• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 1095 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1095 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Driver was OK - wish he had betteer stories to tell about the history we were seeing as we drove. But the tour guide at Pompeii was phenomenal - funny and gave great knowledge on the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

It was a memorable day that began with a pick-up at our apartment on Via Giulia at 6:45am. There were eight of us in a mid-sized van. There were two vans of eight and we all met up on our stops in Amalfi, Positano and Pompeii. Our guide Max was outstanding. He also was memorable for his kindness. I left my shoes on the van. I called the tour company the next morning. Max got back to me and arranged to leave my shoes at a hotel near my apartment since I was out for the day. We found many people in Rome that were friendly and helpful, but Max shines above them all. It was a long day, but well worth the time spent. I highly recommend this tour. Please extend my thanks to Max.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour. Well organised. Friendly and competent driver. Lots packed into day. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Amalfi Coast and Pompeii. Our guide was so helpful and knowledgable. The Amalfi Coast is just breathtaking, lunch in Positano great and Pompeii amazing, would recommend this tour to anyone with a limited stay in Rome, awesome day!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely stunning coastline. Truly beautiful. Pity about the hordes of tourists (of which we were some) but the crowds to take away some of the enjoyment. However, gripes aside, it was a wonderful day with lots of memories to share with others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great trip! We had a wonderful guide and excellent driver (Allesandro). The guide made sure we all (8 people) changed seating arrangements frequently throughout the day. The guide was quite knowledgable and very accommodating throughout the day. Our driver was extremely competent and courteous throughout the challenging Amalfi Coast road. The views were breathtaking. Had lunch at a restaurant on the beach which was good, but expensive. The second part of the trip was spent at Pompeii. Our guide there was Hector who was outstanding and had quite a sense of humor. He was definitely very knowledgable of Pompeii. This whole day was wonderful and being in a small group was definitely an advantage. Great tour. Would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

A wonderful day with a small group of 8 of us in a comfy large car. Our driver Salvatore picked us up from our hotels in Rome and gave commentary on points of interest. No lines at toilets as we were ahead of bus tours. Saw Etruscan towns enroute to Amalfi and gorgeous scenery. Happy not to be trapped on the windy roads in a bus! Gorgeous views and stops at spectacular lookouts - one with seller of freshly squeezed lemon and orange juice. Mm. Time in Amalfi before on to lovely Positano for a fantastic lunch arranged at the iconic Chez Black on the beach. No rushing. Time to shop and leisurely lunch. Drove to Pompeii and had a guide waiting for uncrowded late afternoon tour with great commentary. Drove back to Rome the direct way so not too late. A long tour but didn't seem it as very enjoyable. The way to go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide/driver picked us up at our difficult to find hotel right on time. With a small group (8 of us) it was great. Details along the way made the trip even more enjoyable. Our driver was very skilled and informative. Offered recommendations in each town we visited but encouraged us to strike out on our own and make our own adventures. Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day at the coast. The towns/view are absolutely outstanding. Devotedly worth leaving Rome for a day for this unique experience. Pompeii is such an interesting look at life 2000 years ago. Our guide was informative and comical.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome... saw everything I wanted and both the staff in the bus were great...

the only thing that could have been better is if we could stop more along the Amalfi coast road for photos instead of taking out the bus window, but I understand it is hard to stop the bus. so no problem

thanks to the staff, great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was such an amazing tour of the south western Italian coast with homes built into rock and the winding coastal roadway. Beautiful! Florenzo was an amazing driver. He took us to an wonderful restaurant along the coast that served excellent Italian food including fresh fish. The Pompeii ruins with Mt. Vesuvius in the background with all of its history was a fabulous site. Thank you, Florenzo!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide and driver, Phillipo, was fabulous. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and the sites and would oblige us with picture taking. He picked me up early from the hotel and then we drove down to the Amalfi coast, stopping in Almalfi for sightseeing and pictures, then headed to Portofino for lunch and more walking around. Such charming towns and amazing scenery. We then went to Pompeii for a walking tour with another guide that was also incredibly knowledgeable. Well run tour, and very worth the money. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a great way to see Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. This was my first time to Italy and I am glad I did this tour, I would have never driven down the coast and would have missed the amazing views and beautiful towns. The tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and gave good tips and recommendations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

our guide was very knowlegable and friendly . The tour its self could not be anything but wonderful. Pomeii amazing in it's preservation ( could have spent more time here). Amalfi coast drive breathtaking. The lunch and shopping stops appreciated however felt that more than one restaurant should be recommended for lunch although my fish and pasta at chef black was incredible as well as the service and the staff.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable about the important facts of the area. The Pompeii guide was the best guide we had during our three week tour of Europe. I would book this tour again!

Special Offer
$305.68 Save $14.21

From USD $ 291.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message