4.5 star rating: Recommended 521 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 521 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Flamenia was our tour guide and was excellent! Even though it seemed we were faraway from the stage she insured us our seats were great! She was right!! When the Pope drives thru the crowd we had an excellent view to take pictures!! What an overwhelming feeling it was to be so close to Papa Francesco! Everything was more than expected! Our instructions were easy to follow and our tour guide knew what she was doing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our guide was awesome and she got us within inches of Pope Francis. Highly recommend this

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For the faithful and religious this is a must see if you are in Rome on Wednesday. Check the web to see if the Pope is in town during your visit and if the tour times match your availability. I read some reviews complaining about the price, seats, and initial part of the experience. Yes, the tickets are free, you can get them on your own but it is a process and requires a lot of pre planning and some running around the day before, Tuesday. The price was well worth the saved efforts as we were on tours the Tuesday needed to get the tickets, and dealing with the church embassies to request the tickets in the first place. Yes, if you can get tickets on your own, and get in line at 6:30am exactly you will be able to get better seats and if you know the route of the Pope Mobile through St Peter's Square you can get there too, again this requires a lot of hassle and time to do which we didn't have time for. Our guide was very informative, funny, and helpful. She got us good seats with a decent view and I was able to get a frame filling picture of the Pope Francis from his Pope Mobile and a 200mm lens. In the summer this will be a very very hot visit. In October it was still hot but not too bad. Security check was not too bad but you MUST go to the bathroom prior to getting inside as the line inside are too long and far from the seats, it took my wife 35 min to go and get back and she almost missed the beginning. I was happy with the tour as I was able to plan the rest of our Rome tours into this without worrying about getting into lines or on waiting lists at the American Catholic church site on Tuesday and avoiding the mad dash for seats when the square is opened. It is general admission and there are no seat reservations for anyone, except the area for married couples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this experience greatly exceeded our expectations. the tour was organized by city wonders and was very well organized in a pretty chaotic environment. the meeting spot was well marked and easy to find. our guide, filomena, is the best! she knew exactly what she was doing and how to strategize our entrance to get the best seats. she succeeded in getting us 2nd row seats so that when Pope Francis rode through the audience, we were mere feet from him. and we got to see him twice! she also entertained us with her vast knowledge of the event, the history of st. peter's square and the basilica, as well as the vatican museums. i can not say enough great things about city wonders but especially filomena. i highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, we got great seats, and I had an amazing view of the Pope. It was one of the highlights of my trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Papal Audience was unbelievable! Our guide (I think her name is Tanya) provided such good information on St Peters Square, the Pope, and the Vatican as a whole. Most important of all, she guided us to a place where we had the best view of Pope Francis when he went around on the pope mobile!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had read the reviews, but frankly was a little skeptical about how close people get to seeing the pope. Boy were we pleasantly surprised. Prior to entering the piazza, our guide Elena, told the group that the important part is to react as a group and keep together while listening to her directions. Elena expertly guided us to superb seats. We were literally only about 10 feet from Pope Francis when he passed. Truly a highlight of our Italy trip. Thanks so much Elena!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide was terrific and gave us a nice history of the Vatican. More importantly, she got us great seats to see Pope Francis. I got fabulous pictures!!!! He even came past us twice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were impressed by all the tours run by City Wonders and this was no exception. The Papal Audience is a very confusing event and, if you've not done it before, I would highly recommend doing it this way. Our guide led us into the square and she ran to the area in the front of the second section and reserved our seats. We were located in the first row directly behind the wooden barrier along the road the "Pope-Mobile" would take. He actually passed within five feet of us twice on his ride into the square. Our guide gave us a lot of information about the audience so we knew exactly what to expect. Would definitely use this service again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were thrilled with this tour our tour guide took us to the best spot we were so close to the pope and had our own seats. Fantastic! Ken and Keren Barker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a top highlight of a two week trip and the best way ever to spend our last day in Rome. It was fantastic. The guide was exceptional...knowledgable and found us great seats.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledge guide. Very good seats.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing!!! Highlight of the trip, up close and personal view!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved it

From USD $ 43.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731POPE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message