5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1740 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1740 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was an interesting one-day visit to a site of considerable historical and archeological significance. All guides spoke good English. We look forward to returning and staying longer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very informative, amassing view from the top, nice walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

For some reason this is not one of the most popular tours but for us it was a highlight. We were fascinated by the links with early Christianity and then the links with the development of the monastic system. The extent of the underground labyrinth is also astonishing. The art made with all the bones was not disturbing, but the message must make every visitor think -"We were once as you are. You will be as we are."

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour climb was excellent, Pompeii awesome and lunch great, this tour is a real highlight...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day ! We had a fun trip to Pompei with the two tour guides knowledge of Rome and Pompei
Including lots of quirky and different stories which make it fun and interesting ! Pompei itself is amazing and we are so glad we took a day out to do the trip !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out!
Wonderful guides full of good cheer and useful information.
We made it to the top of Vesuv and saw the breathtaking view of the bay and Naples.
Pompeii was just as good as expected, with an interesting and engaging guide!
oh - and lunch was lovely :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Guide. He is very knowledgable. Good serivce.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Everything went as planned, and they had great information about Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour made for a very, very long day. I was sick, but I still enjoyed it. I wish I wasn't sick though, because this would have been one of the best tours I had been on! It was just non-stop amazing-ness. We even stopped along the way for a little limoncello and chocolate. The pizza was aaaamazing, and they give you a WHOLE pizza just for yourself! Many people didn't even finish. The climb up the volcano was a little hard, only because it was kind of steep, but worth it in the end. Pompeii itself was so neat, but I wish we had time to wander around the city by ourselves. It seemed like everyone was in a group tour though. Anyways, it was a very rewarding and interesting tour. Definitely worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing day. The tour guide was the best with the knowledge he had. Highly recommend to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

From USD $ 152.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message