4.5 star rating: Recommended 1352 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1352 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was everything we expected and more. Beauty of the Amalfi Coast was amazing! Tour guide, Alessandro was informative and knowledgeable. Also excellent driver. Guido (Spelling??) was excellent guide at Pompeii. We felt his knowledge of the history, geology and architecture was excellent. Outstanding tour and worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic trip! Comfortable minibus (so glad I wasn't in a large bus when going round tight corners on the Amalfi Coast road!), with an excellent and friendly guide, Rosanna, and driver Ernesto - we felt in safe hands with him. Would be good to go back and spend longer there but it was a great introduction to the spectacular scenery of the Amalfi coast and the fascinating history of Pompeii. Hotel pickups and drop-offs all worked smoothly, and although it was a long day, it was worth it - a real highlight of my holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A most enjoyable tour. From the time were picked up from our hotel Roberto, was an excellent driver and guide with good english commentary. The Amalfi coast section was spectacular, with stops for photos and ending at Positano with lunch at a restaurant on the beach. Pompeii was an amazing and entertaining tour with our guide Gaitano bringing the 2000 year old preserved city alive for us. Overall a very professional, carefully planned and executed small group tour. Good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A friendly and knowledgeable guide! A great tour to take in the sites and a guide of Pompeii is highly recommended and of excellent quality. The pick up and drop off hotel transport was very convenient given the long day!! The recommended lunch location had a great view but was a little pricey for what you got. Feel free to shop around for lunch, there is enough time to do so. Tour tour size made for a very personal experience. A must do tour!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly recommended if you have not seen Ephesus and Hadrian's Villa (for Pompeii), and Cinque Terre (for Amalfi Coast), and still recommended if you have (because there are differences).
Guide cum driver was very good and humorous (at Pompeii you have a local guide as well).
Amalfi Coast is as beautiful as the photos - it is a upmarket version of the more rustic Cinque Terre. Watch out for Sophia Loren's villa. You won't have enough time for a dip in the crystal clear waters, but if you are staying, do bring swimming attire. Lunch was fabulous but watch out for the "seafood soup" I ordered - it is a mountain of seafood (3 fish, langoustines, shrimp, mussels, clams and squid) - enough for 2 or 3 persons - way too much for lunch.
Pompeii is fascinating - they had proper toilets in Ancient Rome, heated bathhouses, etc. Having said that, Ephesus is much better preserved and intact, and Hadrian's Villa is not too dissimilar. However, the thing that stands out is the preservation of the plaster casts of the victims of the volcanic eruption that destroyed and preserved Pompeii - mostly slaves forced by their masters to stay behind to look after their property (one tell-tale sign of slavery is a belt, akin to wrist bands and collars, that they were made to wear), and a dog in its last throes. Our guide is a 50+ archetypal Italian gentleman with an impish sense of humour - his stories, jokes and interaction with us made the tour so enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I liked this tour because of the small size of just 8 tourists, and so we ere given much attention during this tour. Our guide was awesome and he was the driver at the same time - the driving of course was also "unbelievable" since the streets were so narrow, winding and they let the big big buses go through them! we saw some sideview mirrors hit and lots of the cars with damaged bumpers, haha...we even saw an authentic Italian argument during a traffic confrontation between our driver and an English driver who did not seem to know how to maneuver the ridiculous streets...

But, the views were simply amazing!!!! I had my zoom camera while in the van and I was sitting in front and able to capture amazing sights. The driver would also stop at significan points so that I could take great pics.

In Amalfi, we went up to the church and took many pics of the area and the people visiting as well.

Lunch was at Positano, and our guide said that we have to reach the water to really appreciate Positano. So, we foloowed him down through the streets of many souvenir shops (where we later shopped), until the very end where the beach was :) There was a wonderful cafe which, though expensive, had great food and fast service. The food was awesome --- and the name of the place was Chef Black.

It was mid-afternoon by the time we were in Pompeii. We were met by our guide who was a third-generation guide in Pompeii (his father and grandfather were guides of the same area). So, when he was a young boy, he said he used to go with his father and saw much more paintings in Pompeii. Some are being lost due to time, and also being move to museums probably. He brought us through the dug-out streest of Pompeii once under tons of ashes. Most notabel were the brothels, which were pointed to by "phallic signs on the street walls".
I was expecting to see lots of the body casts, but we did not get to visit the museum where I believe those casts were. We only saw two "body casts", t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perhaps my favourite tour in Italy- do not miss it. Could have spent longer in Pompeii but the actual trip along the coast is the absolute highlight. Positano and Amalfi were just beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

GreAt tour!!!!!

Rose M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an amazing tour. Max, our driver and guide was so friendly and informative, and boy can he drive that Coast road. He knew all the right spots for the pics we wanted. Our guide for Pompeii, Guitano, was outstanding. As a 3rd generation your guide there's nothing he couldn't answer for us. What a fabulous day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Beautiful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing, amazing amazing. Our tour guide was terrific. He even sang for us!! The day was long but worth it!! Seven of us in the van and we made some new friends which made it even nicer.
Pompeii tour guide was the best. He showed us all the important details and we enjoyed his third generation expertise!
I do think for the price that we paid that either lunch or at least entrance to Pompeii should be included. It cost us 25 euro in Positano just for gelato and water.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fabulous tour... A very very long day though, nearly 16 hours. Reliable hotel pick up and drop off. Beautiful part of Italy and plenty of free time for pictures and sight seeing. Positano has amazing shopping! Gorgeous views the whole way and Pompeii was very humbling. Well worth the time and great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was the best. The guide was very polite, always answered our numerous questions with humour. He gave a brief summary of the places we were passing through without boring us. The tour itinerary was just what we wanted, stopping briefly for photos and some info then going onto the next stop. The included guided tour of Pompeii was very helpful as we didn't wonder around aimlessly wondering what was what. Very happy all round.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very skilled driver ( Max ) who negotiated the bendy roads with ease. The scenery was just beautiful and lunch was delicious at Chez black in the little village of Positano. Pompeii was amazing the guide, Datano, spoke with such heart and enthusiasm it was infectious for a place that contains so much well preserved history. It was a long day but very well worth it thank you very much to the tour group and all their staff.

Sjwilson65
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely brilliant, one of the highlights of our holiday. Our driver Carlos, was amazing. So pleased we did the Amalfi coast and we we definitely be back. I wasn't very keen on going to Pompeii and so pleased I did. Our tour guide there was so passionate it was incredible!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was our favorite historic tour. The local guide was very knowledgeable and extremely passionate. We really enjoyed our tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide was excellent as was his driving skiills along the extremely busy coastline! The tour guide in Pompeii was also excellent. Spectacular experience!

Andrea G
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Our driver picked us up from the Hotel and was very friendly and informative. We had free time to shop and he stopped several times for us to take photos of the gorgeous scenery. Was awesome.

Jodi P
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We LOVED it! After spending a few days in the city of Rome we were happy to have this tripped booked to get back out into open spaces! Truly a must do!! No complaints of any part of this day tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day well worth it, our driver was knowledgable, funny and easy to get on with!!!

The views, stories and stops just made for a great day.

It is a long day so you need to ensure you are rested up the day before! A must do tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour. Amazing driver. Amazing coastline. Amazing history. 10/10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour driver was very knowledgable and fun. The scenery was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour even though it is a long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day. The Amalfi coast was stunning and our driver was well informed. Pompeii was very interesting and the guide we had was great fun and so passionate about telling us the story of Pompeii, his knowledge was vast.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Our pickup and drop off from our apartment made it so easy. Our guide Brando obviously loves his job and sharing his homeland. The views of the Amalfi coast were amazing. We had plenty of time to enjoy our lunch and still managed plenty of shopping and tasting of local fare. Pompeii was mind boggling...with a very knowledgable guide. So many photo opportunities on this tour. Definitely recommend.

From USD $ 241.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message