Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 249 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 - 6 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Classical Rome City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 249 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very nice particularly on a Sunday morning when Rome is a bit less busy

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was funny and very had a classical Roman flair to him. He was also willing to answer every question with patience and a smile.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Massimo was an excellent guide providing useful historical information without turning it into a no level history lecture!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the walking tour of these awe-inspiring sights. This was an unbelievable opportunity to stroll through ancient history, accompanied by knowledgeable guides who provided wonderful background information along the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a really nice tour, you are able to see the most important touristic attractions of Rome and the tour guides were very knowledgable about the city and its history. You walk a lot, but it is the best way to get to see the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very educational.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

It was ok. I would have liked to have had the Spanish Steps added. We didn't have much time at each spot.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Our guide was excellent, and my only point off has more to do with the amount of walking we had to do. She was a little fast for my parents who are in their 70s.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

very nice, informative tour. not crowded. pick up on time at nearby hotel. gave a great overview of the sites listed.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Great tour. Wish the tour director would have slowed the walking pace a bit to allow eveyone to keep up, but over-all a great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Interesting tour....good guide

George H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Good selection of sites visited in a short period. Fair amount of walking

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Was ok, thought the guides were not the most pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We had a great guide this day. Very informative. Did not get to see Basilica due to function with the Pope but we ended up seeing the Pope in the celebration so that made up for it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

A very good tour. I opted for the whole day with lunch and thought it was good value for money. Additionally, we were fortunate enough to see the Pope as it was one of the Wednesdays when he appears in front of St. Peter's Basilica and bestows a blessing on the crowd. This tour is a good combination of coach and walking and is not too strenuous. I would certainly recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Very informative, very interesting places of interest, good to be with a local guide on a The walking part of the tour. We learned a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

We took the whole day tour which was full of sights. The afternoon guide George was extremely informative and gave us lots of extra historical information. We enjoyed our tour and stay in Rome.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Don't book on Wednesday if you want to get into St Peter's Basicilica - but if you want to see the Pope then...

Sonia Colon
Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

It was a rewarding experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and curteous. Very nice overall.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Guide very enthusistic

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Enjoyable tour in a brief amount of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

I did a full day tour (Classical and Imperial Tours with lunch). These tours were a great way to see lots of the main sites in Rome. St Peters was one of the big highlights for me. Many of the sites were amazing, although I thought the Forum was rather unremarkable and would have rather spent more time elsewhere. If you can only do one of the Classical or Imperial tours, then I suggest you do the Classical and spend some extra time at St Peters and climb to the highest point in Rome (I regret not having time to do this)

Kathleen M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Prompt pick up from hotel and transfer to central departure point. Guide was very knowledgeable of the history of the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain and the audio asisted tour of the Vatican was really informative. A considerable amount of walking in 34c. but overall a very enjoyable morning.,

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I enjoyed the tour and our guide

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

NIce tour for the length of time. Tour guide did a great job.

Special Offer
$45.17 Save $4.52

From USD $ 40.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET1

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message