5 star rating: Highly Recommended 461 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 461 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Outstanding! Would recommend to anyone. Great workout. It was a lot of fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our training started in the little museum they have adjacent to the training arena. We were shown the various Roman implements of war and given some history of gladiatorial combat. This portion lasted approximately 45 minutes. Our instructor/guide was Marcus Valerius and he was in his character as drill instructor / owner of the school most of the time. He was gruff yet entertaining and very informative, helping put the recruits into the right mood.

Once the training started, Marcus took the time to ensure every recruit understood the 5 basic attack and defense moves and then paired us up for fight training which lasted about 45 minutes. Recruits who failed to perform were made to do 5 push-ups, much to the entertainment of the audience. After that, it was the arena for individual combat with winner take all! Great fun and as intense as you wanted it to be.

In the end we were all presented with Roman citizenship papers (much cheaper than going through the consulate :) and Marcus arranged for cabs for us.

My wife and daughters (5 and 7) did not participate but had a great time both during the museum portion and especially the fighting portion. Highly recommended although if you come in summer as we did, you'll be a sweaty mess after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great fun and very knowledgable staff! A great day for the whole family

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was informative, interactive and the instructor was patient, funny and knowledgable. I highly recommend it if you want not only to learn about history but feel as if you are participating it. I will be doing an article on this as well for "traveling mom" under adventure travel mom, Fran Capo. Watch for the link and You tube videos coming up soon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Gladiator school was wonderful. It was a great mix of history and action. The kids liked the physical skills and obstacle course, and of course, the swordplay and sparring. The parents liked that, too, but also the history from Paolo. It was a terrific 2 hours - and not too far from the center of the city, although taking a cab is advised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My kids (ages 11 and 14) had a fantastic time at "Gladiator School!" Not only were they thoroughly exhausted from the gladiator workout, but the museum tour at the beginning of the day was fascinating to my two boys. They learned all about the war strategies and development of weapons of the Romans. Really great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Amazing! My kids - especially my seven year old said it was the best thing they did on the whole trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a blast! Such fun...and not only that, we learned a lot of the history and raison d'etre of the gladiators. Our teacher was very patient (plus good looking) and made us feel very comfortable as well.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and 3 children aged 11, 9 and 7 (2 girls and 1 boy) did the gladiator school in July, and I watched and took photos. We loved it. The instructor was fun and efficient and friendly. She did a great job in the history museum, teaching us all a lot of content and making it very interactive by dressing us up with costumes and props as we went. She encouraged us to take lots of photos. Then, for the second half, we went outside and had instruction in the art of battle. My husband and children are great sports and really got into the session and made it a lot of fun. it was one of the highlights of our Rome trip. If you are prepared to throw yourselves into the role-playing I say go for it! - you will enjoy this experience. My 11 year old daughter said she wished she could do this for her next birthday party back in Australia. We did the 5pm session and were lucky the day had cooled down with a late rain storm so the temperature was very pleasant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My grandson was thrilled!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

By far, this was the best thing we did with our 6 and 9 year old. The Gladiators were wonderful with them. Our kids wanted to do the training everyday for our entire trip. Our daughter and the Gladiator formed a "special" bond. I don't know hwo was after who more! A ton of fun, and would absolutely recommend this to everyone!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was such a fun afternoon! My husband and son loved this experience and I highly recommend it as something different to do in Rome. It also helps bring the history alive when you tour the little museum there and the kids can try on the armor. Our instructor, Paulo was amazing and such a character - great guy (he told us to say that)!!! We loved this afternoon!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a really fun and unique activity! Everyone in Rome goes to see where gladiators fought at the Colosseum, but how many people actually trained to "become" a gladiator? Our gladiator trainer showed us around their "museum" (really just 1 room with reconstructions or models) and gave us a lot of really interesting information on gladiator and Roman soldier daily life. After that, we went out to the yard to train. We did warm-up drills, basic sword fighting skills, and then got placed in a "tournament." This is a family activity and all ages can participate!
The location was a little out of the way- Don't try to take a bus there, just splurge for a taxi, it's MUCH easier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The gladiator school was awesome. I'm a real history buff so I booked a lesson for myself (I'm 37). It was very much worth it. Paulo, who first showed me their museum and then trained me with the gladius, was very enthusiastic and knowledgable about all things Roman. If you love Roman history, GO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Super school!!! My daughter and I loved this activity!!!! Great fun!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great thing to do. Our sons loved it. The history of the gladiators was great.

Greg M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best day of our holiday!! Was a boys own adventure that I was lucky enough to have with my teenage sons. It's great for young and old kids.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our boys (ages 11 and 8) loved it! Would have returned for more if time permitted!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a great way to spend a couple of hours. The kids loved it including our 6 year old girl. The people were engaging and enthusiastic and the children rated it highly though my 9 year old son wanted to just keep on fighting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

If you have children, DO THIS!! I took my 9-year-old son and a 7-year-old daughter. They both learned a lot about the Roman war apparatus and absolutely loved trying on the gear and learning the moves with their "Gladius" or gladiator swords and their shields. My husband dressed up and battled and well and enjoyed it as much as the kids did.

One thing: the place is not easy to find and traffic in Rome can be crazy. Google said it was a 15-minute drive from our hotel, yet it took us an hour to get there because of traffic. The other thing is that the school is at the end of the alley marked 18. Since there is no signage, it is not clear when you are standing on the Via Antica where the entrance to the school is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I watched my husband and three kids huff and puff and laugh, and I laughed too as they went through their Gladiator Training! This activity was so much fun, and so informative and interesting that I would recommend it to everyone visiting Rome. Adults and children alike.
The Gladiator training my crew was passionate about his subject and brought to life the stories he told. The museum is packed with interesting objects the kids could touch and interact with. The venue is easy to find with clear instructions, the staff are helpful and great with the kids. We had a ball!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Gladiator school was awesome. Thoroughly recommend it although i thought it was very expensive especially if less than 3 people are booking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Gladiator school was everything my three sons hoped for and more. Their lanestra (gladiator instructor) was engaging and had them captivated from the get-go. It also didn't hurt that they had him all to themselves, as there was no one else booked at that time. We rented bikes and cycled the Appian Way for an hour and had a glass of cold beer before heading back to the school for the last hour to watch the boys, now trained warriors, bash each others' brains out with Roman weaponry. As the lanestra said: "Sometimes the best blood spilled is the blood between brothers."

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Awesome!. I little difficult to find, but once there a lasting memory. Ulfhgar loves teaching the history or the tactics- we are both fans! My 9 year old Sparticvs said this was his favorite activity in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A lot of fun especially for active children!!! The gladiators look and act totally authentic!
The museum is very informative for all ages, believe me! You feel like a real gladiator but safer!) Cool, should go!

From USD $ 61.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message