• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 23 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Christmas Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 23 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

We were a bit dubious at the start of our tour because the organisation of registration and process of giving out audio headsets was so chaotic. This was because the person in charge was late. However, once our tour got underway our minds were soon put at rest. Our guide, Alexandra, was so knowledgeable and a true expert on the city of Rome. She gave us a lively commentary during our walking tour of the city and she was very caring of our group of 24, ensuring that we all kept together on the busy streets and that everyone had a drink during the break. It was easy to hear her lively and humorous commentary because of our headsets. You just had to make sure that you kept in range of the her headset. You also must be a good walker to enjoy this tour as you cover quite a distance during the 3 hours and at times you are walking at quite a fast pace through busy streets. This is because there is so much to see and Alexandra had so much to tell us. As well as lots of historical facts, she also gave us lots of local Roman stories and legends, things that only an insider would know. We were a group of four (myself, my husband and parents) and we really enjoyed our tour and will always remember our Christmas day in Rome. Many thanks to Alexandra!

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Could have been reduced by half an hour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Be prepared to do a lot of walking. I saw sites that I had not seen after walking around on my own for several days. It was a chilly evening, glad I dressed for it. You get left off at the Vatican and will likely want to take a taxi back to your hotel. Public transportation ends shortly after the tour ends so taxi is your best bet. Guide was informative. Many people bailed from the tour as it progressed due to the amount of walking, cold, and the late hour. I'm glad I stayed on the tour.

Lisette M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Great guide, awful organization! We left at 4:10 for a 3:30 start! Queuing for a tour is not my idea of fun on Christmas day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

This tour was on Christmas afternoon, after a day of lots of walking by us prior to this and this walking tour definitely made our legs hurt after it. The trip is well worth it however make sure you were up to walking at quite a fast pace and absorbing all the information. There are so many sites to see and yet so little time in 3 hours so there is a lot of information to listen to. We would advise doing this in the morning for future tours as we found doing other morning tours were much easier to make our way through. We ended up leaving the tour half an hour early because it was very tiring and our hotel was relatively close. The beverage supplied by the tour is well needed and was appreciated by all on the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

The tour guide was ok. This should not be done on a Christmas day. The metro was shutdown around noon time and it was very difficult to get transportation back to the hotel after the tour. Not satisfied with tour Itinerary, does not include landmarks. I do not recommend this.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Ehhh. That's how we would describe this tour and its guide. She was vague with the 'facts' and the subject matter could have mattered more. At one point, she even counted everyone in the group as being present although, unbeknownst to her, we were off in the bathrooms. Hmmm....

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

Giving out a small map of the tour route would help a lot. First time visitors found it hard to know where they were during the tour. More details about history would help.

From USD $ 62.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731CHRISTMAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message