Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 2310 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

JAMES M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved the tour of Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides Ettore and Antonella entertained us on the bus which was very comfortable. Our guide Luisa at Pompeii was excellent. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was strenuous, so be careful and wear appropriate shoes.

Denise L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good tour

Anthony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip we took to Pompeii. The tour guides were absolutely amazing. I feel bad that I cannot remember their names but they had great knowledge of the local area and had a lot of great knowledge to the history of the places we visited. One tour guide was from Australia and had longer hair, and the other was an Italian woman who was very pleasant and helped us find a great restaurant after the tour. We would definitely do another tour with the company that Viator set us up with.

Pamela F. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very organized and followed time schedule well. Our tour guide was Sara and she and fellow guide Elena provided helpful facts and education about Rome, Pompeii, Naples and sites on the bus ride. We stopped after 1.5 hours for a break then went on to the museum in Naples. We were given 1.5 hours to explore the museum in Naples on our own. It was an appropriate amount of time. Next was a pizza lunch and then on to Pompei. Enzo was our guide and was great! Lots of knowledge as he is local to the area and his ancestors worked the excavation. I think we spent 2 hours touring the highlights of Pompei and then back to the bus for the ride home. After 1.5 hours we stopped again for a break, limencello tasting and gift shop. We had a great time.

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I took this tour on the 28/11/15. This was an excellent and well organised tour. If you're going to do a tour from Rome do this tour and you really need the whole day so I wouldn't go for a half day option.

Our tour guides were fantastic and I loved the way they kept feeding us with snippets of history. I hope these guys get paid well for their efforts. 10 out of 10 to our 2 guides and the driver!

I didn't realise but lunch was included and it was Pizza with salad and a drink. We spent 1 hour in the Museum and 2 hours at Pompeii. After chatting with some other people on the tour we recommend
To spend longer at Pompeii and maybe less time at lunch or not have that lunch break and give people the option to grab a quick lunch at the site. I personally would have liked to see more and maybe at a quicker pace but I understand the tour needs to cater for everyone's needs.

There are toilet breaks and the guides check to make sure you are ok on the bus. Our group was very nice too which helps when you're on a tour all day.

I feel confident to go back by myself now.

Jeffery L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the highlights of my entire holiday and it was my first day in Europe!! We did not get to visit the Volcano due to bad weather but got to see so much in the museum. The guides Alessandra and Robert were awesome! Pompeii is so beautiful still and must have been incredible in its original state.

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the view from the Vulcano was great, and so was Pompeii

julie j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

brilliant day out, well worth the money, trips reps amazingly knowledgeable
and enthusiastic.

David X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pompeii tour was enjoyable.

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent ! Guides were wonderful, very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend!

Kiyana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

AWESOME experience with the best tour guides! We had a wonderful day touring the ancient city of Pompeii, and the hike of Mount Vesuvius. Travels with motion sickness, be warned. The bus ride to Vesuvius can be definitely tricky. Overall, though, a FANTASTIC experience!

karen-ramsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day but worth the effort excellent guides lots of fun would love a day out with them next time I am in rome

Wanda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommend it.

ANA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lucas was great. He has so much information. In our way to Pompei, he kept giving us information that made the trip look so much shorter. The tour guide in Pompei was good, but the visit to the volcano crater, Vesuvius, took to much time and we had only one hour and a half in Pompei.

Sophia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Robert and Stephanie were great tour guides - lots of knowledge about Rome and the sights. Incredibly funny too!

Chanel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Stephanie, Luka, and Marios may or may not have spelled those right were all marvelous. I learned a ton and had fun doing it. The lunch was wonderful. Hiking up Mt Vesuvius was challenging, but well worth the sore legs and just sore everything, tbh at the end of it all. Getting to Pompeii and learning more about their civilisation was just the icing on the cake. It truly was remarkable. Luka and Stephanie's Rome 101 at the end of the tour was especially appreciated and myself and a couple other tour guests took advantage of a certain gelato recommendation immediately after the tour.

Mariana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pompeii is incredible and this was a good one-day trip. Everything was as advertised, except that the bus trip to and from Pompeii took a little longer than we expected more than three hours. Nevertheless, our guide was a very knowledgeable, nice guy, and he made even the bus trip interesting.

Alex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Except problems that we have had with confirmation of our booking, everything else was marvelous. Trip was very well organized with two guides Antonela and Etore. They did great job together. What to say about visiting Vesuv and Pompeii, it's a must see...

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had everything we needed, very skilled driver, tour guide, and site guide, great lunch. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. The hike is somewhat strenuous, but there is enough time to take in the amazing view from the top.

Lisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable mini bus journey half way up mount vesuvus, not one for people with a fear of heights like myself who couldn't make it to the top but a great experience none the less. The volcano is due to go off again in the next 10 years so worth seeing. Pompeii is amazing, lots to see and very informative guide.

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour had a wonderful time we had two wonderful tour guides one was from Australia and the other one from Valenzuela very knowledgeable and funny as well highly recommend it.

ShunzhiLi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really nice tour with fantastic guides

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Organized, comfortable and entertaining.
Our guides, Rob and Andy, were great. Rob knows his facts, Andy knows how to tell a story.
Our local guide in Pompeii was also great.
i was on my own traveling and this was perfect.

zane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I liked the trip, although due to loss of one lady on Vezuvi mountain we were late at Pompeii and had to rush through it.

colesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a Great day out. Trip was well organised from start to finish. Coach was comfortable and our tour guide Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. Full day was filled with interesting facts about Rome, the route we travelled and Pompeii itself. The journey could have been a bit long and boring had it not been for the Tour guides and their interesting in-depth knowledge. Pompeii was amazing, there was much more to it than i had thought and i would highly recommend this trip.

Viewing 2 of 93

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 152.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message