5 star rating: Highly Recommended 1554 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1554 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip to Pompeii. Everything well organised. Very knowledgable guides that made the trip interesting and fun. Would strongly recommend using this company for any tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour, it was very well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the early start (7.15am). Comfortable coach which we shared with another tour group doing the same trip. Both guides shared their knowledge and stories along the way. Wonderful. Pompeii was something else - wow!! For this we had a local guide and again her knowledge and stories gave us a very much enhanced perspective. Traditional pizza lunch at a very pleasant restaurant in Naples. Then along the narrow, winding road to Mt Vesuvius. That in itself was quite an experience and had us gasping. The walk to the crater took us about 30mins. It was steep, a little hard but the views are so worth the effort. Exhilarating when you get right to the top. Yay!!! You don't have to go all the way though and there are two or three 'stations' along the way where you can take a break. Coming down is the same route as going up. Mostly a quiet trip on the way back to Rome; occasional commentary rousing us from dozing off. A real highlight. Must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide, Dan, was absolutely fantastic! He was knowledgable, entertaining, and personable, and unafraid to learn a few new things everywhere we went. He's a great story teller and made learning about history intriguing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was an excellent trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii. The guides Helena AMA Sarah were entertaining all along with history and facts. Well informed. Guide at Pompeii Francesca is also very good with taking us around. All in all it was one of the best. I recommend it anyday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guides were easy to find and the bus was comfortable on the ride from Rome. The stop along the way was appreciated. The tour of Pompeii was terrific - well paced, lots of information. A nice lunch and time to walk up Vesuvius. The walk was strenuous, but well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Elena was a very good tour guide helpful and friendly. Explained and translated brilliantly. Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii great tours. Would recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely brilliant trip with great tour guides, well worth every penny. I highly recommend this tour to anyone going to Italy. :-D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guides were great! Climb up Mt. Vesuvius was really tough but definitely worth the hike. Lunch was just ok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was amazing how well preserved Pompeii was considering it was 79 AD when it was buried. It was like stepping back in time. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was great. The views were awesome. The pizza lunch was delicious. The tour guides were entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A little long

From USD $ 182.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message