5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1777 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1777 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day ! We had a fun trip to Pompei with the two tour guides knowledge of Rome and Pompei
Including lots of quirky and different stories which make it fun and interesting ! Pompei itself is amazing and we are so glad we took a day out to do the trip !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out!
Wonderful guides full of good cheer and useful information.
We made it to the top of Vesuv and saw the breathtaking view of the bay and Naples.
Pompeii was just as good as expected, with an interesting and engaging guide!
oh - and lunch was lovely :-)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Guide. He is very knowledgable. Good serivce.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Everything went as planned, and they had great information about Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour made for a very, very long day. I was sick, but I still enjoyed it. I wish I wasn't sick though, because this would have been one of the best tours I had been on! It was just non-stop amazing-ness. We even stopped along the way for a little limoncello and chocolate. The pizza was aaaamazing, and they give you a WHOLE pizza just for yourself! Many people didn't even finish. The climb up the volcano was a little hard, only because it was kind of steep, but worth it in the end. Pompeii itself was so neat, but I wish we had time to wander around the city by ourselves. It seemed like everyone was in a group tour though. Anyways, it was a very rewarding and interesting tour. Definitely worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing day. The tour guide was the best with the knowledge he had. Highly recommend to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo was a great tour guide, overall a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

great tour and leaders....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was done through City Wonders and our guide Syrianna was fantastic. She was a local of Rome and knew her stuff! Very knowledgeble and friendly and was very helpful all day. We went to Mt Vesuvius first...tough climb but well worth it!! View was gorgeous. Lunch was pizza/salad and that was yummy! Then we went to pompeii and the guide there was funny and knowledgble as well. This was very fun and we learned a lot about Rome, Pompeii, and Mt Vesuvius. Recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide for the day (Sarah) was excellent. She made the the bus ride to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii go much quicker, giving us a lot of interesting information and facts along the way. The man who took us on the actual tour of Pompeii itself was also very knowledgeable and made it very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They shared history facts along the way to Pompeii and in regards to the museum and how it came to be. They also presented information on the re-discovery, excavation, and of the extent of the volcano eruption - current land we were traveling where once was the bay, etc. Original tour had mentioned that we may be taken up Mt. Vesuvius to hike to the top. That was not mentioned during tour. I did not ask about it. And in all fairness the top of Mt. Vesuvius was cloud covered and there were rain sprinkles occasionally - so that may have been the reason. Loved the whole experience including the history class explaining the existing portions of the Appian Way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Brilliant. Fantastic Value and the tour guides were extremely knowledgeable. Would definitley recommend this package to anyone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Great history! Great guides!

From USD $ 148.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message