4.5 star rating: Recommended 546 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 546 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent. The tour company office was very near the Central Rome Termini station and easy to find. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. Our Tour Guide, Inger, was very helpful and informative and arranged a guided tour for those who were interested in that. In all it was ab=n excellent day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent way to see Pompeii!!!! Inger was incredibly helpful as a trip assistant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were worried about taking a tour because we don't like to be rushed. This tour was great!! We didn't have to navigate the trains to Pompeii and road by luxury coach. We felt leisurely and as if we had plenty of time. If course, we were there in off season so that might alter our experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great trip, thanks to all the staff, who were very helpful and kind.

Bethel J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a long drive but worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

yes we took the above tour and it was well worth it.Our bus chaperone was very nice and helpful. we had a book to look at driving from Rome to Pompeii explaining about the history of Pompeii. Can't remember her name. When we arrived in Pompeii it was very warm and of course loved the palm trees! We chose to have a guide..her name was Roberta...we loved her. We thought we were going to see a lot more of the casted bodies but they were farther away...no time. Enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

An excellent way of getting to Pompeii. The Viator staff were professional and friendly. They gave us some information about Pompeii on the way and gave out picture books to read (great for the kids). I would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great trip, they set us up with a tour of Pompeii, (optional 17 Euros) it was great. Really glad that we didn't do it on our own, as we learned so much. Bus ride is great, they do all the work for you! The entrance fee is not included, I believe it was like 9 or 10 euros. Stress free trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellently organized small group trip. We chose it to avoid spending time in Naples, in order to have more time in Pompeii and it was exactly what we wanted. Inger was an efficient tour leader and did not annoy with waffle. We chose to have a local guide who was really excellent, very professional and experienced, and we had enough time for some time on our own before meeting the bus back. The tour was not to blame for the horrific traffic jam on the outskirts of Rome on the way home, and the bus driver cleverly found another route into the city. A long day but very worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Very good trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Except for a bit of difficulty in finding the office, the bus trip to Pompeii was fine. The bus was comfortable, Ingrid was friendly and answered questions and kept us organized as to when and where to meet at the end of our adventure. It was perfect for someone like me who would rather explore on my own and not be bogged down with what the tour guide wants to show us or tourists who wore spike heels to climb around archilogical sites. This was easier than making train connections, safer than driving a car(we were stunned by some of the driving we saw out the front window of the bus) and relaxing. I would recommend this trip to friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Another highly recommended trip. I didn't want to be stuck on a guided tour so this place was easy to find by the Termini train station in Rome. about 2 blocks east.
our bus guide was excellent and straight to the point in terms of how much time we get. a little under 2 hrs to get there in a nice and comfy bus and 4 hours to do whatever we wanted at Pompeii. then a little under 2 hours back. I loved it and would recommend this for anyone that wants unguided but a easy mode of transportation there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A well organised trip which was full of our anticipation on the way there and relaxing on the way back. Our tour guide arranged for a guided tour of Pompei upon arrival. Excellent. If you head to Rome do yourself a favour and book the Pompei day trip with "enjoy rome" you will be truly pleased.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this tour! Great guide with a tin of knowledge on this site. Plenty of free time after the official part of the tour to wander and get great pix or, shop and have lunch. I would do this a second time...

Lise L
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great Trip! Our guide was very informative and she described what we saw while travelling to Pompeii. Once we arrived (upon the passengers' request), she had a tour guide meet us in Pompeii to give us a walking tour of the city. It is a good idea to have a guide through the ruins, as it is very interesting and much more informative than if you did the walking tour yourself without a guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour pick up was easy to find and the driver was courteous. Pompei was a wonderful site to visit. Everyone should make this trip at some point!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great deal. someone else does the driving. reasonable amount of time at the site.
wonderful guide chosen for us at the site for a reasonable fee.
highly recommend.

Maurice
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A most enjoyable tour, relaxed travel arrangements with a very knowledgeable guide, (Thanks Jeanette). Pompeii was amazing and vast in scale, when visiting this site I advise you take a very detailed guide or guide book as the site is no very well signposted and it is easy to get lost, nevertheless, it is well worth making the effort to visit this UNESCO site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent directions to the tour office in Rome, arrangements good. Inger, our bus guide and hostess, was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Giovanni the bus driver, friendly, sensible and accommodating whilst being patient in the hectic and totally bonkers Roman traffic! STop off for comfort breaks were well managed. Arranged private tour of Pompeii whilst there which was excellent and great value (15 Euros per person for 2 hour tour), local knowledge and interesting facts and figures made the place come to life. We had been concerned that we wouldn't see much of the ruins, but the guide enabled us to se the main key areas and buildings, as much of it is spread out and very similar. The House of the Faun, Lupinaire, Bakery and the Arena were the highlights, along with the roads, water and artworks on view. Would highly recommend this whistle stop day, and (unless you know your stuff) getting a tour of the site to give you the information that you don't read in books and a feel for the local, historical perspective. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really good trip, liked that was able to wander around Pompeii on our own but lady accompanying us from tour operator would get us a recommended tour guide if we wanted. Very comfy coach and plenty of air con which was certainly needed! Would highly recommend these again.

robert b
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see Pompeii, at your own pace. Saw everything and had time to shop and eat. A non rushed day and well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Well worth doing. Our nine year olds loved Pompei. This gives you a lot of time to explore independently according to your family's needs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was advertised as a coach trip (air-conditioned) from Rome to Pompeii and that is exactly what it was. We knew that once at Pompeii we would be on our own to choose a solo trip or hire a guide/audio guide. Our tour representative was friendly enough and gave out sheets on the coach with his mobile number (in case of emergency) and a few suggestions as to where to go. However, we would have appreciated a little talk as to what we could expect to see and maybe some stories etc. It was the most silent coach trip I have ever been on. We wondered why there was a rep on the bus when the only real work he did was to count the passengers when we got on and when we got off. As he was on the bus the whole time with us surely it would not have been any skin off his nose to actually talk about Pompeii?
At the end of the day we got what we paid for, a trip to Pompeii. The bus was air-conditioned and we had a comfort stop on the way there but not on the way back.
We opted to just grab a map and wander around by ourselves. Just make sure to slip, slop, slap and take plenty of water.
Would we recommend it? Yes, if all you are after is a comfortable way to travel to Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent way for independent travellers and families to see Pompei. Inge escorted us from Rome to Pompei on a comfortable air conditioned bus. She was very friendly and helpful and organised an excellent tour guide for our family of 5 and another family of 5 for 15 euro each. Gino had 47 years experience at tour guiding and gave us a very good 2 hour overview of this amazing site. So glad we went with this option.

From USD $ 76.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message