5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2092 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2092 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, the highlight of my stay in Italy. Our guides, Luca and Julio and driver Massimo could not have been better. The walk up the side of Vesuvius to look down into the crater capped it all off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative and educational tour. We were provided a lot of information during the day, not only on Pompeii, but also about Rome. We thoroughly enjoyed it and thought the tour guides did a fantastic job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had been to Pompeii before on my own, and this time took the tour since I was travelling with my daughter and granddaughter who were first timers. I was amazed at how much information I had missed on my first visit and that was explained so clearly by our guides. Furthermore, the hike up Vesuvius was very enjoyable and the views absolutely outstanding. This trip is definitely worth the long bus ride to and fro. Our guides, Antonella and Elaina were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sites visited were incredibly. The tour structure Bus and guides were also very good and everything ran on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guides, good amount of time in each location, nice buses. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. Melanie was our tour guide, she answered all of our questions and was very knowledgable. We learned a lot of interestings facts. Please take heed her warning you will be wore out by the time the trip is over, I highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our tour guide Luca was incredibly knowledgable and helped create an unforgettable experience from his outstanding knowledge to his jokes and charm. the organisation of the tour was great with smooth transitions between trips and coach journeys. The archaeologist at Pompeii was also fantastic with his explanations and engaging content as we were guided through the ancient city. The included meal was also delicious and was far larger than expected. Highly recommended and worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were so glad we chose to go on this trip. First, our guides were so knowledgable and fun! And the guide at Pompeii was awesome! It was amazing to see a whole town preserved! The climb to Vesuvius wasn't too bad because it's a short hike and the view was beautiful. The bus ride was fun too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The schedule worked very well. Luca was extremely helpful and informative. Also the local Pompeii guide was well-informed and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a vey interresting and fun trip. We really enjoyed our guides Rob and Luca who told us a lot off historic facts in a very fun way. Best guides ever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Ritz
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Melanie was Amazing! Although my group was large, she introduced herself with a handshake to each individual. Besides sharing the historical info for the trip, she also provided VERY valuable info on Rome's tipping system, restaurants menu and service, and how to know gelatos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Anna was wonderful. She had lot of knowledge and was very helpful. The trip was a good one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastique guides! Informative and fun!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister and I went on the tour yesterday and it was fantastic from start to finish.
Yes it's a super long day and the climb up the volcano can be testing at points but the satisfaction and view from the top is not to bemused!
Anna was very informative and really made the tour a special one

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant trip, full of history the guides on route were amazing and full of information, if you have time and can fit this tour in then would recommend .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything was perfect since the beggining. Melany our bus guide is really a terrific guide. Not only she knows a lot but she is the nicest person. Our guide in Pompeii was extremely good too. The pizza lunch was very good. 5 stars indeed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day trip to Pompeii was amazing! I've been interested in seeing Pompeii since learning about it in high school and I'm so glad I finally had that opportunity- it did not disappoint! It was really interesting and our tour guide was really passionate and informed. I highly recommend this fascinating tour!

As a side note: if you're only interested in seeing the corpses this tour may not be for you. We did see some, but there were complaints that some people only came to see the corpses and that they were disappointed. As someone who appreciates the history behind this city and the fact that people actually lived there years ago, it's almost an insult to the historical significance of this ancient city to say you only wanted to see the corpses. The tour is to see Pompeii, not the corpses of Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompei was simply AMAZING! It should be a must see for all visitors to Italy. We only had 2 hours here, and saw approx 1/5th of what there was to see, but the guide was brilliant! Georgio really knew his stuff, and made it fun and interesting. Really engaging. I kept saying to him how jealous I was of his job!!

I was a little suprised at the way some of our group were leaning on the 2000 year old walls like they were at home, I really wanted to shout at them for that.

Vesuvius - I didn't realise how steep this would be, but getting up there was worth it. It's a good 1-2k walk uphill. And the views from and into the volcano are amazing. To think just how high it used to be is scary. And seeing how many people live on the mountain is scarier. I was hoping it would be raining on the day we went down so we could do the Pompei museum instead, but next time, I know where I'll visit.

Finally, Anna and Julia, I could listen to Anna all day long. She has an amazing voice for the tour, very passionate about the work and acknowledging! Julia was super friendly and engaging, and we both felt at ease with her. Both of them made the day what it was!! A brilliant, fun, thrilling, entertaining, educational and relaxing tour.

Really happy 5 / 5 - Siobhan and Jamie

From USD $ 153.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message