4.5 star rating: Recommended 486 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 486 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lise L
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great Trip! Our guide was very informative and she described what we saw while travelling to Pompeii. Once we arrived (upon the passengers' request), she had a tour guide meet us in Pompeii to give us a walking tour of the city. It is a good idea to have a guide through the ruins, as it is very interesting and much more informative than if you did the walking tour yourself without a guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour pick up was easy to find and the driver was courteous. Pompei was a wonderful site to visit. Everyone should make this trip at some point!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

great deal. someone else does the driving. reasonable amount of time at the site.
wonderful guide chosen for us at the site for a reasonable fee.
highly recommend.

Maurice
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A most enjoyable tour, relaxed travel arrangements with a very knowledgeable guide, (Thanks Jeanette). Pompeii was amazing and vast in scale, when visiting this site I advise you take a very detailed guide or guide book as the site is no very well signposted and it is easy to get lost, nevertheless, it is well worth making the effort to visit this UNESCO site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent directions to the tour office in Rome, arrangements good. Inger, our bus guide and hostess, was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Giovanni the bus driver, friendly, sensible and accommodating whilst being patient in the hectic and totally bonkers Roman traffic! STop off for comfort breaks were well managed. Arranged private tour of Pompeii whilst there which was excellent and great value (15 Euros per person for 2 hour tour), local knowledge and interesting facts and figures made the place come to life. We had been concerned that we wouldn't see much of the ruins, but the guide enabled us to se the main key areas and buildings, as much of it is spread out and very similar. The House of the Faun, Lupinaire, Bakery and the Arena were the highlights, along with the roads, water and artworks on view. Would highly recommend this whistle stop day, and (unless you know your stuff) getting a tour of the site to give you the information that you don't read in books and a feel for the local, historical perspective. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Really good trip, liked that was able to wander around Pompeii on our own but lady accompanying us from tour operator would get us a recommended tour guide if we wanted. Very comfy coach and plenty of air con which was certainly needed! Would highly recommend these again.

robert b
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Best way to see Pompeii, at your own pace. Saw everything and had time to shop and eat. A non rushed day and well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Well worth doing. Our nine year olds loved Pompei. This gives you a lot of time to explore independently according to your family's needs.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was advertised as a coach trip (air-conditioned) from Rome to Pompeii and that is exactly what it was. We knew that once at Pompeii we would be on our own to choose a solo trip or hire a guide/audio guide. Our tour representative was friendly enough and gave out sheets on the coach with his mobile number (in case of emergency) and a few suggestions as to where to go. However, we would have appreciated a little talk as to what we could expect to see and maybe some stories etc. It was the most silent coach trip I have ever been on. We wondered why there was a rep on the bus when the only real work he did was to count the passengers when we got on and when we got off. As he was on the bus the whole time with us surely it would not have been any skin off his nose to actually talk about Pompeii?
At the end of the day we got what we paid for, a trip to Pompeii. The bus was air-conditioned and we had a comfort stop on the way there but not on the way back.
We opted to just grab a map and wander around by ourselves. Just make sure to slip, slop, slap and take plenty of water.
Would we recommend it? Yes, if all you are after is a comfortable way to travel to Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent way for independent travellers and families to see Pompei. Inge escorted us from Rome to Pompei on a comfortable air conditioned bus. She was very friendly and helpful and organised an excellent tour guide for our family of 5 and another family of 5 for 15 euro each. Gino had 47 years experience at tour guiding and gave us a very good 2 hour overview of this amazing site. So glad we went with this option.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is perfect for travelers who wish to visit Pompeii at their own pace. The bus was comfortable and air-conditioned. The driver was expert. Our tour leader, Yorgos, was efficient and professional. He gave an informative historic overview on the way to the site and was also knowledgeable about what was available to see. He also gave recommendations about the distance between one area of the city and the others which was helpful since I very much wanted to see the Villa of the Mysteries which was a 20 minute walk from the entry. I unfortunately got lost on my way back to the meeting spot at the end of our allotted stay and Yorgos located me and got me to the bus. I noted that there were several passengers with special needs on this tour and Yorgos was kind and considerate to all. I would definitely recommend this tour as it helped me to fulfill a dream of a lifetime to see Pompeii.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Plenty of time to explore. Remember a hat though, not much shade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great for what we wanted! Office is easy to find if you follow the directions, bus is direct and takes as long as advertised, and departure was right on schedule.

Pamela S
Trinidad and Tobago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great guide and tour.

From USD $ 90.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3058VESUVIUS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message