5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1249 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1249 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide. The extra money for the exclusive tour is worth it in my opinion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful experience. Guides were very knowledgeable. Special access to the underground chambers was a treat. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

So glad we went ahead and added the underground and upper tier, amazing perspective, and amazing views from up top. Don't hesitate to book this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such a fantastic tour! We loved our guide and even saw a real fight while standing on the colosseum floor! Two resident cats had a little row on the floor and apparently it was the first time they interacted like that! Our guide was very informative and the stories of the people that lived, worked and frequented the Colosseum really brought that time to life for me. Well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was great and passionate. Unfortunately the underground was closed due to the rain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a small group 12 of us and had a FANTASTIC TOUR. One from Viator and the other from the Colosseum. I would review as one of the best ones to take so much information. Thank you Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing!!! We had a little trouble with the headset but t was quickly fixed and our guide was wonderful. She was so knowledgeable beyond anything I could have hoped for and I could not have had a better tour. Thank you so much. I am someone that travels alone and I booked 2 tours with your company and one transfer...your guides made my time in Rome so enjoyable. I have already suggested your company to several others.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic guides and a nice tour. More time in the Colosseum would have resulted in 5 stars.

Jason W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip began at 09:30; the start location was easy enough to find. We had two guides, the first an historian took us through the Coliseum from the underground chambers to the top level. He was very informative and pleasant. Finishing at the exit a second tour guide took us around the ruins and palatine hill... this again was completed with a good account and description of the past and present relating to artefacts.
I would like make a point here and it is not just about this trip but all trips. If you want value for money then book your trip with Viator BEFORE you go (or similar reputable company). There are so many conmen and sellers of trips at the venues when you arrive; they will target you and you will pay more; you will not be in safe hands and you will not receive value for money; if indeed what you pay for actually buys you anything. These guys on street are working the system; there are turf wars going on and in effect they are ruining the experience for many tourists. Do not get involved with the Gladiator "photo opportunity" this is in the main a scam run by a single boss who controls a large amount of the street staff. Do not buy anything from the gypsies who are in their 100's selling rubbish...you will actually more than likely have your wallet lifted.
Luckily for us we have always used Viator for our trips so we don't have to deal with these low life street vendors... do the same.. I saw tens of people being ripped off, pick pocketed or disappointed with their purchase.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic experience, knowledgeable guides, highly recommended. Be prepared for lots of walking and steps as you climb to the top and bottom of the Colosseum and cover a lot of ground in Ancient Rome (do take water with you!) but well worth spending the 3/4 hours to do it. Amazing photos, no queuing and we all learnt so much thanks to our enthusiastic guides who really brought the past to life; my daughter even changed the topic of her dissertation as she was so inspired by this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Unfortunately too much rain so we couldn't do underground chambers. Guide was wonderful and very knowledgable. Really enjoyed this tour and the history of these amazing places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, the Colosseum, and the surrounding areas. She not only told us about the history of those areas but whats happened to them since, how they've come to such ruins, and what the city is now trying to do to restore them. When you get to the Colosseum your tour guide stays with you but another tour guide (with the keys to the underground chambers and upper tier) takes over the tour. He was fantastic as well. He was able to give you so much detail that you could envision how the Colosseum would have looked back when the gladiators were fighting main stage. Overall we couldn't have been luckier with our tour guides. You could tell they really loved what they did and enjoyed sharing it with other people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very knowledgeable tour guide and the experience was amazing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the best tour of our stay and we highly recommend it. Our guide was fantastic. her knowledge and passion about her subject was amazing. tour lasted 3.5 hours but felt we could carry on. we learnt so much about ancient Rome. I hope you get the same guide as we did because if you do, you will have a fantastic tour. Excellent. 5-stars.

Special Offer
$120.53 Save $13.40

From USD $ 107.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message