Insider's Guide to Rome

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 969 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

JONATHAN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour with an outstanding guide, Pia, who guided our group through the many treasures of the Villa Borghese Galleries, followed by an equally satisfying walk through the magnificent, extensive gardens.
Pia kept the group well-informed during the pre-entry screening and then lead us through the Galleries at a reasonable slow pace, explaining interesting details of the major pieces through the eyes of an expert art historian.
Pia must be commended on her knowledge, enthusiasm, excellent English and use of the microphone. She was a mine of information which she shared with us at the major art-pieces in the Galleries. She was also happy to answer questions.
By the end of the tour we felt as if we had taken a stroll through the Villa and its gardens with an old friend who was knowledgeable and a pleasure to be with.
The Galleries and their contents are breathtaking, and the gardens are magnificent - this tour introduced us to both. However, having Pia as our guide was a true bonus that made this an outstanding, memorable and highly-recommended tour. Grazie mille, Pia!

Richard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found the Borghese Gallery simply incredible, in part because of our fantastic guide, Rebecca. Visiting the gallery on this guided tour and where we exited the area through the park area was the highlight of my trip to Rome. Do not miss this gem. The gallery is only open in 2 hour increments, so plan your visit ahead of time and be there early. The gardens are pleasant to walk through as you leave and you are walking down hill. While travel instructions suggested using the Flaminio or Spagna Metro stops, but we used the Barberini stop and took the 83 bus to the gallery. That saved us a huge amount of up-hill walking getting to the Gallery. There's a bus route WEB site that we found very useful in getting around Rome.

peter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic place to visit, with a superb tour guide, thoroughly enjoyed

Kai P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this tour through the gallery and the historical garden. The Bernini sculptures are amazing!

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good tour. The tour guide was very knowledgable and affable.

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rebecca the guide was excellent, if a little biased towards Bernini personally I prefer Michelangelo! but was perfect for this tour. Glad I was able to get a ticket since they sell out well in advance and only let a few people in at a time. Will consider using City Wonders again when in Florence for some of the more offbeat tours.

Anthony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rebecca was very knowledgeable and had a positive and cheerful demeanor.

Fredrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guide was engaging and gave insights to the main sculptures and paintings. Having the Gallery imposed time limit of 2 hours almost demands a guide to be able to see the most important exhibits. The Gardens Walking tour was enjoyable as well. We left the Gallery and walked through the garden arriving at the overlook at Piazza del Popolo right at sunset. Very interesting to see what the Borghese family thought was important to bring in or build.

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Mike, the tour guide was exceptional.

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Kylie provided an awesome tour both inside the gallery and out in the gardens. She has a strong passion for what she does!

Leonard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This Gallery is wonderful and the guide was great. The gallery needs more seating.

Judith Coleman C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful tour....fabulous museum to visit. Our guide, Daniella, was knowledgeable and interesting. She spoke clear, fluent English. I would highly recommend this tour.

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rebecca was a fabulous guide on the tour this morning. Despite feeling a bit unwell she made the tour fun and engaging, bringing art to life.
The tour was a highlight from our Rome City Break and I would recommend to anyone even if your knowledge of art is basic like ours !. Would give the tour 5/5

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The young lady who was our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the contents of the Gallery. She was pleasant to listen to and kept it going. Although, my husband and I decided to forgo the garden walk too much Rome walking, I would highly recommend this tour.

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Superb. Guide, Debbie?, was wonderful for her knowledge and enthusiasm. Tour was was almost ideal because of its scope and overall quality. Would strongly recommend, the best tour I took on this trip.

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the museum and the artwork. She made visiting this museum much more interesting than just walking through or listening with a headset. We really enjoyed the tour, and highly recommend it!

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved the tour guide Rebecca. Also loved the tour of the Borgese museum. She took us to highlights and was very informative and entertaining.

Paula H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour! The tour guide we had was amazing and we believe it was the reason the tour was so successful for us. She was engaging, intelligent, extremely knowledgeable in the history of Italy, the families, and the paintings and sculptures we viewed. I want to do it again - it was only 2 hours and I needed more time. This is a must-see and do. Ask for Kylie from Australia.

Clotilde D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour, with a very good French speaking guide.
Borghese gallery is unbelievible, marvellous, really beautiful !!!!
The only possible improvment could be the weather -

Loretto C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Borghese is a must see. The museum is incredible. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The gardens are very beautiful You need to include this site as part of your tour of Italy!

Lavonna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour, made better by our guide Mike. There are guides who make it enjoyable and guides who make it unbearable, he was the former. I learned a great deal and saw the most beautiful Artwork. Bravo!

susan.barker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our American guide Mike was excellent with a good sense of humour and plenty of knowledge. I would definitely recommend booking this tour as time inside is limited to 2hrs and I think it would be impossible individually to see everything in that time. Mike took us to the best exhibits and explained them in an easily understandable way.

Andrijana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Well organized. The guide was highly professional and very pleasant.

Bill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful gallery.

Theresa Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide Barbara S. was wonderful her love of her job was evident in her passion. Her knowledge of the art pieces was very impressive. We highly recommend this tour with Barbara S.

Viewing 2 of 39

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 57.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3731BORGHESE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message