My only criticism was that the time changed from 8:30 to 9:30am without an email. We were glad that a representative was there to let us know.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing. Our Guide, Sev, was informative, witty, and really made the entire experience something we will never forget.
I recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to get the "behind the scenes" feel of the Colosseum, you won't regret a minute of it! You will enjoy every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

While we were not able to go onto the colosseum floor, our guide took us to places others were not allowed and gave us a excellent education of the history and special insights. This is a tour well worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best guided tour we have ever been on and definitely the highlight of our entire trip. We credit this to our amazing tour guide. I believe that his name was Sef or Sev. He was an American who is now working at the university of Rome so I know that will enable you to identify him if I don't have his name spelt correctly. He was so knowledgeable, interesting and entertaining that we did not want the tour to end. We would do this same tour on our next trip to Rome if we could be guaranteed of getting this guide. Please send us the correct spelling of his name because we will inquire if he is available on our next trip and we will also highly recommend Viator. The Underground Chambers were amazing and we are grateful that we had the opportunity to see it. - Shirley and Stan Smyth

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our directions as far as meeting up with the guides was perfect. The tour guides were very knowledgable. We found out all kinds of information we didn't know. Very interesting!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Sev was great, he knew everything about the forum and the collosseum. At times it was more than i wanted to know as i just wanted to see the colloseum but we made it there and he was just as informative about it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed everything. Really nice to hear history as you walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent, nothing less guide was fantastic and spent alot of time with us. well done

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I have been on this trip on two other occasions but learnt something different each time.Mauritz was an excellent guide and I thought that starting with the Forum was a great idea as we could stay on in the Colosseum after the tour ended.Super!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing! It was a small group, and we got in without waiting on huge lines, and it was fantastic. We had two tour guides: Kiera and Laura (Lara?). Kiera took us around the arena and the ruins, and Laura joined us amazing facts about how the Colosseum was constructed. Kiera gave us a tour of the remaining ruins - so knowledgeable and so full of energy. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was a highlight of our trip. We had a great guide who was very informative and helpful.The special access areas were fantastic leaving us with lasting memories and geat photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an outstanding tour. Our tour guide was top notch. She has a background in Archeology and her knowledge and insight was incredible. We got to see so much. If you are reading this, you have to take this tour.

From USD $ 133.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message