5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1828 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1828 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic tour! Guides were very knowledgable and happy to help. Would highly recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely fantastic trip! We travelled with our two boys (aged 8 and 11 years) and were a little worried about how they would find it. They both LOVED it, especially climbing Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating and the pizza delicious! Like all the other reviews would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I went during the first week of November. There were not a ton of other tourist buses but I was still able to climb Mount Vesuvius. The tour guides on the bus and in Pompeii were charming and informative. A lot of the treasure had been moved out of the ruins in Pompeii and into museums but guests are still able to see an ancient Roman brothel!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day with wonderful guides Anna and Roberto. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour guides I've ever had. Very impressed with their wit, camaraderie and their knowledge. Kept us entertained for the entire bus trip!! But also had enough sense to give us quiet time to nap early morning and evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our trip. Our guide Maximus was great!!! He was so nice, friendly, funny, and gave us lots of history. We were so happy we booked this trip and would recommend it to anyone thinking of seeing Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have always been fascinated with Pompeii so to be able to go and see it was a once in a lifetime opportunity. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and lots of fun. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have done if we had have visited Pompeii on our own. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend. Would have perhaps liked a bit more time at Pompeii but I don't think it would ever be enough time as there is so much to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fanastic day trip - climbing Mt Vesuvius was worth the effort (for a not so fit 45+ Tip - set your own pace, don't rush and DONT try and keep pace with your offspring!! LOVE... Love...Loved....Pompeii! Sarah our City Wonders guide was fantastic as was our Pompeii guide was also great. We have since recommended this tour to other travellers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Amazing, wonderful full day of historical fun! Big thanks to Massimo our guide! What a dude. Very knowledgable and great fun. Flat sturdy shoes for the climb up Vesuvius. The first bit is hard but once you get to the top, it's worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour. I think it was the best thing I did while in Rome. If it's a sunny blue sky day you HAVE to do this. So impressed with everything!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

long day but well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

walking up Mount Vesuvius was a real thrill: the views, the clouds, the hugeness of it. Beautiful drive, the Bay of Naples is beautiful. Pompei very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome. Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable - not just about Pompeii but the entire area we travelled through to get there. They were humorous and very professional. They made the very lengthy excursion pass very quickly and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great and interesting tour of Pompeii, the best pizza I've ever eaten, and I can say I climbed an active volcano! Definitely worth the cost, which isn't expensive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was such a great day tour. The only disappointment was that the weather was a little cloudy, but climbing Vesuvius was still amazing. The tour of Pompeii showed all the highlights and the guide was really knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really good day. Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

outstanding trip-three very informative guides. this was very well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It would be hard to improve on this trip. Yes the day is long, but it was well planned and organized and the sites not to be missed. Accompanying Viator guides and local Pompeii guide were outstanding. One warning: The climb up Vesuvius can easily take longer than advertised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great trip. Worth the money spent. The guides Anna and Antoinelle (hope I got the name right) - were outstanding:knowledgeable; very passionate ; cheerful till the end. Their trip gives you the right amount of time at the venues. The bus was comfortable and their (break) stops were just right (good places and comfortable times)

Nigel L
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic trip, very informative and entertaining as well!! Was very suitable for our two children too.

From USD $ 148.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message