• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 217 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 217 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Small group (only had 16) so felt we had a personal experience. Guide very informative and upbeat. First visit for me to the catacombs since I was 5 (more than 60 years ago) so it was a special trip. Favorite part of the trip was standing on the Appian Way and under the aqueducts. Highly recommended tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very informative tour from a slightly different perspective. The small group was excellent as was the local guide Inga, who went out of her way to help us catch another tour after this one. Inga was happy to answer our questions and connect knowledge we had learnt from other tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a 5+++, not only was the tour wonderful, but I cannot say enough about our guide. She was terrific. Great personality and easy to get along with. We were a small group, 7 of us, which made it exceptional!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

A must tour if visiting Rome. Very knowledgeable guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very interesting tour which allowed plenty of time to see everything, and for photo ops. Guide knowledgeable and very available. Much enjoyed outing that added to experience of rome and it's history. thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Our guide, Jeanette, if I remember her name correctly, was amazing! American accent because she is from Florida originally, but has been living in Italy for 10 years so she knows what she's talking about. Small group and we saw everything we were expecting to see and more. Exceptional tour which I would recommend to anyone. Very pleased.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Fabulous one. A must see I would say.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgable and sensitive to our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was an excellent tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable of the catacombs and the Roman country side. She offered manuy opportunities to ask questions.

Grant D
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Superb guide (Jeanette) - she made the trip worthwhile!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Janette was GREAT! Absolutely loved this one. Loved that the tour was only in English and the small group size made it perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The catacombs of St. Callixtus was an amazing experience. The guide, (a priest), was enlightening, informative and very thorough. We enjoyed his guided tour tremendously!! We also enjoyed Rosa's (our tour guide through out the day) detailed historical explanations about the Appian Way, and the Roman Viaducts. It was disappointing that we did not get close enough to take decent pictures of the Viaducts (similar to other pictures posted on this site).
Overall, it was a very interesting and relaxing day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide, Janet, was excellent, and the tour went to all of the places we wanted to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very good informative tour. Guide was very good too.

GillyMac99
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I enjoyed this tour; it was very interesting, but it's not a walking tour. We got in a coach from the office and were driven to the Catacombs and stopped off at a couple of places but did hardly any walking. That's not a complaint - just for information. The Catacombs were very moving; we were shown round by a priest from India who was there for the summer and he was an excellent presenter. We learned quite a lot and were astonished at the way they were constructed. No photos allowed!

From USD $ 77.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message