5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2089 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2089 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip with wonderful tour guides. Highly enjoyable day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite part of our trip! Our guides, Robert and Guilio, were funny and knowledgeable, and our on-site guide in Pompeii Willy? was great also. The food for lunch was served at a catering hall, it wasn't bad but I wish we were able to eat at a real restaurant to get a little bit more authentic meal. The bus was comfortable, I would definitely do this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fun day. The guides were both exceptional and provided us with a wealth of knowledge both at the sites and as we passed locations along the way. Well worth the money. The only downside is it was hot but that's Italy in the Summer. Not your fault. Great experience. Would recommend it to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide Andrew is very helpful, humourous and informative.
The trip is well- organised. I highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wow! That pretty much covers it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides were informative and fun. The walk up Vesuvius was steep, dusty and extremely hot, but worth it! Pompeii is a fascinating and remarkable historic site. You could spend hours and hours exploring.Wow! I'd recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing adventure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour! I 100 recommend doing this tour, the guides are very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Every part of the tour is well done and planned and the lunch is great. It's amazing value for the day you get and enjoyable. My family and I had a great day and would easily do it again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Trip was great. I rate it a 5. I enjoy this trip very much The guide is knowledgeable .

Veronica F
Honduras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite tour of all we did in Italy! Climbing Mount Vesuvius was a workout but well worth it! The views from there are great - if you don't get a cloudy day as we did - but still climbing the volcano and seeing the crater up close was awesome.

Going into the Pompeii Ruins was also awesome. Our guide there was very cool, knowledgable and fun. He gave us time to look at all the sites and take pictures, while still moving the group along at a good pace. Take this tour on your trip. It is an experience unlike any other!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anna and Antonella from City Wonders were excellent guides and provided so much useful information about both the tour and about Rome. The tour was really well run and there were no problems. The tour guide of Pompeii was also excellent and informative and the radio system worked well. We were given adequate time to have lunch, and to get to the top of Vesuvius and back we made it to the 3rd shop at the top! It was a fun day out and was definitely worth it. I would recommend it to friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of our favorite days on our vacation. Julia and Julio were perfect, as well as the bus driver. Energetic, lively, informative...a lot of fun to be around. We took a subway ride a block from our hotel right to the meeting point, and were assigned a guide to follow for the day. Two small groups were put together on each bus, and the ride was comfortable. As promised, we were able to nap if we wanted to on the three-hour drive, with a stop along the way. Mt. Vesuvius was a challenge on such a hot day, but thankfully it was first on the list. But what an experience. And Julia and Julio made sure they had enough water to distribute to anyone several times during the day 1 euro per bottle was very reasonable. Lunch was prepared and ready, again, as promised, with beverage of choice, and we got to sit and talk with some of our travel companions. We weren't rushed, and got to cool down. Then off to Pompeii where a guide, Bernadette, from that site took us around. Very entertaining, and you knew she loved her work! Got back on the bus for return drive and back to original meeting point. Very happy with tour in every aspect. Booked three events through Viator on our trip, and everything went as planned.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Lots of fun, our guide Lucca was very professional and charming. It was a great option for a one day trip out of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic, one of the absolute highlights of my trip!! We departed on time from our meeting point in Rome in a comfortable bus. Our guide, Andy, was FABULOUS and kept us entertained with stories during the 3-hour drive down to Vesuvius and back. On the way down, we stopped at a very nice cafe with clean bathrooms for a bathroom break and optional coffee and croissants RECOMMENDED. Andy pointed out various sights along the way and told us stories of the volcanic eruption, the Appian Way, Spartacus' Revolt, and other stories relating to landmarks that we passed. We then had a very winding drive up most of Mount Vesuvius, followed by a 40 minute hike up Vesuvius to see the crater. Next, a delicious pizza lunch in Naples, after which we drove to Pompeii where an Italian guide took over and gave us a 2-hour walking tour of the remains with intriguing commentary, creating vivid scenes in our minds about how life used to be in 79 A.D. Make sure you see the erotic frescoes. Finally, we hopped back on our bus for the 3-hour drive home, with another rest stop at the same plush cafe. We heard plenty more historical stories on the way back, so all the driving didn't seem burdensome in any way. This tour was the final icing on the cake of my 10 days in Italy, a real treat not to be missed!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely amazing trip, our guide Anna was incredibly knowledgeable and extremely well spoken in many different languages. Our guidein Pompeii, Lucia was equally as knowledgeable about the city and made it an interesting afternoon out.

The trip was planned to the 't' and went off without a hitch minus some aching legs that evening!

I would fully recommend the trip to family and friends.

Thank you for a fantastic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guides were wonderful, entertaining and informative. Enjoyed the whole day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out! Our guide, Antonella was fabulous and very knowledgable. The hike up Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the guided tour through Pompeii was outstanding. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended - Packed a lot into limited time. Tour guides were excellent Anna and Luca. Our driver Marius did an amazing job of getting us up Mount Vesuvius - narrow, twisty road! Great way of getting to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Fabulous pizza at lunch time. Whole trip worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized trip leaving from Piazza del Popolo, full day trip on air conditioned bus. Tour guide at Pompeii was very colorful, informative and funny. Lunch at pizzeria outside Naples was good for margarita pizza. The visit to Mount Vesuvius offered some incredible views of the Bay of Naples. The hike up the trail to the summit takes a good 25 minutes on a dusty trail with gravel and is steep in parts, comfortable shoes a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The entire trip is amazing with Julios and Robert as our guide. They are very knowledgeable, fun and took care of us ensure that every tour member is safe and sound.

Highly recommendable to experience Pompeii and hiking up the volcano. Have to do it once in a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

From USD $ 154.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message