Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 559 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Tasha R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A living history lesson- so much fun and highly recommended!

Angelina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour. We did this tour as a family of 4 as our son really wanted to attend but not on his own. Our gladiator was Emanuel Tiny-mind you there was nothing tiny about him he was fantastic and we enjoyed his knowledge and history of the roman era. I cannot speak highly enough of Tiny he made this tour very memorable. In fact a highlight of our time in Rome ...... Thank-you Tiny and I'm sure I was your best mama Gladiator you have ever trained !!!!!!!

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great half day out and perfect for families with young children. My boys loved this experience and learned a lot. The presentation was a perfect combination of learning about life as a Roman soldier and physical activity. the tour guides were excellent. It was the first thing my son told his teacher about on our return to school.

CJ W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Without a doubt a great day out for the whole family. We were fortunate to have a session to ourselves and found the pre fighting information session was exceptionally interesting, especially for the adults. Our son had been looking forward to this for months and wasn't disappointed. He had a great time attacking both Marcus and myself. Many thanks to Marcus for making the tour memorable for our son. Thoroughly recommended.

Chris W
New Zealand

Lesley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My grandson absolutely loved this experience he is into TaeKwondo so is used to fighting but was completely enthralled by the instructor. A complete success

Sinead B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour my 2 boys 8 and 6yrs absolutely loved it. Pablo was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour both applicable for adults and childrem alike.

Kimberly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This could have been silly or cheesy, but it was great. The place is really neat, outside the wall and down a dirt road. Roosters crowing, very authentic. They don't push merchandise but give good historical info too. Our kids LOVED it ages 6-11 and were sweaty and got a good workout too with the obstacle course, fighting drills and matches. It was one of the most fun things we did in Rome and I wouldn't miss it if I had kids. My daughter was a great warrior and surprised our gladiator with her ferocity as she took down boy after bigger boy! All in all, an excellent experience!!

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I booked this as a surprise for my children aged 12 and 10 and they loved it. We had lots of laughs and learnt interesting facts as well. Well worth it.

LaVerne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tremendous experience the kids will remember forever! A highlight of our trip! Super gladiator!

emma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an absolute must! In the end my husband took part with my 10 yr old. My daughter was unwell. The gladiator who took their class was absolutely first rate! He looked the part, he made it interesting, told us all about the different types of weapons, armour, moves etc for each level of fighter in the Roman Empire. Then it was training time. They had to do a few laps of a small arena, dodging sandbags, doing commando rolls etc and then it was time to learn how to fight. He used just the right amount of humour and seriousness. Taught them some basic moves/blocks with swords etc and then they got to fight with each other! Very well organised, he was an ex wrestler and professional gladiator. Brilliant!

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perhaps because we were the only participants and thus got very personal attention, we rank this experience among the top activities done while in Rome. If traveling during warmer months, then we recommend to go in the morning while it is cooler.

Veronica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing!

Jen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We're not usually big on guided tours or experiences, but this one was a winner. It's a bit out of the way, geographically, but worth the trip. The instructor had a great, dry sense of humor. Showed us the traditional gladiator garb/weapons, involving kids in guessing the uses and reasons for different things, putting the garb on them, etc. Then we went through training, a boot camp obstacle course before learning the fighting moves and testing them against each other. Excellent program - highly recommend!

Tim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a highlight of our holiday trip to Rome, located outside the city (c 20€ taxi ride - just give them the address and they will find it!) - excellent fun, tired the kids and grown up out! Get them to book a taxi back to the city is easiest and quickest way home!

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed our time here with great memories made with my 12 year old!

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our 16 and 18 year old really enjoyed the Roman Gladiator School and appreciated the enthusiasm, wit and knowledge of the instructors. We would definitely recommend it!

Nilou M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Gladiator school was great! The instructor was informative and dynamic. My only suggestion is to have better directions to the venue, as the taxi dropped us off at the main road, and we didn't know that we had to come up the alley. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Viator Civic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic experience for my 12 year old son and me. Paolo spoke English very well, explained everything in detail, had a great sense of humor, and was very knowledgable about Roman military history. There is a small museum of military history and gladiatorial items that is charming and very interesting. Importantly, Paolo called a cab for us at the end of the session and we only had a short 10 minute wait. The school provided plenty of water. The school was a short 15 minute cab ride from our hotel in the center of Rome. I highly recommend this for a great experience with kids. Thanks Paolo. We'll be back on our next trip to Rome!

Bethany E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So much fun! A nice break from the bustle of the city.

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time! I would highly recommend this for both adults if you are fit and children. They were great during the event and helpful with getting transportation back to hotel.

Jon P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

OK, off the beaten path, take a taxi to get here, and they will call for one at the end to take you back. Strange, kitschy entrance, with a fun little museum. The gladiator trainer/tour guide gave great historical perspective of gladiators in Rome, and the the fun began. Gladiator school was both fun for observers and participants. Great for ages 10-50. Highly recommended in Rome, if you are tired of Museums and Churches, this is for you, simple half day fun.

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you have kids under the age of 12, I highly recommend this. It was the highlight of my 9 yr old's whole trip to Rome. The instructor's were great and spoke passable English but the kids didn't seem to mind. They did a great lesson about gladiator and Roman history before they took the kids out to the sand pit to train them to be gladiators. They did get to spar with each other and with the parents which was the highlight. Even my 14 yr old enjoyed the sparring part and fought her younger sister. They had a different training area for younger kids and then another one for older kids and adults.

Karen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous and fun morning we had learning about gladiator history and all the training skills required to be a gladiator. My 9 year old had a ball as did my husband even if he did get to be the demonstration victim. The tour started with some history and explanation of the the various types of gladiators and the weapons they used. Then onto the main activities. Some warm up training, then the basics of moves using a wooden sword. The highlight was getting to battle an opponent. Son beat the father!
Highly recommend this activity.
Easy enough to get to. We took the metro to Piramide then due to being the first session of the day and not wanting to be late, we grabbed a taxi for the 5 minute ride.
After the training we actually walked back to Ostiense station, which took 15 minutes, then the train back to town but you could take a bus as well.

Heather P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I read all the reviews before I booked. My husband and I had honeymooned in Rome and this time around we had our 7 year old daughter so I wanted to do something I thought she would like since we weren't missing anything we hadn't already seen. We all participated and loved it. There is physical activity and you will get sandy/dirty and hot. They give you water! It was great. The museum tour was really insightful. Then to the ring for training. Hermes was our master and had a good balance of staying in role and cutting us a little slack when needed. Be prepared that when they order you a taxi back, you pay for the taxi to get there AND to get to your destination at least that's what our driver charged us. Not like in the states... Have the taxi drive you down the road. No need to walk that stretch by trash cans as it sounded like some people had done.

Vipul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took three of our sons there - this place is amazing. Wonderful and interesting narration of history for all ages. Everyone had a great time learning essential gladiator skills. They were also very kind to call a taxi for us at the end of the lesson. Highly recommended !!

Viewing 2 of 23

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 64.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message