5 star rating: Highly Recommended 737 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 737 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is wonderful tour and good value. You tour the Colosseum, the Forum and have a walking tour. You need to allow the full day for this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Valentina was the guide for the Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour and I feel bad that I can't remember the name of the gal that took us on the afternoon walk. Both did a great job and were able to answer any questions the group had. I had been to Rome before and walked around on my own but got so much more out of the city and the sites with a tour guide. They had little things to share that you can't get from a guide book. I thought the length of this tour is just right and there's plenty of time to get from one tour to the other during the break. I would highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful morning tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome with excellent professional commentary by our tour guide, Claudia. Our only problem was that you need more time to explore! Particularly when you subtract the time spent waiting for tour members to rejoin the group after the inevitable long queues for the toilets. Heartily recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome.
Our afternoon walking tour with Francesca was also very enjoyable. She took us to several places that are known to "the locals" including a fabulous bakery/pasticceria. The downside is trying to keep your energy levels up to manage a 3 hour walk after spending close on 4 hours at the morning tour. Unless you are fit, maybe do only one of the tours on any given day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

2 tours in 1.
Our tour guides for both tours were brilliant, extremely knowledgeable, and very accommodating.
The Colosseum and Ancient Rome must be done with a tour and guide.
The walking tour showed us a lot that we wouldn't otherwise know.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and a must if you are going. The guide was had a PHD in archeology and was extremely knowledgably and had shared a great passion during the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Lots of walking. Be prepared to walk a lot. Very informative guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed these 2 tours. Dario our morning guide was excellent at explaining the complex and interesting history of Ancient Rome. Manuella our afternoon guide was superb in making the centre of Rome interesting. This tour company's setup is a well oiled machine, we found the radio commentary ideal and the walking pace just right to take it all in, everything was seamless. Well done team. We'd highly recommend this tour.
Note: You'll need some stamina though - it was a very hot day and if you're not used to walking or standing all day it can be tiring - but hey there's so much to see and for us there wasn't alot of time, so this covered alot for us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide totally rocked!! Unfortunately I didn't write her name down and have forgotten it. She is an archeologist and actually worked at the Colosseum . She was able to show us some of what she herself discovered in one of the displays!! Her commentary was exceptional and really was some of the best we have experienced with our Viator tours. I can't imagine wandering around this site on my own...she really helped us to picture how it must have been in ancient times. Excellent tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Delighted that we booked this combination of tours,although it did make for a pretty intense day. I was a bit concerned about the meeting arrangements but they turned out to be very accurate and no problem. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable and managed the tours very efficiently considering the number of competing tours and other visitors.We managed to cover a fair chunk of the main attractions on this day and I would recommend this trip to anyone going to Rome. We were pretty exhausted by the end but our expectations were exceeded.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing! The guide was very kind and knowledgable. We did 5 other tours and this one was most defiantly my favorite. Would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We Loved this super saver tour, very well explained each monument and place we visited. At the end of the day we were tired but it was worthy. Excellent tour guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Both tours we very well organized and guides were very knowledgeable about history and art/architecture (best of rome tour).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an excellent tour! kept pace, was attentive to everyone's needs!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent! Dario our guide from city wonders was exceptional.

Special Offer
$113.24 Save $17.42

From USD $ 95.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731ROMETOUR

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message