4.5 star rating: Recommended 1324 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1324 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day in car but worth it. Van was nice, clean and roomy.Amalfi coast was beautiful and driver makes many stops for pics. Beware: driver will recommend lunch spots that has cover charge just sit down! Obviously gets kick back.Pompeii tour guide was great.Definitely site to see.Not too much walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Amalfi Coast is a beautiful part of the world. We think our driver is training for the F1 Circuit! Very competent and well-informed. Showed us everything. While Pompeii is wonderful, and awesome in the old sense of the word, the tour was somewhat truncated, and should have been longer in the ancient city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent small group tour (7 in our party) that included several stops along the Amalfi Coast as well as a late afternoon tour of the Pompeii ruins site. Our guide Roberto was very good although the microphone system he was using was a little garbled. The scenery was breathtaking and the stops in Amalfi (1 hour) and Positano (2 hours including lunch) were very interesting. The visit to Pompeii was awesome and our guide there (we combined with other small groups for this part) was a wonderful man with a great perspective on Pompeii. Although it is a long day, it is well worth the investment of time and I would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day but doable due to regular breaks for coffee, pictures, Lunch and shopping, etc. Pompeii was late in day (4-6 pm) and physically challenging at some spots, I needed to drop out about 2/3 through that part, although local guide was very informative. Driver/Guide was delightful and enthusiastic, I had door to door pickup and drop off. Highly recommend for seeing both highlights of beautiful coast plus Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alessandro was our driver and tour guide with 7 passengers in the van.
Not only was he very informative along the way but he was amazing driving
in the very tight turns of the Amalfi Coast. It may seem expensive for a one day tour but
you really could not find a simpler way to tour Amalfi, Positano and Pompeii in one day! Thanks,
Marg and Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. This is the only trip that I could find from Rome which returns the same day. They pick you up in an 8 passenger minivan at 7 am at your hotel or B and B and return you to the same location by 10 pm. Pompeii was terrific and the guide was excellent. They only stop for 2 hours in Pompeii but we felt it was enough. Pompeii is very large and their are one day "Pompeii only" day tours from Rome if you want even more time in Pompeii. There are also overnight and 2 day tours to the Amalfi Coast but this is the only tour that come back to Rome the same day. It stops in Amalfi and Portofino, both beautiful located on the mountainside high above the ocean, but stopping at two towns was more than more than enough. It's a long but perfect day and we did not feel the time we spent in Pompeii and the two coast towns were just the right amount of time. I recommend this tour VERY highly. Expensive, but worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was amazing...while it was a VERY long day...13 hours it was so worth it!!!!!!!! We had difficulty with the audio in our van ( guide's voice was very muffled and not understandable) but with that aside, the views made up for it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was a very long, busy but amazing day. Our guide Alessandro was really helpful and knowledgeable. Highlights were Pompeii and Positano would definitely recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised and timed tour with plenty of quality time to explore. Our tour guide for the Amalfi coast was knowledgeable throughout with our highlight being at Positano. Our Pompeii guide was 3rd generation whose passion and stories made you feel like you were there!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip! Our guide, Carlo, was extremely friendly, thoughtful and helpful. This was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend it. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour was everything we expected and more. Beauty of the Amalfi Coast was amazing! Tour guide, Alessandro was informative and knowledgeable. Also excellent driver. Guido (Spelling??) was excellent guide at Pompeii. We felt his knowledge of the history, geology and architecture was excellent. Outstanding tour and worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic trip! Comfortable minibus (so glad I wasn't in a large bus when going round tight corners on the Amalfi Coast road!), with an excellent and friendly guide, Rosanna, and driver Ernesto - we felt in safe hands with him. Would be good to go back and spend longer there but it was a great introduction to the spectacular scenery of the Amalfi coast and the fascinating history of Pompeii. Hotel pickups and drop-offs all worked smoothly, and although it was a long day, it was worth it - a real highlight of my holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A most enjoyable tour. From the time were picked up from our hotel Roberto, was an excellent driver and guide with good english commentary. The Amalfi coast section was spectacular, with stops for photos and ending at Positano with lunch at a restaurant on the beach. Pompeii was an amazing and entertaining tour with our guide Gaitano bringing the 2000 year old preserved city alive for us. Overall a very professional, carefully planned and executed small group tour. Good value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A friendly and knowledgeable guide! A great tour to take in the sites and a guide of Pompeii is highly recommended and of excellent quality. The pick up and drop off hotel transport was very convenient given the long day!! The recommended lunch location had a great view but was a little pricey for what you got. Feel free to shop around for lunch, there is enough time to do so. Tour tour size made for a very personal experience. A must do tour!!!!!

From USD $ 227.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message