• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1508 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1508 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour to Pompeii was awesome! Our guides Violet and Antonella were great, very friendly and gracious. They explained in detail how the day's tour would proceed and provided us with detailed stories about everything we saw. The ruins of Pompeii are amazing, a must see. The view from the crater of Mt. Vesuvius is breathtaking. My family and I are so happy that we took this tour. Thank you for a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a very good tour. The guides were entertaining and informative. We stopped for pizza in Naples. It was good. We then went on to climb Vesuvius. We then moved on to Pompeii. It was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend I. You must bring your walking shoes.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour. Our guides from Rome and our guide in Pompeii were all very good and very informative. During the bus ride to and from, our Rome guides provided a lot of helpful information regarding things to do, places to eat, etc. in Rome. This was above and beyond!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really enjoyed our trip, was blown away by how well preserved Pompeii was. This was the one both me and my husband were looking forward to. The views from mount vesivius are amazing, im really unfit so was tough climbing up at first but worth it. The guides who took us through were so informative we were in the purple group with Violet. She was knowledgeable, helpful and really took the time to tell us about Rome, Pompeii and mount vesivius. She also helped us book other trips and recommended different ways to get to the sights. When at Pompeii we had Louisa, she was also fantastic. Really knew her stuff. I would so recommend the tours otherwise you would miss the importance of different things. The sight is huge and they help you see the important things and really give you a sense of how it was. Definetly recommend this trip and a big thanks to the guides as they made the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very well organized, with exceptional local tour guides. We visited all the sites, learned quite a bit,and had an excellent driver. The bus wasn't too crowded, and the lunch was good. Overall a good value for the money for a quick overview of Pompeii and Vesuvious

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The views at the top of Mount Vesuvius were fantastic and the tour of Pompeii was fascinating. It's a long journey but time passed quickly because of the knowledge that was shared by our guide. Lunch at the pizza restaurant was lovely as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our Pompeii Trip was wonderful. Our guide, was so informed and gave us a great history lesson and kept the long day interesting. I would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was amazing and our tour guides Roberto and Mossimo were outstanding We loved every minute of it. We took other tours after boarding theNCL cruse ship and the were awful. I highly recommend iator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with well informed and entertaining guides during the trip and while at Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I think this is the best way to see Pompeii from Rome in one day. The busride was relaxing, and you will get informations about the places you pass by, such as the Montecassino.
The climb of the summit of Vesuvio was great, so was the pizza we had.
I would have liked to enter Napoli, but I guess that is not possible to combine with Vesuvio and Pompeii in only one day.
The guide in Pompeii was really good and funny. So was the guides on the bus, and they handled everything very professional - even when a lady fell and broke her leg on the way down from Vesuvio, and had to go to the hospital.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Need more time in Pompeii! Have a multiple day tour for Pompeii and Herculaneum so visitors can see nearly everything available. I'd be one of the first to sign up for a multiple day tour of those historical sites!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really good tour would definitely recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with knowledgable and patient guides. Great value for the price!

From USD $ 183.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message