• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1255 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1255 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Victor B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great hike up the mountain, need to be fit if you want to get to the 3rd gift shop.
The ruins show how advanced they where.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The three hour bus ride just flew by as our guide gave us a history lesson certainly never told in our schools.
There was plenty of time to soak up the feel for Pompeii. All manor of questions asked and answered.
Then Mount Vesuvius, the view from the top over Naples, how lucky were they that fateful day. Awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a great tour. It is a bit long, but they do a great job of breaking it up and giving you information on the long bus ride. Violet was our tour guide. She was extremely knowledgable. You could tell she enjoyed her job. Overall, it was a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic, this tour is totally worth it. I highly recommend putting this on your bucket list if you plan to visit Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fab. definately the best tour we did, tons of information from our guides, they went above and beyond. Pompeii was great but would have liked time to explore ourselves after the guided tour.
Mount Versuvius was an experience. Excellent and well worth while.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The drive down to Pompeii was excellent our two guides were witty and knowledgeable. The bus was clean and modern and stopped halfway for a comfort break. At Pompeii the special guide there was also humorous and knew his stuff and made us feel that we were a special party. Although my wife and I had visited before our two grandsons (ages 16 and 13) were spellbound and it was great to see it again through their eyes.
Lunch at the Pizza restaurant was basic but good and just enough to give us energy for the next part, the ascent of Vesuvius.
My wife and I had also done this ascent, thirty years ago, and now both aged over 70 we were a little more apprehensive about our capabilities. The guides gave everyone some encouragement and said that the first 500m were the most strenuous, which we found to be true. But trusting in their advice we found the rest of the walk very easy and completed it to the top. Spectacular views greeted us their and a sense of achievement. It was also a great pleasure to see that our grandsons really enjoyed the whole experience.
On the bus trip back to Rome our guides let us have some quiet which we appreciated as we had so much information already given to us over the long day.
We arrived back on time so that we able to freshen up before dinner when reminisced over the wonderful trip that we had made.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour run by Dark Rome tours was fun and informative. The guides were knowledgible and kept us entertained with a comedy routine during the long bus trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

So well organised. Comfortable coach and great guides. It was a long day so to have the arrangements taken care of before we set off just ensures a successful day. We thought about taking the train but we would have missed all the interesting information given en route. Another fabulous trip to remember.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. I would highly recommend, very interesting and the guides were excellent as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A wonderful, informative, cost-effective trip. A great way to spend a day immersed in history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip to Pompeii and the Vesubius was a childhood dream come true! I did not think anything could be added to my excitement. But I was wrong. Robert, my tour guide, was incredible. He provided the right amount of information and I never felt rushed at any point of the tour. I leisurely walked in history through the streets of Pompeii and had plenty of time to climb the Vesubius and relax. If I return to Pompeii, I would definitely request Robert to be my guide again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day, managed to walk to rim of Vesuvius, pity that there was a lot of cloud and unable to see Naples, or Mt Casino.
Pompeii was fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was absolutely amazing! It was definitely worth the money. Robert and Sara were great, and definitely helped make the trip so great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who has a chance to take it!

From USD $ 188.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message