5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1730 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1730 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide for the day (Sarah) was excellent. She made the the bus ride to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii go much quicker, giving us a lot of interesting information and facts along the way. The man who took us on the actual tour of Pompeii itself was also very knowledgeable and made it very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They shared history facts along the way to Pompeii and in regards to the museum and how it came to be. They also presented information on the re-discovery, excavation, and of the extent of the volcano eruption - current land we were traveling where once was the bay, etc. Original tour had mentioned that we may be taken up Mt. Vesuvius to hike to the top. That was not mentioned during tour. I did not ask about it. And in all fairness the top of Mt. Vesuvius was cloud covered and there were rain sprinkles occasionally - so that may have been the reason. Loved the whole experience including the history class explaining the existing portions of the Appian Way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant. Fantastic Value and the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable. Would definitley recommend this package to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Great history! Great guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous tour and another tick off the bucket list. Roberto was the best tour guide I came across, he was so professional and engaging. If he was my history teacher at school I may have paid more attention, he explained everything in a way that had you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more, and considering its such a long tour, it never felt like information overload. mt Vesiusius is a decent climb but achievable with a basic fitness level and the view is definitely worth the effort. the pizza for lunch was really good but the service in the restaurant was very slow, would have preferred another 1/2hr at Pompeii. We split into two groups and our guide at Pompeii was also interesting and loved his sense of humour. On the day of our tour we had issues with the bus and hats off to our driver and Roberto who handled it so professionally ensuring it didn't impact on our tour in any way and arranging a replacement bus and we still got back to Rome on time. well done guys you two were incredible with the way you handled that issue!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic tour! Guides were very knowledgable and happy to help. Would highly recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely fantastic trip! We travelled with our two boys (aged 8 and 11 years) and were a little worried about how they would find it. They both LOVED it, especially climbing Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating and the pizza delicious! Like all the other reviews would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I went during the first week of November. There were not a ton of other tourist buses but I was still able to climb Mount Vesuvius. The tour guides on the bus and in Pompeii were charming and informative. A lot of the treasure had been moved out of the ruins in Pompeii and into museums but guests are still able to see an ancient Roman brothel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day with wonderful guides Anna and Roberto. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour guides I've ever had. Very impressed with their wit, camaraderie and their knowledge. Kept us entertained for the entire bus trip!! But also had enough sense to give us quiet time to nap early morning and evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our trip. Our guide Maximus was great!!! He was so nice, friendly, funny, and gave us lots of history. We were so happy we booked this trip and would recommend it to anyone thinking of seeing Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have always been fascinated with Pompeii so to be able to go and see it was a once in a lifetime opportunity. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and lots of fun. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have done if we had have visited Pompeii on our own. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend. Would have perhaps liked a bit more time at Pompeii but I don't think it would ever be enough time as there is so much to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fanastic day trip - climbing Mt Vesuvius was worth the effort (for a not so fit 45+ Tip - set your own pace, don't rush and DONT try and keep pace with your offspring!! LOVE... Love...Loved....Pompeii! Sarah our City Wonders guide was fantastic as was our Pompeii guide was also great. We have since recommended this tour to other travellers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

From USD $ 166.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message