5 star rating: Highly Recommended 500 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 500 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful tour. Very informative, and everyone had a great time. I would recommend this tour.

JanieK
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

2children aged 10 and 7 plus parents.... We loved this. Our teacher (Aeriela?) was fantastic and we all had a wonderful, fun time.
The history talk was interesting but the fighting class was brilliant.
A must do for young families ( and older).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best thing we have done in 9 countries ! was so much fun so knowledgeable really really worth doing a total must do in rome only suggestion take a taxi there amazing do it !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My kids ages 10, 8, 5 loved this. They thought it was the BEST part of our trip. They still talk about it today.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My 9 and 11 year olds loved this, and so did I (44) and my husband (45). Paolo was a great guide and instructor, and gave a good history which kept the kids interested. But of course the gladiator training was the best part. Definitely worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our trainer was great - very informative and a great workout!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although this tour is a bit pricey, my 2 children ages 6 and 7 loved it! It's all they have been talking about! The instructor, although Gladiator strict (in a good way..), kept them engaged and entertained the entire time. Beware of the taxi's taking you there... Find the route first or ask the company to give directions. We had a taxi driver take us all over. I had the route on my phone and saw him deviate pretty quickly. When I challenged him, he tried to make the 4 of us (young kids included) get out on a busy street. I called the instructor, put him on speaker phone and he got after the taxi driver. We ended up being 20 min late thanks to the taxi driver but the gladiator instructor more than made up for the lost time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Learn how to become a gladiator is fabulous. The Society that runs it is very dedicated towards dissemination of the history of Rome. We learned SOOO much. My 10 year old son found it the best part of our 2.5 week Italy trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5 stars! Paulo shared his vast knowledge of the Romans with much dignity, respect, and courteous beyond belief to us. The hands on learning of Roman battling brought that time to life. Memorable! Thank-you for the amazing experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had such a special time. Where else do you get a history lesson, sports lesson and entertainment at the same time?
Ermes and his dog were the perfect gladiator trainers.
A 'must' for small and large children !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loves all the history our gladiator shared!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fun !! Just simply fun to do, with a good bit of learning and a nice little workout .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Educational and very memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A real gladiator! My teenagers had a blast. The first part was museum where our family learned so much. We did this before the Forum and Colosseum tour. A great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic experience for my 7 y.o. son and me. For him it was the best event in Italy. Great lecture on ancient Rome and Roman legions, presentation and demonstration of weapons and then hands on practice on gladiator skills. Superb experience. Highly recommend!!! My son is now with me and he told me to give it 5Stars. I agree.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a blast! The staff are wonderfully committed, interesting and knowledgeable people. My kids wanted to do it again the next day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I highly recommend this to all families. It was the highlight of our vacation! My children age 12 and 17 had alot of fun and learned alot! The school is not far from central Rome, we took a cab with no problems. The metro is also close by.
The staff and Roman actor were fantastic! They were helpful, fun and informative. My moody 17 year even loved and enjoyed it, which is saying something! Go do this for your kids! They will love it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely amazing. Even the adults were engaged as we learned to battle with wooden swords and shields. Guides were informative, fun and entertaining. A must do, especially with kids. Worth the cab ride!

Guides taught a lot about Ancient Rome, gladiators and weapons in their "museum" in a fun way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Both educational and extremely fun. my wife and three daughters ( age 11, 9, 7) all had a great time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly recommended to families with boys who are between 7 and 12 years old. The whole family (including the adults) will have a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kids, ages 10, 12 and 16 loved this. Place was hard to find. Taxi did not take us directly there, but at the end of a street closed off to cars. Walked close to 3/4 of mile to get there after taxi dropped us off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We did this after our tour of the Colosseum. My 14 year old son had a great time! He left wanting to do it again! Very informative and fun for spectators too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was fantastic! We still don't know who had more fun. My husband and I watching our two adult sons "train" to be Roman gladiators, or the kids playing with swords! The instructor was wonderful, very informative about the history of gladiators, very helpful with the "training", and very friendly. He made the experience great! We had the last class of the day, and he even waited with us until our taxi picked us up. We still talk about the experience and show everybody the pictures. And, how many people can say they trained to be a Roman gladiator in Rome, Italy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you are travelling with kids, as we are, this is a wonderful thing to do in Rome. We all enjoyed the class tremendously and Marcus, our teacher in all gladiator and Roman legion related matters, was fantastic. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable, he made this morning both fun and informative. The jostling afterwards got all our jet legged limbs moving! Advice: take a taxi at least on the way there as a rather hard to find location in the Roman suburbs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was excellent, the staff was very welcoming and informative. Our kids 12 and 13 loved it as did we parents. Great time. There is a little restaurant right down the street. Other than that it is in the middle of nowhere so eat first.

From USD $ 61.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message