• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1258 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1258 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great day, managed to walk to rim of Vesuvius, pity that there was a lot of cloud and unable to see Naples, or Mt Casino.
Pompeii was fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was absolutely amazing! It was definitely worth the money. Robert and Sara were great, and definitely helped make the trip so great. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who has a chance to take it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour. Many thanks to Mike, Massimo, Aldo and Henrique. Wonderful tour of Pompeii and an invigorating climb up Vesuvius!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely fantastic - the highlight of my holiday. The tour guides were approachable, friendly, knowledgeable, interesting and enthusiastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was posssibly the highlight of our stay in Italy. We were looked after from the moment we turned up for the tour. The guides were wonderful and attentive. The Pompeii tour with a local guide was clear and easy to follow. The views from the top of Mt Vesuvius were brilliant and made up for the 20min hike to the top. I would recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Pro's:
Gio, our Venezuelan guide, was outstanding. She kept us organized and on track, and went out of her way to give us great advice about exploring Rome.

Con's:
-The bus driver (Aldo) was less than pleasant.
-The restaurant we were taken to was very mediocre. The portion size of pizza and salad was small and the service was average at best. I would prefer that they simply gave you a window of time to eat and get back to the bus, and let you find your own food.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We loved Willy our tour guide in Pompeii, and Valentina our guide from Rome to Pompeii! The trip was everything we expected and more. The ruins were much more extensive, and some parts better preserved than we had imagined. It was an experience that we can now check off our bucket list.

Roxy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic day trip! We all enjoyed the day very much. Our guides were fantastic and they gave us lots of information throughout the day. Pompeii was amazing. Mt Vesuvius was a hard walk but very rewarding and well worth it. Our 12 year old son really enjoyed the trip. Overall it was a really great day!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Massimo and Stephanie were wonderful guides. They were very knowledgable, professional, funny, friendly, and accommodating. We will definitely ask for them by name when booking future tours to ensure we get the best guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Excellent experience and very good tour guides especially Sara. Weather conditions were bad and we could not hike vesuvius but the archaeological museum was a good alternative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Superb day and definitely, definitely doable from Rome. It was an early start but the coach stops after an hour for a toilet break and so you can get a coffee and some breakfast and you're back in Rome in time for an evening out. Pompeii was amazing and the local guide there was brilliant, very informative and funny too. The drive up to Vesuvius was an experience! Great day out and a nice break from Rome sight-seeing if you have teenagers in tow. Would heartily recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour great guides great day that sums it up

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip. Guides were helpful and pleasant. A "don't miss" trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The day trip to Pompeii was great and the tour guides Sara and Giovanna were fantastic, engaging and very informative. We had to make a call to Peugeot Leasing and Sara allowed us to use her phone, as we had only got into Rome the day before and had not had the opportunity to organise mobile phones. I would thoroughly recommend this tour. Tricia, Mark, Liam and Sophie. Adelaide South Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great trip and the two young ladies who were our guides were extremely knowledgeable, informative and kept us amused on what is a fairly long day. The coach was good and the driver very good.

From USD $ 187.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message