5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1976 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1976 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert and Lucca were excellent tour guides, so much so that we booked additional tours with their tour company, City Wonders. The guides were extremely knowledgeable, and kept us entertained throughout the bus ride with wonderful stories. Seeing Pompeii and climbing Mt. Vesuvius were among the best things we did on our trip to Italy.

Gaucho
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great trip. I felt well informed through out the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was perfectly timed! We were given enough time to hike up Mt Vesuvius in ease without rushing for time. Our guides, Robert and Melanie were very informative and knowledgeable - they filled us with Italian/ Roman history throughout the trip on the bus and at historic sites. They kept us entertained with folk lore and interesting facts and jokes. It was great! Our local guide in Pompei, Enzo was equally entertaining and informative! The only downsides would be, I would have preferred to spend abit more time in Pompei so as to buy local souvenirs as we were only given less than an 30mins before boarding the bus these shops looked more authentic then the shop we stopped at for rest. The food was simple and nice however not very filing/ satisfying the pizza had minimal toppings, so if you are used to Pizza Hut this will be a shock and my hubby's salad had a bug in it. Other than the hiccups mentioned above, the tour was perfect and I would definitely recommend it to anyone! It was a day well spent in Italy!! Sight seeing, history, local food and exercise hike up Mt Vesuvius is a work out!!.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour - really got to see and learn a lot both from the tour and local guides. Bus ride was about 3 hours but was never bored with great stories/information from the two guides. Helped us with were not to shop tourist traps but fell short of guiding us to particular shops a good thing!.

Try not to go around May to the mountain - there are a lot of little Nats that can get VERY annoying.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Let me start with the fact that our guide, Antonella, was AMAZING. Very funny, attentive, helpful, and informative. She did a great job getting a lot of information in without making us feel overwhelmed at the end of the trip. We loved her and were grateful she was our guide. It's a very long day, but so worth it. It's important to note that the climb to the top of Vesuvius is not to be taken lightly. It's a long set of switchbacks up loose pumice gravel. If you use a trekking stick, bring it. And leave the flip flops at home. It's A LOT to take in on one tour and somehow they do it well. BRING WATER and snacks and if you can find a way to get a coffee in you before 7am, DO IT. Then just enjoy the ride!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved every minute of it. Guides were great, very informative, Pompeii guide was incredible. Really good review of the ruins and climbing Vesuvius was the highlight. Time permitted was perfect, trip down and back was relaxing and enjoyable. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guides, learnt so much, both on the bus travelling to and from Pompeii and with the guide who took us around Pompeii. Low cloud on the volcano prevented us from seeing into the crater but we still climbed right to the end of the track. Pompeii was amazing! well worth the visit. Excellent pizza lunch too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! Robert and Lukka did a great job. I would highly recommend City Wonders Tours especially if you can request Robert and Lukka they were both informative and very entertaining. As far as Pompeii, it was nice, not as preserved and nice as Ostia Antica but very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely amazing! Worth every cent. Great experience climbing vesuvius. Our guides were amazing! Especially our guide at pompeii. I would do this again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guides and driver! Luca, Elena and Massimo were so knowledgeable and nothing was too difficult for them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guides and driver! Luca, Elena and Massimo were so knowledgeable and nothing was too difficult for them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent view of the past. tour guide and pompeii guide were superb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Can't say enough wonderful things about this trip! The guides were AMAZING!!! The tour was breathtaking! The experience was a once in a lifetime for me and my family. We all agreed, this part of our trip was the absolute highlight! In fact, the guides were so good, we signed up for a different tour with them which was equally awe-inspiring! We will definitely seek this tour company City Wonders out on future trips.A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall tour was great ! Tour was well organized. Tour guides were excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour, with extremely pleasant and knowledgeable tour guides. Great for kids and adults.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bus was overcrowded. Promissed lunch in Naples happened near Pompeii.. never visited Naples.. didnt even came close... but z guides were excellent !! Melanie and Luka... thank u very much !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Roberts knowlege was incredible... and despite melanie's funny accent she was pretty cool too! Great tour, highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we had a fab time . the tour guides where very informative and friendly. i would say to anyone who is visiting rome and they have time to book this tour. pompeii was amazing and the walk up mount vesuvius gave you some stuning views. all in all we are glad we did this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guides were awesome!!! Would definately use them again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides Monica and Luca were excellent kept us informed right throughout the day and made sure everyone kept to time during the journey, at Pompeii we were met my a local guide Enzo who was very good as well. Make sure you have decent shoes as the hike up the mountain is on loose gravel. The views of the crater and the surrounding cities are amazing at the top...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun day out for us! Pompeii and Vesuvius were absolutely outstanding and our guides (Anna and Siliana) were great, they knew so much local history and landmarks and would point out interesting things for us on the way to and from pompeii on the bus but still gave us time to snooze.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We took two one day trips. All the tour guides were excellent and knowledgable.

From USD $ 151.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message