5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1651 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1651 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and although a long day, the guides Luca and Mike made the trip extremely enjoyable and informative. The local guide in Pompeii was very knowledgeable and his own enthusiasm for the city really shone through. The lunch included was also delicious. And Vesuvious a must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was worth the 3 hour drive. Not only was the drive through the country side delightful, but the history lessons along the way were fun and entertaining. The walk up Mt. Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart, but the view was spectacular and also very satisfying. Be aware that most of the articles from Pompeii actually are housed in the Naples museum, but enough is at the site to make it worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a "once in life" tour! Nice and proffesional guided tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was really worth it! Had a good time going up the volcano and Pompeii is amazing. I have been to other world heritage sites and this is really different... A place frozen in time. The trip was made even more fun by our tour guides Maximo and Violet who have shared many information and facts for the whole duration of trip and they are very knowledgable, experienced guides. Probably the best tour guides I've encountered so far. Good job Maximo and Violet!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Recommend great guide worth the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pompeii with Vesuvius was a real deal, good guides, in small groups, individual attention, and space to do your own exploration as well. Just great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great!!! I would suggest this tour to friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was amazing, Robert was very funny and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well planned. Tour guide was excellent lunch was great. The bus very clean. Climbed Mt vesuvius in the morning and toured Pompeii city after lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I did this trip and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Our tour guides - Stephanie and Violet - were professional, knowledgeable and friendly – Violet in particular had a great sense of humour! At the end of the trip, they even walked the length of the coach, asking every single person if they had any questions about the trip, Rome, or other excursions, even giving out helpful recommendations for local restaurants.

The drive up to mount Vesuvius is good fun, but TERRIFYING!! (Don’t look down if you’re scared of heights!). Fortunately we had a brilliant bus driver, who handled the perilous hairpin turns with skill. Once at the drop off point, the walk to the top of the crater is hard work in the heat (taking about 25 mins), but worth it for the views over the Bay of Naples, Pompeii and Naples city. A tip though - WEAR TRAINERS! (I did this climb in sandals and it’s not fun, as the path is made of a loose ashy like dirt, which can become slippery on the way down.)

The pizza lunch was very well-organised and you have the choice of 3 pizzas. Orders are taken on the coach, so upon arrival at the restaurant there is only a short wait to be served. The pizza was tasty, too!

Pompeii was excellent. The tour guide was very informative and we learnt lots. Pompeii is the kind of place where you need a tour guide to bring it all to life – otherwise you’re looking at a lot of ruins which don’t mean much to the average visitor. As it was, Pompeii is absolutely fascinating and well worth a visit.

The actual bus journey to Pompeii was comfortable, though there were no toilets on board the coach! You do however, have a stop halfway (after 1 hour 30) at an excellent service station in Cassino, so loos and snacks/drinks are never too far away! (There are also toilets at Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius, though only port-a-loos at Vesuvius, and expect to pay 50c). As for the trip duration; unusually, we actually arrived back into Rome at the advertised time. Amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic Tour. A great day well spent. From beginning to end we were well taken care of by our fantastic guide Robert. Robert is extremely knowledgable and interesting as well as being a very nice person to spend the day with . Our Pompeii guide was also fantastic. Thoroughly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

had a fantastic day, it was just me and my boyfriend, wen we arrived our tour guides violet and robert were welcoming and friendly and made the history so interesting and told some great stories too! pompeii was awesome and mt vesuvius even better. take a good camera!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day out. Mike out tour guide was very knowledgable and kept the tour lively and entertaining.

From USD $ 174.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message