5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1691 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1691 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing!!! A lot history

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip the guides where amazing there knowledge and enthusiasm was first class. Well worth the day away from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very amazing tour! Pompeii is huge and there is so much to see. But the view from the too of the volcano is truthfully breath taking! It's worth the mile long hike from the bus stop to the top, very rewarding!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant day out. 100% recommend this trip. We loved every second of it. When we initially booked I was sure whether the day might be tiring with a lot of driving and not much time at the actual sights. However I felt we had plenty of time at the sights to see everything that we needed/wanted to, and while the drive was long it was broken up with a few breaks. The tour guide was great, very chatty but interesting to listen to. The Pompeii local tour guide was very good and so knowledgeable. This daytrip ended up being a highlight of our holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was really worth the time and the money. Our tour leader, Violet was an excellent tour leader. On the coach we were two groups. The other tour leader, Siriana. took it in turnswith Violet to tell us about Rome and what we were going to see. The two of them together were simply marvelous. the driver Marius was also very efficient especially in handling a terrible jam on the way up to Vesuvius. The climb to the crater was hard but really worth it. The sight from up there was incredible. The food was acceptable though the room where we ate was really crowded. But Pompeii is an experience everyone should have at least once in one's life. Our guide there, Gennaro, not only knew what he was talking about was also entertaining. He made this two hour visit of Pompeii extremely exciting. Pity we only had two hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our family of five recently did this day trip. Our kids are aged 16, 13 and 10. Everyone really enjoyed the day. The tour guides Robert and Melanie couldn't have been more informative and helpful. Our 10 year old whom we were thinking may get a bit bored loved hearing the stories that Robert told along the way - it kept him very well entertained! Lunch in Naples was delicious, and all our kids who are pretty fussy when it comes to pizza gave it the thumbs up. We would definitely reccommend this trip to others and even though it is a long day, it is not rushed and there is plenty of down time at the restaurant and on the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Luca (tour escort/guide) and Bernadette (@ Pompeii) we're both fabulous! Luca enlightened us both to and from Naples (Pompeii). I was extremely pleased and impressed with his historical knowledge. He enthusiasm and genuine interest were contagious. And, he selected an absolutely wonderful restaurant with the perfect amount of carb to climb to the top ... Ok, first gift shop at Mt. Vesuvius. It was a long day, but I highly encourage and recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A M A Z I N G!!! Andrea as an excellent driver of a big Scania bus, Antonella and Violetta tour guides so professional, knowledgeable and funny. I want to go again to Pompeii...Ah Naples, Campagna "La bella Italy"
Of course with Viator and CityWonders tours.
Augusto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding tour. Mike, the tour guide made the experience great and educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour! Is really worth taking the tour. Doing it by yourself will not be the same. The tour guides were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip, Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii were breathtaking, we were in awe. Lunch was lovely, pizza and a glass of wine. Bus journey didn't seem that long as we had brilliant tour guides Robert and Hector?!.Those guys really made it great. Two words...BOOK IT!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a terrific time on our tour. Our tour guide was Mike who is very knowledgeable-and fun! Mike worked very hard to engage everyone on our tour, and succeeded. The bus itself was lovely with leather, reclining seats and plenty of room. However, the lunch was disappointing. To be in the city where pizza was invented and be served what tasted like frozen supermarket pizza was disconcerting. Our guide at Pompeii was Louisa-adorable! She obviously has led this tour many, many times, yet she made it fresh and so very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is an absolute must if you want to see Pompeii and Vesuvius. Though a tiring day - you spend the right amount of time exploring both Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guide in Pompeii - Giorgio was great! Our tour guides for the day Massimo and Sara kept us both well informed and entertained!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip and well organised, the two guides we had Sarah and Roberto were fantastic, very knowledgeable and made the journey pass really quickly. Pompeii is a fantastic place full of history and the wonder of what actually happened being brought to life. Be prepared for an exhausting walk up Vesuvius be it will be really worth it as the views are spectacular. A great day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Climb up Mt.Vesuvius was fantastic. It was a more challenging hike than we anticipated so may be difficult for some. The view of the crater and of Naples was breath-taking. Pompeii was amazing. Our guide was great. Could have had a bit longer here as it felt a bit rushed. The lunch was okay but not amazing.

From USD $ 169.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message