• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1483 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1483 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was our favourite tour of all the day tours we did. The location was fabulous, with the walk up Mount Vesuvius definitely our favourite part. The view was incredible after the walk up and our tour leaders were both fun and very informative. They definitely made this such a fun and fantastic day trip. Pompeii was great and our local tour leader was good as well, and although someone in our day trip was sent to hospital with a broken leg, the way the leaders handled the situation was certainly a credit to them both, with them taking care of both the group and the hurt lady. This was the highlight of our whole Europe trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing trip. It takes the entire day but is totally worth your time. The bus you take is comfortable/air conditioned. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. It's about a 40 minute walk to the top with amazing views of the Bay of Naples. The guided tour of Pompeii was also incredible. This was one of my favorite tours that we did while staying in Rome. Our guides, Geo and Daniel, were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Highly recommend it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Bus was comfortable, guides were good, pizza was good as well (was skeptical, but turned out better than planned). I didn't want to do shopping for souveniers, but I know others did, and the only place we really had time to do that was at a pit stop in Casino. The place had everything but just felt a bit too touristy. Pompeii and Vesuvios was a great experience, but doing a day trip was a lot of travelling for the amount of experience you get. In hindsight, I would have sacrificed a night or two in Rome and stayed in Naples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A fabulous tour, the guide was fantastic, Highly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My guides were great! I enjoyed the trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sarah and Roberto were fabulous. They complemented one another. They made the trip fun and enjoyable and imparted lots of interesting information. How they can remember it all, I don't know. Enrique also gave an invaluable insight into the history of Pompeii. All in all, an enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Seriana and Sarah were terrific guides! They provided a lot of interesting information while we were on the bus and they were very good about keeping the tour on schedule. We thought the entire thing was well organized and we would use viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We would highly recommend this tour, the local tour guides and the tour directors were all very knowledgeable and friendly. Although its a long day, its well worth the effort.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome tour! The guides were so friendly and knowledgeable, the bus was comfy and Pompeii was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour was absolutely incredible! We could not believe that we were actually in the place where it all happened. It was the best tour on our entire trip. Roberto was a wonderful guide. He spoke excellent English, he knew everything about Pompeii, and he was so friendly. He did everything he could to make our tour the best it could be. The trip was well organized. The bus was comfortable and the trip to Pompeii was a pleasure as Roberto told us so much history, not only about Pompeii, but about Rome also. He answered all of our questions. If you want to go to Pompeii, this is the tour you want to be on!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Interesting trip to Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii.

James B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My wife and I took this tour and boy are we glad we did. It was a long day with an early start but our tour guide Robert was excellent, extremely knowledgable but made sure it wasn't boring. The lunch supplied was excellent with 3 different types of pizza available with beer, wine or soft drinks. The local guide at Pompeii Lina was also excellent and made the stroll around Pompeii great fun filled with useful facts and information. Our driver Mary Elena did a sterling job all day getting us safely up the very treacherous roads up Mount Vesuvius and getting us safely back to Rome in good time. The whole day was a great experience and worth every penny!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guides were hilarious,personable, and well versed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

All the arrangements were perfect and the tour guides were outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide Robbie was phenomenal. He made the tour interesting, fun and memorable. I only wish that he could have been the tour guide for all the tours. The bus driver, Marilana was a very skilled driver and needs a huge pat on the back for her superb driving skills. I would recommend the tour as it was a once in a lifetime experience to climb an active volcano. The ruins of Pompeii were fascinating to see and well worth a visit.

From USD $ 184.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message