5 star rating: Highly Recommended 515 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 515 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My hubby and I were the only people booked into a class that morning so we had a teacher to ourselves. First stop was the museum. Were very interested in Ancient Rome so for us it was terrific to see the weapons and helmets used by the gladiators and to learn about the features of each type but young kids may be bored by that bit.
The practical class in the sand arena was great fun. Having been trained in both attack and defense moves by our trainer we had a bout which I of course let my husband win. We were then awarded our freedom with Roman citizenship complete with certificate.
After the class we were taken to the soldiers camp where some rookies were being sworn in as legionaries for life so a crowd had gathered to see the ceremony and there was much Aveing and people were dressed in costumes befitting their role senators, centurions, legionaries, noblewomen, prostitutes and criminals with signs around their necks displaying their crime including a dog. Such a fun experience with enthusiastic people dedicated to preserving their history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 12 yr old son on this. We both had a wonderful time and learned so much! I would recommend this to everyone kids and adults!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots of fun. My 12-year-old son and I had a great time. Our trainer Pietro aka Marcus Vallerius was a tough, but funny drill instructor. We survived the school. Alas, neither of us finished as the top gladiator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great family fun. We had a blast. Kids had fun but I think the adults had even more fun! Take a taxi as its a bit in the middle of nowhere. Also, be ready for a bit of a work out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our nine year old son went to Gladiator School this morning. It was the complete highlight of his trip to Rome. He had an hour learning to fight with Paolo and we all spent a fascinating hour in the museum afterwards. Paolo was friendly and funny and really good with our son and made the entire morning fabulous.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the highlights of our Rome trip. Paolo the instructor was amazing. He took care in providing us with a tour of the museum and some Roman history before the training began. My boys, aged 8 and 10 enjoyed completing the obstacle course, and had a blast sparring with each other. Definitely a very memorable experience and I highly recommend for other travellers with children.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Me and my boyfriend absolutely loved this and we are 19yrs and 20 yrs old - this can still be fun for adults :

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, very informative, my son really enjoyed the whole experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our instructor Paolo was enthusiastic and very passionate, he appealed to both father and son. From the museum tour to the actual training, it was well done! Definitely a highlight of our two week trip in Italy! We are back home and still using our skills only now we use foam lightsabers. Getting there was a little tricky, plan on a cab ride!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic! A bit difficult to find due to unhelpful taxi driver but well wroth the effort. The museum and history lesson was awesome, learnt so much. Then my husband and two boys 8 and 10 had the BEST TIME EVER training and fighting like a gladiator! They didn't want to leave. Highly recommend this to families.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lots of fun for adults and children. The tour around the museum beforehand is very informative. The Gladiator training is a proper workout!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experience, our sons were working hard to become a gladiator : Our trainer was great, the historical review was very interesting and the training was exciting.
Eva, Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Kids loved it, ages 11 and 8. Even the adults had a great time. Our tour guide even got us involved....great time, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 9 year old kids loved it! Both my son and daughter loved the gymnastics/obstacle course/sword play aspects of it, and my husband and I enjoyed learning about the Roman soldiers' gear and weapons and how they were used. Terrific experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time! Even though I was the only participant, I thoroughly enjoyed all that I learned. It was a fantastic history lesson as well as a physical challenge to experience how the gladiators trained and fought. It was well worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time! This came recommended by a private tour guide we have used a couple of times in Rome. Booked kids ages 14, 12 and 8, the Saturday of Easter Weekend. Turned out it was just the three of them signed up. Paolo was fluent in English and really engaged the kids and us parents on the museum tour. We all learned something. Then came the training! Fun watching the kids. Again, Paolo was great with them. A nice break for the family from the museums and the walking. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome experience.
My instructor Paolo demonstrated a great knowledge about ancient Romans customs and history.
He taught me attack/defend strategies to fight like a gladiator.
I would recommend this tour to anyone!!! Ave Cesar!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent instructor! Enough different kinds of information and activities to be fun for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic experience! This is not a cheesy gimmick as many would suspect. The museum had many replicas and artifacts that were thoroughly explained by our guide. Our gladiator was very knowledgeable, skillful, and took the experience seriously giving my kids a wonderful experience. This was truly one of the highlights of our time in Italy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

beautiful surroundings, very nice team, we had a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our teenage boys thoroughly enjoyed this tour! If you have the time it is a must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire session was fantastic! We had Paulo and he was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about all things Roman.

The museum was absolutely fantastic- very hands on we learnt a lot more there with Paulo than in other sites around Rome. The discussion on the weapons and armour and tactics was fascinating.

The training itself was very fun- he had a good sense of humour and we all had a great time training and fighting. I thoroughly recommend it!

It was straightforward to get a taxi to... and he called us a taxi to pick us up at the end. Easy Peasy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Gladiator School was one of the great highlights of our trip to Rome. Our 9 year old son and 13 year old daughter did the school, and both loved it. We all enjoyed the discussion of Roman history and weapons with our leader, a centurion who is a carabinieri for his day job. He was very good with the kids,and with the adults. He had us all laughing with his drill sergeant approach to my son, and did a great job of explaining everything and keeping it very interesting. The kids loved learning the tactics of actual sword fighting, and had a wonderful time fighting each other with the padded swords. It made the rest of the trip even more enjoyable for the kids.

We cabbed to the school. There's a coffee bar about 250 yards down the road past the school where you can get cappuccino and food if you get to the school early. The school also called us a cab when we were done at it was there within a few minutes.

All in all, a great experience which i strongly recommend.

From USD $ 63.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message