Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 248 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Classical Rome City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 248 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

The tour was great and the tour guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We walked quite a distance but with stops every few minutes it didn't seem far at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This was a very good tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

Since we only had one day in Rome before joining our cruise, we were absolutely thrilled with the tour we were given of the major historical and religious sites of the city. Our guides were incredibly knowledgeable and friendly, although neither of them ever did tell us their names or inquire as to where their group was from. They made sure that we received the information we needed to understand. The biggest letdown of the day was lunch. The meal provided by the restaurant was definitely sub-par, and we would have hoped for much more in the way of an interesting and appetizing meal. For the four of us, however, this did not deter from our overall enjoyment of the day and we were totally satisfied with the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This is a perfect way to highlight Rome's major attractions. Take the Classical together with the Imperial tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Our guide was very knowledgeable. The tour was great. I would have liked it better if the guide had come into the basilica with us to explain more artwork, etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I strongly recommend this tour along with Imperial Rome. Our tour guide was the best guide we had during our week in Rome. He was very knowledgeable, kept the pace of the walking at an appropriate rate and made sure everyone in the group was gathered around before telling us about each site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

We took the Classical Rome tour in the morning and the Imperial Rome tour in the afternoon. The guides were GREAT!! Very knowledgeable but we witnessed them getting kickbacks from vendors for hawking certain souvenirs. Great trips but, it was just too much to see and do in one day. Take one tour a day and rest in the afternoon. I would not recommend getting lunch. The menu was set, drinks were not included very pricey too, and we were not served enough food for the price. I thought taking the hassle out of trying to choose where to eat would be good but we would have enjoyed a sandwich off the street more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Guides were extremely knowledgeable and paced the tour well. Definitely a must in Rome!! We never would have been able to see everything if we had done it on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Awesome! Compared notes with other travelers and we got a better deal!!!

John D
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Took the combined Classical and Imperial Rome tour with lunch. Bang on time pick-up at our hotel in the morning. Excellent, knowledgeable and multilingual tour guide pointed out all the sights we passed on the bus and on foot. Morning Classical tour involved a fair bit of walking - this is Rome after all - but there is much less in the afternoon Imperial leg. Lunch was a tasty 3 course set menu affair in a nice authentic restaurant.

Overall, I found this tour to be well worth the money. It is ideal for those who wish to pack in the main sights of Rome with a minimum amount of effort. Highly recommended!!

Schona D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The tour guide was very informative and up-beat. He obviously enjoyed his job. Great day out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

The tour guide I had for the morning portion of the tour was one of the best I have ever had. The lunch was also very good.

Helen D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

This tour was brilliant - we got to see some of the real highlights of Rome and to glimpse some others I will have to go back and see in more detail.

James F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

The guide was very good, informative but had some humour in his talks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This tour was absolutely fabulous. Our tour guides were great. It was definitely worth seeing.

Nelson K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was great to have a guide who knew her subject and had such an excellent command of the English language. This young lady was also very pleasant and courteous to all the travellers.

Charmaine H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

We had a brilliant tour guide. And the lunch was superb. What a good introduction to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Our guide was fantastic on this tour! Don't miss it when you're in Rome.

Wendy S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a great tour and we would recommend it for anyone wishing to see Rome and indulge in its history. It really was a fabulous tour and highly recommended by us. A big thank you to the tour guide and the driver. Very well organised.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time on this. It was so easy booking online. We'll definitely use your service next year when we visit Paris.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Fantastic job!!!!! Keep it up.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

We had great time in Italy, and this tour of Rome was one of our better days out. Thanks.

Natasha L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour guide, nice walking along the streets of Rome. It would be recommended for someone who has a limited time( 1-2days) in Rome.
Great value for money!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was not an in depth tour and related to mostly - post ancient sites - some thing like a hop-on - hop-off overview tour on foot, which was exactly what we expected. We did get a good look at the Pantheon and and explanation of its history, but most of the rest was walk-by and brief identification of sites. This is a good orientation tour to take early in your trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable. This was a good tour to hit the popular areas in Rome. Be prepared for lots of of walking.

Special Offer
$45.16 Save $4.51

From USD $ 40.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message