5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1771 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1771 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic trip. Very professional guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire trip was outstanding.
The guides were very pleasant, and informative.
The added guides at the museum and Pompeii were great.

If you want a great experience book this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great day with the tour group! Beautiful weather and the guides were excellent :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An interesting and amazing trip. definitely worth the price. excellent local tour guide in Pompeii which brought the story alive. A great tour guide for the whole trip was Roberto who was in charge of us all day long. Amazing his knowledge and all. Roberto continue this way. wakee wakee, wake u up ;-)))

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We needed a break after walking Rome for 2 days so Pompei was it. The drive down was informative and the stop was welcomed. The museum was so neat I wish we could of spent more time there. Finally lunch and then Pompei what a really cool experience, the tour guide was great I don't remember his name but he really knew his stuff. Because it was the holidays it wasn't as busy as usual which worked well for photos. The drive back was quiet as everyone was tired. The girls that did the tour on the bus were fun and nice and very good at their job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What an educational and fun experience! Great information from our guides in the bus and at the site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Comfortable bus, knowledgeable guides, good pizza lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was an interesting one-day visit to a site of considerable historical and archeological significance. All guides spoke good English. We look forward to returning and staying longer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very informative, amassing view from the top, nice walk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

For some reason this is not one of the most popular tours but for us it was a highlight. We were fascinated by the links with early Christianity and then the links with the development of the monastic system. The extent of the underground labyrinth is also astonishing. The art made with all the bones was not disturbing, but the message must make every visitor think -"We were once as you are. You will be as we are."

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

From USD $ 148.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message