• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 472 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 472 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was advertised as a coach trip (air-conditioned) from Rome to Pompeii and that is exactly what it was. We knew that once at Pompeii we would be on our own to choose a solo trip or hire a guide/audio guide. Our tour representative was friendly enough and gave out sheets on the coach with his mobile number (in case of emergency) and a few suggestions as to where to go. However, we would have appreciated a little talk as to what we could expect to see and maybe some stories etc. It was the most silent coach trip I have ever been on. We wondered why there was a rep on the bus when the only real work he did was to count the passengers when we got on and when we got off. As he was on the bus the whole time with us surely it would not have been any skin off his nose to actually talk about Pompeii?
At the end of the day we got what we paid for, a trip to Pompeii. The bus was air-conditioned and we had a comfort stop on the way there but not on the way back.
We opted to just grab a map and wander around by ourselves. Just make sure to slip, slop, slap and take plenty of water.
Would we recommend it? Yes, if all you are after is a comfortable way to travel to Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent way for independent travellers and families to see Pompei. Inge escorted us from Rome to Pompei on a comfortable air conditioned bus. She was very friendly and helpful and organised an excellent tour guide for our family of 5 and another family of 5 for 15 euro each. Gino had 47 years experience at tour guiding and gave us a very good 2 hour overview of this amazing site. So glad we went with this option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is perfect for travelers who wish to visit Pompeii at their own pace. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned. The driver was expert. Our tour leader, Yorgos, was efficient and professional. He gave an informative historic overview on the way to the site and was also knowledgeable about what was available to see. He also gave recommendations about the distance between one area of the city and the others which was helpful since I very much wanted to see the Villa of the Mysteries which was a 20 minute walk from the entry. I unfortunately got lost on my way back to the meeting spot at the end of our allotted stay and Yorgos located me and got me to the bus. I noted that there were several passengers with special needs on this tour and Yorgos was kind and considerate to all. I would definitely recommend this tour as it helped me to fulfill a dream of a lifetime to see Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Plenty of time to explore. Remember a hat though, not much shade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great for what we wanted! Office is easy to find if you follow the directions, bus is direct and takes as long as advertised, and departure was right on schedule.

Pamela S
Trinidad and Tobago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great guide and tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great service. Bus was extremely nice. Allowed us to relax with kids rather than take the train/transfers. Staff member from Enjoy Rome office was so nice. She took roll call at every opportunity to make sure that she had each traveller. The Enjoy Rome office locations was tricky to find but after we found it, all went well. They did not pull over at any other stop to try to sell us something. While this is not a "tour" with a guide, she gave a clear specific instructions of where to go from the bus, to find restrooms and get a snack. Perfect for families after a day in the sun; everyone took a good nap for the drive back.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Almost left on time, and good option if you just want independent trip to Pompeii.
Would recomend that you get a map of the site, as its hard to find your way around!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent service - comfortable air conditioned coach, guide took us to the entrance, advised about tours the company could offer once inside but we decided to go it alone and wander around ourselves which was just as good. Definitely worth the money - took any stress out of having to catch the train from Rome to Naples then to Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very well organized re departure and pickup. An inexpensive way to see Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The bus staff couldn't have been more helpful. We are senior citizens with a spouse in a wheel chair, and they accomodated us extremely well. BTW: Pompeii is only for the strong, determined and perseverant if you are traveling with a wheel chair. People should be warned that it is not wheel chair accessible unless you are willing to do a lot of lifting and partial walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a lovely day in Pompeii and our American hostess on the coach was very friendly and helpful. The bus was comfortable and timings were spot on. I would recommend this trip as it was good value for money for those who want to travel to Pompeii independently

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Trip was great, bus was very comfotable, tour guide was excellent, we would highly recommend doing this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great place and the bus shuttle was well organized and staff friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Comfortable bus ride to Pompeii. Wish I had bought the book.
Go on a guided tour once there so you know what you are looking at;)

From USD $ 92.96

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message