5 star rating: Highly Recommended 737 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 737 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We highly recommend this tour! Claudia was a trained archeologist and her explanations of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome truly helped us visualize the incredible history here. I could not imagine touring without the pictures and explanations which she gave us.

Gabrielle gave us a fun walk through the architecture and history of the city center on the afternoon tour. The gelato was good too! He even helped us weather an afternoon storm in the Pantheon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Your tours where amazing
tour guide Sev very interesting and most knowledgeable
a wonderful day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Extremely well-informed professional archaeologist as a tour guide! One could not ask for a better tour!

Kim C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing tour. Our guide, Dario, was very knowledgeable and kept us entertained. It was great seeing the ancient Colosseum and other ruins. We skipped the afternoon walking tour as we had already been to most of the places once or twice. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good to miss the queues. The guide was very good - engaging, interesting and knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An awe inspiring walk through the Forum and Colosseum. Very knowledgeable guides on all the tours I booked.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

In one day, we saw Rome in the eyes of a local Roma.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organized and run. Our tour guide was an archaeologist at the University of Rome. He was very knowledgeable and patient. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Colosseum and ancient Rome tour was fascinating. Seeing the places that we studied in school and walking on pavers that the ancient romans walked on was a exhilarating experience. Our guide, Valentina, was exceptionally knowledgeable. We found after the tour that she was not only a tour guide but also a working archeologist -- which explained the sadness in her voice when she told about some of the relics of antiquity that had been "lost" to the modernization of the new Rome.
My only regret is that we booked these two tours consecutively. The colosseum tour ran a little over so the 2 hours between was cut a bit which made getting to Spagna and having some lunch a little rushed. We were also a bit tired from the morning tour which took a little away from the afternoon walking tour of Rome. That being said, we were happy to have the highlighted areas pointed out to us so we could find them later. All in all a very nice day topped off by a nice dinner in Campo di Fiore.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommend this tour. The guides are fantastic and will help and answer all your questions. Alot of walking but so worth it for the sights you get to see. Just make sure you wear sensible shoes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly profesional guides Francesca and Micaela made this tour an Excellent introduction to the incredibly rich Rome history and culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was another great tour by City Wonders and our morning guide (for the Colosseum, The Forum and Palatine Hill), Sarah N was excellent. She was a PHD Archeologist and had worked in many of the areas we were touring. Her perspectives were wonderful. She was clearly excited about her subject matter and was able to provide insights into the various parts of all three ancient sites. The afternoon walking tour (our guide Manuella) was also excellent. We walked at an easy pace as she understood that many of us had already had another tour that morning. She was also very informative and took the time to point out many interesting small things along the way to the larger venues (Pantheon, Trevi, etc.) I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Both tours were good with guides Mikaela ( Ancient Rome) and Dario (Best of Rome). We particularly enjoyed the Best of Rome tour with Dario - he is an excellent guide and kept us entertained with his enthusiasm and good sense of humour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour , the Guide was very good in explaining the historical background in English , must Tour highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

skip the line is the only way to go

Special Offer
$113.24 Save $17.42

From USD $ 95.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731ROMETOUR

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message