5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1632 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1632 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked 3 tours in Italy with Viator, yes they were a little expensive, but... worth every penny. Not only for going through the line fast, all you learn, that if you go alone you would never knowThe tour was great and worth every penny. Antonella and Sara were great. Pompeii is beautiful. So much to learn and see. The local tour guide (I don't remember his name, sorry ) when we arrived at Pompeii was amazing. He was an opened book. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were stranded in Paris and were going to miss this trip. Called the company who 'bent over backward' to get us on another day, even though we had limited time, at minimal cost. Still looked like one of us would miss out, however, on the morning the staff went the extra mile to ensure we all travelled. Long time on a coach/bus, however, well worth it. Pompeii and Vesuvius were fantastic. Both of us and our two adult children who were with us found it incredible. The tour guides provided just the right amount of information and fun to make the otherwise long trip fly by. Everything went smoothly and the coach was very comfortable. I would recommend the trip and company to anyone. We will use their services again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip. I was expecting it to be a bit gruelling as it's almost 3 hours each way but we had a rest break and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining.
At Pompeii we switched to local guides so we had the benefit of their knowledge as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day. Very good guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such an amazing day and one not to be missed when in Rome. It was a long day (left 07.30am and returned around 8pm) but the guides Mike and Etera (Sorry lost paper on which I wrote you name!) made it brilliant - they were so informative and just so funny - it was a great tour. Massimo the driver is so skilful. We got to the top of Vesuvius and got post cards stamped. The walk up is a bit steep but not really like climbing a mountain as path is wide and hand rail all the way. We really recommend this tour. Pompei is something else - the local guide was also great. Having gone to other sights in Rome ourselves it was good to have a day that was all organised (so well) for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Although this a thirteen hour trip it was well worth it. i went with my granddaughter who is eleven years old and there was plenty to interest us both. the climb to the top of Vesuvius was steep but manageable even for a senior. the views at the top were worth the climb. Pompeii is amazing - there is real sense of history. The tour guides were excellent providing a lot of information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip
Would highly recommend
Good combo of mount Vesuvius and Pompeii
Great tour guides, knowledgeable and entertaining
Learned a lot from both of them and they were. Very helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip
Would highly recommend
Good combo of mount Vesuvius and Pompeii
Great tour guides, knowledgeable and entertaining
Learned a lot from both of them and they were. Very helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! We had wonderful guides both at Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome tour provided by City Wonders. Tour guide was Massimo and he made it extremely enjoyable. He was very informative funny and entertaining the entire trip. He really enjoys what he does and made the tour enjoyable. Pompeii and Vesuvius and were incredible sites to see. It was very crowded because I think some cruise ships were late docking and all hit at once, but this was no fault of the tour. Tour was very organized, and on time from start to finish.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius tour was everything we had hoped for and MORE! We were so impressed at the history that was available right before our eyes. Our guide did a wonderful job although it was a very, very hot day for this tour. My party of 3 still enjoyed everything. We were so glad that we decided to do this tour over another and have recommended it to others. From the bus ride to lunch to back to Rome, everything was splendid!!! Our guide from Rome, Luisa, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed her!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide was amazing. His knowledge of Italy, Rome and Pompeii was fantastic. He was very entertaining and had a great sense of humor (and he will tell you, a sexy voice). Pompeii is not to be missed. The climb to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular and everyone made it up and back. We had a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant. The two female guides were awesome. The french lady (sorry can't remember her name now) was extremely good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic experience!! Our tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable and the city of Pompeii is spectacular. Much larger and even better preserved that we expected. Lots of very cool history! The lunch was great for a "tour meal". Really enjoyed the hike up Vesuvius as well- spectacular views from the top!

From USD $ 176.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message