5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2089 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2089 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exceptional Tour!
We had two guides, Melissa and Lucca.
They were both very nice and full of great stories and facts about everything from the sights, to the people, to the food !!
Lucca was very passionate about all of Italy, and we so enjoyed his personal insights.
The tour at the actual sight was very good too. She took her time and gave us plenty of opportunities to ask questions and take pictures.
The hike up Vesuvius was spectacular.....Loved the views!
The driver who got us there was quite remarkable too.....Wow! Talk about winding roads!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic trip!! Worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I would like to thank Melanie and Andrew for an excellent day - The tour guides were awesome. Both gave us a very warm welcome and continued to help and support the group through out the day. Great facts and information was shared by both tour guides. The whole trip was managed professionally and the timings were kept on track so no wasted time on the day. The whole historical visit was awesome !! Please convey our thanks to Melanie who suggested a resturant for us in Rome which we went to that evening to finish off a fab day and the food and service was just great - Thanks Melanie !! All the veryt best Arthur.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meet the tour guide exactly where they told us to meet. The trip was very enjoyable. Enjoyed the walk to Mt. Vesuvius! It was great! Also enjoyed Pompeii, so glad we took this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Was an extremely amazing day! Would highly recommend it to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great trip and worth the time and money. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of 4 youngest: age 11 loved this trip. The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and the kids especially loved the climb on Mt. Vesuvius. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We all learned a lot of the history of the entire region. Our guides were Gio and Robert on the bus -- the Vicenzo enzo in Pompeii -- all get 5's! The bus driver, Antonio, was very safe - even on the twisty and narrow Mt. Vesuvius roads.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was great. Great tour. Tour guides were awsume.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii is a beauitful city and this tour was definitely worth it. The volcano was a terrific site and would highly recommend it, however the hike is rather difficult so be prepared!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! Stephanie and Manuelle were great tour guides! Stephanie shared historical stories on the sites we were driving by, while Manuelle entertained us with the espresso rules of Italy. Both guides were very kind and were available for any questions, whether it was related to restaurant recommendations, taxis, etc.

While we didn't get a chance to climb Mount Vesuvius it was raining super hard so they had to close the park, we were able to go to the National Archeological Museum of Pompeii instead. We would have loved to have climbed Mount Vesuvius, but nothing anyone could do about the weather. By the time the afternoon rolled around, the same came out and we were able to enjoy a wonderful tour of Pompeii.

Having the whole day planned out and having tour guides point out historical sites was so worth it! We highly recommend doing this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very informative and fun, total blast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! Stephanie was very personable and knew her tour. Julia and Romel the driver were fabulous too!! The tour was very educational for our family...Pompeii was awesome as was the hike up Vesuvius.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Ahh, where to begin...this tour was the highlight of my trip for sure. First, the tour guides, Stephanie and I can't remember the other lady's name were very pleasant and passed the time well with information about the destinations as the picturesque bus ride went along. They did this periodically and it was not excessive so you had time to have conversations with others on the tour or just to relax. The tour of Pompeii was not conducted by the tour guides that were on the bus, but the lady that did this tour was also very nice, funny and knowledgable. Lunch was good, the bus tour guides gave a nice story of the area that tied it nicely together with the menu for lunch and the flavor was pretty good. The Mount Vesuvius hike was surely the high point, pardon the pun, of the tour...the views were just stunning. I will say that they aren't lying when they say that it requires some physical fitness. I was able to make it to the furthest point of the path up the volcano but I wouldn't describe the hike as easy. There are 3 stopping points on the hike and the views from each are equally nice, you don't lose much by not making it all the way to the top, so if you don't make it you certainly have not been cheated. Do yourself a favor and make this tour a priority if you are in the area!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this trip! It was such a great learning experience. Our guide team was very knowledgeable and fun a great combination! Pompeii was amazing. I have been reading about it for years and it did not disappoint. The guide we had at Pompeii was also amazing! For amyone traveling to Rome I recommend booking this trip it more then worth the time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was unbelievableIt was a nice trek to the top of the volcano but once u get to the first gift shop it gets much easier. Bring sunblock or an umbrella especially if you are fair skinned. The gift shops as per guides sell fake lava rocks (made of soot) so don't bother wasting money. AMAZING

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This has been a dream for many years to visit Pompeii, and being able to go to the volcano made it even better. The meal we were served for lunch was plentiful, and the tour guides were VERY entertaining and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, Luca and his team were great! Vesuvius was a great walk and fascinating. Pompeii was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Luca and Hector were brilliant. They had loads of information to pass on, and explained about the sights as we traveled to Pompeii.
What this booking doesn't say is that your lunch is included in the price, and the restaurant we stopped at was lovely and cool.
This trip is more than worth it's money, but be aware the climb to Vasuviouse is hard going, especially if your not super fit, but worth it for the views alone. Would I recommend this trip....YES!

Marcela C
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took this tour with CityWonders. I can not recommend this company enough. Our guide was Antonella, and she partnered with another guide, Elena. They were both fantastic. They were knowledgeable about everything it seemed. They gave us facts during our bus ride about the places we were passing. They knew a lot about Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. They kept us entertained with fun anecdotes and stories throughout the trip. The 3 hour bus ride was broken in half with a 20 minute food/bathroom break. There was a local guide, Lena, at Pompeii that took us through the site, who was also very knowledgeable and entertaining and made the most of our short time there. The lunch at the restaurant was fairly well organized, for Italy. Italians I found work at their own pace. Our bus driver Alberto was amazing. It was a little scary taking the small rode up to Mount Vesuvius, be he did a wonderful job. The climb up to the top was difficult. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have a little longer at Mt. Vesuvius. Overall though, everything was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Great hike and view from the top of the volcano! Pomepeii is an incredible experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing by the two most enjoyable knowledgable characters,our Tour Guides Julio and Alexandra. Orange Pink Group. The tour would have to be the highlight of our trip. It was well organized, the stop offs the lunch. Mt Versivus, Ancient Pompeii. Impressive!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, the highlight of my stay in Italy. Our guides, Luca and Julio and driver Massimo could not have been better. The walk up the side of Vesuvius to look down into the crater capped it all off.

From USD $ 154.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message