4.5 star rating: Recommended 288 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 288 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! We had a small group, a nice mini-bus and an American guide. The catacombs were very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A nice break from downtown Rome. The Catacombs a nice break from the heat. The guide was fine - a lot of info on the Catacombs especially. An interesting balance between the underground Catacombs and the high outside ruins of the Aqueducts! A more casual tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it guide fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the catacombs, the Appian way, .and whats left of the viaducts was very informative. Jeanette, our guide, was simply wonderful. She was well versed on the subjects, and quite funny in the right places. I would highly recommend this tour, and keep in mind, its a bit longer time wise than stated

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the Tour leader, who shared her knowledge expertly! Learned a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was fantastic. Small group which was great. Abundance of knowledge. Very interesting and time for a coffee.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour guide; she made the subject lively (not easy, since you are talking about the dead). Would definately recommend it to others.
Best tour in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a small group. We were able to enjoy the countryside. Jeannette was our guide and she was full of information. My 12 year old grandson especially enjoyed this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very interesting. Tour guide made trip very interesting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing! I loved everything about this tour. The catacombs are a must see, but very difficult to get to. This tour takes you to the catacombs and provides a guide to explain what you are seeing. What I also loved about this tour is that we stopped to see the Apian Way, and we went to the aqueduct park, where you can see a well-preserved section of aqueduct. This park would be very difficult to get to on your own. The inclusion of the aqueduct park along with the catacombs is why I gave this tour 5 stars. A very enjoyable morning.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide! Was very entertaining for such a trip as this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Jeanette was the best. She was informative but also lively (funny). We saw a lot in the 2 1/2 hour tour. One of our highlights for sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Jeanette, our guide, did a great job of both educating and entertaining, and the coordinated transport made seeing everything a breeze with a lot less walking than I'd expected. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the highlight of my trip to Rome! It was wonderful to spend a beautiful spring day exploring this area that is just outside of Rome yet feels like a different world. I've been to Rome multiple times but never explored the countryside before and wanted to try something different. The catacombs were fascinating, the aqueduct was impressive, and I particularly liked the walk along the ancient Appian Way, where we saw some of the original stone paving. The group was small and intimate, and our guide Inger was fantastic; she was friendly and full of knowledge and made the day special. Highly recommended for those that want to see a different side of Rome and catch a glimpse of the spectacular countryside!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent, worthwhile tour led by a very knowledgeable guide. I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in Roman history and culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip was lovely to walk along the appian way and we even saw a tomb, the catacombs were very interesting can't believe how close they were to Rome, would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Got to do this tour with only four people. The two of us and another couple. Allowed for a lot of open discussion of the history. Very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely brilliant. Our guide (Jeanette) really knew her stuff but more than that she was a great communicator. Thoroughly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable and interesting tour of the Catacombs, Appian Way and aqueduct.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide, Inga, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The pace of the tour was fine and it was not strenuous. Jon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Another wonderful trip out in the countryside, the catacombs well worth a visit...there were just 4 of us in our group which made the tour even more interesting as we had plenty of time to ask our guide questions and in turn she had plenty of time to answer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

JEANETTE IS THE BEST!!!! She is truly passionate about the subject matter and her knowledge of art history is fascinating!!! On top of it she has a lovely personality. She really made this tour great!!! Our tour was on a cold, rainy day...appropriate for catacombs! The catacombs, aquaducts, and Apian Way are amazing in and of themselves, but having Jeanette as the tour guide was what made this a once in a lifetime experience!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Favorite tour we did in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour guide, very knowledgable. Catacombs most interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Excellent tour! Visited the Catacombs on Oct. 7, 2013 at 10 AM. Our guide was knowledgeable and we had a small group of about 15 people so we were able to move around quickly and ask lots of questions. You cannot take photos in the catacombs but the information we received was invaluable. It is very cold in the tombs, so be sure to bring a sweater. Also, it did rain on our tour, so please bring an umbrella just in case as some of this tour is held outside of the tombs. Lastly, the mini-bus was nice and air-conditioned. Your drive to the tombs and back to the meeting place.

From USD $ 62.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message