Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 2310 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic. Took three teenage boys and they loved it

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guides Julio and Antonella were very informative and kept us amused throughout. The journey was long 3 hours but felt shorter owing to their anecdotes and historical/geographical facts. Thankfully the bad weather during the coaches' ascent up the volcano disappeared by the time we reached the summit and the view of both Vesuvius and Naples was breathtaking. The climb to the crater is fairly steep but there are great views from the coach park should you be feeling less energetic. Pompeii was beautiful and the level of preservation incredible. You could spend hours there and not see everything. Our stops for breakfast and lunch were in similarly scenic locations and the food was good. I really have no complaints.

Paula H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A fantastic tour which was extremely well organised. The guides were very informative both during the transfers and also at the Pompeii site. We really enjoyed the whole day which went seemed to go very quickly even through it was a long day.

M J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a wonderful day! The tour guide and bus driver were excellent. The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and Mount Vesuvius was amazing. The view from the top of Mount Vesuvius was incredible. This was my husband's favorite tour that we took. we will definitely recommend this to our friends.

Scott D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This 5 star rating is more for the location and sites than the tour itself. Although the City Wonders operating company guides simply passed us off to another tour guide at Pompeii, they managed to be sincere, helpful and knowledgeable. I definitely recommend this to any history buffs. The views from the top of Mount Vesuvius were incredible!

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good -- the guides and tour was very informative.

Nina Oleg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolute highlight of our trip to Italy! Not to be missed. Kids were ecstatic. The whole day well spent. Don't be too excited about pizza at Naples though:
We had a clear view from Mount Vesuvius to Naples and it's amazing. Pompeii is huge, you can be lost there and unbelievably well preserved. As I said... NOT TO BE MISSED

Kauntik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic trip, specially the tour guides.

Carrie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a great experience! Super informative tour guides! The climb up Mt Vesuvius was amazing, and a must if you do this tour. Pompeii was exceptional. Loved every minute!

Ole B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella was so enthusiastic that we had a fantastic day, even with 6 hours in a bus. Vesuvio was an fantastic view and a good story, and Pompeii is crazy

Emme W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day trip!!! It's a long day but there is decent time to rest on the comfortable bus ride back to Rome. Andy was one of our tour guides and having him there made all the difference! He's entertaining, very personable, and shares a lot of valuable information along the way. This tour is well organized and my friends and I really enjoyed the hike and Pompeii!

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was very well-planned and the guides were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Pompeii and Vesuvius.

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Although it was a long day, we found this trip to be one of our favorites in the 2 weeks in Italy! Our coach bus was comfortable, the guides extremely knowledgable, but most importantly they were kind and extremely helpful. Pompeii is more than I expected and the hike to the crater of Mt. Vesuvius was a bucket-list kind of activity. Be ready to do quite a bit of walking, but there was plenty of time to rest on the return trip to Rome.

IGOR T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had great time. Meeting point was easy to find and people were there promtply at 7:15. We left very close to our scheduled depart time.

Our guide was Stephanie and she was great. Offered plenty of info and suggestions. Very accomodating.

Tour was planned very well and worth the money.

Danny S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved the walk through the ruins at Pompeii. The guide was great. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was super hard but totally worth it! The pizza lunch was very yummy. Our guides were wonderful and full of information.

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time! Our guides were incredible. Knowledgeable, courteous, funny. The bus drive up Vesuvius was rough. If you get carsick at all, be careful. The hike up the rest is very steep. A 30 incline most of the way so bring good tennis shoes, and depending on the season, a jacket. The views are spectacular. Julio and Martonella were great. Their English is amazing, which is a huge help when I've only nailed down about 5 words in Italian. Alfredo was our guide in Pompeii. He had SO much information for us. He's fluent in at least 4 languages! My friend and I enjoyed all the sarcastic and funny comments he made during the tour. We loved this trip. It's a long, full day. But I've been waiting years to see Pompeii, and it was beyond worth it. If you have a chance, take a recovery day after this trip. We certainly are.

Hong S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Super! The itinerary, tour guides -- Anna and Julia, and the driver -- Norman are great.

Whitney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Do not miss this trip!! It was the highlight of our Italy trip. The day was so fun, and our tour guides Andy and Sarah were amazing. They made a 2 hour bus trip very entertaining! The lunch was some of the best pizza we had while in Italy. It is a long day, but completely worth it. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day out well worth the money. Lunch was excellent one of the best pizzas I've had. The tour guides were very informative and very interesting.

LadyJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I can't fault this tour, it was an amazing experience! Be prepared for the walk up the volcano, was a bit more strenuous than I expected but luckily you have free time to do it at your own pace.

Narelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a fantastic time on the Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius tour. The guides were lovely, hilarious and informative. The local guide we had at Pompeii also was just great.
The whole day was very enjoyable and I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Rome!

NICHAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very well organized and very knowledgeable guides. I recommend to everyone.

SarahMain91 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a day! We saved this tour for our last full day and it was truly a great way to have ended our holiday!
We had Giulio and Roberto as our guides on the 21/09/15, although it was a long day they certainly kept us entertained, they work really well together, bouncing off one another which is rather comical too.
Both are very knowledgeable and passionate.
The morning we spent in Pompeii, which was more than what I expected, it was beautiful yet moving to see the ruins and delve deeper into the history of what had once been a great trading port and city.
After lunch we took to Mount Vesuvius, the climb and the views of the volcano and the surrounding below were breathtaking, it was well worth it the 30 minute hike to the top.

Andrea A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great day trip to Pompeii and mt Vesuvius with a very nice lunch included. Guides were super informative and helpful. Really enjoyable day

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fascinating day trip and wonderfully organised and chaperoned by our guides Bobby and Melanie. Melanie in particular is extremely knowledgeable and really brings the journey to life. Its a long and tiring day but thoroughly worth it and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Viewing 5 of 93

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 151.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message