5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1633 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1633 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well planned. Tour guide was excellent lunch was great. The bus very clean. Climbed Mt vesuvius in the morning and toured Pompeii city after lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I did this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Our tour guides - Stephanie and Violet - were professional, knowledgeable and friendly – Violet in particular had a great sense of humour! At the end of the trip, they even walked the length of the coach, asking every single person if they had any questions about the trip, Rome, or other excursions, even giving out helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

The drive up to mount Vesuvius is good fun, but TERRIFYING!! (Don’t look down if you’re scared of heights!). Fortunately we had a brilliant bus driver, who handled the perilous hairpin turns with skill. Once at the drop off point, the walk to the top of the crater is hard work in the heat (taking about 25 mins), but worth it for the views over the Bay of Naples, Pompeii and Naples city. A tip though - WEAR TRAINERS! (I did this climb in sandals and it’s not fun, as the path is made of a loose ashy like dirt, which can become slippery on the way down.)

The pizza lunch was very well-organised and you have the choice of 3 pizzas. Orders are taken on the coach, so upon arrival at the restaurant there is only a short wait to be served. The pizza was tasty, too!

Pompeii was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and we learnt lots. Pompeii is the kind of place where you need a tour guide to bring it all to life – otherwise you’re looking at a lot of ruins which don’t mean much to the average visitor. As it was, Pompeii is absolutely fascinating and well worth a visit.

The actual bus journey to Pompeii was comfortable, though there were no toilets on board the coach! You do however, have a stop halfway (after 1 hour 30) at an excellent service station in Cassino, so loos and snacks/drinks are never too far away! (There are also toilets at Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, though only port-a-loos at Vesuvius, and expect to pay 50c). As for the trip duration; unusually, we actually arrived back into Rome at the advertised time. Amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic Tour. A great day well spent. From beginning to end we were well taken care of by our fantastic guide Robert. Robert is extremely knowledgable and interesting as well as being a very nice person to spend the day with . Our Pompeii guide was also fantastic. Thoroughly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We got to Pompeii on the anniversary of the Mt Vesuvius eruption. The tour guides made the whole trip quite interesting - they even delivered event the geological aspects of the volcanic catastrophe with gusto. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

had a fantastic day, it was just me and my boyfriend, wen we arrived our tour guides violet and robert were welcoming and friendly and made the history so interesting and told some great stories too! pompeii was awesome and mt vesuvius even better. take a good camera!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day out. Mike out tour guide was very knowledgable and kept the tour lively and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My son and I loved this tour. Our guides were true professionals and very knowledgeable. They went out of their way to give us as much information as possible. They even explained the various kinds of authentic pizzas in the south, the best mozzarella, Lemoncello drink, tomatoes...
Climbing up the colcano was quiet an experience. Bring your old shoes with you, and be prepared for a steep, very steep walk. Think of it like a stress test, but with the option to stop at any time :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was Amazing! The tour guides Sarah and Massimo were really funny and helpful and made the whole day amazing! Alberto the driver was incredible arount mt. Versuvio although the organisation at mt. Versuvio could be better in terms of access! Loved the day!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A long trip, 3 hrs each way (rest stops in route) and comfortable bus. Fantastic tour guides, both in their knowledge and personalities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sarah the guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and well organized. The views from on top of Vesuvius are breath taking. The hike up isn't easy but well worth it. For someone who like history it's a incredible experience to go back in time 2000 years and visit Pompeii. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was spectacular and one of my favorite things to do. Vesuvius and Pompeii were just unlike anything you could have seen anywhere else, highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with helpful and informative guides. It's an easy way to get to and see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius all in a day. The weather was kind to us so we had a great view at the top of the Volcano, well worth the 20 min hike. Pompeii was also definitely worth the visit, an amazing site and well preserved, and the local guide helped us understand the history behind it all, also keeping us entertained.

From USD $ 174.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message