4.5 star rating: Recommended 1298 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1298 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic day well worth it, our driver was knowledgable, funny and easy to get on with!!!

The views, stories and stops just made for a great day.

It is a long day so you need to ensure you are rested up the day before! A must do tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour. Amazing driver. Amazing coastline. Amazing history. 10/10.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour driver was very knowledgable and fun. The scenery was spectacular. I would highly recommend this tour even though it is a long day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day. The Amalfi coast was stunning and our driver was well informed. Pompeii was very interesting and the guide we had was great fun and so passionate about telling us the story of Pompeii, his knowledge was vast.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Our pickup and drop off from our apartment made it so easy. Our guide Brando obviously loves his job and sharing his homeland. The views of the Amalfi coast were amazing. We had plenty of time to enjoy our lunch and still managed plenty of shopping and tasting of local fare. Pompeii was mind boggling...with a very knowledgable guide. So many photo opportunities on this tour. Definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Rome - it was an amazing and wonderful day! We were picked up right on time, even though we were not in a "centrally located hotel." Carlo, our driver, was fabulous and as we were driving to the next hotel, he said we were running early, so would we please be his guests for coffee!! He took is to a little spot he frequents, and we had a wonderful coffee before we continued on. There were 8 of us on the tour. Carlo absolutely LOVES his job, and his banter and conversation were just delightful. The scenery is magnificent, Carlo's driving is fabulous, and all in all, it was the perfect day. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a very enjoyable day on this tour. Our driver was courteous, competent and considerate. Pompeii was fascinating and our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Although our tour started at 9:00, by the end (about 11:00) it was very hot. We were happy that our guide left us at a drink stall while we waited the five or ten minutes for our bus to go on to the Amalfi Coast. We were disappointed, though, that there was no time to buy souvenirs at Pompeii. The timing of the rest of the day was great, however. We enjoyed the two hours in Positano and one hour in the town of Amalfi. The coast drive was very scenic. Maybe a bit overpriced but a great way to see all these places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Just amazing! Roberto our driver was excellent and the guide around Pompeii really brought the place alive. This was well worth the money. Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything exceeded my expectation. A day trip to Amalfi Coast and Pompeii is an experience my family will cherish forever. I only wished we could spend more time in Amalfi and Positano. Nonetheless, it was absolutely fabulous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour - very fortunate to have a wonderful guide and great company from a family from Austin Texas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I were in Italy for 15 days to celebrate our 50th Wedding anniversary. This was one of the most beautiful tours we took. We only had 8 people in our group and our driver was excellent and pointed out many sites along the way. The Coastline is breathtakingly beautiful, and we enjoyed the small towns we stop in for lunch, be sure to let the driver point our where to have lunch on the beach.
The Pompeii tour was amazing and our guide Hector was very informative and entertaining.
It was a long day, but worth every minute.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fun tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nina and Gaetano (local guide)were great guides. Gaetano used great story telling techniques to make the history of Pompeii come alive. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful very small group tour. Amalfi Coast is not to be missed - you ride through several towns including Sorrento and Positano, see Naples, and stop in Positano for lunch and other places for photos. Feel free to eat anywhere or just eat your own snack, though you'll be directed to a particular restaurant which is very nice. If you don't eat there you will have time to shop and take photos in your approx. 1.5 hour stay. Otherwise there is really not enough time other than to walk past the stores. If you have trouble walking, either stay above the sea coast where the others will go or pay the 10 euros each way per person to ride on a slightly harrowing but do-able motorized cart like the ones used to carry luggage from the hotels. We did feel safe on it and the driver did go slowly but you might have to sit on the edge of the cart behind the driver and hold on. We were still glad we did use it so we could be by the coast. The views left us continually speechless, the driver was great, and this is an excursion not to be missed. Our Pompeii guide was really exceptional. If you have difficulty walking on uneven surfaces it will be very challenging but I did it since I had someone to hold onto. Highly, highly recommend. Lived up to all the photos and everything you hear about all of these places. Before going to Pompeii, definitely read up on it or watch a documentary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As advertised, it was a small group tour (we were six people plus the guide and driver in a small van) which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was a very enjoyable and stress free way to see the Amalfi Coast in a short period of time and included a wonderful guided tour of Pompeii in the afternoon -- an excellent introduction to the area. We will return.

From USD $ 256.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635POM

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message