4.5 star rating: Recommended 300 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 300 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Our guide, Jeanette, if I remember her name correctly, was amazing! American accent because she is from Florida originally, but has been living in Italy for 10 years so she knows what she's talking about. Small group and we saw everything we were expecting to see and more. Exceptional tour which I would recommend to anyone. Very pleased.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Fabulous one. A must see I would say.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgable and sensitive to our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was an excellent tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable of the catacombs and the Roman country side. She offered manuy opportunities to ask questions.

Grant D
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Superb guide (Jeanette) - she made the trip worthwhile!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Janette was GREAT! Absolutely loved this one. Loved that the tour was only in English and the small group size made it perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The catacombs of St. Callixtus was an amazing experience. The guide, (a priest), was enlightening, informative and very thorough. We enjoyed his guided tour tremendously!! We also enjoyed Rosa's (our tour guide through out the day) detailed historical explanations about the Appian Way, and the Roman Viaducts. It was disappointing that we did not get close enough to take decent pictures of the Viaducts (similar to other pictures posted on this site).
Overall, it was a very interesting and relaxing day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide, Janet, was excellent, and the tour went to all of the places we wanted to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very good informative tour. Guide was very good too.

GillyMac99
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I enjoyed this tour; it was very interesting, but it's not a walking tour. We got in a coach from the office and were driven to the Catacombs and stopped off at a couple of places but did hardly any walking. That's not a complaint - just for information. The Catacombs were very moving; we were shown round by a priest from India who was there for the summer and he was an excellent presenter. We learned quite a lot and were astonished at the way they were constructed. No photos allowed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was one of our favorite tours. Unlike anything you have ever seen and a very small group.

Karen E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were hugely disappointed in being unable to locate starting point of this tour after being repeatedly misdirected to the tour's pick-up point. We will not ever recommend Viator to anyone, and will only ever book a tour when on location, and not ever by using the internet and in advance. Not possible to rate the tour, but the tour company rates as very poor,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

So glad we did this - had been to Rome several time and not done this before. Our guide on the bus was very knowledgeable and interesting. The catacombs tour was great and the extra aquaduct tour and other sites in the country were fascinating. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

good tour but I don't think I would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was an excellent trip. The tour guide was first class and so interesting and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was very worthwhile. We highly recommend it. Seeing the Catacombs with a knowledgeable guide, the aquaducts and Appian Way was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very interesting tour. The catacombs were fascinating and our guide Rosa showed us the Appian Way and also the ancient aquaducts. She was very knowledgeable and personable. It was nice because our group was small - 8 people so we were able to ask a lot of questions.
I highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent tour again. Well worth the money and effort

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very good. I especially liked the trip to the Roman Countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very well organized. Splendid!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Jeanette was terrific. Loved hearing the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Completely enjoyable and educational. The trip to Rome would not have been the same without it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

One of the best tours I took while in Rome. Note, I am a history and archeaology buff so if you're like me, you'll love this. The tour guide was professional, knowledgeable and very helpful after the tour how to get back on the Termini. I would DEFINITELY recommend this for you history fans.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Loved the tour! Our guide was charming, personable very informative. Seeing the catacomgs, Via Appia and the aqueducts was amazing, and the information Inger provided made it all the better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great infomaton tour especially outside the City. Greatt tour guide

Special Offer
$62.24 Save $6.23

From USD $ 56.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message