• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 890 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 890 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely AMAZING! We were able to see portions of the Colosseum that are generally off limits to the general public. Our tour guide, (I believe his name was Maurizio) was WONDERFUL! He really made Ancient Rome come alive in the way he shared information. I would go back and do this tour again, especially with him.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour.
The organisation was very good, even though the tour went over the alloted time.
Our guide was excellent,his knowledge was extensive and he conveyed his enthusiasm for the subject..His delivery was excellent and he used humour to bring his subject alive.
It was worth the extra money to tour the underground chambers ,the the arena and the upper tier. having these areas to ourselves made it so enjoyable and we were given time to take photographs which was appreciated.
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to make the most of their visit to the Colosseum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Guides were very knowledgeable and encouraged questions. It was great to be able to go into the areas that were off-limits to the "regular" tourists. The view from the upper tier is awesome. Having a guide explain the details of the ruins on the Palatine is also very helpful, not to mention fascinating. And, of course, it is much better to spend your time in Rome actually seeing the sites and learning the history instead of standing in lines just to get in to the basic areas of the Colosseum. Once you see the length of just that one line you'll be thankful you took the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

WOW amazing tour with exceptional guide that was so knowledgeable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was really awesome, and the exclusivity was better than expected. Our group got to access private areas with limited access and were the only group allowed to enter at a given time. Would certainly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was far the best tour I have ever been on!! cannot recommend this enough. our tour guide was an architect so was very knowledgeable about the sites, materials and working practice. He also brought the fun back into history. Getting access into parts of the colosseum not usually open to normal ticket holders was a great touch. it was the first tour I have been on that uses mobile headphone sets which is much better than the usual tour guide shouting over 50 people. overall very happy and recommend to everyone wanting a good history lesson of rome in its entirety in a few hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great Experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome guide who also answered all questions and made it very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I were both very impressed with the Dark Rome Tour that we booked while in Rome. It was absolutely the best tour ever. Our tour guide Sev was from New York and was one of the best tour guides ever. He made this tour so interesting that we learned a great deal about the Colleseuem, Forum and Rome in general. We both would highly recommend this tour as a must while in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and Sev certainly knew his history. We would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an awesome tour. The tour director was knowledgable and left no details of the venue unansered. Excellent value for the price and we got into places in our small group that others did not have access to in the colleseum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Elise was a wonderful guide. She was very friendly and expanded on all questions often going off topic to give more information. She was really in love with her work and it showed. This tour took us into the arena, underground and to the upper tier where the view both inside and outside the colosseum were amazing. This tour also included the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill. There is a lot of walking but it was well worth it. Go early in the morning for less crowds and better pictures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide (a young woman I can't remember her name) spoke great English, was so knowledgeable and made these remarkable sites even more interesting than they already are. We particularly loved the tour of the upper tier and dungeons of the colosseum, there is no other way to see it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgable. We had a great time.

Special Offer
$135.09 Save $27.02

From USD $ 108.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message