Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 368 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Papal Audience Ticket at Vatican City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 368 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

It was the Wednesday after Easter and raining, but it was wonderful as seats were close, and getting through lines was worth the tour. Did not like being taken to buy in the store where we stopped, as prices were much higher than the Vatican. The tour operator pushed shopping on every tour that we booked with them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

It was great!

Gloribel R
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

Very, very moving!

MYRTLE R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

The trip was what we have looked forward to for years. It was amazing.

Lisa A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

I would just like to say it was well worth doing. The audience with the Pope was just superb. I just can't believe I was with the Holy Father. There were 5000 people in the hall and because we booked with Viator we were almost at the front, so we had a fantastic view of the Pope. For the people at the back they had to look at the big screen, so thank you for making our trip a very well remembered one.

SHARADAI R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

The pickup, transfer and tour were great. We got an excellent view of the Pope and were allowed to stay afterwards. Thank you!

William B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

A wonderful experience enhanced by our tour guide, plus the courteous way we could be dropped off anywhere in the city after the audience was GREAT.

Marian J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

The experience was fantastic. We enjoyed every minute of it and we didn't think that we would get that close to Pope Benedict. We were only 5 feet away which was a really great event and the tour guides were very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Although it was raining, it was a wonderful experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Everything was perfect. We loved it.

Anne H
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

We loved seeing the Pope. We did not realize that we could have gotten the ticket for this by ourselves for free. The ticket stated that it was completely free. We only wanted to see the Pope, not the tour and the toilet stop at the rip-off shop.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The seats were excellent. It was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was very well planned. We arrived at a very good time and got very good seats. We had the chance to see the Pope very close up.

Suzanne-Marie M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

The best part of the holiday, worth every penny!

Richard C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

A great experience. It was a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband. Everything went perfect, bus was on time and the tour guide was very informative and friendly and I recommend taking a hat to wear and a cold drink as it was very hot. We both loved the visit. We were in Rome for 4 days and this tour was definitely our best day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

I'd definitely do this tour again. The bus trip was a bit boring and the tour guide was interesting, but he seemed bored with himself. We got to Vatican City late because the car agency hired to pick us up at the hotel was forty five minutes late. Being in the same vicinity of the Pope is a great experience, but being close enough for him to wave at my kids was something totally unexpected and thrilling. That made the tour worthwhile. If you want to see the Pope up close, you won't do it sitting where the tour seats you. Make sure you sit next to the barricade as the Popemobile drives right by. Also, bring lots of water and an umbrella. It was very hot. All in all, a great experience. I'd do it again.

GILLIAN B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

What a brilliant trip! It was a very special day for my husband and me, our pearl anniversary. The atmosphere was very informal and happy. There were people from all over the world. When the pope came out onto the stage, the crowd treated him as a superstar. It was a very moving experience. We had brought a family photo collage, along with some artifacts, for the pope to bless. It would have been nice to be nearer to the front, but in the end it didn't really matter. The experience will stay with us for the rest of our lives.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The guide was very good. My only issue was that the bus was one hour late picking me up at my hotel, and I was very concerned that I would miss the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

It was wonderful - I had the time of my life! Excellent service and tour. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This was great. We were so glad that we had tickets, because we actually got to sit and be closer than anyone else.

Margaret T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

The Papal Audience at St. Peters should not be missed. It was brilliant from start to finish. A visit to Rome without going to St. Peter's would be a total travesty. We waited inside the hotel because it was early and we were picked up from there. The driver was very courteous and we were given the option of staying and savoring the day or returning to our hotel. Obviously we savored the moment. The Pope came within feet of our allocated area. WOW. The only criticism that we have would be that even if we had wanted to go back to our hotel for whatever reason we would not have been able to get past the crowds in time. Thank you Viator for a lovely experience that we could have missed had we not seen your advertisements.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The highlight of Rome, I would recommend going to the Papal Audience and will do it again next visit.

Martin M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Having left our hotel at 7am in the pouring rain, we expected a soggy seat in St Peter's Square. Imagine our surprise and delight when we discovered that we would be attending mass to be said by Pope Benedict in the Basilica. A once in a lifetime experience. Then to complete the morning, as it was a Holy Day, the Pope then came to the window to say the Angelus and speak to the crowds. We couldn't have asked for more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The Papal audience was a wonderful experience. Thank you for making it easy.

Anne B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was an unexpected surprise to be picked up from our hotel. And we were given information on the sights on the way to the Vatican, which was also appreciated. And when we arrived at St Peter's square we were lead through to our seats without having to wait in a long line. We had a wonderful experience. It was well worth booking before our trip.

From USD $ 41.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2390GRET5

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message