• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1058 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1058 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

EXCELLENT tour! There were 24 people in our group and the guide (Dario?) was witty and knowledgeable. He piqued our interest, asked US questions, and helped us understand the sites in the Forum area and their historical significance. Being able to go "underground" in the Colosseum was enlightening and our guide dispelled some myths that all of us in the group had held based on movies and legend. When we emerged after climbing the steps to the upper tiers, the sky was bright blue and the view of the whole Colosseum was magnificent. I cannot imagine touring these sites without a knowledgeable guide.

Everything about this experience was positive - from buying the tour online, printing the voucher, arriving at the meeting point using the clear directions, and visiting the sites. The headsets and microphone system made sure that we didn't miss anything the guide said. My only advice to future tour goers would be to bring your own comfortable earbuds and use them instead of the disposable ones provided.

HIGHLY recommend!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

No other way to see the colosseum! Skipped the line, saw the underground chambers and the top most floor which normally you wouldn't see. Learnt a lot about the history behind it including the areas around the colosseum. The end of the tour did stretch on a little but all in all was worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good, lots of walking in the heat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved going into the underground and the view from the top level is worth the extra cost. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgable! Recommend doing!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very enjoyable, I loved the historical part of the tour. Only comment would be it was a bit long with a lot of walking and climbing stairs in the heat.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing by far my favorite of thee entire Europe trip. Guide was very knowledgeable and the access to private areas in the Colosseum was great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Interesting, but I ended up learning more about the Colosseum at my Pompeii tour than this one. I would not take this tour again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highlight of the trip. Claudia, our guide, was fantastic. Interesting for adults and children. Fabulous tour. Highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good tour - worth skipping the long lines!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour overall. Upper tier access is great and away from all the crowds. Tour guide Francesa was the best we had in Italy and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Francesa the tour guide amazingly knowledgeable. View from top of colosseum amazing. Under the colosseum worth the extra. Forum very impressive. Long trip but worth it. Better in mild weather

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was great - our guide Giada was very good, she spoke very well and knew so much about what were visiting! We had a great time on this tour and would request her again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was awesome!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This fabulous tour takes you to both the high an low areas of the Colosseum that are not open to everyone. The guide was excellent.

From USD $ 131.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM_SMALL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message