4.5 star rating: Recommended 540 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 540 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent full tour, although only booked the coach trip was offered a guided tour when we got there at a reduced price making the overall trip even better value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our taxi to the meeting point was late, meaning we arrived late at the pick up point, but it was no problem, we were walked from the office to the coach - no complaints. The coach itself was very comfortable and the guides were friendly. We opted to look around pompeii ourselves but it was quite hard work trying to find your way around in the heat, so I would probably recommend taking the tour. All in all very well run service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Not knowing the city, we did a test run to find our morning meeting spot the night before. Directions to the office weren't as clear and this helped. Other tour members didn't, and after loading and starting through the city, our bus had to circle back to pick up a tardy client. Our guide Gio was informative with a little bit of info on Pompeii and a lot of helpful info for first time tourists in Rome. The bus ride was comfortable and went quickly. The local tour leader Francisco was a character and we were thrilled all around with the depth of his knowledge and story telling that gave context to our experience at Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour! The bus trip was comfortable and quiet. The guide on the bus was informative without using the microphone constantly like some tours!
The guide at Pompeii was fantastic! His name is Carmen and He had good English skills, was helpful and friendly.
The tour is amazing and a must see!
There is alot of walking and is quite rocky and uneven, consider this especially for the elderly and handicapped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Bus was on time both directions. Staff was courteous. Comfortable bus. It was easy to hire an official Pompeii tour guide once we got to the excavation site. And seeing ancient Pompeii was completely worth the trip. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide Gio was wonderful and made our day very fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very educational

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very happy with our tour. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Our bus hostess, Gio, was charming, helpful and informative. We got to spend hours at the Pompeii site exploring what appealed to us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed a very entertaining and enjoyable trip to Pompeii in the company of our guide,Gio. She was friendly, most knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. Our driver was safe and courteous. The day itself was wonderful visiting such an amazing place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great experience with our Pompeii trip! Other than having some difficulty finding the meeting place in the morning, everything was easy and relaxing. The shuttle there and back was comfortable. Nice to be able to spend a good amount of time on our own while we were there. Well worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip! Would highly recommend the independent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great, Great, Great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent
Guide as lovely

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Weather was lovely 79 degrees trip down to Pompeii was nice there was people from USA, Canada and Australia on the coach

When we got to Pompeii there was 12 of us who decided to have a guide he got very nice funny gentlemen who told us all about Pompeii took us all over the site.

I would recommended getting a guide as Pompeii is so large we spoke to people. Who didn't have guide they wished they had done.

Pompeii it self is very interesting there is lots to see drawing still on the walls, and how the people lived in them days., it's like going back in time.

I enjoy my visit to Rome and pompei

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Well organized. Had a wonderful tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A perfect way to see Pompeji. Everything concerning the bus tour could'nt have been better.

Elaine B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Pompeii is an amazing trip to do. It's an excellent site which is well preserved and it's easy to get around the whole site in the four hours you have there. The guide on the bus was knowledgeable about the site and suggested some excellent areas to go and see. I wandered the site myself but they will book you onto guided tours if you wish.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic and everything is on schedule. The guide was very helpful and communicate very effectively as well as respect our needs of a quiet journey on the way back. The bus was clean and properly air-con. There was plenty of spare seats to move around. It was a truly 5 star tour and I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

it was amazing !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very professional and all information was very clear, we would highly recommend your company to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent. Booking was easy, lots of reminders not to forget. Meeting place was easy to find. Great to have a host on the coach to answer any questions. Coach was comfortable and the time given in Pompeii was perfect. Would definitely recommend as a very affordable option if you want to do Pompeii at your own pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We've always wanted to see Pompeii and Viator helped us do that. Viator delivered exactly as stated in their Overview and Schedule tour package...and we enjoyed the entire Independent Day Trip! (And a special thanks to our tour guide, Inger, she was great.)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent. The tour company office was very near the Central Rome Termini station and easy to find. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. Our Tour Guide, Inger, was very helpful and informative and arranged a guided tour for those who were interested in that. In all it was ab=n excellent day out.

From USD $ 76.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message