4.5 star rating: Recommended 322 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 322 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What did we not do on this tour? Of course we had a spectacular tour guide who took us to all the sights, but more importantly she had a wonderful personality. She was making jokes throughout the tour and really made the city come alive. Every building had a story and she did not shy away from any topic. She was critical of the her own governement when we passed in front of a governemnt building too. She had so much passion and intellect about Rome and we felt that we got such an amazing tour of Rome. We also went on the Colloseum tour the following day which was also spectacular.
In summary- excellent and a must see... The city of Rome needs a guide to better explain it to you and this was perfect

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We did the combined morning/afternoon tours of Colosseum Tour with Roman Forum and Palatine Hill in the morning, and Best of Rome Walking Tour: Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain in the afternoon. It's a long day, so be sure you are up for it. With limited time in Rome, this was a wonderful day where we saw and experienced as much of Rome as possible in one day (we did the Vatican Tour the day before). Both our guides were excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour. We opted for the 15:30 time slot which was really busy, so I might recommend going for an earlier time slot if available or if you want to try and get pictures without people in every shot.

We chose this tour on our second day in Rome (first was at Vatican) mostly to get a feel for the city and figure our way around. We felt it was money well spent. The roads and paths to get from piazza to piazza are not always the most direct and having some certainty that we were heading to all the right places was comforting.

We actually attempted to go back to the Trevi fountain from the metro station at Barbarini, but partially thanks to some bad directions at the local hotel and tourist map, we spent an extra 45 minutes trying to refind it on our own :(

The piazzas were really nice and the guide brings attention to some of the stories and rivalries between early Italian sculptors and artists and the little jabs they put towards one another in their pieces and it makes you wonder if the "everyday" wandering tourist gets these kinds of insights.

All of Rome seems to have interesting history; every fountain and many of the buildings, but of course none of the information is written like a museum piece, so without a guide I have no idea how you would pick up on it.

Overall, I would recommend an earlier tour if you would like to get some good pictures, but think that the tour was very worthwhile. Some of my favorite pieces (the statue of the four rivers for instance) came from this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very nice tour, especially because our guide really hit the sweet spot with respect to the amount of information she gave about each of the sights. She described the history and art without dwelling overly much on details (an issue we faced on some of our other tours). Be aware that this tour ends a pretty good distance away from where it starts, and involves a reasonable amount of walking as is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mr:DARIO was very informative and very well like very professional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was a well-informed archeologist with an excellent command of English.
Small group.
Interesting sights.
Offered good tips about sightseeing in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

great tour on feb 4 with the English speaking guide lots of fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice to see these places first to get the feel of the area. All of them were just what we expected, fantastic. The tour starting area was easy to find and the guild very very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tiziana did a fabulous tour . Very knowledgeable and informative. Caravaggio and Bernini sprang to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

very enjoyable and educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Simeon was the best! We enjoyed this tour very much. Our guide was very knowledgable and made the tour so interesting. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good guide, good English, interesting tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My husband and I loved this tour with Augustina. She was so knowledgeable and shared so many stories and cultural things. Our tour was lengthy and I don't think she ever stopped talking, sharing and making us laugh and learn. Great job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very informative and interesting. Great guide !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great tour, great guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Sara was our tour guide for this rainy Sunday afternoon. Evenso, it was a very good tour where so much of the history of Rome was described. This is a must do tour while in the city of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was great. Especially good if your in rome for only a few days. Brings you to interesting sites and provides great commentary. Half way through we stopped for a drink, which was included in the cost of the tour. Our tour guide Nina was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Best. I love it !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very good , very informative and very funny at times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Luckily my tour group consisted of only four of us, all Americans. Our tour guide from Dark Rome, Dario was wonderful and well informed about the city's history. He provided us tips to use during our stay in Rome. I will definitely book another tour with him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

WONDERFUL! ONE OF THE BEST TOURS I HAVE EVER BEEN ON. TOUR GUIIDE 5 STARTS!!
TOUR GUIDE BORN AND RAISED IN ROME VERY KNOWLEDGE AND FUN!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great tour, I would definitely book again. There were only four of us on the tour so we felt like we had a private tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and answered all of our questions. We also were able to take a 10 minute break at an air conditioned coffee shop (it was 90 degrees out). A beverage from the shop was covered in the cost of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide Francesca was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the locations that were featured in this tour. It was a good way to see some of the highlights of Rome, without necessarily having to use a map yourself. We were also recommended some good restaurants to try if we were keen to stay in the area after the tour had finished.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Viator works with a group called Dark Rome for their Rome tours and they are wonderful. The groups are small, no more than 25 people, and the guides are energetic, personable and very knowledgeable. We took five different tours with this group while we were in Rome and all of them were aawesome!!!

Special Offer
$40.23 Save $2.06

From USD $ 38.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731BEST

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message