4.5 star rating: Recommended 1294 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1294 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing...while it was a VERY long day...13 hours it was so worth it!!!!!!!! We had difficulty with the audio in our van ( guide's voice was very muffled and not understandable) but with that aside, the views made up for it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was a very long, busy but amazing day. Our guide Alessandro was really helpful and knowledgeable. Highlights were Pompeii and Positano would definitely recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised and timed tour with plenty of quality time to explore. Our tour guide for the Amalfi coast was knowledgeable throughout with our highlight being at Positano. Our Pompeii guide was 3rd generation whose passion and stories made you feel like you were there!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip! Our guide, Carlo, was extremely friendly, thoughtful and helpful. This was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend it. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was everything we expected and more. Beauty of the Amalfi Coast was amazing! Tour guide, Alessandro was informative and knowledgeable. Also excellent driver. Guido (Spelling??) was excellent guide at Pompeii. We felt his knowledge of the history, geology and architecture was excellent. Outstanding tour and worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic trip! Comfortable minibus (so glad I wasn't in a large bus when going round tight corners on the Amalfi Coast road!), with an excellent and friendly guide, Rosanna, and driver Ernesto - we felt in safe hands with him. Would be good to go back and spend longer there but it was a great introduction to the spectacular scenery of the Amalfi coast and the fascinating history of Pompeii. Hotel pickups and drop-offs all worked smoothly, and although it was a long day, it was worth it - a real highlight of my holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A most enjoyable tour. From the time were picked up from our hotel Roberto, was an excellent driver and guide with good english commentary. The Amalfi coast section was spectacular, with stops for photos and ending at Positano with lunch at a restaurant on the beach. Pompeii was an amazing and entertaining tour with our guide Gaitano bringing the 2000 year old preserved city alive for us. Overall a very professional, carefully planned and executed small group tour. Good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A friendly and knowledgeable guide! A great tour to take in the sites and a guide of Pompeii is highly recommended and of excellent quality. The pick up and drop off hotel transport was very convenient given the long day!! The recommended lunch location had a great view but was a little pricey for what you got. Feel free to shop around for lunch, there is enough time to do so. Tour tour size made for a very personal experience. A must do tour!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommended if you have not seen Ephesus and Hadrian's Villa (for Pompeii), and Cinque Terre (for Amalfi Coast), and still recommended if you have (because there are differences).
Guide cum driver was very good and humorous (at Pompeii you have a local guide as well).
Amalfi Coast is as beautiful as the photos - it is a upmarket version of the more rustic Cinque Terre. Watch out for Sophia Loren's villa. You won't have enough time for a dip in the crystal clear waters, but if you are staying, do bring swimming attire. Lunch was fabulous but watch out for the "seafood soup" I ordered - it is a mountain of seafood (3 fish, langoustines, shrimp, mussels, clams and squid) - enough for 2 or 3 persons - way too much for lunch.
Pompeii is fascinating - they had proper toilets in Ancient Rome, heated bathhouses, etc. Having said that, Ephesus is much better preserved and intact, and Hadrian's Villa is not too dissimilar. However, the thing that stands out is the preservation of the plaster casts of the victims of the volcanic eruption that destroyed and preserved Pompeii - mostly slaves forced by their masters to stay behind to look after their property (one tell-tale sign of slavery is a belt, akin to wrist bands and collars, that they were made to wear), and a dog in its last throes. Our guide is a 50+ archetypal Italian gentleman with an impish sense of humour - his stories, jokes and interaction with us made the tour so enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I liked this tour because of the small size of just 8 tourists, and so we ere given much attention during this tour. Our guide was awesome and he was the driver at the same time - the driving of course was also "unbelievable" since the streets were so narrow, winding and they let the big big buses go through them! we saw some sideview mirrors hit and lots of the cars with damaged bumpers, haha...we even saw an authentic Italian argument during a traffic confrontation between our driver and an English driver who did not seem to know how to maneuver the ridiculous streets...

But, the views were simply amazing!!!! I had my zoom camera while in the van and I was sitting in front and able to capture amazing sights. The driver would also stop at significan points so that I could take great pics.

In Amalfi, we went up to the church and took many pics of the area and the people visiting as well.

Lunch was at Positano, and our guide said that we have to reach the water to really appreciate Positano. So, we foloowed him down through the streets of many souvenir shops (where we later shopped), until the very end where the beach was :) There was a wonderful cafe which, though expensive, had great food and fast service. The food was awesome --- and the name of the place was Chef Black.

It was mid-afternoon by the time we were in Pompeii. We were met by our guide who was a third-generation guide in Pompeii (his father and grandfather were guides of the same area). So, when he was a young boy, he said he used to go with his father and saw much more paintings in Pompeii. Some are being lost due to time, and also being move to museums probably. He brought us through the dug-out streest of Pompeii once under tons of ashes. Most notabel were the brothels, which were pointed to by "phallic signs on the street walls".
I was expecting to see lots of the body casts, but we did not get to visit the museum where I believe those casts were. We only saw two "body casts", t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perhaps my favourite tour in Italy- do not miss it. Could have spent longer in Pompeii but the actual trip along the coast is the absolute highlight. Positano and Amalfi were just beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

GreAt tour!!!!!

Rose M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an amazing tour. Max, our driver and guide was so friendly and informative, and boy can he drive that Coast road. He knew all the right spots for the pics we wanted. Our guide for Pompeii, Guitano, was outstanding. As a 3rd generation your guide there's nothing he couldn't answer for us. What a fabulous day!

From USD $ 260.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message