5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1500 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1500 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Giorgio showed his knowledge and understanding of Pompeii in an entertaining way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pompeii was a good tour. Both tour guides were very knowledgeable. Will was very funny and kept the tour lively.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bus, guides, and scenery were all great! The information provided during the bus trip and the walk in Pompeii with the local guide were excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour! Tour guide Mike was brilliant - informative, funny and helpful. Walking up Vesuvius and around the crater is amazing - quite a hike up, especially in around 35 degrees, but SO worth it! DO take their advice to buy your cold water from the bus driver - the 'cold' drinks at the top are not really cold and are way more pricey. Pompeii is just awesome - really well organised, each with your own headset, and our Pompeii guide, Willie, was the best ever - so knowledgeable, very quick witted, funny, loads of stories and so many little details pointed out. On the way back to Rome, we were given lots of helpful tips and suggestions about good places to eat 'real Italian', or rather real 'Roman'. Highly recommended - we would happily do it all again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mike. the tour leader was very informative and friendly. Enzo, the guide for Pompeii, was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide. Mt Vesuvius was awe inspiring.
A long day but a great experience that I'd highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A stress-free way to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Our guide, Violet, was terrific--witty, knowledgeable, and very energetic. She met us at Piazza del Popolo and kept us engaged, informed and entertained all the way to Pompeii. The guide who joined our group in the ruins really knew her stuff. She brought us through key locations at an easy pace, showed us details that would have been easy to overlook, and gave us plenty of time to stroll around and take photos. She really brought this city back to life. Without her insights it would have been hard to make heads or tails of what we were seeing, had we chosen to explore Pompeii on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great day out thanks to Antonella and Daniel for their wonderful commentary. The bus trip and the lunch were great, but the climbing Mt Vesuvius and walking through the streets of Pompeii were absolutely breathtaking. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in history or nature. A truly brilliant day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Hectoro and Antonella were great hosts. It's a long day (13 hours), but totally worth it. It's about a 3-hour ride on the bus to Vesuvius, with a stop halfway for a breakfast and bathroom break. You hike up the top part of Vesuvius. It's about a 25-minute hike, and it is pretty steep. Definitely don't wear flip flops, and if you're out of shape, it could be tough. The pizza lunch was better than I expected, and the tour of Pompeii was unbelievable. It's so expansive, and our tour guide Louisa really knew her stuff. Put this trip on your list if you have a day free. One bit of advice -- use the restrooms you come across during the Pompeii tour if you can. At the end of the tour, there are only 2 bathrooms, and it was utter chaos for the hundreds of people who finished the tour and waited. There are a few scattered around the old city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic day. Learnt so much as the guides had a wealth of knowledge. Really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Great lunch too! Very happy and highly recommend!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Violette did a lovely job keeping our tour on time and entertaining us throughout the long day with interesting stories. This is a fabulous tour! Led by professionals!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Perfectly amazing trip never to be missed. The guide was very good ( masimo).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this tour. This was so well done from beginning to end. Our tour guides were Roberto and Massimo- simply amazing. They had a wealth of information to share. They were funny, entertaining and simply engaging. The 3 hour trip flew by. We loved all the historical information and stories. The bus does stop for a break after 90 minutes or so at a coffee shop/souvenir shop. At Pompeii, we were met by a local guide who was also great. Following the tour, we were taken to a pizza lunch in Pompeii. This was not in Naples as the description of this tour implies, but that was still ok. Unfortunately, following lunch we were told that Mount Vesuvius was closed for the day, due to a tragic accident. The guides were very professional and did the best with an unanticipated situation. We were taken to Naples instead. We drove through for a city tour and then stopped at the archeological museum. Even though, we were disappointed we didn't get to climb Mt. Vesuvius, we still enjoyed this tour. I highly recommend visiting Pompeii with this tour company. These are simply the best tour guides you could have.

From USD $ 183.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message