5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2097 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2097 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely amazing trip, our guide Anna was incredibly knowledgeable and extremely well spoken in many different languages. Our guidein Pompeii, Lucia was equally as knowledgeable about the city and made it an interesting afternoon out.

The trip was planned to the 't' and went off without a hitch minus some aching legs that evening!

I would fully recommend the trip to family and friends.

Thank you for a fantastic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guides were wonderful, entertaining and informative. Enjoyed the whole day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out! Our guide, Antonella was fabulous and very knowledgable. The hike up Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the guided tour through Pompeii was outstanding. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended - Packed a lot into limited time. Tour guides were excellent Anna and Luca. Our driver Marius did an amazing job of getting us up Mount Vesuvius - narrow, twisty road! Great way of getting to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Fabulous pizza at lunch time. Whole trip worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized trip leaving from Piazza del Popolo, full day trip on air conditioned bus. Tour guide at Pompeii was very colorful, informative and funny. Lunch at pizzeria outside Naples was good for margarita pizza. The visit to Mount Vesuvius offered some incredible views of the Bay of Naples. The hike up the trail to the summit takes a good 25 minutes on a dusty trail with gravel and is steep in parts, comfortable shoes a must.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The entire trip is amazing with Julios and Robert as our guide. They are very knowledgeable, fun and took care of us ensure that every tour member is safe and sound.

Highly recommendable to experience Pompeii and hiking up the volcano. Have to do it once in a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful trip. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour. Friendly and professional guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour. Luca was our tour guide, very thorough he really knew his history. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent trip, well organised and friendly and informative staff. Meal was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic trip! We had two guides, both who spoke very clear English. They told us so many interesting things we would have never known. Pompeii was very impressive. The bus was very clean and comfortable. All around five stars.

Sira
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth the time and money. Knowledgeable and professional guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely fantastic if tiring day. Our guides Julio, Luca and driver Antonio were exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, informative and great fun. Mount Vesuvius was amazing as was Pompeii. So glad we were provided with a guide around the city or we would have missed so much wandering on our own. A really well planned trip. Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, definitely worth going! The tour guides were amazing, full of interesting information and kept everyone fully entertained. Lunch was the best pizza we had in our week in Italy. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a cool thing to see. My brother and I are traveling together on a gap year, and we had a great time and learned so much! Our tour guide Alexandra was very informative, and even asked every person on the bus individually if they had an questions as we were driving back to the city. You can tell she really loves what she does. In Pompeii Bernadette was our guide and she was great! Very informative and great sense of humor! I would definitely recommend this trip to others and I loved the tour guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A WONDERFUL DAY - Luke, Andy and the bus driver were great. Everything was well planned. Wonderful lunch - exceeded my expectations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic but challenging climb to the top of Vesivius and wonderful tour of Pompeii. Extremely friendly and well organised trip of a lifetime!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Trip to Pompeii was Great and a Must See! Our 2 tour guides Julia and Silia were Fantastic very informative not only about our trip to Pompeii but about everything else in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii Day Trip was a great tour. It takes a full day but is definitely worth your time. The tour guides were exceptional as was the bus trip and accommodations. I would highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an amazing trip back in history! The bus ride is about 3 hours with a break half way. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The pizza stop was super delicious and you even get the history of pizza! I definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing place and great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing excursion even though we about melted! It was hotter than Haddes the day we went! Antoine the bus driver was very talented at those hairpin turns up the mountain on our way to Mt. Vesuvius and Anna and Stephanie were the best guides of our entire trip! They were all about balance of fun and information. Their customer service and attention to detail were top notch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour guides were excellent and very entertaining and provided us with a lot of useful and interesting information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an amazing tour. A big part of the reason we liked it was that our tour guides Anna and Stephanie provided so much wonderful information about tour as well as the surrounding areas as we drove there. Would definitely recommend this.

From USD $ 152.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message