4.5 star rating: Recommended 1331 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1331 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was excellent. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Italy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very good tour with a great driver/tour guide and although a long day was great fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

From the very start of our tour the guide was right on time and very nice. The Almalfi coast was our first real stop and it was amazing!!! We then moved on to Positano where we had a great lunch at a restaurant on the beach recommended by our guide. We then had time on our own before moving on to our last stop Pompeii which was also an experience. Really recommend this tour it’s really beautiful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic day! We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel and there were only 7 people on the tour which was great. The driver/guide, Max, was extremely competent and knowledgeable and gave us lots of photo opportunities on the drive along the Amalfi coast. We had time in Amalfi and Positano to shop and have lunch and were lucky to have a gorgeous day. The true highlight was the tour of Pompeii. The local guide, Gaetano, was fantastic - he brought the place to life. By the end you could truly envision life in Pompeii before Vesuvius erupted.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

5 stars. It was a long day and so worth every minute. The Amalfi Coast was beautiful, lunch in Positano delicious, and Pompeii a unique experience. Max our guide and driver was excellent. Our guide to Pompeii was a third generation guide and so knowledgeable and entertaining.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip - gorgeous weather and scenery. I especially enjoyed the scenery and then Pompeii. Unfortunately the time in Pompeii was brief due to the time of day but well worth it. Our driver/guide was very personable. His English could have been a bit clearer but otherwise he made it an enjoyable day. You might have him work on his over use of "My friends" because we got so caught up in that expression that we sometimes missed what he was saying. He used it as someone would use "um". But, we will definitely do this tour and/or others again!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip. It was a tight squeeze getting 8 (plus the driver) in the van but it was much better than trying to drive myself. I sat in the front middle seat and the driver did an excellent job on the really winding roads along the Amalfi coast. I always felt safe. We stopped for refreshments about halfway and also stopped along the way for pictures. Amalfi was beautiful and the 1 hour that we spent there was enough time for me since it's not a very big place. I really loved Positano and wished we could have spent more time there but I knew on a day trip like this it would be a quick trip. The driver led us to a restaurant that was very good and the service was pretty fast. It sat right on the water and it wasn't cheap but how many times in my life will I get to Positano? It was worth it. This allowed some time for shopping and picture taking after lunch. Now I want to talk about the tour of Pompeii. I can't say enough about how good this tour was. We met up with the guide there and he was fabulous! He said his father and granfather had done tours before him. He was funny and knowledgable. Pompeii is amazing. There's much more there to see than I thought. There are more ruins left than in Ancient Rome and it's easier to see the how they lived. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I would recommend this tour anytime. It's a long day and I was dropped off at my hotel at about 9:30 PM but it was worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

loved this day trip!! loved our guide - monia!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Words cannot describe the experience. From the moment the driver/guide picked you up from your hotel to the destinations and back to Rome. You have to do it, of course the weather must be good. The weather was sunny and beautiful on the day, that made our experience of this tour a 5 stars! Try to get seats at the back of the bus, don't sit in the front with the driver because of lack of legroom.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Long day in car but worth it. Van was nice, clean and roomy.Amalfi coast was beautiful and driver makes many stops for pics. Beware: driver will recommend lunch spots that has cover charge just sit down! Obviously gets kick back.Pompeii tour guide was great.Definitely site to see.Not too much walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Amalfi Coast is a beautiful part of the world. We think our driver is training for the F1 Circuit! Very competent and well-informed. Showed us everything. While Pompeii is wonderful, and awesome in the old sense of the word, the tour was somewhat truncated, and should have been longer in the ancient city.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent small group tour (7 in our party) that included several stops along the Amalfi Coast as well as a late afternoon tour of the Pompeii ruins site. Our guide Roberto was very good although the microphone system he was using was a little garbled. The scenery was breathtaking and the stops in Amalfi (1 hour) and Positano (2 hours including lunch) were very interesting. The visit to Pompeii was awesome and our guide there (we combined with other small groups for this part) was a wonderful man with a great perspective on Pompeii. Although it is a long day, it is well worth the investment of time and I would recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day but doable due to regular breaks for coffee, pictures, Lunch and shopping, etc. Pompeii was late in day (4-6 pm) and physically challenging at some spots, I needed to drop out about 2/3 through that part, although local guide was very informative. Driver/Guide was delightful and enthusiastic, I had door to door pickup and drop off. Highly recommend for seeing both highlights of beautiful coast plus Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alessandro was our driver and tour guide with 7 passengers in the van.
Not only was he very informative along the way but he was amazing driving
in the very tight turns of the Amalfi Coast. It may seem expensive for a one day tour but
you really could not find a simpler way to tour Amalfi, Positano and Pompeii in one day! Thanks,
Marg and Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. This is the only trip that I could find from Rome which returns the same day. They pick you up in an 8 passenger minivan at 7 am at your hotel or B and B and return you to the same location by 10 pm. Pompeii was terrific and the guide was excellent. They only stop for 2 hours in Pompeii but we felt it was enough. Pompeii is very large and their are one day "Pompeii only" day tours from Rome if you want even more time in Pompeii. There are also overnight and 2 day tours to the Amalfi Coast but this is the only tour that come back to Rome the same day. It stops in Amalfi and Portofino, both beautiful located on the mountainside high above the ocean, but stopping at two towns was more than more than enough. It's a long but perfect day and we did not feel the time we spent in Pompeii and the two coast towns were just the right amount of time. I recommend this tour VERY highly. Expensive, but worth it.

From USD $ 240.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message