5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1180 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1180 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent and knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a real treat. Upgrading to the underground chambers and upper tier is well worth the expense. Our guides were very knowledgeable especially the one who escorted us to the upgraded zones. I believe her name was Valerie. The Forum and Palatine Hill are a lot of ground to cover, but our guide there did an admirable job of navigating and explaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour! Having an archeologist guide for part of the tour was such a bonus. Our regular guide was very informative and a pleasure to spend the time with. This is a not to be missed tour!! We had been to Rome several times and this was our first time to tour the lower and upper levels. We had 2 grandsons along, 13 and 10, and they were spellbound by the history. We were pleasantly surprised that this tour also included the Forum and Palatine Hill. Absolutely the best value, best tour and best guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved the tour. Our guide was fantastic. Will recommend the tour to our friends

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour, although the Roman Forum part was a little long - especially on a hot day in Rome. Guide Emma was very knowledgeable with excellent English. Tour is worth every cent for all the inside information, otherwise you would just walk through these places just looking and not really understanding. Excellent value.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing!!! Must see

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was probably our favorite historic site to visit. There was so much history and such amazing stories behind it all. Sev was our guide and if you're lucky enough to have him as your guide then I know you will definitely enjoy your whole tour. He's super passionate about the history and makes the storytelling interactive and enjoyable. We were blown away by the remains and the small recreations that help tourists picture what the real thing would be like in Roman times. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Not enough time to take pictures. Too much talking in the hot sun. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable but it seemed to take forever to get to the Colosseum.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this trip and would definitely recommend it. It was excellent to be given access to the lower and upper sections away from the crowds. There were other groups doing the same tour as us but they only allowed one group in at a time which worked really well. Great info provided by the tour guide. It was a long day, with several hours of walking and some steep staircases, for me this was no problem but I did hear a few older people say that they found it a challenge (although they also said they were very much enjoying it).

Karen
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was good and very informative. She put us right in the picture. We felt honoured to be underground where all the action used to be.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, but a little fast for older people. Please see if they can either slow down or generate a tour that would be a little slower for an older group. Other than that, great tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a good tour but the amount of walking was excessive.....too much for one day! The meeting location was difficult to find for a newcomer to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable, professional and engaging.
I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Francesca was our tour guide and was very well informed about our tour! She had a book with her to show how the roman forum n coliseum looked in the old times compared to now. Amazing experience to go underground in the coliseum and see where the gladiators and animals were kept! Overwhelming experience to be a part of history!! Learned so much from this tour!! Great job!

From USD $ 124.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message