4.5 star rating: Recommended 522 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 522 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pompeii was on my bucket list and did not let me down. It was spectacular. To wonder down roads over 2000 years old was amazing. I enjoyed seeing how people lived so long ago. Geo, our guide on the bus gave us many tips on how to haggle with the souvenir people that saved me quite a bit. She gave us tips on what to see when we got back to Rome. Geo is a true gem!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Favourite day of my holiday. This trip was amazing! Meeting point was easy to find, and the bus journey was comfortable. Gia our guide was very entertaining and gave us plenty of tips for Pompeii and Rome. We upgraded to a 2 hour guided tour and are so glad we did. we underestimated just how big Pompeii is so it allowed us to see all the "must see's" and also gave us plenty of time to explore on our own after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The coach was such a civilised way to see Pompeii, the guides were very funny, you were given ample time to walk around the site. The coach picked up from a central location in Rome , although a long drive it was an easy and simple way to see Pompeii, I would recommend upgrading to the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was really good. Was worth the 3 hours on the bus there and back!! Would highly recommend! !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a real highlight of my trip to Italy. I absolutely loved it. Gio was a fantastic hostess and Tiziana (sp??) a highly informative guide. I highly recommend to do the upgrade and take the tour, it really was worth the extra for the additional information and history. What a spectacular place to visit. Fantastic stop off for breakfast and on the way home. Just do it. Unreal!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bus left promptly. Good mid way stop. Booked the tour if Pompeii with the travel tour organised by viator. Well worth it as it is difficult to see the best sites independently in two hours. Good places to eat just outside the site. Prompt return journey. All in all well worth the visit.
Excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great Day, well organised and gave us plenty of time in Pompeii, good information on the way helped maximise our enjoyment of the site

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide, Gio was just great. So informative and a good sense of humour. The truck stop was very good and I must say one of the best coffees. So arriving at Pompeii and passed over to the local guide was very good and the information given about the site was also very good. I met up with two nice women from the US and we had a lovely lunch together at a local restaurant, with loads of chatter. The trip back was good and and another stop at the cafe. (We also stopped there on the way down). It was a sunny but not too hot of a day and the crowds were not too bad.. All in all perfect day out. Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This worked perfectly for us. The bus was on time. The host was helpful. The info sheet he distributed says what is not currently available to be seen. And there was no appreciable traffic to shorten the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip would definitely recommend it. Very good coach and tour guide (Inger). We stopped on the way out and return at a service area and the food and drinks were reasonably priced for a service area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent full tour, although only booked the coach trip was offered a guided tour when we got there at a reduced price making the overall trip even better value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our taxi to the meeting point was late, meaning we arrived late at the pick up point, but it was no problem, we were walked from the office to the coach - no complaints. The coach itself was very comfortable and the guides were friendly. We opted to look around pompeii ourselves but it was quite hard work trying to find your way around in the heat, so I would probably recommend taking the tour. All in all very well run service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Not knowing the city, we did a test run to find our morning meeting spot the night before. Directions to the office weren't as clear and this helped. Other tour members didn't, and after loading and starting through the city, our bus had to circle back to pick up a tardy client. Our guide Gio was informative with a little bit of info on Pompeii and a lot of helpful info for first time tourists in Rome. The bus ride was comfortable and went quickly. The local tour leader Francisco was a character and we were thrilled all around with the depth of his knowledge and story telling that gave context to our experience at Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour! The bus trip was comfortable and quiet. The guide on the bus was informative without using the microphone constantly like some tours!
The guide at Pompeii was fantastic! His name is Carmen and He had good English skills, was helpful and friendly.
The tour is amazing and a must see!
There is alot of walking and is quite rocky and uneven, consider this especially for the elderly and handicapped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Bus was on time both directions. Staff was courteous. Comfortable bus. It was easy to hire an official Pompeii tour guide once we got to the excavation site. And seeing ancient Pompeii was completely worth the trip. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Gio was wonderful and made our day very fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very happy with our tour. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Our bus hostess, Gio, was charming, helpful and informative. We got to spend hours at the Pompeii site exploring what appealed to us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed a very entertaining and enjoyable trip to Pompeii in the company of our guide,Gio. She was friendly, most knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Our driver was safe and courteous. The day itself was wonderful visiting such an amazing place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great experience with our Pompeii trip! Other than having some difficulty finding the meeting place in the morning, everything was easy and relaxing. The shuttle there and back was comfortable. Nice to be able to spend a good amount of time on our own while we were there. Well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip! Would highly recommend the independent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great, Great, Great!

From USD $ 75.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message