• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 318 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 318 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

It was my wife's real desire to visit Rome and the Vatican in particular. By opting for a smaller group we were able to get a thorough appreciation of this amazing site. Our guide was very well versed in the history and particularly the details about the artworks which added to the overall experience. Her passion came through and made the visit one of her all time holiday highlights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a very interesting tour with a team of 3 very well informed and engaging guides (two for the Colosseum and Forum tour - Angelica and Marta; and one for the Best of Rome walking tour - Damiano). Their historical and archaeological knowledge was priceless to help "bring the places to life" and help us understand the background; they were also entertaining and humorous, so the tour would be appropriate for all ages.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic, our tour guide was very informative and great sense of humor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This two part day tour was exceptional. I can't remember the two tour guide's names, but they both did an amazing job. I think my family liked the first tour of ancient Rome the best. During the first part (ancient Rome), the guide went through main parts of the Colosseum, the Forum and Palatine Hill. If I didn't have the guide I can say that I would have spend all day walking around the Forum and Palatine Hill looking at everything and have no clue what everything was. She went through the basics and never became boring. The second part (walking through Rome) was nice. The pace wasn't too fast or too slow. We got to see everything the tour said it would. We had some time at the Trevi Fountain for shopping or throwing in a coin in the fountain. I read a review from this tour and one said that they don't go in the Pantheon, but we spend quite a bit of time in the Pantheon. Then we had gelato at a restaurant nearby. At the end, the guide told us how to get to where we wanted to go afterward. The only thing we didn't like was the guide kept telling my family that from Campo di Fiori that we needed to take the bus to the Colosseum, but we were able to walk it without his help. My family really enjoyed taking this the first day in Rome so we could get the basics of the attractions and where they are located and then spend the rest of our days in Rome going back to whatever attraction we wanted to spend more time at.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The was a busy, enjoyable day. Both guides were great and knew their stuff. Masses to take in on these 2 tours, excellent value and the sights are awesome. The guides had an answer to any questions and you never felt as if you were being hurried, but somehow they kept to time - very professional. Will recommend at every opportunity. Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Last year we did the special Colosseum tour which takes you down to the basement and up to the upper level, that was great, but we were not disappointed with the "ordinary tour" last week, as our excellent guide had more time to explain about the history of the Colosseum and we had more time taking in the atmosphere (and not climbing steps!). The afternoon tour took us to parts of Rome we did not have time for last year, the highlight was the Pantheon, quite a unique building, the complimentary ice cream when we got out was special too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The morning colloseum and ancient rome tour was quite nice. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the tour size was great. It was a bit of a difficult trip with a 3 year old and a stroller, though. The afternoon best of rome walking tour was great. It was my favorite part of our entire rome stay. The tour guide, Maria, was great very knowledgeable and charming and the sites were beautiful. It was also not to difficult of a trip even with our 6 year old walking and a 3 year old in a stroller.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful set of tours full of great information and sights that kept everyone in our party (ages 9-60) engaged. Our Colosseum guide, Simone, was fantastic. Very knowledgable and entertaining. In the afternoon, Katarina did a wonderful job showing us many of the sights of Rome. We will definitely use Viator on our future travels.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an excellent tour conducted by an archeologist who has been involved in excavating many of the ruins visited. She was very knowledgeable of the ruin sites, as well as the history behind them while they were still intact. In addition, we were a very small group (though this was likely because we traveled in low season), so there were plenty of opportunities to ask questions. I would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Morning tour of colosseum. Fastastic introduction to the colosseum. Was initially concerned with the inability to move freely to take photographs. But the guide gave ample time to stop at key photo spots. Similar for palatine hills and the roman forum. Enjoyed the trip despite the rain.

Afternoon tour. The rain continues. But the guide managed to make the walking trip meaningful. Told us a great deal of stories about the various streets and monuments. Very interesting walk.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Seeing the Colosseum is- in itself- very impressive. But the background, history, and fun facts you learn during the tour is what makes it all relevant. Our tour guide was pleasant and professional. The ancient ruins portion is more of a bonus (to me) than anything. I think everyone goes there just for the Colosseum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Chiara was marvellous!She was so well informed and delivered a mine of information fluently and in an entertaining manner.We would certainly recommend this tour to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A brilliant morning at the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. Loved the fact that we went to the front of the long queue and learnt so much history. Unfortunately, we ran out of time and couldn't join the walking tour in the afternoon, had to catch a plane!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour started on a lovely sunny morning close to the Colosseum - we easily found our guide, Egor, and he was excellent. Really knowledgeable and a great way to see the famous Roman ruins - without having to join a queue. The afternoon tour was also very interesting - it started at the Spanish Steps and took in the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, piazza's etc and our guide (whose name i've forgotten - so sorry!) was also very good. There was plenty of time to have lunch and get to the next tour location. We enjoyed both tours - i would suggest a good pair of walking shoes as we walked for at least 6 hours!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent. Extremely informative tour guides for both. I appreciate their expertise.

Special Offer
$127.66 Save $19.64

From USD $ 108.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731ROMETOUR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message