4.5 star rating: Recommended 323 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 323 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour. Guide was very friendly and informative. Didn't do a whole lot of walking for a walking tour, but the sights and stories made it an excellent day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was such a nice way to spend a beautiful winters morning. Out of the rt race of Roma - away from the tourists. Just four in our group and a lovely guide who was very happy to impart her much knowledge to us as we wanted.
I would recommend this to all my friends. Just nice to get away from the traffic and people!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I had a great experience. i highly recommend taking this tour, Our guide was great! she explained everything in details and she was so kind!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The catacombs were awesome. Also go to see many other sites. The guide was very knowledgeable and enjoyed her job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This is a must tour! The catacombs are incredible. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided so much history which added to the richness of this day. We also stopped at an ancient Roman aqua duct which we would not have found or understood without this trip. The only way to better this tour would be to make it a full day allowing more time to explore the Appian Way. This was a perfect way to end our stay in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

unbeleiveable

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! The guide was fantastic and the catacombs and aqueduct extraordinary. Even with the catacombs sustaining water damager which restricted our visit, the tour was still exemplary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a great day and Jeanette, our guide, was excellent. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was nice to get out of the hustle and bustle of Roma for a few hours. The guide was very informative and the catacombs are amazing...but just about everything in Roma is amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide was very informative, great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

About 20 people on this tour and our guide, Jeanette involved all by remembering names and occupations. Her knowledge on Rome's history was first class and her experience in the catacombes enabled us to get out alive. A first class tour guide. The tour also involved viewing oid The Appian Way and the ancient aquaduct. Both these were minor in comparison to the catacombs but nonetheless important to ancient Rome history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip, fantastic guide!

Maree
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great! Tour guide was very knowledgable . Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent tour with a highly trained guide. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and recommend this half day tour to anyone, even those who walk slowly. The guide was patient and understanding, and we had a wonderful day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour and so much information and sites. Be prepared for lots of steps. Guide was very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It is worth doing... Just make time for it.....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ingar (?) was the guide for this tour and delightful. Fortunately this was a very small group (8) so practically a private one. I loved it. Not too long and our guide was knowledge and cheerful. It was a beautiful day and I can't wait to come back!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Jeanette . She was knowledgeable and from Florida!!
Highly recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We enjoyed this tour ....it was one of our favorites.. Our guide was very interesting and informative about the history of the catacombs. However, some of the stairs going into the catacombs were very steep and difficult to ascend so be aware if you have any knee or walking problems.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! We had a small group, a nice mini-bus and an American guide. The catacombs were very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A nice break from downtown Rome. The Catacombs a nice break from the heat. The guide was fine - a lot of info on the Catacombs especially. An interesting balance between the underground Catacombs and the high outside ruins of the Aqueducts! A more casual tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved it guide fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the catacombs, the Appian way, .and whats left of the viaducts was very informative. Jeanette, our guide, was simply wonderful. She was well versed on the subjects, and quite funny in the right places. I would highly recommend this tour, and keep in mind, its a bit longer time wise than stated

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the Tour leader, who shared her knowledge expertly! Learned a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was fantastic. Small group which was great. Abundance of knowledge. Very interesting and time for a coffee.

From USD $ 63.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message