5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1691 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1691 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing day trip. Bus took us as high up Mt Vesuvius as it was allowed. It was a 40 minute walk up a 14 degree slope with a number of stops to catch my breath. Able to look down into the crater and still see steam or smoke coming out. Then a 20 minute walk down to where the bus was waiting. A little leery knowing this is still considered an active volcano, although it last erupted in 1944.
The ruins of Pompeii are much bigger then expected. Imagine a city of 20,000 people buried! The stone streets have deep ruts worn in them from many years of wagon wheels. It all came into perspective when we stood in the main city square and saw Mt Vesuvius 7 miles away. Now I can imagine what happened!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I went on this tour back in April this year. It was one of our favourite tours we did in Europe. From the beginning when we met our guide Roberto was fabulous. There were 2 tour guides on the bus with us and they interacted with the all the people and provided a lot of knowledge about all the places we were passing. Pompeii was amazing, the history behind it is unbelievable and the fact that there are still so many remains after so long is crazy. After this we walked up the mount Vesuvius, luckily the weather was only just warm as it is a bit of a hike to get up to the top. but getting to the top is well worth it. The scenery overlooking Naples is breathtaking. This tour is definitely a must do when in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

All I can say that this tour was worth every penny. Robert(o), our guide, was excellent not only with his knowledge but also looking after our every need.
Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Mara, was highly knowledgeable and very friendly. She talked just the right amount on the bus trip. The meeting place in Rome was easy to find; no confusion like we had on a previous tour. The group was split into two so there were only 20 of us, which was great. We appreciated the half-way stop on the way to and from Naples. Vesuvius was awesome!! We had adequate time to walk up at our own pace. Lunch was great! And Pompeii was everything we had expected and more. Our local guide, Enrico, really brought past events to life for us. We HIGHLY recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long bus ride to get there and back but the girls made it very enjoyable and informative, knew when to give us down time for a snooze. Their knowledge and tips on how to pick the best restaurant and cuisine were spot on, tried their tips, worked well!! The tour through Pompeii was exceptional made perfect by our guide "Enrico", his sharp, brilliant wit and knowledge of Pompeii were exceptional. Trip us Mt Vesuvius was challenging, sorry we didn't make it to the top but lots did. Had an excellent day, well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fabulous time spent. Maximo n Elena had been such great guides throughout the tour. Thank you Maximo for giving detail information on churches in Rome too. Will definitely back for another visit!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant day out. Climbing Mt Vesuvius was awesome. Spectacular views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time on this trip. Although a very long day it was well worth it. We were given ample time for exploring at each stop and found our guide Antonella extremely helpful and informative. Our guide in Pompeii shared his extensive knowledge of the area as he guided us through the ruins of the city. At no time did we feel rushed and would definately recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. It was truly a highlight of our 2 week Italy trip with our two boys (6 and 9)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth doing. Our tour guides Mike and Etre made a long day fun and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Antoinella was wonderful full of interesting and funny stories the tour was a pleasure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an incredible experience. The two tour guides where friendly, knowledgeable, and always interesting. The tour was one of the real highlights from our entire trip to Italy. I couldn't recommend this tour highly enough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

That was truly amazing experience. We had fantastic guides Stephanie and Ettore who were patient, funny and extremely informative, not to mention Vincenzo who guided us through the city of Pompeii and was absolutely amazing.
The trip itself was very long (13 hours) but it was worth every minute. Pompeii and Vesuvius are Italy must sees and we are delighted that we chose this trip.

From USD $ 169.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message