5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2044 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2044 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic but challenging climb to the top of Vesivius and wonderful tour of Pompeii. Extremely friendly and well organised trip of a lifetime!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip to Pompeii was Great and a Must See! Our 2 tour guides Julia and Silia were Fantastic very informative not only about our trip to Pompeii but about everything else in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii Day Trip was a great tour. It takes a full day but is definitely worth your time. The tour guides were exceptional as was the bus trip and accommodations. I would highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an amazing trip back in history! The bus ride is about 3 hours with a break half way. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The pizza stop was super delicious and you even get the history of pizza! I definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing place and great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing excursion even though we about melted! It was hotter than Haddes the day we went! Antoine the bus driver was very talented at those hairpin turns up the mountain on our way to Mt. Vesuvius and Anna and Stephanie were the best guides of our entire trip! They were all about balance of fun and information. Their customer service and attention to detail were top notch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guides were excellent and very entertaining and provided us with a lot of useful and interesting information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing tour. A big part of the reason we liked it was that our tour guides Anna and Stephanie provided so much wonderful information about tour as well as the surrounding areas as we drove there. Would definitely recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Forget the weather, the site is amazing! guides were very knowledgeable and patient;

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and the volcano and not have to worry about transportation. We were staying in Rome and wanted an easy/relaxed way to get down to Pompeii. A bus tour was great. Climbing to the top of Vesuvius was a plus! It is bit more of a hike than I expected. Kind of steep, but totally doable. Loved the views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabulous guides and amazing views. A wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour. Our guide Andy from Australia was absolutely fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Extremely well organised tour. Great communication when booking. Our family of 6 had an amazing experience hiking up Mt Vesuvius, loved the pizza in Naples and enjoyed the experience of Pompeii.
The guides were informative and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was well worth the day out of Rome even on a very hot summer day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exceptional Tour!
We had two guides, Melissa and Lucca.
They were both very nice and full of great stories and facts about everything from the sights, to the people, to the food !!
Lucca was very passionate about all of Italy, and we so enjoyed his personal insights.
The tour at the actual sight was very good too. She took her time and gave us plenty of opportunities to ask questions and take pictures.
The hike up Vesuvius was spectacular.....Loved the views!
The driver who got us there was quite remarkable too.....Wow! Talk about winding roads!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic trip!! Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would like to thank Melanie and Andrew for an excellent day - The tour guides were awesome. Both gave us a very warm welcome and continued to help and support the group through out the day. Great facts and information was shared by both tour guides. The whole trip was managed professionally and the timings were kept on track so no wasted time on the day. The whole historical visit was awesome !! Please convey our thanks to Melanie who suggested a resturant for us in Rome which we went to that evening to finish off a fab day and the food and service was just great - Thanks Melanie !! All the veryt best Arthur.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meet the tour guide exactly where they told us to meet. The trip was very enjoyable. Enjoyed the walk to Mt. Vesuvius! It was great! Also enjoyed Pompeii, so glad we took this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was an extremely amazing day! Would highly recommend it to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great trip and worth the time and money. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of 4 youngest: age 11 loved this trip. The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and the kids especially loved the climb on Mt. Vesuvius. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We all learned a lot of the history of the entire region. Our guides were Gio and Robert on the bus -- the Vicenzo enzo in Pompeii -- all get 5's! The bus driver, Antonio, was very safe - even on the twisty and narrow Mt. Vesuvius roads.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Great tour. Tour guides were awsume.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii is a beauitful city and this tour was definitely worth it. The volcano was a terrific site and would highly recommend it, however the hike is rather difficult so be prepared!

From USD $ 149.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message