Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 2311 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

colesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a Great day out. Trip was well organised from start to finish. Coach was comfortable and our tour guide Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. Full day was filled with interesting facts about Rome, the route we travelled and Pompeii itself. The journey could have been a bit long and boring had it not been for the Tour guides and their interesting in-depth knowledge. Pompeii was amazing, there was much more to it than i had thought and i would highly recommend this trip.

Angela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had two guides on our trip- one gave a lot of interesting anecdotes about Italians which was interesting. Pompeii was excellent from a historical perspective. We had an excellent guide there. Then we had a very nice lunch with traditional Pizza from Naples , followed by a thunder storm on Mt Vesuvius.

Be aware that lunch is not in Naples as advertised.

Shane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, would highly recommend. Pompeii would be too overwhelming without a guided tour.

Cynthia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guides were awesome!

Julia m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the trip! Was traveling with my 20 year old son and 77 year old mother . Was fabulous and well organized. Stephanie and Ann were very informative and professional. Had an awesome personality and was very kind and helpful to everyone . I highly recommend this trip.

Ali R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had wonderful tour guides - Roberto and Anna - who were very knowledgeable about Italy, Rome, and Pompeii. They were funny and interactive and I would definitely go on a tour with them again! Hiking Mt. Vesuvius was incredible, the views are beautiful. Also, Pompeii was wonderful. Again, we had a great guide who was knowledgeable and funny and showed us all of the best parts of the historic city and gave us plenty of time to take photographs of everything. If I'm ever in Rome again, I would definitely use Viator and the local tour company and go see these places again!

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was an amazing day, the guides were wonderful and their choice of other expedition was well conceived as neither the mountain nor the museum were open. Well worth the cost and the guides went further than expected.

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Anna and Melanie were fantastic! They thought very quickly on their feet when both the museum and Mount Vesuvius were closed they brought us to Solfatera which was very interesting. thanks, ladies!

Linda G T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guides, Anna and Roberto, were exceptionally knowledgable, personable, and helpful. We loved this all day tour!

Maura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I truly enjoyed this day trip to Pompei. Both Anna and Roberts were knowledgeable, charming, helpful, and entertaining guides in this tour. The 3 hours drive to Napoli and the Vesuvio seemed even shorter thanks to both Anna and Roberts. They explained in depth the history, geography and even the geology grazie Roberts of the Vesuvio, Napoli and its surrounding areas. The stop at the restaurant was fun with choices of different pizzas and drinks. Pompei tour was fascinating and informative. We stop also for a sampling of Limoncello. Coming back home in the evenings Roberts entertained us with a couple of legends of the Lacrima Christi del Vesuvio. I really loved this trip.

Nelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We booked this tour a day before and we were very impressed by the experience.
Our tour leader Ana was amazing ! Knowledgeable, professional and informative.
Lunch was great in a nice restaurant.
Tour at Pompei with Enrico was amazing !
Mario, bus driver was great !
Nelly H / Miami Fl

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well organised and a special day. It rained heavy during our visit but our guides couldn't have been more helpful, getting everyone rain ponchos. Such an amazing place well worth the trip.

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were on a 3 day trip to Rome and decided to take a day trip to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The early morning start was worth it as we experienced the right amount of time in both places. Our tour guide was both information and very funny and also very helpful.

Mrs Jean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour. Guides were excellent. A superb experience!

Aphrodite Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did this tour on August 28th and just wow - there are no words to say just how freakin incredible it was! Firstly I have to mention our tour guide, Mike. I'm really not exaggerating when I say that he is the best in town, or in the world! An American living in Rome, he was very laidback with some hilarious crude jokes and taught us about Roman/Pompeii history in such a way that we were hanging on every word! It was a long day from 0715 to 2000 but having Mike as our guide it didn't drag at all!

Ok so regarding the day, climbing baby Vesuvius was exhilarating. Exhausting yes but more so exhilarating when you finally reach the top, I personally felt like a superhero when I did. Don't forget to buy a postcard for a few Euros and get it stamped to say you climbed Vesuvius. Then had a pizza lunch in Naples which was quite nice, followed by a short bus ride to Pompeii. Walking around the ruins of Pompeii was indescribable, knowing what happened to the once-thriving city! An experience not to be missed! In conclusion to say this tour was amazing would be a major understatement, wish I could rate it 6 stars :-

Ana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time, we were lucky as the weather was great and it wasn't too crowded. Andrew was an amazing guide, really attentive and always making sure everyone was okay, while giving us tips on history, how to avoid tourist traps and also making us laugh. A really enjoyable trip, would definitely recommend.

Sonja M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guides did a fantasics job on this tour, we learnt so much about Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. Also on this tour we had nice lunch in Naples, although it was a long day it was great day.

Angus h M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour and excellent tour guides who gave out plenty of information about all aspects of the sights and the area,

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow, the opportunity to climb Mt Vesuvius and look into the crater was not to be missed, although quite a long trip from Rome. Pompeii was just as I expected, only bigger, much bigger. Could have done a whole day at Pompeii easily as there is so much to see. The guide was first class and very helpful.

Tamara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everything was very well organised, we loved every single minute!!

Connie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We loved everything about this tour and highly recommend it. From start to finish we were so pleased that we decided to book this tour. Our guide was informative and approachable. We were combined with another group and we enjoyed listening to the other guide as well. We learned a great deal that day!

Amanda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Hiking up Mt. Vesuvius is one of the coolest things we did on our honeymoon. Definitely a one of a kind experience. Pompeii was really interesting, but also a bit morbid, as you might expect considering the circumstances. Long bus ride both ways, so if you can do this from Naples instead of Rome that's probably better. But still an amazing trip.

Adam F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Massimo was a great guide and made the trip even better.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was extremely well done, and the service was beyond expectation when rain gear appeared in the sudden downpour. The guides were extremely effective and gave us a great background into the life of people in Pompei. The rating of the climb on Vesuvius might need to be adjusted - it was more difficult than we anticipated from the description - the loose rock and gravel, in particular, but also the uphill climb itself. All in all, though, it was a fabulous experience and the guides were terrific.

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing tour. Our guide Andrew not only had great historical knowledge, but was personable and recommended great restaurants. At Pompeii, Ciara seemed like an archaeology professor. She was incredible and had a great personality. Bring a water bottle, the water at Pompeii is the freshest water we have ever tasted. Plan on hiking up Mt. Vesuvius, it is so worth it.

Viewing 3 of 93

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 152.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message