• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 470 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 470 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very good trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Except for a bit of difficulty in finding the office, the bus trip to Pompeii was fine. The bus was comfortable, Ingrid was friendly and answered questions and kept us organized as to when and where to meet at the end of our adventure. It was perfect for someone like me who would rather explore on my own and not be bogged down with what the tour guide wants to show us or tourists who wore spike heels to climb around archilogical sites. This was easier than making train connections, safer than driving a car(we were stunned by some of the driving we saw out the front window of the bus) and relaxing. I would recommend this trip to friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another highly recommended trip. I didn't want to be stuck on a guided tour so this place was easy to find by the Termini train station in Rome. about 2 blocks east.
our bus guide was excellent and straight to the point in terms of how much time we get. a little under 2 hrs to get there in a nice and comfy bus and 4 hours to do whatever we wanted at Pompeii. then a little under 2 hours back. I loved it and would recommend this for anyone that wants unguided but a easy mode of transportation there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A well organised trip which was full of our anticipation on the way there and relaxing on the way back. Our tour guide arranged for a guided tour of Pompei upon arrival. Excellent. If you head to Rome do yourself a favour and book the Pompei day trip with "enjoy rome" you will be truly pleased.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this tour! Great guide with a tin of knowledge on this site. Plenty of free time after the official part of the tour to wander and get great pix or, shop and have lunch. I would do this a second time...

Lise L
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great Trip! Our guide was very informative and she described what we saw while travelling to Pompeii. Once we arrived (upon the passengers' request), she had a tour guide meet us in Pompeii to give us a walking tour of the city. It is a good idea to have a guide through the ruins, as it is very interesting and much more informative than if you did the walking tour yourself without a guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour pick up was easy to find and the driver was courteous. Pompei was a wonderful site to visit. Everyone should make this trip at some point!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great deal. someone else does the driving. reasonable amount of time at the site.
wonderful guide chosen for us at the site for a reasonable fee.
highly recommend.

Maurice
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A most enjoyable tour, relaxed travel arrangements with a very knowledgeable guide, (Thanks Jeanette). Pompeii was amazing and vast in scale, when visiting this site I advise you take a very detailed guide or guide book as the site is no very well signposted and it is easy to get lost, nevertheless, it is well worth making the effort to visit this UNESCO site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent directions to the tour office in Rome, arrangements good. Inger, our bus guide and hostess, was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Giovanni the bus driver, friendly, sensible and accommodating whilst being patient in the hectic and totally bonkers Roman traffic! STop off for comfort breaks were well managed. Arranged private tour of Pompeii whilst there which was excellent and great value (15 Euros per person for 2 hour tour), local knowledge and interesting facts and figures made the place come to life. We had been concerned that we wouldn't see much of the ruins, but the guide enabled us to se the main key areas and buildings, as much of it is spread out and very similar. The House of the Faun, Lupinaire, Bakery and the Arena were the highlights, along with the roads, water and artworks on view. Would highly recommend this whistle stop day, and (unless you know your stuff) getting a tour of the site to give you the information that you don't read in books and a feel for the local, historical perspective. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really good trip, liked that was able to wander around Pompeii on our own but lady accompanying us from tour operator would get us a recommended tour guide if we wanted. Very comfy coach and plenty of air con which was certainly needed! Would highly recommend these again.

robert b
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see Pompeii, at your own pace. Saw everything and had time to shop and eat. A non rushed day and well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Well worth doing. Our nine year olds loved Pompei. This gives you a lot of time to explore independently according to your family's needs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was advertised as a coach trip (air-conditioned) from Rome to Pompeii and that is exactly what it was. We knew that once at Pompeii we would be on our own to choose a solo trip or hire a guide/audio guide. Our tour representative was friendly enough and gave out sheets on the coach with his mobile number (in case of emergency) and a few suggestions as to where to go. However, we would have appreciated a little talk as to what we could expect to see and maybe some stories etc. It was the most silent coach trip I have ever been on. We wondered why there was a rep on the bus when the only real work he did was to count the passengers when we got on and when we got off. As he was on the bus the whole time with us surely it would not have been any skin off his nose to actually talk about Pompeii?
At the end of the day we got what we paid for, a trip to Pompeii. The bus was air-conditioned and we had a comfort stop on the way there but not on the way back.
We opted to just grab a map and wander around by ourselves. Just make sure to slip, slop, slap and take plenty of water.
Would we recommend it? Yes, if all you are after is a comfortable way to travel to Pompeii.

From USD $ 93.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message