• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1516 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1516 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Sarah our tour guide was fantastic, very funny and knowledgable. She also climbed Mount Vesuvius which we thought was pretty impressive (especially in heels!) This was a very well organised tour from start to finish. The local guide in Pompeii was great, and made the tour interesting and humourous. Lunch was provided with a small green salad, choice between two pizza's and one soft drink. The pizza was pretty good, and we were given plenty of time to eat and relax before conquering Mount Versuvius! The climb for Versuvius is steep and slippery - wear decent shoes! However there are lots of places to stop along the way to catch your breath and take a great photo! This was a highlight of out Italian tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an excellent trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii. The guides Helena AMA Sarah were entertaining all along with history and facts. Well informed. Guide at Pompeii Francesca is also very good with taking us around. All in all it was one of the best. I recommend it anyday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guides were easy to find and the bus was comfortable on the ride from Rome. The stop along the way was appreciated. The tour of Pompeii was terrific - well paced, lots of information. A nice lunch and time to walk up Vesuvius. The walk was strenuous, but well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Elena was a very good tour guide helpful and friendly. Explained and translated brilliantly. Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii great tours. Would recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely brilliant trip with great tour guides, well worth every penny. I highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Italy. :-D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guides were great! Climb up Mt. Vesuvius was really tough but definitely worth the hike. Lunch was just ok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was amazing how well preserved Pompeii was considering it was 79 AD when it was buried. It was like stepping back in time. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was great. The views were awesome. The pizza lunch was delicious. The tour guides were entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A little long

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was great, and definitely worth the money. The bus was comfortable with good air condition, and the guides were fantastic! Great at keeping us entertained on the long rides, with plenty of interesting information. The local guide for Pompei was also great, and very knowledgable. Pizza was very nice in Naples. The only warning I would have is that we NEARLY didn't get to see the volcano due to weather conditions, and instead were possibly going to have to trade this for a museum. Luckily that didn't happen and we were still able to go. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was great, and definitely worth the money. The bus was comfortable with good air condition, and the guides were fantastic! Great at keeping us entertained on the long rides, with plenty of interesting information. The local guide for Pompei was also great, and very knowledgable. Pizza was very nice in Naples. The only warning I would have is that we NEARLY didn't get to see the volcano due to weather conditions, and instead were possibly going to have to trade this for a museum. Luckily that didn't happen and we were still able to go. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was brilliant! It went on for over 12 hours but it was all worth it. Our guide Robert (Roberto) was great, very knowledgeable in history, geology (and vulcanology) and overall brilliant story teller which made the trip even better. Seeing and climbing the Vesuvius is amasing (not easy) but when you do it and watch down from 1.5km that is worth everything! As for Pompeii that is a must see. Overall exhilarating experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Giorgio showed his knowledge and understanding of Pompeii in an entertaining way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

From USD $ 182.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message