Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 540 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was excellent, the staff was very welcoming and informative. Our kids 12 and 13 loved it as did we parents. Great time. There is a little restaurant right down the street. Other than that it is in the middle of nowhere so eat first.

Margot G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved Gladiator School!!! I signed the whole family up and it was worth every penny. We took a taxi out to the compound. The people who work there are super nice. Marcus was our Gladiator Leader and he was fantastic. So knowledgeable. So fun with both the kids and adults. I was disappointed when the museum part was over because Marcus really brought history alive. I could have stayed in there for another few hours listening and learning. Of course the kids loved the fighting. I suddenly got nervous holding a weapon thinking that this thing was going to be used to hit me! But it was all fun and games. No one got hurt. It is something we still talk about and I still remember all the moves. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My 3 children (14- and 11-year old boys plus a 9-year-old girl) thought this was one of the best parts of our visit to Rome. Tour begins in the museum with a detailed explanation of Ancient Roman fighting techniques and a chance for some students to try on various helmets. Everyone donned a gladiator tunic before heading out to the arena. While the students didn't have shade, the spectators had shaded tables and risers to sit and watch. The students were put through a boot camp with running an obstacle course, push ups and somersaults. (Frankly, I'm glad that I got to just watch this part as I personally would have wimped out of the pushups and somersaults). The instructor then taught them fighting techniques, and the finale was getting to pair up and do battle with a padded sword. The free included drink was a bottle of water. They were kind enough to call a taxi at the end of the class. Would highly recommend if you or your kids are looking for something active and athletic to do. Even my daughter who is not particularly athletic enjoyed it.

AMY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience for the kids and parents. Definitely a highlight of our Rome vacation.

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

BRILLIANT! We have two girls, ages 8 and 10... they LOVED the experience... the staff was very pleasant and organized. The instructor was PERFECT - both informative and fun. What a great family memory!

Brian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My 12 and 7 year old boys enjoyed this a lot; me too. Great Roman soldier and gladiator museum with an excellent tour which was very interesting for my boys. The simulated gladiator experience was good fun too.

Steven R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience for our 10 yr old grandsons and me their grandfather. Our taxi abandoned us one mile from school and ripped us off of 50€ and the school sent a van to rescue us at no extra charge. We were most grateful for their kindness. It is a must do experience for children.

notarangelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Incredible.

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our grandson thought this was the highlight of the trip to Rome.

Anthony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience for kids.

matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our instructor was funny and informative. He got our minds thinking about gladiators and our hearts pumping over training drills. Our family of four loved it, the boys especially.

Johnele H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great experience and my six year old son loved it!

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My entire family took part in the training and we all loved it! Great fun. Some people may find small fault here and there but we created memories there and especially my 9 year old son will talk about it forever. Totally worth the money and the time in my opinion.

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a really fun afternoon - it took a little time to find the venue but it was well worth it. Highly recommended if you have children.

Kimberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My kids and nephew had a great time and in addition to the "fighting" lessons, really enjoyed the hands on small scale museum.

E G B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great fun, not least because our teacher looked exactly like a gladiator! We have been using our moves since the training. The venue is much nearer the Roman walls that we anticipated, and was easy to find. Tis event was very popular with our children.

Andrea E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Two hours well spent. It's great fun. As a family of four we all loved learning how to fight like Gladiator's. The instructor was enthusiastic, engaging and fun. We also enjoyed learning the basic history just as much as the sparring. For our boys aged 9 and 6 it was the highlight our trip. Take their advice and arrive by taxi, it is the best option.

Jozef K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

excellent - esp for our 10 y old son

Derrin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a kick in the pants! Our whole family did it- ages 9 to 43. We all loved it and our gladiator was absolutely hilarious! Very interesting and knowledgeable!!! After learning about the gladiators we went out and began to train. Running , dodging sandbags, and sword movements. Sparred to finish

Dawn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved it!

fred e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great time.

The instructor was engaging, funny and enthusiastic.

Learned some basic history which was just the amount needed to get an understanding of this subject.

11 years

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

awesome

Caprock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The two teachers were great and related well to our group of 15 students. They kept them engaged the entire two hours and our students were so pleased that they will be sharing what they learned with our other high school students during our History Day.

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a highlight for the entire family! We all, parents and kids (ages 4,9,11), learned so much about Roman life, soldiers and Gladiators. Our instructor was informative and professional. She was able to include all age groups in the fun and education. Don't miss it!

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We are so satisfied with the experience we had at the Gladiator School.
It was not a showy touristy place. This was serious training!
After a fascinating walk through the history of Ancient Roman military and gladiators, we ran drills. Then we learned the five basic attack moves and blocks of the gladiators, and put them to use in the ring.
We found that the trainers can also change the format to fit a group of children. However, if you ask our opinion, leave the kids at home, because the school is very legit. You will learn a lot and get a great workout. If I lived in Rome, I would sign up for a long-term program.

Viewing 5 of 22

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 63.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message