Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 1024 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome Super Saver: Colosseum and Ancient Rome with Best of Rome Afternoon Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1024 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

For the Colosseum Tour our guide Sara was very good. Very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting with her fun facts.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent passionate tour guides!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Marta was an excellent guide! Very informative visit to the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. Made bypassing long lines super easy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If I did this again, I would only do the morning tour and do the afternoon on my own. However, we hade great tour guides and it was a great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was AMAZING and provided a wealth of information for me and my three children ages 11-17!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The first part was the guided tour around the Colosseum, Forum and Palatino - our guide was experienced archaeologist Mariella ? - was the favourite tour of all my time in Rome. This morning tour was really a highlight of my stay - the commentary was excellent and fascinating and it really brought history to life. I would give this morning tour the highest marks possible. The afternoon walking tour was a good introduction to the main tourist areas of Rome, though perhaps more aimed at those wanting a shopping experience of Rome. But anyway, it included a visit to the Pantheon and there were free ice-creams. It'd give the afternoon walk 4 stars. A great double-tour to kick off any trip to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great.. Our guide GiGi Was fantastic! His knowledge of the area was expansive!
One suggestion to travelers. Make sure you take water with you! The weather was perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Alejandro was fantastic on the Colosseum portion but I did not make the afternoon portion due to miscommunication. Very attentive to the entire group and always available for personalized question answering. 100% recommended for the first part.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Mariela was so knowledgable and entertaining and an archaeologist to boot!
Worth every cent. Take a water bottle as there are outdoor fountains to enable refills.
Cheers
Stacy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The tour guide spoke excellent English, we were on time, and learned so much history. You need to be in good shape because it is a lot of walking up hill and stairs. I would only do one tour and leave the other tour for another time if you are not young and energetic. It was a wonderful time and we met a lot of very nice people on the tour. Would definitely use Viator tours again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guides are so helpful and knowledgeable. Just heightens the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

These were walking tours, whilst it was a long day both tours were well worth doing. The morning tour guide was an archeologist who was able to give us a great insight into the life of Roman times, the 'skip the line' was well worth the cost, as the lines to get into the Colosseum were very long. The afternoon tour guide had a degree in Art history and he too was very informative and had a great sense of humour, we covered a lot of ground all by foot, the Spanish steps, the Trevi fountain, The Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Campo Di Fiore and along the way he pointed out many buildings and the history of the architecture, again we were given individual hearing devices so that you could hear him at all times along the way. Highly recommend both these tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was a pretty dam good one Sara our guide was well cool and informative and an all round star really.as my wife and I hadn't been to Rome before,it just set us up for the week ahead and the sights were epic,thanks to all involved,just brill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tiffany McIver was fantastic!! Out of the three tour guides we had, she was by far, the most engaging, knowledgeable, and easiest to understand. It was evident she knew her material and brought such a high level of engagement to the tour. Our teenaged children appreciated her quick whit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Morning your was awesome ! MariElla (guide) was super! Very knowledgeable and entertaining with stories and history. Afternoon tour was just OK. Guide was OK but it was so hot and she was not as good as morning guide.

Cadence D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an excellent tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. The tour group were very accommodating and our English speaking guide was excellent. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone. It just could not be better. The guides were extraordinary. Well-prepared and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Olivia was amazing amd very knowledgable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both of our tour guides were fabulous. Our feet were sore by the end of the day but we got to see a lot with really great explanations and time to stop and take pictures, bathroom breaks and a little gelato.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour, if your want to do the underground tour, that is separate, get them ASAP. Plan to go early in the morning, it is cooler and not as crowded.

aaml144
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent Option. Great guides, recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

despite the rain, we had a most informative tour in the morning and afternoon. you get to see a bit of the old and new and really feel like you get a feel for Rome. I totally recommend doing both tours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Both tours were of good quality.
The morning tour with guide Claudia covered the Colosseum and Roman Forum and was very enjoyable as Claudia was very knowledgeable about the sights covered and was able to give a lot of detailed insight into their history.
The afternoon tour with guide Francesa was a bit less detailed, but covered many sights and piazzas that we simply wouldn't have seen had we not gone on this tour.
If you're only in Rome for a short time these two tours are a good way to cover a lot of the ancient city centre. My only gripe is that the end location of the morning tour is quite far away from the start of the afternoon tour. Bear in mind that both tours are walking tours - be prepared for a lot of walking!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved this! Our morning guide was Marina and she did a great job, knew her stuff, went slow, and made sure her group stayed together. Our afternoon guide was Damiano, and although he knew his stuff, he walked very fast, his microphone wasn't the best, so if you were in the back of the strung out group you missed some of what he was saying. Our only problem, really, and our own fault, is doing two walking tours in one day! After 6-7 hours, our feet were definitely angry with us!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour of Rome highlights. Guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. Lots of walking but that has to be suspected. They covered the heart of Rome great.

Special Offer

From USD $ 86.56

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731ROMETOUR

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message