Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 962 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 962 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both walking tours were led by friendly and informative guides from City Wonder. We learned a lot and enjoyed doing so at a sensible walking pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mariela was very knowledgeable and provided great insight into the colosseum tour! loved it! Nicolai was also wonderful on the walking tour, explained everything wonderfully!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Alessandro did a wonderful job of holding everyone's interest on this informative tour. The immensity of the coliseum is staggering, yet the Roman forum with all of the background stories is a must-see. Thanks for the bringing magic book, it's a great visual tool.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

very good well organised good host

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both tour guides Alessandro and Dario were great to be around and their information just was on point and incredible. The morning at the Colosseum and the Roman Forum hit all the key sites and had enough information and time so you really understood how these were all connected and how ancient Romans walked through the streets. We left the tour thinking wow we need to come back time and time again to keep visiting the sites with Alessandro! The afternoon tour was a nice pace to get to see some of the places in more modern Rome and see how they connected back as well. Dario had so much great info not just about history but how history was made, how the buildings connect together, how the artists that made them thought about their work, it was really a pleasure seeing him look at a fountain and then start talking about inspiration for it, the architects, etc. I would highly recommend this tour, as I would do this one again and again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thought the tour was great! We learned so much more than we could have on our own. Our 1st tour guide was very animated and brought Ancient Rome back to life with her vivid details. Our second tour was great to understand the history behind the fountains, piazzas, best gelato, best coffee, why there were so many armed guards outside the buildings, etc. I only wish we had taken this tour on the first day we arrived in Rome. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

our tour was spectacular. The tour guide was from Rome and had hey passion for his city. He's into the event showed on the tour and he made it memorable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We highly recommend this tour at the beginning of your stay in Rome if at all possible. Our guide at the Colosseum was absolutely amazing. The knowledge of the history of the area and presentation of the information was spectacular. Although this was the first tour of our trip we had booked several during our stay we later realized that the tour company in charge provides this type of experience on all of their offerings. Our afternoon walking tour guide was just as impressive and provided interesting information around every corner. It was great to get a basic feel for the layout and location of some of the major tourist destinations so that we would be able to locate them easier on our own. We ended up revisiting all of the tour stops on our own throughout the following days of our vacation just to experience and enjoy what they each had to offer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour to learn about the history of ancient Rome. We've seen a lot of interesting stuff. I like that the tour guide also has the picture of the actual site so we'll know how it looks like before it got ruined.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Super , very educative, Serafina was awesome! ....really great! Thanks .....love it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good value for money, got to see all the main sites in 1 day and the guides were very knowledgable and friendly. Would recommend highly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide friendly, knowledgeable and made it very interesting. A definite must if in Rome. Really got to see so much. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very interesting and informative tour. Easy to find tour guides and very well organised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour. We were able to get into the Colosseum quickly and avoid the lines. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

a real passionate guide, she was italian but fluent in english without harsh italian accent, she was extremely knowledgeable because she was an archeologist ! mentioned amazing things about Rome, Colosseum, paletine hills and roman forum and she told us interesting stories about how they did their rituals in these buildings. Try it for SURRREEEE !!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Unfortunately we missed the morning tour of the Colosseum due to my misreading of my voucher.
The Best Of Rome Tour was magnificent and our guide was superb in knowledge and friendliness.
Highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get the best of the city's sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Colosseum and Ancient Rome tours great, very knowledgeable guide. Afternoon good also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Brilliant tour - the two guides Claudia and Mary-Stella were incredibly knowledgeable and very friendly. Really appreciated being able to bypass all the crowds and queues as well. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Getting free ice cream was a bonus as well!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous, both guides were very knowledgeable, friendly and clearly loved their job.. and their city.
I can highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

amazing must do tour
the guide was amazing she knew everything about rome , she was very friendly and happy to help with any questions you have . plus she gave she good trips on where to eat and drink and the cheap way to get around .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful guide . Her knowledge was astounding her wit and humor delightful . Tour recommend but make sure you are up to steep climbing and wear comfy shoes .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Both the morning and afternoon tours very good and much better than if we had just gone by ourselves. Charming informative guides made all the difference. Definitely recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Francesca and Doriana, our respective guides, were both excellent and showed us so much. They were very enthusiastic, clear and concise, and their breadth of knowledge of their subjects was impressive. We really enjoyed both tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Manuela did a fabulous job in the morning. The afternoon part was good but probably worth 4 stars.

Special Offer
$102.75 Save $15.81

From USD $ 86.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731ROMETOUR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message