4 star rating: Recommended 553 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este Half-Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 553 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

MLR D
Sri Lanka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour gave us wonderful insights into both Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este. Very enjoyable.Good transport, driver and guide. Punctual too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This wonderful little tour started at Hadrian's Villa, which was fascinating and our guide was so knowledgeable, she made it even more interesting.
After Hadrian's Villa we moved to Tivoli and Villa d'Este which was literally stunning!! Fabulous day (2.30 to about 7pm) out from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was excellent and great value as it would be very difficult to do by public transport. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. The tour bus was very comfortable with cool air-conditioning and an expert driver. They also had several drop off points in Rome to suit most passengers. No pressure for the extra "tip" that some companies try on.
A very pleasurable tour. Bravo! VIATOR
Gary and Chris, Sydney, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent excursion which I'd highly recommend. Hadrian's Villa was interesting as an archaeological site, but it was Villa D'Este that really stole the show. This place is absolutely magnificent and really something you have to see to believe. Its like a trip back in time to a magical garden equipped with beautiful sculptures, fountains, and amazing views. I only wished we'd been given more time to spend there. The only downside to this tour was that the bus we rode out on was in need of some maintenance as it bounced a lot over every bump in the road, myself and a few other passengers felt quite queasy by the time we arrived.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very peaceful trip with beautiful fountains, would definitely do the trip again when returning to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

absolutely loved this tour - combining a visit to the remains of Hadrian's roman retreat with the palatial renaissance house and magnificent gardens is inspired. With Hadrian's villa, sadly, most of its magnificence has to be imagined as most of its beauty has been lost to the ravages of time. There is plenty to fuel your imagination and this was helped by the excellent knowledge and delivery of facts from our guide on the day. Villa d'Este is a different story with house, gardens and fountains in fabulous working condition. My only regret is that we did not have more time at each venue to soak up the atmosphere. Not to be missed - a peaceful day out away from the madness of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We loved the tour! Chaira was a great tour guide--humorous and informative and easy to understand. We were impressed with Hadrian's architectural abilities and the fountains at D'Este.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was excellent. We were collected from our hotel by car and taken to meet the coach. The guides were very knowledgable and certainly added to the enjoyment of the trip. It was very nice to travel out of Rome itself to visit these two villas, both very interesting in their own way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting and tour guide was knowledgable and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour, very informative

S and D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazingly beautiful part of Italy - from ruins to beautiful gardens and well preserved buildings. And, we managed to get in some quality shopping in the town as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The sites are fantastic. The guide was good and included transportation made this a real bargain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was really great. Loved everything about it. The trip out of Rome was nice getting a view of the country. Villa D'este and the fountains were everything I was hoping for. It was very cold on the day we went as the wind just blew straight up on the fountains but they still looked great. Hadrians villa was equally wonderful I think we were the only people there and the weather was just lovely with the sun out. The ruins were quite well preserved and it is a trip I would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excursion to Hadrian's Villa and Villa d'Este was fantastic. Both sites are very interesting and are worth a visit. On top of it, we were blessed with a beautiful sunny day ideal for sightseeing.

My only frustration is that Viator site indicates that the tour operator provides free hotel pickup for that tour. We called Viator prior to booking and the rep confirmed that we would be picked up at our hotel before the tour. Two days after booking, we received an email stating that hotel pick up was not available and we would need to reach the meeting point in Rome City Centre on our own. The service provider confirmed to us in Rome that they never provide hotel pick up for that tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent excursion. I would definitely recommend it. The guide was informed and courteous. To add to the experience, perhaps some written information about Emperor Hadrian, his favorite Antenous, and the Cult of Antenous which developed after his death, would add to the experience. Most people are sadly mis-informed and uninformed about this history. Just a suggestion.

From USD $ 81.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 8+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET7

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message