5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1626 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1626 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good day trip. Daniel and Roberto and busdriver get 5 out 5 stars. Myself and my daughter enjoyed the day . Loved the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This day trip was wonderful. We enjoyed every second of it. Our Guide, Sarah, gave us information of each area we passed through along the way, she was extremely entertaining. This trip was totally worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were traveling with our three college age grandsons. My husband and I had been to Pompii before but not Vesuvius. the ride up the very, very narrow mountain road was harrowing but well worth the tension! our kids loved it all!! looking into the crater after the hike to the top was really special, especially for our grandson who was celebrating his 19th birthday, pretty memorable! It's a once in a lifetime experience, especially as Vesuvius IS an active volcano! Sheila troutman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just a wonderful day! Antonella was an amazing guide, full of life and information. Not only was I totally engaged in all she had to share with the group, but she also held the attention of my two teenage sons- not an easy feat. Due to a rain storm we were unable to climb Mount Vesuvius but she quickly made alternate plans. The tour of Pompeii fantastic, we were so glad we booked this tour.

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a day this was! We almost didn't go for the Pompeii / Vesuvius tour due to the expense, but I have to say, it was well worth every penny. I think this was my favourite day of my holiday!
The tour starts early (7.30am) and finishes quite late (8.00pm), so it's a long day, but we had a bit of sleepy time on the bus in both directions!
Our tour guide Siriana (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!) was absolutely brilliant! I learned so much from her - not just about ancient and more recent Italian history, but also about the country today. She provided oodles of information not only about the country we found ourselves driving through, but also about Italian society, TV, movies, food. She recommended restaurants and cafes, suggested other places to visit, and really gave us a flavour of how much of Italy came to be the way it is today. (Gusto was excellent - best pizza I had on my holiday!)
Despite getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way, I still felt as if I had enough time at Pompeii. It was baking hot, so in some ways I was quite glad to get back on the bus! I still can't quite believe I've seen such an amazing site. The guide at Pompeii, Georgio, was also excellent, imparting a wealth of information in a short amount of time with a great deal of wry humour (especially when dealing with a really rude American tourist trying to jump the line waiting to get into the brothel. Yes there's a 2000 year old brothel in Pompeii!)
Vesuvius was also incredible. Again, I still can't believe I actually walked the last 200 metres to the top! While the first third of the climb is quite challenging (the whole climb should have taken us about 20 minutes and took us 45!), it was well worth it. The views are spectacular, and the steaming crater is really quite intimidating! The clouds came down when we reached the top, which was also really spooky!
I really can't recommend this tour enough. 5 stars also to our driver Faust for getting us up the volcano!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this trip! Mt. Vesuvius was covered in beautiful wildflowers and Pompeii was amazing. I long day, but absolutely worth it. Lifetime memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip. Elena and Anna were informative during the bus ride out and back. Willie, our local guide at Pompeii was fantastic with a unique sense of humor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip! Guides were highly knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guides were well informed, charming and funny. Pompeii itself was much more than expected. Unfortunately we were not able to go up Mount Vesuvius because of rain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked 3 tours in Italy with Viator, yes they were a little expensive, but... worth every penny. Not only for going through the line fast, all you learn, that if you go alone you would never knowThe tour was great and worth every penny. Antonella and Sara were great. Pompeii is beautiful. So much to learn and see. The local tour guide (I don't remember his name, sorry ) when we arrived at Pompeii was amazing. He was an opened book. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were stranded in Paris and were going to miss this trip. Called the company who 'bent over backward' to get us on another day, even though we had limited time, at minimal cost. Still looked like one of us would miss out, however, on the morning the staff went the extra mile to ensure we all travelled. Long time on a coach/bus, however, well worth it. Pompeii and Vesuvius were fantastic. Both of us and our two adult children who were with us found it incredible. The tour guides provided just the right amount of information and fun to make the otherwise long trip fly by. Everything went smoothly and the coach was very comfortable. I would recommend the trip and company to anyone. We will use their services again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. I was expecting it to be a bit gruelling as it's almost 3 hours each way but we had a rest break and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining.
At Pompeii we switched to local guides so we had the benefit of their knowledge as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day. Very good guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such an amazing day and one not to be missed when in Rome. It was a long day (left 07.30am and returned around 8pm) but the guides Mike and Etera (Sorry lost paper on which I wrote you name!) made it brilliant - they were so informative and just so funny - it was a great tour. Massimo the driver is so skilful. We got to the top of Vesuvius and got post cards stamped. The walk up is a bit steep but not really like climbing a mountain as path is wide and hand rail all the way. We really recommend this tour. Pompei is something else - the local guide was also great. Having gone to other sights in Rome ourselves it was good to have a day that was all organised (so well) for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

From USD $ 176.50

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message