5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1810 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1810 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love, love, loved it. What a place... don't miss it. Also went to Mt. Vesuvius and got to climb it. Amazing... what ever you do, you have to go. Excellent tour, guide was fantastic. Whole trip so worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent! Our guides were incredible, very friendly and knowledgeable as well as organized. It was a great first experience and as we booked other tours throughout our trip we learned that the guides can make or break the tour...so I couldn't have asked for better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Enrico was our tour guide in Pompei and he was spectacular!
He was engaging, informative, and made the tour very interesting. We enjoyed his portion of the trip.
Melanie was a bus tour guide. She was willing to give lots of help in order to recommend restaurants, gelato shops, tourist places to visit and non-tourist places to visit. She also shared some interesting pointers about the historical background to each area of Italy we were travelling through wine, limoncello, foods, gelato, etc.
The experience was very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very well organised trip,the girls Stephanie and J low where great! Told us many things about our trip and also helped us with our stay in Rome with information about travel, restaurants and things to watch out for in Rome. All in All a great day we will all remember Thanks again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful tour, excellent tour guides, I only wished there were more hours in the day! Overall, a great day trip from Rome. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I can highly recommend the tour company who ran this trip. The guides Melanie and Antonio were fab and their advice about Rome for a tourist was really helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour is great. The guide Roberto and Pompei expert Enrico are great and hilarious. They just need to change the pizza place.... By far the only bad meal that I've had in Italy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I loved loved loved this excursion!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic! Antoinella and Vincenzo did a fantastic job! We especially enjoyed the advice re. Eating and drinking in rome from Melanie also! We took your advice on the Gelato and were not disappointed! We would recommend this trip to all! Best tour we have been on!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a great tour. Our guide was Roberto and he was upbeat, funny and energetic from 7:30am on. He was very knowledgeable about Vesuvius and Pompeii and shared his knowledge on the drive down. He made sure everyone was accounted for so we never had to worry about being left behind. Roberto's sharing of facts about Vesuvius and folklore about the area added to the entire experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide ettore made all the difference. We could listen and learn from him all day long. Thoughtful too

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Truly a remarkable excavation site!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Had a great day, the two giudes were excellent and very informative. I would highly recommond this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Pompeii was very engaging and interesting. I felt a little smarter after listening to the tour guides talk on the busride about different things around us. On another trip to Italy I will take their advice to take a train to Cassino and go up the mountain to the monestary. The Museum in Naples was small, but very interesting to see. I would consider doing this tour again because later in March the tour includes a hike on Mount Vesuvius. I like how we stopped every 1.5 hours so people could stretch their legs and use the bathroom. Also, the pizza lunch was at a nice restaurant near Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and showed the group the key areas in Pompeii. She also allowed people to take pictures and wander around on their own at times. There were a few children on the tour and all the tour guides were smart to warn the parents about certain parts in case some subject material at the museum or at Pompeii would be offensive to the children.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour, very well organised, with entry to the site, museum, lunch, all travel and with friendly local guides was good value - very highly recommended
Sue and Gerard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Roberto and Elena and Bernadette could not have been more gracious or more informative. They were entertaining and very helpful. The trip could not have been better!

From USD $ 151.67

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message