5 star rating: Highly Recommended 8172 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 8172 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide an architectural student was very knowledgeable. He knew all the history behind the Colosseum. The problem we had was it was too hot to enjoy. The walking with all the stairs was very difficult, the guide took many breaks and he tried to find shade but I would not recommend this tour in July.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took this tour in 100 degree weather...........it was hot. We had a great guide that gave us frequent water breaks and would find shade for us when she wanted to share information. It was a great tour, my teenagers learned about history.

Lee 337
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was undertaken by my wife and I.
It was absolutely fantastic and the tour guide, Marco ,was a genius.
He is an Archaeologist studying for his PHD so the information was second to none !
If you do this tour, do it with Marco.
Well worth the money and will do this again on my return !!!!!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour that allowed us to skip the line a wonderful option in the middle of summer and gave us insight into the Colosseum and Forum that we wouldn't otherwise have. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. I highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Rosie whom was our guide was amazing as was the tour. I would not hesitate to book through Viator in the future. Well worth it to skip the huge lines which would be horrendous in the high heat of the summer. The guides give you head sets and hold a flag to ensure you do not miss anything or loose them. They explain the history of the buildings in the shade were possible and ensure you fill your water bottles at the fountains if required and give you a toilet break. Highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience! While it was extremely hot, it was well worth it. If we did not take this tour we would have been waiting in line easily for a few hours. Our tour guide, Alexandria, was also amazing! Because we were in the blistering heat for such a long period of time she always kept our groups comfort in mind and would have us standing in shaded areas during the tour. She was well educated about everything on the tour and was able to answer any questions that came up.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth it.. our guide was extremely knowledgeable, PHD student, and very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour. Its just long enough without being too too much for one day. Not having to wait and deal with the two hour wait for entry added bonus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour, the guide was extremely knowledgable, I would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite being very hot the guide was great and did her best to keep everyone entertained and in the more shady spots

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Book the upgrade. This tour was amazing. We got to see so much that most people don't get to see. This trip is entirely worth it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Claudia was a very knowledgeable guide with a great personality. It was great to be taken through this ancient place with a professional archeologist. Note, it's a full three hours of walking. Reconsider if you have trouble being on your feet for a long length of time, especially if you're going in the summer, as we did. It is HOT and there aren't a lot of places with shade, although Claudia did her best to stop in shaded spots when possible. Her perspective and knowledge is what made this tour great. Thank you, Claudia!

Lisa W
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, it was very hot when we were there, which made it hard to really enjoy. A little cooler would allow the tour to be more enjoyable. The guide tried to find shady spots, but that can be hardwood. Overall the tour was good and the guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I've done other Colosseum tours and this one was by far the best!! The audio system they use is fabulous, so you can always hear the guide even while walking, so we got lots of information. Totally worth it, great company and fabulous guides. Paying for the added underground and third floor were definitely worth it! Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My daughter and I had a Fantastic time on our tour with our guide Marcos on Monday July 20 at 10am!
Marcos was extremely informative, answered our questions fully and truly lead us back in time during our tour.
It was awesome to have someone with so much knowledge and humor guide us! Along with speaking English with his Italian accent, was clear to understand! Thank you for helping us make memories!

Will definitely be using viator again in future trips!

Corinna and Grace from Alberta, Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fun and Alex was a great guide. Loved just walking past the long lines!

Aneta W
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed our tour of Ancient Rome. Our guide, though she claimed she knew very little English, was very informative and answered all of our questions in great detail. It was a very hot afternoon, so she was very considerate, too, letting us stop in the shade and fill up our water bottles all the time. We started with the Roman Forum first and then the Palatine Hill, finishing up with the Colosseum. There was quite a bit of walking, but all at a relaxed pace, and we never had to wait in lines for entrance to any of the sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We did this tour on one of the hottest and most crowded days of the summer. Our guide did an excellent job of finding shady spots and water to keep us going. Her knowledge of the sites was excellent and she shared her experiences working as an archeologist with us. I've visited in the paste and would recommend this tour highly over my previous guided experiences. REMEMBER to bring a water bottle with you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent guide very informative, he even paid special attention to getting us in the shade and finding h20 in the near 100 degree heat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great tour. My guide was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable and interesting. You can tell he loved the subject matter. Highly recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had an excellent guide and the tour of the Roman Forum and the Colosseum was fantastic. We skipped the lines for the Colosseum and it was everything and more than I expected. I would highly recommend this tour for first time visitors to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was amazing. Temperature in Rome was in the mid 90's with high humidity but in spite of the heat we were able to see much in a short amount of time. Our guide, Francesca Romana was extremely knowledgeable, funny and seemed to genuinely enjoy her job. She knows art. I am glad we did not have to wait in line until opening time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and patient. He answered questions and was very helpful with the group. It was also very hot and he was cognizant of this and did most of his discussions in the shade. The meeting place was easy to find and the directions on the voucher were easy to follow. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour and our tour guide was very knowledgeable. She did an excellent job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative tour. English speaking guide who would answer any questions that you had. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was so wonderful - Note need to fitness for walking and heat tolerance and the earth is not flat

From USD $ 59.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message