4.5 star rating: Recommended 1351 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1351 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Rome - it was an amazing and wonderful day! We were picked up right on time, even though we were not in a "centrally located hotel." Carlo, our driver, was fabulous and as we were driving to the next hotel, he said we were running early, so would we please be his guests for coffee!! He took is to a little spot he frequents, and we had a wonderful coffee before we continued on. There were 8 of us on the tour. Carlo absolutely LOVES his job, and his banter and conversation were just delightful. The scenery is magnificent, Carlo's driving is fabulous, and all in all, it was the perfect day. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a very enjoyable day on this tour. Our driver was courteous, competent and considerate. Pompeii was fascinating and our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Although our tour started at 9:00, by the end (about 11:00) it was very hot. We were happy that our guide left us at a drink stall while we waited the five or ten minutes for our bus to go on to the Amalfi Coast. We were disappointed, though, that there was no time to buy souvenirs at Pompeii. The timing of the rest of the day was great, however. We enjoyed the two hours in Positano and one hour in the town of Amalfi. The coast drive was very scenic. Maybe a bit overpriced but a great way to see all these places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just amazing! Roberto our driver was excellent and the guide around Pompeii really brought the place alive. This was well worth the money. Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything exceeded my expectation. A day trip to Amalfi Coast and Pompeii is an experience my family will cherish forever. I only wished we could spend more time in Amalfi and Positano. Nonetheless, it was absolutely fabulous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour - very fortunate to have a wonderful guide and great company from a family from Austin Texas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I were in Italy for 15 days to celebrate our 50th Wedding anniversary. This was one of the most beautiful tours we took. We only had 8 people in our group and our driver was excellent and pointed out many sites along the way. The Coastline is breathtakingly beautiful, and we enjoyed the small towns we stop in for lunch, be sure to let the driver point our where to have lunch on the beach.
The Pompeii tour was amazing and our guide Hector was very informative and entertaining.
It was a long day, but worth every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fun tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nina and Gaetano (local guide)were great guides. Gaetano used great story telling techniques to make the history of Pompeii come alive. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful very small group tour. Amalfi Coast is not to be missed - you ride through several towns including Sorrento and Positano, see Naples, and stop in Positano for lunch and other places for photos. Feel free to eat anywhere or just eat your own snack, though you'll be directed to a particular restaurant which is very nice. If you don't eat there you will have time to shop and take photos in your approx. 1.5 hour stay. Otherwise there is really not enough time other than to walk past the stores. If you have trouble walking, either stay above the sea coast where the others will go or pay the 10 euros each way per person to ride on a slightly harrowing but do-able motorized cart like the ones used to carry luggage from the hotels. We did feel safe on it and the driver did go slowly but you might have to sit on the edge of the cart behind the driver and hold on. We were still glad we did use it so we could be by the coast. The views left us continually speechless, the driver was great, and this is an excursion not to be missed. Our Pompeii guide was really exceptional. If you have difficulty walking on uneven surfaces it will be very challenging but I did it since I had someone to hold onto. Highly, highly recommend. Lived up to all the photos and everything you hear about all of these places. Before going to Pompeii, definitely read up on it or watch a documentary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As advertised, it was a small group tour (we were six people plus the guide and driver in a small van) which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was a very enjoyable and stress free way to see the Amalfi Coast in a short period of time and included a wonderful guided tour of Pompeii in the afternoon -- an excellent introduction to the area. We will return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Amalfi Coast is like a dream! Driver did an awesome job navigating the roads - no way I could have ever done it! Our tour guide in Pompeii made it an awesome experience as well - hats off!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The driver and tour guide were wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fun trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Beautifully stunning!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was even better than advertised. I was actually dreading such a long day, but the time flew by.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fabulous day trip we had touring the Amalfi Coast from Rome. The whole tour was well organised and provided some time for personal browsing in Amalfi and Positano. Pompeii was well worth the visit, such an incredible hidden city. It was a long day but worth every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing drive around the Amalfi coast, be prepared to take a zillion photos! Guide Roberto was informative and transport comfortable. A bit more time in Pompeii would be nice as we felt a bit rushed for time there with so much to see, however Hector did his best to point out things unique to that location and was very informative. Was overall a very informative day. Take your swimmers for a quick dip in the beach if you can!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything you'd expect - got my money's worth - and it was not cheap! LOL. Nice having a highly-skilled driver along the scary cliff roads. My driver showed me some extra special places to get a beverage, since i was going solo, and the others were with family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic trip! This was the highlight of my entire vacation. It's a lot to pack into a single day (be aware of that going in) and the stops in Amalfi and Positano are for only 1 and 2 hours, respectively, but the Amalfi Coast is a site to behold!!! My favorite part of the day was the tour of Pompeii...amazing history and very knowledgeable guide. Max was our driver/guide and he is top notch! This trip has already got me planning a full vacation to the coast!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We took four tours on our European trip and this was absolutely the best. Our guide was fantastic and fun. The stops were perfect and just the right amount of time for us to explore, dine, and shop. We also met good friends in our group. I would recommend this trip to everyone who wants a one day trip to the Amalfi coast.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Breathtaking, guide was great!!
transportation needs to be upgraded,seats in the back are not suitable for sightseeing..needs bigger windows..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the highlight of my trip! The Amalfi coast is simply stunning and Pompeii is a moving experience. Our guide at Pompeii brought to life what it must've been like to be part of Pompeii. The Amalfi guide was a joy to talk to and enthusiastic about Italy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Breathtaking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very professional and delightful. The Amalfi Coast and Pompei were so worth the long drive!

From USD $ 243.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message