4.5 star rating: Recommended 288 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Catacombs and Roman Countryside Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 288 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Our tour guide, Janet, was excellent, and the tour went to all of the places we wanted to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very good informative tour. Guide was very good too.

GillyMac99
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I enjoyed this tour; it was very interesting, but it's not a walking tour. We got in a coach from the office and were driven to the Catacombs and stopped off at a couple of places but did hardly any walking. That's not a complaint - just for information. The Catacombs were very moving; we were shown round by a priest from India who was there for the summer and he was an excellent presenter. We learned quite a lot and were astonished at the way they were constructed. No photos allowed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

This was one of our favorite tours. Unlike anything you have ever seen and a very small group.

Karen E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We were hugely disappointed in being unable to locate starting point of this tour after being repeatedly misdirected to the tour's pick-up point. We will not ever recommend Viator to anyone, and will only ever book a tour when on location, and not ever by using the internet and in advance. Not possible to rate the tour, but the tour company rates as very poor,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

So glad we did this - had been to Rome several time and not done this before. Our guide on the bus was very knowledgeable and interesting. The catacombs tour was great and the extra aquaduct tour and other sites in the country were fascinating. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

good tour but I don't think I would do it again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was an excellent trip. The tour guide was first class and so interesting and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was very worthwhile. We highly recommend it. Seeing the Catacombs with a knowledgeable guide, the aquaducts and Appian Way was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very interesting tour. The catacombs were fascinating and our guide Rosa showed us the Appian Way and also the ancient aquaducts. She was very knowledgeable and personable. It was nice because our group was small - 8 people so we were able to ask a lot of questions.
I highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Excellent tour again. Well worth the money and effort

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very good. I especially liked the trip to the Roman Countryside.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very well organized. Splendid!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Jeanette was terrific. Loved hearing the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Completely enjoyable and educational. The trip to Rome would not have been the same without it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

One of the best tours I took while in Rome. Note, I am a history and archeaology buff so if you're like me, you'll love this. The tour guide was professional, knowledgeable and very helpful after the tour how to get back on the Termini. I would DEFINITELY recommend this for you history fans.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Loved the tour! Our guide was charming, personable very informative. Seeing the catacomgs, Via Appia and the aqueducts was amazing, and the information Inger provided made it all the better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great infomaton tour especially outside the City. Greatt tour guide

Javier S
Kuwait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very good tour. The guide was excellent with lots of info about ancient Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The tour was excellent, the guide was most knowledgeable, the schedule was punctual, and the guide's commentary was understandable and very detailed. The experience was much more complete than was possible without the tour. The schedules were prompt, buses were always on time and clean and modern.

Andrew K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fascinating tour, particularly down inside the catacombs. Good guided tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Very good. Enjoyed and it was good to see outside of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Nice to be with a small and international group. Good guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a fabulous tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The Catacombs were incredible to see, walking on the Roman Road was an experience of a lifetime and seeing the aquaduct system and what is still standing after all these years was amazing. After several days in Rome we appreciated the hop on, hop off bus tour. Highly Recommended Yes !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great experience - we learned so much history. The site is wonderful and the history extensive.

From USD $ 61.10

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058CATACOMBS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message