5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2030 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2030 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Luca and Hector were brilliant. They had loads of information to pass on, and explained about the sights as we traveled to Pompeii.
What this booking doesn't say is that your lunch is included in the price, and the restaurant we stopped at was lovely and cool.
This trip is more than worth it's money, but be aware the climb to Vasuviouse is hard going, especially if your not super fit, but worth it for the views alone. Would I recommend this trip....YES!

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour with CityWonders. I can not recommend this company enough. Our guide was Antonella, and she partnered with another guide, Elena. They were both fantastic. They were knowledgeable about everything it seemed. They gave us facts during our bus ride about the places we were passing. They knew a lot about Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. They kept us entertained with fun anecdotes and stories throughout the trip. The 3 hour bus ride was broken in half with a 20 minute food/bathroom break. There was a local guide, Lena, at Pompeii that took us through the site, who was also very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the most of our short time there. The lunch at the restaurant was fairly well organized, for Italy. Italians I found work at their own pace. Our bus driver Alberto was amazing. It was a little scary taking the small rode up to Mount Vesuvius, be he did a wonderful job. The climb up to the top was difficult. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have a little longer at Mt. Vesuvius. Overall though, everything was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Great hike and view from the top of the volcano! Pomepeii is an incredible experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing by the two most enjoyable knowledgable characters,our Tour Guides Julio and Alexandra. Orange Pink Group. The tour would have to be the highlight of our trip. It was well organized, the stop offs the lunch. Mt Versivus, Ancient Pompeii. Impressive!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, the highlight of my stay in Italy. Our guides, Luca and Julio and driver Massimo could not have been better. The walk up the side of Vesuvius to look down into the crater capped it all off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had been to Pompeii before on my own, and this time took the tour since I was travelling with my daughter and granddaughter who were first timers. I was amazed at how much information I had missed on my first visit and that was explained so clearly by our guides. Furthermore, the hike up Vesuvius was very enjoyable and the views absolutely outstanding. This trip is definitely worth the long bus ride to and fro. Our guides, Antonella and Elaina were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sites visited were incredibly. The tour structure Bus and guides were also very good and everything ran on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guides, good amount of time in each location, nice buses. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. Melanie was our tour guide, she answered all of our questions and was very knowledgable. We learned a lot of interestings facts. Please take heed her warning you will be wore out by the time the trip is over, I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our tour guide Luca was incredibly knowledgable and helped create an unforgettable experience from his outstanding knowledge to his jokes and charm. the organisation of the tour was great with smooth transitions between trips and coach journeys. The archaeologist at Pompeii was also fantastic with his explanations and engaging content as we were guided through the ancient city. The included meal was also delicious and was far larger than expected. Highly recommended and worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were so glad we chose to go on this trip. First, our guides were so knowledgable and fun! And the guide at Pompeii was awesome! It was amazing to see a whole town preserved! The climb to Vesuvius wasn't too bad because it's a short hike and the view was beautiful. The bus ride was fun too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The schedule worked very well. Luca was extremely helpful and informative. Also the local Pompeii guide was well-informed and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a vey interresting and fun trip. We really enjoyed our guides Rob and Luca who told us a lot off historic facts in a very fun way. Best guides ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Ritz
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Melanie was Amazing! Although my group was large, she introduced herself with a handshake to each individual. Besides sharing the historical info for the trip, she also provided VERY valuable info on Rome's tipping system, restaurants menu and service, and how to know gelatos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Anna was wonderful. She had lot of knowledge and was very helpful. The trip was a good one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastique guides! Informative and fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister and I went on the tour yesterday and it was fantastic from start to finish.
Yes it's a super long day and the climb up the volcano can be testing at points but the satisfaction and view from the top is not to bemused!
Anna was very informative and really made the tour a special one

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant trip, full of history the guides on route were amazing and full of information, if you have time and can fit this tour in then would recommend .

From USD $ 150.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message