5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1970 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1970 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day and we saw a good amount of Pompeii and then hiked Mt Vesuvius note that that was very cold at the end of March/beginning of April. Worth it but dress appropriately. The temperatures are very different in the 2 spots. I also thought the place we went to in Naples would be more authentic and that we would see more of the city, but the pizza was good, especially the crust. Tour guides on the bus were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Everything was easy and our guide Stephanie was very knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide, lots of good information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompei is a lot bigger than I thought. The tour guides were very helpful an courteous. Bus driver was very skillful navigating Vesuvius. I would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant, our guides were very informative and funny. It was a busy but very fun tour! Would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was something I'll never forget. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, personable, and went out of their way to ensure each person was taken care of.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The lady that took us on the tour was very good she told us a lot about Pompeii. It was more than what we expected. Would Deffinately recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour. It can get very crowded tho.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert and Julia were fantastic! Very passionate and energetic, made the whole day that much more enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was probably the best tour that I took in Italy. It is cumbersome to get transportation from Rome to Naples to Pompeii so this tour was great that it organized transportation for you. It was an easy meeting location and the transportation was seamless. Additionally, the guides on the bus were awesome and very helpful. The first part was the ability to hike up Mt. Vesuvius good thing about the bus is takes you as far as tourists can go by vehicle. Caution: the hike is a little harder than I expected nothing terrible but nothing to dismiss. Wear shoes. After that pizza for lunch is included. Finally, the Pompeii tour was awesome and great guides. The other downside was there was not a ton of time to wonder around on your own outside of the two hour tour. If you are looking to spend longer there, you may not want to this. Overall, it is a long day but probably the best way to see these attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides Robert and Anna were incredible! We liked this agency so much that we booked them for the Vatican tour also even though we already had a down payment with another guide. The bus ride there was comfortable and very informative. The guide at the site was really funny and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT tour, the guides were amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was wonderful, the tour of Pompeii was really nice. The walk to the top of the mountain was tough but well worth the walk!!

I was disappointed in the Pompeii trip because I had read up on it before arriving and the tour did not take us to the big coliseum or the place where a number of people were covered in the street. I know it would have been a little further walk but again it would have been well worth the walk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything about this tour was amazing. It is a long day but if you want a high-quality tour, this is the one to do. Stephanie and Anna were our City Wonders tour guides and we honestly used their tips on traveling Rome and Italy for the rest of the trip - they went above and beyond to describe where to eat, what neighborhoods to check out, where to find good leather, how to avoid tourist traps, etc. and as stated before, we used these tips for the rest of our week in Italy.
And regarding our tour, Stephanie and Anna did a great job at prepping us on what to expect for the day. The drive from Rome to Pompeii is a little long but there are comfort stops along the way for restrooms and coffee/snacks. The pizza lunch is delicious and worth the wait.
Enrico was our actual tour guide of Pompeii and he was potentially the most enjoyable guide we had throughout our entire trip. He was knowledgable, funny dry sense of humor, and was able to answer all our questions.
The trip up Vesuvius was not too challenging - and the views of Naples from the top are breathtaking.
Overall, this is a high-quality tour that goes above and beyond when it comes to the information and experience they provide. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was very informative and interesting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this was a very enjoyable tour, all our guides were just fantastic. and the bus driver was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Knowledgeable guides who seemed to care about us having a great experience. Lunch location was the best pizza we had. Pompeii guide was so informative. The day exceeded ou expectations. Thanks Elena and Julia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guides were a wealth of knowledge. Very entertaining the entire trip. We had a great time, even my wife who hates history and ancient ruins.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day - but so worth the effort.
An Early star, and a late finish but our tour guides made the day with their commentary and knowledge.
We learnt all sorts of historical information, as well as the history of pizza making, good restaurants in Rome and how to tell a good gelataria!
And then there was the locations, My Vesuvius was shrouded in clouds / fog, and it was still great to visit, then Pompeii was excellent, our daughter had studied all of this in school and it brought it all to life or her
Could not recommend this trip more

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My mum and I did this tour this past Thursday, and loved every moment of it. Our guide Elena was brilliant and very helpful with everything. We really loved Pompeii, and it should be on everyone's bucket list. Just an incredible place. The trek up Mt Vesuvius, although steep, was doable and well worth the effort. The only critique would be that there was only a very basic salad offered to those who are gluten intolerant for lunch. We definitely recommend this tour and the company.

From USD $ 152.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message