5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1949 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1949 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was perfect since the beggining. Melany our bus guide is really a terrific guide. Not only she knows a lot but she is the nicest person. Our guide in Pompeii was extremely good too. The pizza lunch was very good. 5 stars indeed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day trip to Pompeii was amazing! I've been interested in seeing Pompeii since learning about it in high school and I'm so glad I finally had that opportunity- it did not disappoint! It was really interesting and our tour guide was really passionate and informed. I highly recommend this fascinating tour!

As a side note: if you're only interested in seeing the corpses this tour may not be for you. We did see some, but there were complaints that some people only came to see the corpses and that they were disappointed. As someone who appreciates the history behind this city and the fact that people actually lived there years ago, it's almost an insult to the historical significance of this ancient city to say you only wanted to see the corpses. The tour is to see Pompeii, not the corpses of Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompei was simply AMAZING! It should be a must see for all visitors to Italy. We only had 2 hours here, and saw approx 1/5th of what there was to see, but the guide was brilliant! Georgio really knew his stuff, and made it fun and interesting. Really engaging. I kept saying to him how jealous I was of his job!!

I was a little suprised at the way some of our group were leaning on the 2000 year old walls like they were at home, I really wanted to shout at them for that.

Vesuvius - I didn't realise how steep this would be, but getting up there was worth it. It's a good 1-2k walk uphill. And the views from and into the volcano are amazing. To think just how high it used to be is scary. And seeing how many people live on the mountain is scarier. I was hoping it would be raining on the day we went down so we could do the Pompei museum instead, but next time, I know where I'll visit.

Finally, Anna and Julia, I could listen to Anna all day long. She has an amazing voice for the tour, very passionate about the work and acknowledging! Julia was super friendly and engaging, and we both felt at ease with her. Both of them made the day what it was!! A brilliant, fun, thrilling, entertaining, educational and relaxing tour.

Really happy 5 / 5 - Siobhan and Jamie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous tour. Fantastic day. Guides were excellent. Very knowledgeable, funny and helpful. 5star rating from me. Highly recommend this activity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well done tour. American guide Mike was entertaining and informative. Great jokes. Pompeii and Vesuvius were incredible and well worth the trip. Nice restaurant in Naples. Great pizza.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ettore was a very good guide, informative and punctual. However, we shared a bus with another group and their guide was exceptionally prepared and provided amazing tips for getting around Italy and finding locations that would offer a more authentic experience of Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AMAZING! If you love history, you will LOVE this tour. Everything you've read and seen in National Geographic will come to live and make sense. It helps that Luisa - our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and patience with everyone. She was warm, friendly, funny, willing to answer questions and her English was nearly perfect. The 2 women on the tour bus Sarah and Julia, were willing to share personal stories, and knew all about the regions we were passing by on the bus. They worked the passengers by having a fun Q and A and we felt free to ask what other tours they would recommend.

The unsung hero is Fausto, our bus driver. Wow! this driver needs a raise! The way he maneuver the tight and narrow two way streets on our way to Pompeii was incredible. He never put the passengers at risk, we were totally safe. When you sign up for the tour, you'll know what I mean.

Lastly, lunch was eh, blah, so bring a snack. The bathrooms are .50 cents, but the shot of limoncello at the end of the day was refreshing.

Have fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The hike up Mt Vesuvius was fun, but the real gem is the tour or Pompeii. It was truly mind-blowing and should be on everyone's bucket list. This tour was great because they handle all of the logistics for you. Great guides and a fun trip. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Worth doing!!!! Just make sure you are in good shape if you plan on climbing the mountain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT TOUR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Luc was a fantastic guide. Everything was wonderful and well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable, well organised trip. The guides were very knowledgeable and a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, guides know their stuff, lunch is pretty ordinary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our tour guide, Gio, and all the humor she brought to the tour. She was very personable, knowledgable, and helpful. Money well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was awesome! The provider guides were wonderful, very informative throughout the trip and gave us great advice and tips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip! I booked the night before using the app and it was seamless! The trip itself was well worth it, such amazing history and a real eye opener to the strength of Mother Nature!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides Julia and Sara were very helpful, informative, and kind. The tour was stress free. The tour guides tell you loads about the history of Italy and Pompeii. The restaurant they take you to for lunch was delicious. While the tour is pricey, I had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, excellent tour guides, and the bus driver did a fantastic job also!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best tour we took in Italy. The onsight guide at Pompeii was a local and he was astounding! Climbing the last 280 meters of Mt. Vesuvius was phenomenal. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A long day but so worth it. The tour guide Stephanie and Becky were amazing, so informative about Rome and Italy in general. They explained the structure of the day clearly including when/how rest stops. They were very informative about what to expect walking up Vesuvius explaining the x3 points and being realistic in your expectations. It was a tough walk and I was close to giving up before the first point, but I did get to the top. Back on the coach most did not get to the top but seemed very happy to have walked a part of it. Lunch was good, gave everyone a chance to recover. You sit at group tables so for me travelling alone was ideal as I has people to chat to. The guide in Pompeii Vincenzo was very informative. He gave plenty of time for picture taking before moving on. It really was a great day. The only thing to bear in mind was that in early June it was really hot by 3pm in Pompeii it had got to over 30. This does distract you from the tour so I would recommend going earlier in the year.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day and we saw a good amount of Pompeii and then hiked Mt Vesuvius note that that was very cold at the end of March/beginning of April. Worth it but dress appropriately. The temperatures are very different in the 2 spots. I also thought the place we went to in Naples would be more authentic and that we would see more of the city, but the pizza was good, especially the crust. Tour guides on the bus were fantastic!

From USD $ 151.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message