5 star rating: Highly Recommended 8319 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Rome, Italy
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 8319 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was excellent and made a very hot trip enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was fantastic! The tour guide was great and extremely knowledgable of the area! Really pleased and so glad that we booked this :

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

David our tour guide was really good, this tour met more than our expectation as we saw more then we expected.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour-guide and beautiful sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful guide who was able to tell us about the history in a creative way. We were able to skip the lines. The tour was paced well and our guide hit all the shady spots during the hot month of August. Bring a water bottle and there are fountains to refill them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very well organised and we did not have to wait long to enter the Colosseum. The visit to the Forum and Palantine Hill was very interesting and we had a very good guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfect. Great guide and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, friendly tour guide, learnt lots and well informed :

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Alessia was great guide. She new a lot about the area and the history. Well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

While the Colosseum was everything one expects, its was the Forum that held us spellbound. Our guide's knowledge was outstanding and made the 2000yo ruins come alive with life in the times of the Roman Emperors. Never rushed, even though the day was 40oC, our guide made it so worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Getting to the tour start location could have been a little easier with maybe some gps coordinates but once it got started everything was great! Valentina was a wealth of information and gave the entire group time to look for themselves while also keeping the group moving. It was a sweltering hot day but she did her best and I would absolutely recommend it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Valeria, our tour guide was wonderful. She was knowledgeable and personable. The waiting line for tickets was exceedingly long, but we did not have to wait one minute. Well worth booking online ahead of time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great and knowledgeable tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This visit to the colosseum was great. The weather was really hot the date of the tour, at about 100 or more degrees but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned so much with him. We has a great day.

Bradley K
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was our favorite guided tour in Rome. Tours like this hang so much on the quality of the guide because there is a lot of walking and a lot to see that you need some context to figure out. The tour is very long and I don't know that I would recommend it in the intense heat that we had that day, but I can't blame the guide on that. Our guide was fantastic and did a great job keeping the group informed, together, and hydrated.

Using a guided tour like this to skip the line is a necessity and having a forceful local guide who knows what is going on kept us from getting cut in front of several times. She gave the right amount of detail for everything we saw and even kept my 8 year old interested in 2000 year old history, which isn't easy. She also had great recommendations for other things to see in Rome besides the obvious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour Guide had excellent knowledge of history of area and we learnt so much. Also skipping the long queue was an added bonus especially that it was such a hot day. Would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome! Amazing to see one of the NEW 7 Wonders of the World. Tour guide did an amazing job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent guide - very knowledgable and sensitive to what the group needed. Cant miss this one!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, made it easy to enjoy and had a wealth of knowledge.

MANEESH D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent weather, great guide, awesome place. The Guide was sensitive to the needs of tourists with kids. we did not continue with the tour of ancient Rome as kids were tired. Highly recommended to visit Colosseum.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So glad we did the skip the line tour. Both the guides were really informative. Great tour, loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour - the guide was very considerate to the needs of the group considering temperatures of 40 degrees! He looked for shade where possible but not at the expense of the quality of the tour. Very informative.
A little long and would have preferred it to be kept to 2-2.5 hours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day with a friendly, experienced and knowledgeable guide. As this was our first trip to Rome, we wanted to get the most out of our time. Having read the Viator reviews and been given good feedback from other travellers, so we thought we would try them ourselves rather than go it alone. What a great decision that was. The skip the line tour saved us over 4 hours of waiting in the 32 degree sun to get into the Colosseum. Once inside, our guide provided us with an insight into the history of the Colosseum along with many other stories about how and why it was built. It was fantastic to say the least and our 12 year old daughter learnt so much so did we. We then walked over to the Roman Forum and surrounding areas where we spent another hour or so learning about this landmark site. I would highly recommend this tour and Viator to anyone travelling to Rome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Alessandro was great, really knew his information. was very passionate about the whole tour and wanted to make sure that everyone understood what he was trying to explain.

From USD $ 60.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731COLOSSEUM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message