5 star rating: Highly Recommended 45 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 45 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This is what the money is for. Splurge on a personal tour - you won't regret it. Skipping the security line in particular. You know you are a VIP when the staff are personal friends of your guide and treat her clients accordingly. Our guide was a PhD in art history, really insightful commentary on these renowned treasures. Unforgettable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Thankyou Valerio for a wonderful insight into the history and development of the Borghese Gallery. It gave us a deeper understanding of the pieces within the rooms and your art knowledge is excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Was great... The guide was very knowledge able and a was so enjoyable. I would give this a thumbs up.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide was superb. She was an Art historian and her knowledge of the works within the Gallery was tremendous. She made the tour come alive and we walked away with a much better understanding of the Borgheses and their era.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Wonderful, informative guide who made the gallery such an enjoyable experience for our small group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Probably the best tour we had in Rome, our guide Maria was excellent, passionate, and highly knowledgeable. This tour is definitely a "must" when visiting Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Excellent! Great guide. Made the tour most informative and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The BEST tour we had. The Borghese is filled with the most beautiful sculptures what we wanted to focus on and our wonderful guide Valerio was superb. Show up on time because you only get a certain amount of time for your slot...no limitless tour here.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent - great way to see this beautiful museum. I didn't want to go but other family members did. This turned out to be one of my highlights of the trip! Private tour worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The private tour suited our needs perfectly. Our guide was well educated and very passionate about the art which provided us with a unique experience. You cannot truly appreciate the art history without such a good teacher.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

The Villa Borghese is great. Was made better by our guide, who was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our guide was very knowledgeable and informative -- absolutely excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This tour was fantastic! We love educational tours and we learned SO MUCH art history on this tour. It really helped but a time line on what was happening in history and how the art world was developing at that time. Highly recommend this trip if you are interested in art history and culture.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The tour of the gallery was very thorough and intersting. Our guide did not include the other hour of the tour which was supposed to be of the gardens and the church. We complained to Viator and got a partial refund however which was the right thing to do. If you love art history this is a great excursion. Doing it as a private tour maximizes your experience. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour....my wife loved it.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Excellent guide, I would recommend for art lovers.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Guide was late, but once the tour got started it was great. . Would highly recommend this tour. Historical background and depth of information made for an enriching and enjoyable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable. It was wonderful to have the explanations given as we studied the works at Borghese.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The guide was very knowledgable. Finding the museum was a little challenging since there was a long walk up to the palace.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The guide was a doctor of art history and a writer with a passion for her work. But the tour was much too dear at more than 350 Euros for two for about 3.5 hours, excluding admission costs, especially when one can engage similar art experts and guides in Rome for 300 Euros for a full day.

From USD $ 108.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3207H

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message