4 star rating: Recommended 578 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 578 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very peaceful trip with beautiful fountains, would definitely do the trip again when returning to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

absolutely loved this tour - combining a visit to the remains of Hadrian's roman retreat with the palatial renaissance house and magnificent gardens is inspired. With Hadrian's villa, sadly, most of its magnificence has to be imagined as most of its beauty has been lost to the ravages of time. There is plenty to fuel your imagination and this was helped by the excellent knowledge and delivery of facts from our guide on the day. Villa d'Este is a different story with house, gardens and fountains in fabulous working condition. My only regret is that we did not have more time at each venue to soak up the atmosphere. Not to be missed - a peaceful day out away from the madness of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We loved the tour! Chaira was a great tour guide--humorous and informative and easy to understand. We were impressed with Hadrian's architectural abilities and the fountains at D'Este.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was excellent. We were collected from our hotel by car and taken to meet the coach. The guides were very knowledgable and certainly added to the enjoyment of the trip. It was very nice to travel out of Rome itself to visit these two villas, both very interesting in their own way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting and tour guide was knowledgable and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, very informative

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazingly beautiful part of Italy - from ruins to beautiful gardens and well preserved buildings. And, we managed to get in some quality shopping in the town as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The sites are fantastic. The guide was good and included transportation made this a real bargain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was really great. Loved everything about it. The trip out of Rome was nice getting a view of the country. Villa D'este and the fountains were everything I was hoping for. It was very cold on the day we went as the wind just blew straight up on the fountains but they still looked great. Hadrians villa was equally wonderful I think we were the only people there and the weather was just lovely with the sun out. The ruins were quite well preserved and it is a trip I would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excursion to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este was fantastic. Both sites are very interesting and are worth a visit. On top of it, we were blessed with a beautiful sunny day ideal for sightseeing.

My only frustration is that Viator site indicates that the tour operator provides free hotel pickup for that tour. We called Viator prior to booking and the rep confirmed that we would be picked up at our hotel before the tour. Two days after booking, we received an email stating that hotel pick up was not available and we would need to reach the meeting point in Rome City Centre on our own. The service provider confirmed to us in Rome that they never provide hotel pick up for that tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent excursion. I would definitely recommend it. The guide was informed and courteous. To add to the experience, perhaps some written information about Emperor Hadrian, his favorite Antenous, and the Cult of Antenous which developed after his death, would add to the experience. Most people are sadly mis-informed and uninformed about this history. Just a suggestion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A wonderful half-day trip. Hadrian's Villa meant nothing to me until I got there, but it's really interesting. The gardens at Villa d'Este met all my expectatiions. A 'must do' while in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a wonderful guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic. Do this tour if you possibly can. The place is stunning.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice and enjoiable tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip with a guide that was very good.

Only negative comment is they dropped you off "near your hotel" rather than at your hotel. How much more would it take to get you to the right place?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was an excellent tour of Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este, which I can highly recommend. It was thorough, well-managed, and I learned a great deal from the docent tour. The trip from Rome in an air conditioned bus was great, and the scenery along the way and at the destination was wonderful. I especially enjoyed walking among the row of 100 fountains at Villa d'Este, and I enjoyed the guided tour through and the magnificent palace that the Emperor Hadrian built about 20 miles outside of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The tour guide was very friendly and we had a plenty of time to explore both Hadrian's villa and villa d'Este.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

It was very nice tour and the guide was really good. I recommend this tour to any people that would like to see nice gardens combined with ancient history. timing was perfect and the buses and bus driver very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Wow, we saw two magnificent villas, each with such a rich history. Although Hadrian's Villa is a ruin, one can easily see what was, and just marvel at the size and splendour it must have had. Villa d'Este is a magical place, so glad we had the opportunity to see it. Special thank you to our guide Philipe for a truly wonderful tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very nice trip and organized well

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour with plenty of time to explore.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour delivered exactly what it promised. Even though we visited Villa Adriana in the midst of thunder, lightning and rain, the guide remained enthusiastic throughout. She was knowledgeable and informative, yet did not talk unnecessarily. Our driver, Simone, was friendly and helpful too. All in all, this was a most enjoyable afternoon and I'd recommend the tour to others as an easy, comfortable way of seeing these two amazing villas.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Highly recommended for those who like history, who know a lot about Imperial Rome and who wanted all their lives to see for themselves the impressive cultural vestiges.

Suzanne A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our hostess was very informative and we enjoyed the tour.

From USD $ 72.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET7

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message