5 star rating: Highly Recommended 500 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 500 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a highlight for the entire family! We all, parents and kids (ages 4,9,11), learned so much about Roman life, soldiers and Gladiators. Our instructor was informative and professional. She was able to include all age groups in the fun and education. Don't miss it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We are so satisfied with the experience we had at the Gladiator School.
It was not a showy touristy place. This was serious training!
After a fascinating walk through the history of Ancient Roman military and gladiators, we ran drills. Then we learned the five basic attack moves and blocks of the gladiators, and put them to use in the ring.
We found that the trainers can also change the format to fit a group of children. However, if you ask our opinion, leave the kids at home, because the school is very legit. You will learn a lot and get a great workout. If I lived in Rome, I would sign up for a long-term program.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic. Everything we hoped for. Our eight-year old son had the time of his life, begged to go back as soon as possible.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was fantastic. My 8 and 10 year boys did it together and both loved it. It was a very effective way to bring Roman history to life and something we would highly recommend. Definitely worth catching a cab there too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Both me and my 8 year old have spent unforgettable time with Gruppo Storico Romano. This site is actually a base of XI Legion, reenactment group with well stocked armory in a Roman villa. Excellent insight in ancient Rome, with battering ram, balistas and catapults. Also our lanista (trainer) Marco Valerie was excellent tutor both to participating kids and adults and spectators. School is easy reachable by public bus, stop is 50 m from the school, 20 min from city center. There are several ways to book the school, one of them Walks inside Rome cancelled our reservation at the last moment, so we booked through the Viator, that was also way cheaper. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The gladiator leader was very knowledgeable and great with my sons. We all thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A fabulous day for Granny, Mom and Dad and six-year-old grandson. This is an incredibly fun activity for the entire family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

One of the highlights of our trip! Lots of laughs and the whole family learned a ton about Romans!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The adults and the kids all had a great time. It was fun and historically constructive. A wonderful break from the must-see sights in Rome. We would happily do it again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Awesome experience. Marco is an excellent guide and instructor. He is very passionate in terms of providing a background of the gladiators and instruction in the use of the gladius (sword). He truly brought history alive. It was the highlight of my trip to Rome and I highly recommend this tour for those visiting Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My son loved it !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was perfect activity for my eight year old son and me. The instructor was extremely well informed and played his role well. The time allotted for training and competition went quickly but in reality it was the right amount of time. Three weeks later my son is still talking about it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Not only our 3 children 7,9, and 11 (a girls) enjoyed this tour but so did the adults. Lots of information about the Roman soldiers and gladiator history. Our guide, who I am embarrassed to say I have forgotten his name, was wonderful and made this a very special day for our children. They have bought gladiator kits, practice their fighting and tell everyone about what has been the highlight of our 4 month tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic. Leader was excellent. Kids loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The biggest highlight of our trip, the Gladiator Training was informative, fun, hands-on, challenging, and invigorating. The kids and I will never forget it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I gave this adventure as a birthday gift for my brother in law while we were in Rome. He is an American veteran and world conflict historian and was extremely excited about the opportunity. I was a bit worried when he was the only student but his instructor, Marco Valereo, provided a private training session that was amazing. It couldn't have been a better birthday present!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was terrific. Went through the history of the Roman gladiator first, then the battle tuition began.
Having the history tour enabled us to appreciate the skill and techniques involved in gladiator fighting.
My 2 sons aged 13 and 15 yrs, had a fabulous time, and our instructor was very encouraging and entertaining.
Our family learnt a great deal , and enjoyed a memorable afternoon .
Highly recommended activity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic! If I could give more than 5 stars I would! I think this was our favourite part of our whole trip to Rome. I have 13,11 and 6 year old boys. The eldest is very intellectual and could talk about history for ours and the youngest is a huge ball of energy who can't sit still for a minute. The Gladiator school is the first activity that has totally satisfied both their needs! The day was packed with interesting historical facts and non stop action. The gentleman who showed us round was informative and very amusing. I would recommend this to anyone without a moments hesitation!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awwww... Pietro (I mean "Marcus Valerius")! There are times that a good event becomes a GREAT experience because of the people involved... this was one for us!
What does one give a man who doesn't need anything, but loves the buzz of adrenalin, adventure, and the fun of connecting with his "inner boy"? Well of course, the experience of Gladiator School!
This was perhaps one of the most fun days we had in Rome, thanks to Pietro at the RGS! It started out as a typical Friday 13th (yes!) where everything that could go wrong, did. We got lost, arrived an hour late to our lesson, should have been turned away, but were kindly accommodated. Pietro put my husband through the paces, staying in character the whole time. He was professional, attentive, and truly amazing! We both appreciated the courtesy of his giving a lesson during his break, and when we toured the museum, the information we learned about the reality of being a gladiator was nothing short of astounding.
This is a "must do" tour, whether you're male or female, 5 or 95! They tailor the class to your fitness level, and are very attentive to your needs. A fun event, and well worth doing! Make sure you bring your camera so you can video tape the "evidence" for friends at home.
Oh... and our "bad luck" changed after the class. Thanks to Pietro, we were in a good humor and enjoyed the rest of our day.
(Tip: take the advice of the School and arrive by taxi. It's easy to get the directions confused.)

The Griffin
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Even better than expected! We saved it till our last day and after visiting the Colloseum which helped to build up anticipation. My 7 year old son was itching to get to the gladiatoring but loved trying on the excellent replicas of Roman uniforms first. We had a very informative and interesting tour of the museum before heading to the training arena. Paulo, our guide and trainer, readily answered the steady stream of questions and provided a fantastic insight into the life of the Roman soldiers as well as dispelling some common beliefs on the gladiators.
The training brought out the inner Gladiator in all of us and was just long enough to cover the moves, allow for some fierce combat and just short enough to save anyone from humiliation. The only thing that you should be wary of are the biting flies that made an appearance after the morning rain, they ate me alive BUT my gladiator training prevailed!
This was the perfect end to our trip - in my son's words, "That was AWESOME! "

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an awesome experience for my family. Fun for all ages. Be prepared to get a workout, and learn a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolute gas - took a 7 and 70 year old and we had a great time !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was excellent in every way. Informative, personnel,fun, funny, and hard work. The museum was most interesting and our gladiator was a wealth of knowledge and enabled us to get a picture of the history in a sequential order. My husband worked very hard and I have never laughter so hard. I highly recommend for those fighting and watching!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Italy and on our stop in Rome we booked into a 2 hours session gladiator training. Paulo was absolutely awesome and filled us in all the Roman history and attire the soldiers used to wear. We had a fun sword fighting session and learnt some self defence. Absolutely worth it and would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Scuola gladiatore was the highlight of our trip to Rome. My kids enjoyed it tremendously and so did we.The staff are passionate about what they do and will spare no energy to make the experience a truely memorable one! I recommend this place to all families with children looking for a little action.

From USD $ 61.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message