5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1829 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1829 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides Monica and Luca were excellent kept us informed right throughout the day and made sure everyone kept to time during the journey, at Pompeii we were met my a local guide Enzo who was very good as well. Make sure you have decent shoes as the hike up the mountain is on loose gravel. The views of the crater and the surrounding cities are amazing at the top...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun day out for us! Pompeii and Vesuvius were absolutely outstanding and our guides (Anna and Siliana) were great, they knew so much local history and landmarks and would point out interesting things for us on the way to and from pompeii on the bus but still gave us time to snooze.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Magic! Great guides/driver. No delays. It was what we thought it would be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Everything happened on time. The bus was comfortable and the lunch was great. Both tour guides on the bus with us were wonderful. The driver was very good and the local guide at the site was very knowledgeable and helpful. I really appreciated the comfort stops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience on the tour was a good one. We had a little difficulty understanding the tour guide once we were at Pompeii, but other than that, it was a great experience. The coach driver showed a lot of expertise driving up Mt Vesuvius and the tour guides on the bus were knowledgible. The tour guide lady was very kind and showed a lot of enthusiasm and assistance to all tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a day trip not to be missed. Our guide, Melanie, was outstanding. She has a wonderful attitude and seems to love her job. The bus driver was great. Always felt safe, even on those curves up to Mt Vesuvius. Enzo was our guide in Pompeii and he made the place come alive. Pompeii is so interesting, now I want to learn more about the excavations there. Mt V was a hike!! But at 72 and 68 my wife and I were able to make it. I will definitely book through Viator again. We got all we were promised and more.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful!
Melody ... Tour guide was very helpful!
Guide at Pompeii terrific!!
Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I bought this trip for my friend for Christmas to allow her to fulfil a lifelong ambition of seeing Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. We had high hopes and we weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to have Melanie as our guide and she made the day really special. The locations of Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii were amazing in their own right, the views back from Vesuvius over Naples a particular highlight of mine. Melanie however kept us entertained with facts, figures and humour on the 3 hour journey down from Rome and back again. We were looked after from start to finish and it was a joy to be a part of the tour. I can't recommend this highly enough. Melanie, if you read this, we took your advice and visited La Carbonara in Monti on our last night after booking! and had the best meal of the trip. :- thank you for the tip. Liz and Jen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

OUr guides both on the bus and Vincenzo at Pompeii were interesting, informed, helpful and interested. Well worth every penny and I would highly recommend the experience and I don't think you could do it off your own back for this price. The pizza and meal was awesome. Would recommend trippers to go to the little delicatessen that is a few metres from the bus stop/ toilet break not the services that everyone is ushered into for a quick purchase of buffalo mozzarella on the way back: deliciously good and fab for tea when you get home to your hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. Couldn't recommend it enough. Its a long day but the 2 guides were amazing and such fun. Well worth the money and time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing experience I honestly could not fit how much of a good time we had on this review. Our tour guides Melanie and Hector from city wonders were informative and made the day fly by. This is a must in my book and hopefully you will get the same tour guides. Thanks for everything we will be back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Love, love, loved it. What a place... don't miss it. Also went to Mt. Vesuvius and got to climb it. Amazing... what ever you do, you have to go. Excellent tour, guide was fantastic. Whole trip so worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent! Our guides were incredible, very friendly and knowledgeable as well as organized. It was a great first experience and as we booked other tours throughout our trip we learned that the guides can make or break the tour...so I couldn't have asked for better!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Enrico was our tour guide in Pompei and he was spectacular!
He was engaging, informative, and made the tour very interesting. We enjoyed his portion of the trip.
Melanie was a bus tour guide. She was willing to give lots of help in order to recommend restaurants, gelato shops, tourist places to visit and non-tourist places to visit. She also shared some interesting pointers about the historical background to each area of Italy we were travelling through wine, limoncello, foods, gelato, etc.
The experience was very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very well organised trip,the girls Stephanie and J low where great! Told us many things about our trip and also helped us with our stay in Rome with information about travel, restaurants and things to watch out for in Rome. All in All a great day we will all remember Thanks again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful tour, excellent tour guides, I only wished there were more hours in the day! Overall, a great day trip from Rome. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent

From USD $ 149.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message