• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 419 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 419 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

My 3 boys (6, 8 and 10) had a brilliant afternoon.
Easy to miss if you drive there yourself.
Very interactive tour, not only the fun training, but the 'history bit' too.
Parents get an excellent view for classic photos and videos.
Stirred their imagination for seeing the colosseum etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What fun this day was.
Some agility exercises came first, just to get things mooving.
We learnt the basic attack moves then how to defend them.
Mooved on to practice the moves and then.....
The Circle !!! (drawn in the sand)
Now to put it all into practice against your opponant...
About 10 bouts were held, time depended on the time to achieve a "win"..
Much better than the crappy youtube vids..
Highly recomended for dynamic people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Good for kids! Will recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was the best thing we did in Rome. Paolo was great in teaching us about gladiators and roman soldiers and the life of the time as we toured the museum. His passion came through and my children just loved getting dressed up and having to do real gladiator routines. If you have got young children, this will bring the colleseum to life.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Paolo gave us a great experience at the Gladiator School. We spend a little under an hour learning about the history of gladiators and Roman battles in general — this included trying on authentic looking helmets, which was quite fun. Then he took us out to an obstacle in which you have to run through a series of swinging sand bags without getting hit. The trick is to listen to their sound and wait for the open space. Then we went to the ring to learn the basic moves used in gladiator fighting. Many of them were reminiscent of my fencing days in college! After that, we duked it out with other members of our group in the ring, and had a small "awards" ceremony, where we received completion certificates with our names printed on them. It was really an enjoyable time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

MY 15 year old son loved this. It was the highlight of his trip I think

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great job. You don't know what to expect when you arrive as its a little remote location but they did an outstanding job for 2 hours with our boys and it was the kids trip highlight! I would highly recommend this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Outstanding! Would recommend to anyone. Great workout. It was a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our training started in the little museum they have adjacent to the training arena. We were shown the various Roman implements of war and given some history of gladiatorial combat. This portion lasted approximately 45 minutes. Our instructor/guide was Marcus Valerius and he was in his character as drill instructor / owner of the school most of the time. He was gruff yet entertaining and very informative, helping put the recruits into the right mood.

Once the training started, Marcus took the time to ensure every recruit understood the 5 basic attack and defense moves and then paired us up for fight training which lasted about 45 minutes. Recruits who failed to perform were made to do 5 push-ups, much to the entertainment of the audience. After that, it was the arena for individual combat with winner take all! Great fun and as intense as you wanted it to be.

In the end we were all presented with Roman citizenship papers (much cheaper than going through the consulate :) and Marcus arranged for cabs for us.

My wife and daughters (5 and 7) did not participate but had a great time both during the museum portion and especially the fighting portion. Highly recommended although if you come in summer as we did, you'll be a sweaty mess after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great fun and very knowledgable staff! A great day for the whole family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was informative, interactive and the instructor was patient, funny and knowledgable. I highly recommend it if you want not only to learn about history but feel as if you are participating it. I will be doing an article on this as well for "traveling mom" under adventure travel mom, Fran Capo. Watch for the link and You tube videos coming up soon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Gladiator school was wonderful. It was a great mix of history and action. The kids liked the physical skills and obstacle course, and of course, the swordplay and sparring. The parents liked that, too, but also the history from Paolo. It was a terrific 2 hours - and not too far from the center of the city, although taking a cab is advised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My kids (ages 11 and 14) had a fantastic time at "Gladiator School!" Not only were they thoroughly exhausted from the gladiator workout, but the museum tour at the beginning of the day was fascinating to my two boys. They learned all about the war strategies and development of weapons of the Romans. Really great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing! My kids - especially my seven year old said it was the best thing they did on the whole trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a blast! Such fun...and not only that, we learned a lot of the history and raison d'etre of the gladiators. Our teacher was very patient (plus good looking) and made us feel very comfortable as well.

From USD $ 75.17

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message