• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1483 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1483 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a fabulous trip. We had Mike as our guide and he made the day very entertaining. The guide we had in Pompeii was also excellent throwing in a lot of fun stuff during the tour. Climbing Mount Vesuvius was challenging but it was worth the effort as the views were amazing. Even though the bus broke down on the way home it didn't spoil the trip and 'hats off' to the team for sorting it out quickly and without a lot of hassle. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A most interesting and enjoyable day. We were met by a pleasant and friendly rep who kept watch on us all day to ensure we didn't get lost! At Pompeii we were escorted around by a knowledgeable guide who gave us information without asking us questions as many guides do! Following a tasty pizza lunch it was off to Vesuvius. The climb was quite steep and took about 35 minutes but we did have time to walk around the crater and buy souvenirs and ice creams before getting back on our comfortable coach for the return journey. We stopped for coffee/tea for a short while on both outward and return journeys. Our total time on the trip was about 13 hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Giovana was an excellent tour director. She kept us in line and on time and smiled while she did it. Great sights and good background information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was Roberto...fabulous, outstanding, great sense of humour and a wealth of information, more than we remotely ever expected. The bus ride which at first we weren't looking forward to went so incredibly quickly thanks to Roberto.
Mt.Vesuius...that was a hike!!! While we were given ample time to climb the mountain, one does have to pace themselves and be happy knowing they made it to whatever level they did. Phenomenal views of the bay of Naples, great pictures, and a sense of accomplishment for climbing up the volcano.
Pompeii...outstanding!!!!:) our local guide Enrico...okee, doo kee!!! and Ba Bini!!! He was fabulous...he needs to be acknowledged immensely. Great history, told with passion. Thanks, Enrico.
Would highly recommend this tour..push your limits!!!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour of a lifetime! Tour Guides both informative and funny. Will treasure memories and will recount for years to come! Many thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great day. Wonderful tour guide. Pizza was ok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour to Pompeii was awesome! Our guides Violet and Antonella were great, very friendly and gracious. They explained in detail how the day's tour would proceed and provided us with detailed stories about everything we saw. The ruins of Pompeii are amazing, a must see. The view from the crater of Mt. Vesuvius is breathtaking. My family and I are so happy that we took this tour. Thank you for a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a very good tour. The guides were entertaining and informative. We stopped for pizza in Naples. It was good. We then went on to climb Vesuvius. We then moved on to Pompeii. It was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend I. You must bring your walking shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour. Our guides from Rome and our guide in Pompeii were all very good and very informative. During the bus ride to and from, our Rome guides provided a lot of helpful information regarding things to do, places to eat, etc. in Rome. This was above and beyond!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed our trip, was blown away by how well preserved Pompeii was. This was the one both me and my husband were looking forward to. The views from mount vesivius are amazing, im really unfit so was tough climbing up at first but worth it. The guides who took us through were so informative we were in the purple group with Violet. She was knowledgeable, helpful and really took the time to tell us about Rome, Pompeii and mount vesivius. She also helped us book other trips and recommended different ways to get to the sights. When at Pompeii we had Louisa, she was also fantastic. Really knew her stuff. I would so recommend the tours otherwise you would miss the importance of different things. The sight is huge and they help you see the important things and really give you a sense of how it was. Definetly recommend this trip and a big thanks to the guides as they made the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well organized, with exceptional local tour guides. We visited all the sites, learned quite a bit,and had an excellent driver. The bus wasn't too crowded, and the lunch was good. Overall a good value for the money for a quick overview of Pompeii and Vesuvious

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The views at the top of Mount Vesuvius were fantastic and the tour of Pompeii was fascinating. It's a long journey but time passed quickly because of the knowledge that was shared by our guide. Lunch at the pizza restaurant was lovely as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our Pompeii Trip was wonderful. Our guide, was so informed and gave us a great history lesson and kept the long day interesting. I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was amazing and our tour guides Roberto and Mossimo were outstanding We loved every minute of it. We took other tours after boarding theNCL cruse ship and the were awful. I highly recommend iator

From USD $ 184.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message