5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1691 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1691 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic Tour. Violet and Massimo were a great team. Lots of fun. We will always remember out time at Pompeii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day. Tour guides (Antonella and Robert ) were fantastic, really friendly and so informative without being too much. The walk around Pompeii was unbelievable and we were lucky enough to climb mt Vesuvius..... Amazing amazing amazing........ I would recommend this tour. Worth the money 10 times over.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the highlights of our visit to the Rome area! OMG Robert could not have been better with his well rounded knowledge of all that is Pompeii and so rounding area. His female college ( sorry her name escapes me (maybe Melanie) was charming!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour. The tour guide, Mike, was great. He was informative, funny and got on well with everyone. Could not have had a better experience. WOW!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing, the guide was fantastic very knowledgeable. This day trip is a must loved every bit from start to finish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The timing was long, but extremely enjoyable due to the two tour guides we had aboard. Stephanie was far and away the most effective, interesting the knowledgeable guide we had over the past month. She was informative, without being over-bearing and gave us historical as well as current Italy facts. Mike was also good, but a bit on the self-absorbed side. He admitted his commentary would be a bit irreverent and edgy, but he was also funny, very informative and interesting. Having English-first-language guides who were history and architecture majors in college was a huge benefit. If there were six stars for this tour I would give it - but only if Stephanie and/or Mike were leading the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is Great!! the pizza in Napoli is very good. The climb to the rim of MT Vesuvius is wonderful and seeing the ruins of Pompeii is spectacular. It is a long day but worth every minute.
Take this tour if you can.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Due to weather issues, we were unable to visit Mt. Vesuvius. Instead, the tour took us to a museum in Naples that holds many of the artifacts that have been dug out of Pompeii - mundane items such as an iron skillet and cups, to more elaborate ones such as huge marble statues and an exquisite alabaster urn. I think we were lucky the weather sent us there. Pompeii itself was fantastic and the guide knowledgeable. I only wish we could have had more time to explore - but that would have taken a week!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

really enjoyed this trip. guides were interesting and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pompeii, we had already experienced it, but climbing Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking, definitely would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the climb to the crater well worth it. Loved Pompeii and our guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable. My only disappointment ......I would have liked a few minutes to shop for trinkets at Pompeii... We were asked not to due to time restrictions....yet we stopped for nearly an hour and a half for lunch! We were kept amused on the bus by our guides which made the trip and the kilometres fly! We had a ball. I would recommend this trip without hesitation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!!! The guides that we had on the bus were funny, very entertaining and full of information of the surrounding areas that we past on the 3 hour bus ride from Rome to Naples (and return). It was nice to get some "out of the box" details of things that you may have never known about. When we got to the entranceof Pompei we were matched up with the local guide who was very good at his job! He graced us with plenty of information and details on the ancient city. Of all the tours we took during our 3 weeks in Italy, this tour guide was on the ball when it came to the extreme amount of people in Pompei. He was really aware of his surroundings and moved our group though the city in a way that we weren't constantly being pushed by the hoards! Well done and very informative!

The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was neat. Not to worry, the bus take you to the base of the cone and it's only a short haul up hill to get to the first view of the crater. There's two additional stops that you can reach which give you a different view of the Crater. For those that are expecting lava you'll be dispapointed, although it's an active volcano, it's been dormant for 75 years so the crater looks like any open pit (if you familiar with mines). None the less it's really cool to say they we hiked it (our version of our story does not include the bus ride to the top. lol).

While we were there the Micro Climate changed and we couldn't see Naples below, which would have been nice. That's life!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guides were very good. They made the tour very interesting and enjoyable. I had never gone on a guided tour before and it actually inspired me to book two other tours whilst I was in Italy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I have no complaints...it was a long day but very enjoyable. The guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. Wish we could have seen more of the ruins but there's only so many hours in a day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! I would recommend this tour to anyone. Our guide through the archaeology site in Pompeii was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, patient, witty!! Although the climb up Mount Vesuvius was amazing, we were pressed for time! We only had an 1 hr. 20 min. to get up and back. There was no time to relax and enjoy when you reached the top. We practically ran down and we had only a minute to spare. We had two guides accompany us on the bus. They were excellent! They helped some people book their next tour, answered many questions. They suggested restaurants with great food at reasonable prices. They gave tourist tips that were excellent to know. I wish we had this particular guide on our first tour and not on our last day in Italy!!

From USD $ 170.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message