5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1602 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1602 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic trip: very interesting, not tired, comfortable and safety. Excellent guide services from Sara and Robert. And qualified driver Alberto. Super team and super service in unbelievable place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour - well worth a day of your holiday! The guides were enthusiastic and friendly making the early start well worth it and the long coach journeys entertaining and informative. Well done Daniel and Louise (the Irish gems of city wonders tours!)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing. Superbly organised with a superb guide. Nice lunch provided too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Violet as our tour guide, and we were exceptionally pleased with the tour. She gave us lots of background and history while on the bus, directions were very clear, Pizza lunch was enjoyable. A different guide went with us for Pompeii, and he too was good. It was a second trip to Pompeii for us, and we learned some different information. I am not a "sleeper" on the bus trip, and wished I sat at the front of the bus close to Violet, so I could have asked her questions while the rest of the bus took naps! I brought a 17 year old grandson, who was intensely interested in what the guides said and what we saw. Worth every cent that we spent for the tour. Grandparents age 70 were able to climb to the summit of the crater in the time allotted. Faster coming down. Wear tennis shoes, as soil was dusty and rocky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Antenatal and Aldo were excellent host. Clear directions, fun and prompt. The guide at Pompeii was also excellent. Great tour, keep up the good work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Daniel was exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful, and had great general information that made us better travelers in Italy overall. Probably the best guide we had of all the tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was awesome, especially Sara our guide she was wonderful and made the day for me and my family. We will definitely come again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was amazing and the tour guides were well informed and great hosts. Great value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour, very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. I was worried it would be a little expensive for what it was. But in the end, 130 euros per person was totally worth it. This included a 3-hour coach air-conditioned bus ride leaving at 730am from Rome (with one pit stop at midpoint) to Pompeii, during which our 2 tour guides fascinated us with constant information about Rome's history in general, and anything we asked. When arriving in Pompeii (which, in itself is an awe-inspiring experience) we met up with a specialized Pompeii tour guide who directed us through the ancient city. It's nice to have someone tell you what things used to be, and guide us so we don't get lost. We then went to Naples for lunch (best pizza!) and they taught us the history of how the pizza originated. We then headed toward Mt Vesuvius, where our tour guides continued to explain to us the tragedy of Pompeii. The hike up the Vesuvius was moderately difficult (an elderly or out-of-shape person might have a little trouble) as it was a constant 30 degree incline and took about 30min, but mostly just sandy (no rocky terrain). On the top the view was spectacular, and the idea of being near an active volcano was pretty cool. We then had the same 3 hour bus ride home with one pitt stop midway, and again the tour guides showered us with more information.

I felt we really got our money's worth: 2x 3-hour bus ride tours of info, 1-hour guided tour of pompeii, lunch included, and ticket to go up the vesuvius. Our tour guides (Roberto and Sarah) were absolutely incredible, I would request them if I could. Go for it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome tour!very good guides and the local guide such a dedicated guy! Do this and you will never regret it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour saw us join up with a 2nd group doing the same tour and shared a bus and our tour guides for the day were Massemo and Robert who were very informative and entertaining and good friends. At Pompeii we split into two groups and our group had a wonderful tour leader who was informative and very funny. We found Pompeii amazing and you could easily spend a day or more there but our few hours there allowed a terrific overview. Lunch was included being pizza and a drink and then onto Vesuvius which we climbed the 1/2 hour to the top for amazing views. Overall a wonderful tour which was a highlight of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic! Everything we wanted and more! Great coach driver, guides and local guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good day trip. Daniel and Roberto and busdriver get 5 out 5 stars. Myself and my daughter enjoyed the day . Loved the experience.

From USD $ 182.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message