5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it. Guides were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour with great guides, we had Alessandre and Geo and an amazing driver called Antonio. The local guides at Pompeii were also fantastic. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An early start but it was definitely worth it! It was scorching hot but our affable knowledgeable guide at Pompeii whilst showing and telling us about key sites was very considerate and he tried to keep us in the shade when possible. Pompeii was fabulous - to see well preserved buildings and objects on such a scale in context not in a museum. Our guide brought it to life. You could spend all day there! After our visit to Pompeii we had a tasty pizza lunch nearby. We then were taken nearly all the way up Vesuvius and had 1.5 hours free time - to walk to the crater and enjoy the views. The walk to the first viewing point shop where you can buy drinks, ices as well as souvenirs is the longer stretch to the crater loose pumice and dusty on a fairly steep path - good exercise but strenuous in the heat so make sure you have water at the start. Don't worry about getting to the 3rd the last viewing point on the rim of the crater as you can enjoy the same views from the 2nd viewing point on the rim also has a shop.We thoroughly enjoyed our day out. Highly recommend this well-planned tour.Our guides on the coach and for Vesuvius, Anna and Amanda were very knowledgeable, humorous and kept a steady flow of info on sites as we passed as well as passing on snippets about living in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides! Only complaint would be the lunch - awful pizza which was very disappointing! But i wasn't on the tour for the pizza, so really a minor issue! Guide at Pompeii was also excellent!! :

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had the 3A's as our tour guides, I really enjoyed the amount of information they provided us in regards to the trip as well as answering all the questions we had. They are a great group of guides and very friendly, I really recommend this tour as well, there were amazing sites to see and I was able to see them all thanks to this enjoyable tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We thoughly enjoyed the tour. Our 2 guides, Rob and Andy Bert and Ernie, were wonderful, and had a great rapport. They were both extremely knowledgable, and answered all our questions with enthusiasm. They also answered questions unrelated to the tour, ie, hints and tips while in Rome, and also other tours available.
Great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent trip and directions. The guides were fantastic - ? Luca Italian and Andrew Australian - they were very caring and explained things really well -enjoyed thoroughly and will recommend to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip with wonderful tour guides. Highly enjoyable day trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite part of our trip! Our guides, Robert and Guilio, were funny and knowledgeable, and our on-site guide in Pompeii Willy? was great also. The food for lunch was served at a catering hall, it wasn't bad but I wish we were able to eat at a real restaurant to get a little bit more authentic meal. The bus was comfortable, I would definitely do this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fun day. The guides were both exceptional and provided us with a wealth of knowledge both at the sites and as we passed locations along the way. Well worth the money. The only downside is it was hot but that's Italy in the Summer. Not your fault. Great experience. Would recommend it to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The guide Andrew is very helpful, humourous and informative.
The trip is well- organised. I highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wow! That pretty much covers it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides were informative and fun. The walk up Vesuvius was steep, dusty and extremely hot, but worth it! Pompeii is a fascinating and remarkable historic site. You could spend hours and hours exploring.Wow! I'd recommend this tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing adventure!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour! I 100 recommend doing this tour, the guides are very knowledgable, friendly and helpful. Every part of the tour is well done and planned and the lunch is great. It's amazing value for the day you get and enjoyable. My family and I had a great day and would easily do it again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Trip was great. I rate it a 5. I enjoy this trip very much The guide is knowledgeable .

Veronica F
Honduras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite tour of all we did in Italy! Climbing Mount Vesuvius was a workout but well worth it! The views from there are great - if you don't get a cloudy day as we did - but still climbing the volcano and seeing the crater up close was awesome.

Going into the Pompeii Ruins was also awesome. Our guide there was very cool, knowledgable and fun. He gave us time to look at all the sites and take pictures, while still moving the group along at a good pace. Take this tour on your trip. It is an experience unlike any other!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anna and Antonella from City Wonders were excellent guides and provided so much useful information about both the tour and about Rome. The tour was really well run and there were no problems. The tour guide of Pompeii was also excellent and informative and the radio system worked well. We were given adequate time to have lunch, and to get to the top of Vesuvius and back we made it to the 3rd shop at the top! It was a fun day out and was definitely worth it. I would recommend it to friends and family.

From USD $ 153.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message