4.5 star rating: Recommended 1227 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1227 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Te Amalfi Coast and Pompeii itself was amazing. Tour guide and Pompeii guide were excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a long day, but if you don't have a car and want to get out of Rome and see the coast and Pompeii it was great. The tour did not include the price of admission to Pompeii. This was weird and unexpected. We were in a van with 8 people. The driver was great and informative. We were picked up at our hotel, very convenient. The coast and drive was beautiful. Positano is charming, had a nice lunch there. Amalfi is one big gift shop, but fun to see. The tour at Pompeii was really great too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The drive along the amalfi coast is spectacular. Our driver navigated the road well and with skill as it was very narrow and windey. The guide in Pompeii was very informative and precise. We got a condensed tour as we were limited for time, but still got to see major points of Pompeii, as it is large and repetitive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent!! This was my favorite trip in Italy. Our driver was super, and we had time to explore several little towns on the coast. Our tour of Pompeii was excellent as well. Very good tour guide. Highly recommend!!
And thank God someone else was driving!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

worth every cent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

No words can describe how beautiful the Amalfi Coast was. We drove along several kms of winding, twisting coastal road, with several stops along the way for picture-taking. We stopped in Amalfi and then Positano for lunch. After, we went to Pompeii and had an excellent and informative tour. I can't wait to read more about Pompeii now that I'm home. Many, many thanks to Roberto, our driver. Our hotel in Rome was changed at the last minute, and he came to our new hotel at 7:00 am when he didn't find us at the one we had confirmed. I'll never forget this tour. It was the highlight of a week in Rome, Florence and Venice and well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We were picked up at 6:45am by Roberto our driver at our hotel. He drove a van and we picked up 3 more couples for a total of 8 people in this van. He drove at high speeds 140 kms per hour which is normal for Italy. Most were passing him on the freeway - but he was a very safe driver. The scenery was incredible, and seeing the sharp hair pin turns on the Almalfi this is why he drives a vehicle this size. It was a long day, but interesting to see all the different towns along the coast. We stopped at rest stops to have fresh squeezed lemons, shopping and lunch at Postiano = lots of free time to venture around the stores, and to the beaches to see the views of the Amalfi. This tour is a must see. After the Amalfi we were driven to Pompeii at 4pm to see the ruins. Our guide Hector was incredible. He has been a tour guide at Pompeii for 35 years. He knew every fact possible about Pompeii. His heart is in love with Pompeii and it shows. He was great. We didn't get back to our hotel till almost 10 pm. Lots of quiet napping time in the van along the route home which was nice... Both Roberto and Hector were great.... Both spoke very clear English and we fell in love with the Amalfi and Pompeii.....Thank you to both of you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

GREAT!!! SALVATORE WAS AWESOME AND MADE SURE THAT WE ALL HAD FUN AND ENJOYED THE COAST!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very nice trip although be prepared for the winding roads of the Amalfi Coast, especially if you are prone to becoming car sick. The towns along the way were very nice but somewhat touristy. Our Pompeii guide was a 3rd generation guide and was fantastic! We were really looking forward to seeing Pompeii and were pleasantly surprised and very impressed by what we saw and heard from our guide. We would say that our Pompeii tour was one of the highlights of our 3 week tour of Europe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It poured rain on the drive to Amalfi, but miraculously cleared as we began our drive up the coast. How incredibly beautiful! Positano was postcard perfect! Our guide at Pompeii was great! He brought this ancient city to life and was passionate in his storytelling. Thanks to Allessandro for a safe drive through gorgeous scenery and providing very informative commentary. Do not hesitate to reserve this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great way to see the Amalfi coast as you wouldn't want to drive there yourself. Very comfortable car and we had a good group of people travelling with us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great way to see the Amalfi coast as you wouldn't want to drive there yourself. Very comfortable car and we had a good group of people travelling with us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an amazing tour!! Long but well worth the day spent. Guides were great. The Pompeii tour was the highlight of my stay in Italy.

Allan V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fabulous scenery,crazy driver! reasonable English but acts like a School Teacher!

From USD $ 286.83

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message