4.5 star rating: Recommended 518 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 518 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide, Gio was just great. So informative and a good sense of humour. The truck stop was very good and I must say one of the best coffees. So arriving at Pompeii and passed over to the local guide was very good and the information given about the site was also very good. I met up with two nice women from the US and we had a lovely lunch together at a local restaurant, with loads of chatter. The trip back was good and and another stop at the cafe. (We also stopped there on the way down). It was a sunny but not too hot of a day and the crowds were not too bad.. All in all perfect day out. Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This worked perfectly for us. The bus was on time. The host was helpful. The info sheet he distributed says what is not currently available to be seen. And there was no appreciable traffic to shorten the visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip would definitely recommend it. Very good coach and tour guide (Inger). We stopped on the way out and return at a service area and the food and drinks were reasonably priced for a service area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent full tour, although only booked the coach trip was offered a guided tour when we got there at a reduced price making the overall trip even better value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our taxi to the meeting point was late, meaning we arrived late at the pick up point, but it was no problem, we were walked from the office to the coach - no complaints. The coach itself was very comfortable and the guides were friendly. We opted to look around pompeii ourselves but it was quite hard work trying to find your way around in the heat, so I would probably recommend taking the tour. All in all very well run service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Not knowing the city, we did a test run to find our morning meeting spot the night before. Directions to the office weren't as clear and this helped. Other tour members didn't, and after loading and starting through the city, our bus had to circle back to pick up a tardy client. Our guide Gio was informative with a little bit of info on Pompeii and a lot of helpful info for first time tourists in Rome. The bus ride was comfortable and went quickly. The local tour leader Francisco was a character and we were thrilled all around with the depth of his knowledge and story telling that gave context to our experience at Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour! The bus trip was comfortable and quiet. The guide on the bus was informative without using the microphone constantly like some tours!
The guide at Pompeii was fantastic! His name is Carmen and He had good English skills, was helpful and friendly.
The tour is amazing and a must see!
There is alot of walking and is quite rocky and uneven, consider this especially for the elderly and handicapped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Bus was on time both directions. Staff was courteous. Comfortable bus. It was easy to hire an official Pompeii tour guide once we got to the excavation site. And seeing ancient Pompeii was completely worth the trip. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Gio was wonderful and made our day very fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very happy with our tour. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Our bus hostess, Gio, was charming, helpful and informative. We got to spend hours at the Pompeii site exploring what appealed to us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed a very entertaining and enjoyable trip to Pompeii in the company of our guide,Gio. She was friendly, most knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Our driver was safe and courteous. The day itself was wonderful visiting such an amazing place.

From USD $ 84.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message