• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 384 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 384 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our boys (ages 11 and 8) loved it! Would have returned for more if time permitted!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a great way to spend a couple of hours. The kids loved it including our 6 year old girl. The people were engaging and enthusiastic and the children rated it highly though my 9 year old son wanted to just keep on fighting!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

If you have children, DO THIS!! I took my 9-year-old son and a 7-year-old daughter. They both learned a lot about the Roman war apparatus and absolutely loved trying on the gear and learning the moves with their "Gladius" or gladiator swords and their shields. My husband dressed up and battled and well and enjoyed it as much as the kids did.

One thing: the place is not easy to find and traffic in Rome can be crazy. Google said it was a 15-minute drive from our hotel, yet it took us an hour to get there because of traffic. The other thing is that the school is at the end of the alley marked 18. Since there is no signage, it is not clear when you are standing on the Via Antica where the entrance to the school is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I watched my husband and three kids huff and puff and laugh, and I laughed too as they went through their Gladiator Training! This activity was so much fun, and so informative and interesting that I would recommend it to everyone visiting Rome. Adults and children alike.
The Gladiator training my crew was passionate about his subject and brought to life the stories he told. The museum is packed with interesting objects the kids could touch and interact with. The venue is easy to find with clear instructions, the staff are helpful and great with the kids. We had a ball!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Gladiator school was awesome. Thoroughly recommend it although i thought it was very expensive especially if less than 3 people are booking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Gladiator school was everything my three sons hoped for and more. Their lanestra (gladiator instructor) was engaging and had them captivated from the get-go. It also didn't hurt that they had him all to themselves, as there was no one else booked at that time. We rented bikes and cycled the Appian Way for an hour and had a glass of cold beer before heading back to the school for the last hour to watch the boys, now trained warriors, bash each others' brains out with Roman weaponry. As the lanestra said: "Sometimes the best blood spilled is the blood between brothers."

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Awesome!. I little difficult to find, but once there a lasting memory. Ulfhgar loves teaching the history or the tactics- we are both fans! My 9 year old Sparticvs said this was his favorite activity in Rome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A lot of fun especially for active children!!! The gladiators look and act totally authentic!
The museum is very informative for all ages, believe me! You feel like a real gladiator but safer!) Cool, should go!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We loved this experience! The gentlemen that run it are serious about the history and the craft and really make us work like trainees! We were two adults and our 12-year-old nephew and we all participated. We also learned a lot about Roman soldiers in the museum afterwards. This is not a polished, Disney-experience, but the setting was authentic feeling and the passions of our hosts made it a great time! I really recommend this experience, especially as a break from the museums and historic sightseeing in Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Do it! Do it! Do it! (And take a taxi there. Seriously.) We were all happy - from our overly eager 12- year old playing Percy Jackson to the clumsy, but enthusiastic, 42-year old. Everyone engage in the hands-on museum tour, blood red tunics, an heroic stage music. Our training group was 12 people who quickly lost all sense of pretense and sophistication and enjoyed one another. The instructors were funny, respectful, and knowledgeable. The staging of the camp has real potential. It is a little cheesy looking, but all around a hgh-quality activity that we will all remember for ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Went with two boys ages 7 and 10 and while the first hour in the very small museum was incredibly informative for the adults in our group the boys were a little hard to contain. However the second hour of gladiator physical training more than made up for it. A very fun active experience that left us all more knowledgeable and with a smile on our faces. I would highly recommend this for kids, teens or adults with an interest!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This school was so awesome! We never laughed so much and felt so carefree in Roma! Super for kids! Manuel (our teacher for the class) was the best...ask for him!!. He made it so fun,,interesting and never stopped laughing! All the best Manuel..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Very, very cool! My boys (8 and 10) loved everything about this tour. Paolo was patient and educational--we were the only ones there so we had plenty of attention (the upside of Italy travel in January!). Sparring in the "arena" was the highlight of our trip! Perfect for kids and adults!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Awesome school! We had a a blast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Probably our favorite event of the entire trip. Our gladiator instructor was AMAZING!

From USD $ 77.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2466GLAD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message