5 star rating: Highly Recommended 461 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 461 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our grandson thought this was the highlight of the trip to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience for kids.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our instructor was funny and informative. He got our minds thinking about gladiators and our hearts pumping over training drills. Our family of four loved it, the boys especially.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great experience and my six year old son loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My entire family took part in the training and we all loved it! Great fun. Some people may find small fault here and there but we created memories there and especially my 9 year old son will talk about it forever. Totally worth the money and the time in my opinion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a really fun afternoon - it took a little time to find the venue but it was well worth it. Highly recommended if you have children.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My kids and nephew had a great time and in addition to the "fighting" lessons, really enjoyed the hands on small scale museum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great fun, not least because our teacher looked exactly like a gladiator! We have been using our moves since the training. The venue is much nearer the Roman walls that we anticipated, and was easy to find. Tis event was very popular with our children.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Two hours well spent. It's great fun. As a family of four we all loved learning how to fight like Gladiator's. The instructor was enthusiastic, engaging and fun. We also enjoyed learning the basic history just as much as the sparring. For our boys aged 9 and 6 it was the highlight our trip. Take their advice and arrive by taxi, it is the best option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

excellent - esp for our 10 y old son

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a kick in the pants! Our whole family did it- ages 9 to 43. We all loved it and our gladiator was absolutely hilarious! Very interesting and knowledgeable!!! After learning about the gladiators we went out and began to train. Running , dodging sandbags, and sword movements. Sparred to finish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time.

The instructor was engaging, funny and enthusiastic.

Learned some basic history which was just the amount needed to get an understanding of this subject.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

awesome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The two teachers were great and related well to our group of 15 students. They kept them engaged the entire two hours and our students were so pleased that they will be sharing what they learned with our other high school students during our History Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The two teachers were great and related well to our group of 15 students. They kept them engaged the entire two hours and our students were so pleased that they will be sharing what they learned with our other high school students during our History Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The two teachers were great and related well to our group of 15 students. They kept them engaged the entire two hours and our students were so pleased that they will be sharing what they learned with our other high school students during our History Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The two teachers were great and related well to our group of 15 students. They kept them engaged the entire two hours and our students were so pleased that they will be sharing what they learned with our other high school students during our History Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a highlight for the entire family! We all, parents and kids (ages 4,9,11), learned so much about Roman life, soldiers and Gladiators. Our instructor was informative and professional. She was able to include all age groups in the fun and education. Don't miss it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We are so satisfied with the experience we had at the Gladiator School.
It was not a showy touristy place. This was serious training!
After a fascinating walk through the history of Ancient Roman military and gladiators, we ran drills. Then we learned the five basic attack moves and blocks of the gladiators, and put them to use in the ring.
We found that the trainers can also change the format to fit a group of children. However, if you ask our opinion, leave the kids at home, because the school is very legit. You will learn a lot and get a great workout. If I lived in Rome, I would sign up for a long-term program.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic. Everything we hoped for. Our eight-year old son had the time of his life, begged to go back as soon as possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was fantastic. My 8 and 10 year boys did it together and both loved it. It was a very effective way to bring Roman history to life and something we would highly recommend. Definitely worth catching a cab there too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Both me and my 8 year old have spent unforgettable time with Gruppo Storico Romano. This site is actually a base of XI Legion, reenactment group with well stocked armory in a Roman villa. Excellent insight in ancient Rome, with battering ram, balistas and catapults. Also our lanista (trainer) Marco Valerie was excellent tutor both to participating kids and adults and spectators. School is easy reachable by public bus, stop is 50 m from the school, 20 min from city center. There are several ways to book the school, one of them Walks inside Rome cancelled our reservation at the last moment, so we booked through the Viator, that was also way cheaper. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The gladiator leader was very knowledgeable and great with my sons. We all thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A fabulous day for Granny, Mom and Dad and six-year-old grandson. This is an incredibly fun activity for the entire family.

From USD $ 62.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message