5 star rating: Highly Recommended 2044 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 2044 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, guides know their stuff, lunch is pretty ordinary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed our tour guide, Gio, and all the humor she brought to the tour. She was very personable, knowledgable, and helpful. Money well spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was awesome! The provider guides were wonderful, very informative throughout the trip and gave us great advice and tips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip! I booked the night before using the app and it was seamless! The trip itself was well worth it, such amazing history and a real eye opener to the strength of Mother Nature!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guides Julia and Sara were very helpful, informative, and kind. The tour was stress free. The tour guides tell you loads about the history of Italy and Pompeii. The restaurant they take you to for lunch was delicious. While the tour is pricey, I had a great time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, excellent tour guides, and the bus driver did a fantastic job also!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best tour we took in Italy. The onsight guide at Pompeii was a local and he was astounding! Climbing the last 280 meters of Mt. Vesuvius was phenomenal. Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A long day but so worth it. The tour guide Stephanie and Becky were amazing, so informative about Rome and Italy in general. They explained the structure of the day clearly including when/how rest stops. They were very informative about what to expect walking up Vesuvius explaining the x3 points and being realistic in your expectations. It was a tough walk and I was close to giving up before the first point, but I did get to the top. Back on the coach most did not get to the top but seemed very happy to have walked a part of it. Lunch was good, gave everyone a chance to recover. You sit at group tables so for me travelling alone was ideal as I has people to chat to. The guide in Pompeii Vincenzo was very informative. He gave plenty of time for picture taking before moving on. It really was a great day. The only thing to bear in mind was that in early June it was really hot by 3pm in Pompeii it had got to over 30. This does distract you from the tour so I would recommend going earlier in the year.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a beautiful day and we saw a good amount of Pompeii and then hiked Mt Vesuvius note that that was very cold at the end of March/beginning of April. Worth it but dress appropriately. The temperatures are very different in the 2 spots. I also thought the place we went to in Naples would be more authentic and that we would see more of the city, but the pizza was good, especially the crust. Tour guides on the bus were fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Everything was easy and our guide Stephanie was very knowledgable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide, lots of good information.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompei is a lot bigger than I thought. The tour guides were very helpful an courteous. Bus driver was very skillful navigating Vesuvius. I would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant, our guides were very informative and funny. It was a busy but very fun tour! Would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was something I'll never forget. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable, personable, and went out of their way to ensure each person was taken care of.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The lady that took us on the tour was very good she told us a lot about Pompeii. It was more than what we expected. Would Deffinately recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this tour. It can get very crowded tho.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert and Julia were fantastic! Very passionate and energetic, made the whole day that much more enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was probably the best tour that I took in Italy. It is cumbersome to get transportation from Rome to Naples to Pompeii so this tour was great that it organized transportation for you. It was an easy meeting location and the transportation was seamless. Additionally, the guides on the bus were awesome and very helpful. The first part was the ability to hike up Mt. Vesuvius good thing about the bus is takes you as far as tourists can go by vehicle. Caution: the hike is a little harder than I expected nothing terrible but nothing to dismiss. Wear shoes. After that pizza for lunch is included. Finally, the Pompeii tour was awesome and great guides. The other downside was there was not a ton of time to wonder around on your own outside of the two hour tour. If you are looking to spend longer there, you may not want to this. Overall, it is a long day but probably the best way to see these attractions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guides Robert and Anna were incredible! We liked this agency so much that we booked them for the Vatican tour also even though we already had a down payment with another guide. The bus ride there was comfortable and very informative. The guide at the site was really funny and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT tour, the guides were amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was wonderful, the tour of Pompeii was really nice. The walk to the top of the mountain was tough but well worth the walk!!

I was disappointed in the Pompeii trip because I had read up on it before arriving and the tour did not take us to the big coliseum or the place where a number of people were covered in the street. I know it would have been a little further walk but again it would have been well worth the walk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything about this tour was amazing. It is a long day but if you want a high-quality tour, this is the one to do. Stephanie and Anna were our City Wonders tour guides and we honestly used their tips on traveling Rome and Italy for the rest of the trip - they went above and beyond to describe where to eat, what neighborhoods to check out, where to find good leather, how to avoid tourist traps, etc. and as stated before, we used these tips for the rest of our week in Italy.
And regarding our tour, Stephanie and Anna did a great job at prepping us on what to expect for the day. The drive from Rome to Pompeii is a little long but there are comfort stops along the way for restrooms and coffee/snacks. The pizza lunch is delicious and worth the wait.
Enrico was our actual tour guide of Pompeii and he was potentially the most enjoyable guide we had throughout our entire trip. He was knowledgable, funny dry sense of humor, and was able to answer all our questions.
The trip up Vesuvius was not too challenging - and the views of Naples from the top are breathtaking.
Overall, this is a high-quality tour that goes above and beyond when it comes to the information and experience they provide. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was very informative and interesting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

this was a very enjoyable tour, all our guides were just fantastic. and the bus driver was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

From USD $ 149.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message