• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 1420 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1420 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I loved the tour. It was great. The driver was solid, as was the on-bus guide. the highlight though was definitely our tour guide in Pompeii, who was knowledgeable, charming, personable and funny. Great experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Enjoyed the trip. The guide to Pompei was very knowledgeable on the ruins and entertaining on his tour. The lunch was wonderful and we all enjoyed it so much. However, the stops were geared toward selling items for the business. This is understandable as a means to offset the cost of the trip. Pick was on time and the drop off to our hotel was excellent. There was no complaint on our part. Our party found the trip wonderful. Would recommend this trip to others. Would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This trip is very worthwhile if you have a day to spare when visiting Rome! We did not rent a car on our trip so this was a very efficient means to visit Naples and Pompeii for a day. Our bus guide and then our guide through Pompeii were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Excellent , interesting day- met all my expectations. Appreciated lunch included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour guides, food, and sites. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We totally enjoyed this day of walking in the middle of history. It is a lot of walking (which they warn you of) and a long bus ride from Rome but the scenery was worth it (saw the Appian Way). Our tour guide was really good and knew his stuff (along with speaking four languages....impressive). He knew some great stories and made the tour interesting. All the effort it took to climb steep stairs and hop across huge rocks that the Romans called streets was well worth it. You can literally feel a chill down your spine viewing the remains of some of the residents of Pompeii and imagining what happened when Vesuvius poured its wrath down on this city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our tour was excellent. We picked up a tour guide in Naples and he was excellent and knowledgeable especially in Pompeii. The only negative was that we breezed through Naples with only a quick photo stop. But... if you are mostly there to see Pompeii, the tour was great.

Sharyn G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent from start to finish,,,,,,,,,, our tour guide might have been of an age, but he was so informative, and helpful. Also a comedian as well.

Well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The trip was perfect in every way. I have recommended Viator to others!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I enjoyed the trip very much and would recommend as a day trip. There is lots to see from the bus on the way to Pompei . The guide for Pompei tour who is from Napoli and also a bee keeper( I apologize, but I cannot recall his name) was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Naples and Pompeii Day trip was pleasant. The lunch provided was excellent. My only complaint was since we did not schedule through a hotel (we stayed in an apartment) they just dumped us off at the end of the tour. We thought we would return to the Rome location however that was not the case. Other than that I would recomment this day trip as a must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Pompeii was amazing! I recommend to take this tour, really worth visiting. The local guide was really good, enjoyed every minute spend there :))

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a good tour with a good tour guide of Naples and Pompey. We also saw from the highway some interesting sites like the Monte Casino Monastery and other interesting towns. Naples does not take much time to see the highlights and the two hours in Pompeii, we all agreed was about right. Very interesting, but all we talked to thought that with a good guide, two hours was about right.
I have only one gripe and that is the tour company's original bus from Rome had no legroom for normal sized males. I noticed that with all the couples, the man ended up moving to the aisle seat so he could put his legs in the aisle. Very uncomfortable. Our bus broke down (which happens) and the one out of Naples that replaced our bus was much more comfortable, but that original bus out of Rome was the most uncomfortable tour bus we were on in Italy. Otherwise this makes a great side trip from Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great time....but it took all day....bring your own water or drinks and snacks as the bus will stop at two very expensive 7/11 type stores and it is very highly priced....wonderful time in Pompeii though...our tour guide was awesome!

From USD $ 171.11

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 8+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message