4.5 star rating: Recommended 559 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Rome, Italy
  • Duration:12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 559 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I chose the independent day tour and loved every minute. If you're like me and don't want to be rushed site to next site then you'll like to do the tour yourself. The negative is you might get lost in Pompeii and have to ask for directions.
Pro-tip: upon entering Pompeii entrance, go directly left for the first site which is a bathhouse. Then make your way up the main walkway to see the rest of Pompeii, that way you don't have to go back to the entrance area to see the first bathhouse!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

well worth the money and the time. Made me want to see more of the Naples area. Guide was very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day. Our host Patricia was lovely and spoke very good english. We didn't do the tour as we have a 5 year old so thought it would suit us better to bimble in our own time. We was not pressured to do the tour which was really nice. Great journeyboth ways, would definately recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out. Upgraded to the guided tour at the last moment!...glad we did...Patricia was a brilliant guide. Very interesting and informative couple of hours.

Thank you!
Keith and Lucy ( Edinburgh)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. Both guide on bus and giving tour were very passionate about their work.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an amazing trip. The guide was a delight and very informative. this was a very pleasant trip all around. Very greatful for the this oppertunity to visit this site with the expertise provided by our guides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Patricia was great. Very friendly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed Pompeii very much by listening to a Rick Steeve's audio download. The bus ride there was a nice inexpensive way to do a side trip from Rome, We enjoyed our tour guide who gave us some useful information to and from Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant day out. Guide on bus was great and Pompeii incredible. Some of our party did the guided tour the rest on our own. Both loved it! No English books at the reception and no maps left either though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Confortable bus, fast trip, good tour guide. I recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Pompeii. The bus ride was comfortable and our bus guide was very informative. Our guide through the city of Pompeii was excellent. Our group of 8 was an ideal size.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was lovely, meeting site was a bit hard to find but they were very helpful. Tour guide was a little hard to understand but we managed and she was very sweet and knowledgable. overall I would recommend it. Pompeii is very beautiful, the city is full of history. I had a blast.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If your going from rome then this is the best way no hassle driving and the guide was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was our second trip to Pompeii. Our first trip was a guided tour. This tour allowed us to explore and experience the sites on our own leisure. It was AMAZING! We saw so many different sites we didn't see on our first visit 3 years ago. I would highly recommend it if one would like to explore on one's own time frame. We'd also rented the audio guide.

Special thanks to Geo! She was very informative, humorous and punctual! Great tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excellent way to get to Pompeii

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Tour guide was incredibly informative , he knew everything there was to know and was patient and friendly . Incredibly moving and just an amazing tour all around!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing - the best tour of our trip of 5 weeks. Elisa was a fantastic host and I would rate this the best value for money ever. Siena was beautiful - the lunch and wine tasting yummo - and San G, well yeah that place with its best gelato in the world, was lovely as well. Highly reccomend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

EXCELLENT BUS TRIP. OPTIONAL TOUR WAS WELL WORTH PAYING FOR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The bus trip was very nice and the guide was really terrific. They were on-time and very attentive. We did a self guided tour of Pompeii, but the guide explained the place and time for the return bus. I would recommend it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip, well organised and an enjoyable convenient way to see Pompei.

Nothing bad to say, could upgrade and buy entrance tickets and book a guided tour on the coach instead of waiting for hours at Pompei itself.

Would definitely book another trip with this organisation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Pompeii was on my bucket list and did not let me down. It was spectacular. To wonder down roads over 2000 years old was amazing. I enjoyed seeing how people lived so long ago. Geo, our guide on the bus gave us many tips on how to haggle with the souvenir people that saved me quite a bit. She gave us tips on what to see when we got back to Rome. Geo is a true gem!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Favourite day of my holiday. This trip was amazing! Meeting point was easy to find, and the bus journey was comfortable. Gia our guide was very entertaining and gave us plenty of tips for Pompeii and Rome. We upgraded to a 2 hour guided tour and are so glad we did. we underestimated just how big Pompeii is so it allowed us to see all the "must see's" and also gave us plenty of time to explore on our own after.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The coach was such a civilised way to see Pompeii, the guides were very funny, you were given ample time to walk around the site. The coach picked up from a central location in Rome , although a long drive it was an easy and simple way to see Pompeii, I would recommend upgrading to the tour.

From USD $ 77.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message