5 star rating: Highly Recommended 502 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 502 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, very informative, my son really enjoyed the whole experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our instructor Paolo was enthusiastic and very passionate, he appealed to both father and son. From the museum tour to the actual training, it was well done! Definitely a highlight of our two week trip in Italy! We are back home and still using our skills only now we use foam lightsabers. Getting there was a little tricky, plan on a cab ride!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic! A bit difficult to find due to unhelpful taxi driver but well wroth the effort. The museum and history lesson was awesome, learnt so much. Then my husband and two boys 8 and 10 had the BEST TIME EVER training and fighting like a gladiator! They didn't want to leave. Highly recommend this to families.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lots of fun for adults and children. The tour around the museum beforehand is very informative. The Gladiator training is a proper workout!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experience, our sons were working hard to become a gladiator : Our trainer was great, the historical review was very interesting and the training was exciting.
Eva, Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Kids loved it, ages 11 and 8. Even the adults had a great time. Our tour guide even got us involved....great time, highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 9 year old kids loved it! Both my son and daughter loved the gymnastics/obstacle course/sword play aspects of it, and my husband and I enjoyed learning about the Roman soldiers' gear and weapons and how they were used. Terrific experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time! Even though I was the only participant, I thoroughly enjoyed all that I learned. It was a fantastic history lesson as well as a physical challenge to experience how the gladiators trained and fought. It was well worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time! This came recommended by a private tour guide we have used a couple of times in Rome. Booked kids ages 14, 12 and 8, the Saturday of Easter Weekend. Turned out it was just the three of them signed up. Paolo was fluent in English and really engaged the kids and us parents on the museum tour. We all learned something. Then came the training! Fun watching the kids. Again, Paolo was great with them. A nice break for the family from the museums and the walking. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome experience.
My instructor Paolo demonstrated a great knowledge about ancient Romans customs and history.
He taught me attack/defend strategies to fight like a gladiator.
I would recommend this tour to anyone!!! Ave Cesar!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent instructor! Enough different kinds of information and activities to be fun for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic experience! This is not a cheesy gimmick as many would suspect. The museum had many replicas and artifacts that were thoroughly explained by our guide. Our gladiator was very knowledgeable, skillful, and took the experience seriously giving my kids a wonderful experience. This was truly one of the highlights of our time in Italy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

beautiful surroundings, very nice team, we had a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our teenage boys thoroughly enjoyed this tour! If you have the time it is a must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire session was fantastic! We had Paulo and he was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about all things Roman.

The museum was absolutely fantastic- very hands on we learnt a lot more there with Paulo than in other sites around Rome. The discussion on the weapons and armour and tactics was fascinating.

The training itself was very fun- he had a good sense of humour and we all had a great time training and fighting. I thoroughly recommend it!

It was straightforward to get a taxi to... and he called us a taxi to pick us up at the end. Easy Peasy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Gladiator School was one of the great highlights of our trip to Rome. Our 9 year old son and 13 year old daughter did the school, and both loved it. We all enjoyed the discussion of Roman history and weapons with our leader, a centurion who is a carabinieri for his day job. He was very good with the kids,and with the adults. He had us all laughing with his drill sergeant approach to my son, and did a great job of explaining everything and keeping it very interesting. The kids loved learning the tactics of actual sword fighting, and had a wonderful time fighting each other with the padded swords. It made the rest of the trip even more enjoyable for the kids.

We cabbed to the school. There's a coffee bar about 250 yards down the road past the school where you can get cappuccino and food if you get to the school early. The school also called us a cab when we were done at it was there within a few minutes.

All in all, a great experience which i strongly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This activity was the highlight of our three days in Rome. Our two boys, aged 10 and 13 absolutely loved it. Even better, we all learned something. Our guide, Marco, was really top notch and it was obvious that he cared deeply about providing us an engaging experience. Definitely take a taxi as the Appian Way is not a good place to walk and is a fair distance from the Colosseum. Marco will call a taxi for pickup if you want. Anyone with children must do this. However, I think adults would also really enjoy it I k now my wife and I did!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

My twin 8 year old boys thoroughly enjoyed this experience. Interesting history lesson with hands on props followed by fun Gladiator Training tailored to their age and ability brilliantly by the lady trainer. They were nervous before hand but this became their joint highlight (with the Colosseum) of our four day trip to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Would highly recommend if visiting Rome with children. Our 7 year old son really enjoyed it and the adults also learnt alot!. Our teacher, Paulo, is very informative and genuinely interested in teaching about the Romans. The downside is your child now thinks he is a skilled gladiator!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best event in Rome for wannabe gladiators. Family with three boys under 10 years.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a perfect mix of education and fun. The museum had many artifacts that allowed the participants to have a visual of the equipment used by gladiators, the life of ancient Rome, and the expansion of the empire. The gladiatore, instructor, was excellent and engaged all of the participants to have a good time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sooo cool! Sure the small museum is a bit simple and could need some signs in English, but it was made with passion and love for the history. It kept the kids well engaged. It was not only about the Gladiator games, but also about the Roman war tactics, which was very interesting to hear. After the museum tour it was time to do the training. Don´t bring your prettiest clothes for this, it´s hard work, and a lot of fun!

From USD $ 61.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message