Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 2310 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic day! Had the best guide in the world -- Massimo ruined our tours for the rest of our two week trip!!!! No one could compare to him!!!!!! He was full of all kinds of interesting information about Rome. He was funny and engaging!! That is one wonderful tour guide that you have there. We enjoyed the climb up Mt. Vesuvius and of course the trip to Pompeii. Our guide Alexandra was also very good.

Oscar V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed this tour

Elise P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Im the type of person who is least likely to enjoy a day tour but it was FANTASTIC! Andy and then Barbara in the ruins were both fantastic! Food was average but we were so hungry it didnt matter too much after our hike up the volcano. Worth every penny!

john h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent trip with Robert a very informative guide. Would definetly recommend this day trip.

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an excellent and memorable tour and I recommend it highly to anyone who has an interest in Pompeii. My only complaint is that it was too short and I would like to spend more time in Pompeii so I hope the tour operators consider a two-day tour at some point. We love our tour guides, Dmitri and Andrea!

keith1955

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a Fantastic day out. Rob and Becky were absolutely BRILLIANT, and really knew their stuff. We have never learnt so much in such a short time. What a great History lesson. The Restaurant where we had lunch was great, and the food far exceeded our expectations.
Lots of tips and advice was given to us about every day life in Rome, and proved to be very usefull during our stay in Rome.
The coach journey was very comfortable, and the rest breaks were well timed. It was also good that our driver had Ice Cold bottles of water on the coach at 1 each, which saved buying it at silly prices from the places we visited.
The tour around Pompeii, was very informative and well planned.
The trip up Mount Vesuvius was to say the least, a VERY interesting coach drive, and the walk to the top was hard work for us at 60 yrs old , but well worth it when you get there. Fantastic views from 4,300 feet up a volcano, above the clouds.
The journey back to Rome was full of more history and very useful tips about where to go, and what to see in Rome, including some good restaurants and Gellato shops.
My wife and I can't praise this duo enough for making it a great day, and we highly recommend it.
Thank You Becky and Rob for a GREAT day out.

William L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Only way to experience Pompeii is with a guided tour.

Connor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was lucky to get good weather because the climb up to Mount Vesuvius is definitely a great experience. I really enjoyed Pompeii because of all the history that I learned during the tour and the preservation of the town of Pompeii is amazing. I highly recommend this tour because of the great sights that you see and because of the great guides. All in all a great experience and a well run tour.

Rhonda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour guides were amazing. One of the best I have ever been on.

Karen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow! Fabulous trip, very well organised, great tour guides!

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing day. Pompeii was much more than we expected and our local tour guide was fantastic.Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Kathlyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Ooops...my computer shut down in middle of my review...don't know if it sent so I will repeat. The weather was dreadful, pouring rain all day except for a brief reprieve at the Pompei site. The guides were great, being very attentive, getting ponchos for people who didn't have umbrellas, telling us historical stories on the bus, treating us to limoncello on the way home. Pompei guide was also very good. We were unable to visit Mt Vesuvius which was closed due to the weather.I personally was very happy with the museum substitute. Climbing up a volcano in the rain and mud was not appealing especially when I have a live volcano in my own backyard Mt. St Helens in WA state. Lunch was OK...I prefer Rome pizza...restaurant ambiance was nice AND special bonus there was a vintage FIAT car show happening at the restaurant! My husband is a car collector mostly Studebakers and happening upon a car show in Italy was a plus! I would definitely take another tour with these two tour guides..or GUYS as Julia says Lucca and Julia. This was our only tour during the 2 weeks we were in Italy and I would NOT have wanted to navigate the Rome to Pompei trip on my own, especially in the rain. If we were not leaving two days later I would have signed up for the local or Catacombs tour.

Neema S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Stephanie and Dimitri are excellent guides. Knowledgable and clearly spoken with wit. Very well organised tour worth every penny. Would recommend to all.

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time and met some wonderful people!

Karen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a very organized and well run tour. Our guide, Luca, was great and very knowledgeable regarding Pompeii itself, Italy in general and all the other history surrounding the area. Unfortunately, we couldn't hike Mt. Vesuvius because of a landslide caused by the huge amounts of rain the previous day but instead went to the Pompeii museum in Naples. We were handed off to another guide at the historical site of Pompeii, who was fantastic, but Luca stayed with our group the entire time answering questions and keeping track of everyone. Overall a great experience and we are glad we took the tour!

Dan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful experience. Great tour guides. Ride was a little long, but there was no traffic. Highly, highly recommend. Definitely a bucket list item.

Torem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Field trip was perfect.
Staff was 100 nice and very professional.
We had a great day....blue sky all day. A day to be remembered !
I do recommend it for those that want to see Pompeii and its history in one day.

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella and Robert were our wonderful guides. Robert was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of Rome, the region and Vesuvius that he was addictive and has a fun way of sharing his knowledge. Antonella was very helpful, kind and informative and between them they made a great team and I would certainly hope to be in their company again if I get the chance to return. The trip was well organised and worth paying for the ticket. Pompeii was fascinating and our guide on site was very up on her subject also with lots of information and stories. Climbing that last stretch of Vesuvius, almost vertically lol, and becoming one of Roberts Vessies was exhilarating and a major achievement. It certainly worked off the traditional pizza lunch that was also part of the trip. The coach ride up and down the volcano is just as exciting and the views are magnificent. If I am fortunate enough to return to Rome or the region, I would not hesitate booking this day trip again. It's a long day from Rome ...... 7.30am to around 8pm ....... but well worth it and you get a couple of bathroom breaks at a very nice coffee/souvenir shop below Monte Cassino. The total travel time is around 6 hours, but definitely on the return journey you are grateful for the time to get a nap. You will need it. Great day and, again, Antonella and Robert were outstanding guides.

GABRIEL S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is worth every penny. Massimo was the best tour guide we ever had.

S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Luca from Citywonders was such an amazing tour guide that it was completely well worth spending a whole day on this tour! He shared many interesting lesser-known historical facts/stories and was very well organised in managing the group size. We can't think of how anything could be done better!

Jeffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and enjoyable. The bus is comfortable, guides great and pizza for lunch delicious. I saw some things I never thought I'd see. Go there !! :

Alisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is amazing. I highly recommend it. We had Elena and Antonella and they were so warm and friendly and answered any questions anyone had. The tour itself was very informative and lunch was really good.. The pizza is delicious. Climbing the mountain was the absolute highlight.

natc1954

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

the tour was great except that I lost a precious necklace on Mt. Vesuvius. It was a family heirloom an enamel medallion of the Immucate Mary with writing on the back. It was on a chain two charms of a house and heart. If anyone finds it please contact me. I am on Facebook Natalie Canario. Thank you!

crichardson1125

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an excellent tour. Our guides, Alessandra, Massimo, and Bernadette were highly knowledgeable, professional, and funny. The hike to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was a challenge, but well worth the climb. I highly recommend this tour.

mcp322

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

OMG... climbing Mt. Vesuvius was fantastic!! What a way to see Naples from above... and the Pompeii visit was fascinating... Our bus guides were fun and very informative. They always made us feel welcome and kept us comfortable illuminated during our trip. It was long but well worth it. Thank you!!

Viewing 4 of 93

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 152.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message