• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1501 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1501 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great day out thanks to Antonella and Daniel for their wonderful commentary. The bus trip and the lunch were great, but the climbing Mt Vesuvius and walking through the streets of Pompeii were absolutely breathtaking. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in history or nature. A truly brilliant day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Hectoro and Antonella were great hosts. It's a long day (13 hours), but totally worth it. It's about a 3-hour ride on the bus to Vesuvius, with a stop halfway for a breakfast and bathroom break. You hike up the top part of Vesuvius. It's about a 25-minute hike, and it is pretty steep. Definitely don't wear flip flops, and if you're out of shape, it could be tough. The pizza lunch was better than I expected, and the tour of Pompeii was unbelievable. It's so expansive, and our tour guide Louisa really knew her stuff. Put this trip on your list if you have a day free. One bit of advice -- use the restrooms you come across during the Pompeii tour if you can. At the end of the tour, there are only 2 bathrooms, and it was utter chaos for the hundreds of people who finished the tour and waited. There are a few scattered around the old city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic day. Learnt so much as the guides had a wealth of knowledge. Really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Great lunch too! Very happy and highly recommend!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Violette did a lovely job keeping our tour on time and entertaining us throughout the long day with interesting stories. This is a fabulous tour! Led by professionals!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Perfectly amazing trip never to be missed. The guide was very good ( masimo).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this tour. This was so well done from beginning to end. Our tour guides were Roberto and Massimo- simply amazing. They had a wealth of information to share. They were funny, entertaining and simply engaging. The 3 hour trip flew by. We loved all the historical information and stories. The bus does stop for a break after 90 minutes or so at a coffee shop/souvenir shop. At Pompeii, we were met by a local guide who was also great. Following the tour, we were taken to a pizza lunch in Pompeii. This was not in Naples as the description of this tour implies, but that was still ok. Unfortunately, following lunch we were told that Mount Vesuvius was closed for the day, due to a tragic accident. The guides were very professional and did the best with an unanticipated situation. We were taken to Naples instead. We drove through for a city tour and then stopped at the archeological museum. Even though, we were disappointed we didn't get to climb Mt. Vesuvius, we still enjoyed this tour. I highly recommend visiting Pompeii with this tour company. These are simply the best tour guides you could have.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything about the trip was amazing and defiantly the highlight of our holiday! Our guide was brilliant, very knowledgeable and a great character! Easily the best guide I've ever had! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone considering a trip to Pompeii, it was a long day but nothing too taxing! The trip up Vesuvius was spectacular and possibly my favorite part!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Group leaders on the bus were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Although Mt. Vesuvius was closed due to rain, the museum we went to in Naples was very good. The English speaking tour guide in Pompeii was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Pompeii and the design of the city. Also showed a sense of humor at the right times of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip. Tour guide MArsello was great. Very funny and knowledgeable. Fantastic tour guide....highly recommend. Lunch and wine were great..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FYI: If you plan the walk up to the top of Mount Vesuvius make sure you wear closed shoes. Flip flops will be a problem walking on the loose gravel and dirt. Very hot at Pompeii. Bus driver will have water for 1 Euro. Bring a hat. 3 hour bus ride from Rome. Rest stop half way. Pizza lunch with drink included.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great time!!! I like the guided tour best because we get to hear the stories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip very well organised. Guides Cyriana and Violet were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. Although a long day the coach was comfortable and Pompeii and Vesuvious worth the trek.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Pompeii and Vesuvius tour was AWESOME! Mossimo an Luisa are the best tour guides. They are incredibly knowledgable of Italy's history and are funny to boot! We would definitely recommend and cannot wait for our next trip to Rome, so we can book them for a different tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides (Peter and Stephanie) were fantastic. They were so knowledgeable and enhanced the trip with lots of facts about the region on the bus ride. Willy the guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable and quite entertaining as well. We thoroughly enjoyed the hole day.

From USD $ 183.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message