5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1691 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1691 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour. Climbing the volcano and standing on top looking over naples was incredible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! Very informative and an absolute must see. Our tour guides were great and shared many stories, tips, and historical facts throughout the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus tour was good although I could have used less time at the Cassino stop, especially on the return trip. The two guides with our bus group were knowledgeable and the Pompeii guide was excellent. The audio device allowed us to hear our guide although Pompeii was extremely crowded. Our guide was effective in trying to maneuver us through the crowds to get to sites before other groups. There was a bit of an incident where our guide went toe-to-toe with an Italian toursit which was entertaining more than anything else. It gave our visit the human touch.

We were given time to take our photographs and then it was time to get in the bus for lunch. Great pizza! That was a good choice for our lunch stop.

I could have used ten minutes longer at Vesuvius. As an older hiker, it takes me a bit longer than the twenty-somethings who can run up that hillside.

The patter used by the two bus guides was interesting and I learned more, not only about Vesuvius and Pompeii, but about the region, the impact of World War II and the Battle of Monte Cassino and the Appian Way.

Overall well done. Kudos to all, especially the bus driver who had to contend with much traffic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour guide Daniel, fantastic trip! Thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone interested!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip!!! Robert and Violet were amazing tour guides, they were both very knowledgeable and entertaining. A truly memorable day and very highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, again our guides were wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Roberto and Massimo (guides for our two groups) were excellent - very funny but really knew their stuff. Our guide at Pompeii (Enrico) was fantastic and didn't keep us hanging about for too long in any area. Went to great lengths to try to keep us in the shade as much as possible. Made the tour so interesting and combined facts with humour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful trip. You must do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Robert and Violet were amazing tour guides!! Robert was so patient answering questions and he explaining everything so well!!! Violet was very informative and funny and kept us entertained the whole time!!

Pompiie tour guide was awesome too.
Excellent tour! Definitely highlight of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was amazing and the guides are very knowledgeable. A great one-day trip option from Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the best tours we went on in Italy. Daniel was our tour guide and he was the absolute best! He went out of his way to make sure we were well informed and well taken care of. He provided excellent background information about Mt Vesuvius and the Pompeii area and also provided info about getting in and around Rome (restaurants, sites, transportation, etc). He also provided helpful insights about how to avoid getting ripped off. You could tell he really loved what he was doing and loved the area. We wish all tour guides could be like Daniel! Thanks again Daniel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip. Our guides Roberto and Sarah were very knowleadgeable and made the long bus ride seem short. It was the dream of a lifetime for us to visit Pompeii and we felt we got a good view of it. The climb up Mt. Vesuvius was also very dramatic, worth all the effort. I've been wanting to see Pompeii since I was a little girl and it was wonderful to have this trip and have that dream come true.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic and very knowledgable guides. Will use this service again if they're all as fun as Sara!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Your guides were very knowledgeable and added a great deal to the tour. Walking through the Pompeii ruins brought history to life. Later, looking down the Vesuvius crater was amazing.

From USD $ 170.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message